The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal
The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal is a private foundation, based in New Orleans, LA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $29.4M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 6 grants totaling $1.4M. Net investment income was $1.0M.
The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal at a glance
In short: The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal gave $1.4M across 6 grants in 2024 (avg $237K), mostly in Louisiana. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $1,423,428
- +81.7% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 6
- +0.0% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $237,238
- +81.7% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $130,000
- Total assets
- $29,384,439
- -0.9% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- Louisiana (89% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.
Who The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 6 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Youth Force Nola ($649K). Together the top 6 received $1.4M.
Grant Size Distribution
38 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 14 grants of 38 (37%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.
Cities
How The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal gives
- Giving grew 143% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out 79% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $587K (2021) to $1.9M (2022). In 2024 it made 6 grants totaling $1.4M.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Youth Force Nola New Orleans, LA | For General Operating Support | $649,100 |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette Lafayette, LA | To fund specific scholarship program at ull for which the foundation is the sole donor. This program provides scholarships for new orleans public school graduates who are full pell eligible and qualify for tops. | $403,528 |
| Rivet Global Dorchester, MA | For General Operating Support | $160,000 |
| Belltower New Orleans New Orleans, LA | For General Operating Support | $100,000 |
| University of New Orleans New Orleans, LA | For General Operating Support | $85,800 |
| Center for Resilience New Orleans, LA | For General Operating Support | $25,000 |
Ready to take the next step with The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $29,384,439 | $1,087,959 | $1,771,164 | $1,423,428 | 6 | $1,723,428 | $1,020,529 | $2,189,283 |
| 2023 | $29,652,594 | $2,314,414 | $1,051,577 | $783,301 | 6 | $1,690,136 | $1,013,233 | $2,702,195 |
| 2022 | $26,825,633 | $3,148,715 | $2,235,471 | $1,885,276 | 11 | $2,143,601 | $1,201,721 | $1,407,640 |
| 2021 | $28,927,879 | $6,942,781 | $690,654 | $586,929 | 3 | $2,040,129 | $5,461,952 | $1,200,573 |
| 2020 | $22,034,258 | $1,573,099 | $1,733,362 | $1,677,867 | 12 | — | $1,034,361 | $1,375,360 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal reported a distributable amount of $2.2M for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal is led by Stephen Rosenthal, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 2 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Stephen Rosenthal
President
On filings since 2020
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Leslie Jacobs
Secretary
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal
How much does The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal give each year?
The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal gave $1.4M across 6 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $783K across 6 grants.
What is The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal's typical grant size?
The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal's median grant in 2024 was $130,000, and its average grant was $237,238, across 6 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal give grants?
The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal gives mostly in Louisiana: 89% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Massachusetts (11%). The most frequent recipient cities were New Orleans, LA (4 grants).
Does The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal give general operating support?
Yes: 83% of The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (5 of 6) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal's largest grantees?
The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal's largest 2024 grantees include Youth Force Nola ($649,100), University of Louisiana at Lafayette ($403,528) and Rivet Global ($160,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 85% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal?
The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal reported $29.4M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.7M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $2.2M (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal's EIN?
The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 26-3578174. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Pro Bono Publico Foundation
New Orleans, LA
The Pro Bono Publico Foundation funds organizations serving Greater New Orleans, with a special focus on education, schools, children’s health, and youth programs. Its grants are generally under $25,000; recent grants ranged from $7,500 to $75,000, with a median of $15,000. It welcomes applications through a two-phase process, with Round One applications due July 15.
Assets
$1.5M
Grants
59
Total Given
$1.1M
Baptist Community Ministries
New Orleans, LA
Baptist Community Ministries funds 501(c)(3) nonprofits working in health, education, or public safety in Orleans, Jefferson, St. Tammany, St. Bernard, and Plaquemines Parishes, Louisiana. Its 2025 grants had a median of $10,000, while public Transom Grants start at $50,000 per year and discretionary donations are generally $5,000 or less. It accepts unsolicited requests through these public programs; other grant types are invitation-only.
Assets
$397.5M
Grants
264
Total Given
$10.6M
The Booth-Bricker Fund
New Orleans, LA
The Booth-Bricker Fund focuses its current giving on public education reform, primarily in New Orleans and to a lesser extent elsewhere in Louisiana. In 2025, its 57 grants ranged from $50 to $750,000, with a median of $5,000. It accepts unsolicited written proposals at any time and typically reviews them quarterly.
Assets
$48.3M
Grants
57
Total Given
$3.5M
New Orleans Community Support Foundation
New Orleans, LA
The New Orleans Community Support Foundation administers charitable distributions for city initiatives and public/private partnerships, supporting work such as arts and culture, youth development, environmental projects, education, social services, and economic development. Its 2024 grants went to Louisiana recipients, with a median award of $12,850 and amounts ranging from $5,195 to $114,529. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$79K
Grants
64
Total Given
$1.1M
Gary Philanthropy
Denver, CO
Gary Philanthropy supports long-term opportunities for Colorado children and families, including early childhood, education, youth well-being, economic mobility, and family wealth building, with a focus on lower-income communities and four Denver-area counties. Recent annual grant totals were about $5.6 million to $8.6 million, but typical award sizes are not stated; one listed opportunity offers up to $40,000. It accepts only requests from preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$191.2M
Grants
1
Total Given
$5.6M
More similar funders
More Funders in Louisiana
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Stephen and Sandy Rosenthal down — hundreds of funders to go?