The Scott M and Jean G Spangler

Private foundation · Grantmaker Pennington, NJ EIN: 26-4308727

The Scott M and Jean G Spangler is a private foundation, based in Pennington, NJ. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $4.5M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 6 grants totaling $190K. Net investment income was $187K.

The Scott M and Jean G Spangler at a glance

In short: The Scott M and Jean G Spangler gave $190K across 6 grants in 2025 (avg $32K), top state Arizona. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$190,000
Grants made (2025)
6
Average grant
$31,667
Median grant
$25,000
Total assets
$4,530,709
+7.6% vs 2024
Primary geography
Arizona (39% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who The Scott M and Jean G Spangler funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 6 recipients in 2025

Valley of the Sun YMCA: $50KValley of the Sun YMCA$50KSouth Shore YMCA: $40KSouth Shore YMCA$40KGrand Teton National Park Foundation: $25KGrand Teton National ParkFoundation$25KEckstein Center- Hospice: $25KEckstein Center- Hospice$25KONE22 Resource Center: $25KONE22 Resource Center$25KPlanned Parenthood Federation of America: $25KPlanned Parenthood Federationof America$25K

The largest 2025 recipient was Valley of the Sun YMCA ($50K). Together the top 6 received $190K.

Grant Size Distribution

9 grants across all recorded years

5<$50K1$50–100K2$100–250K$250–500K1$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 5 grants of 9 (56%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.

Cities

PhoenixJacksonSandwichScottsdaleWashington

How The Scott M and Jean G Spangler gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−5%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 50% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K2 grants2020 1 grant2021 2 grants2022 0 grants2023 0 grants2024 6 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $190K (2025) to $600K (2021). In 2025 it made 6 grants totaling $190K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Valley of the Sun YMCA Phoenix, AZSupport Organization's Programs$50,000
South Shore YMCA Sandwich, MACamp Hayward Restoration$40,000
Grand Teton National Park Foundation Jackson, WYSupport Organization's Programs$25,000
Eckstein Center- Hospice Scottsdale, AZSupport Organization's Programs$25,000
ONE22 Resource Center Jackson, WYSupport Organization's Programs$25,000
Planned Parenthood Federation of America Washington, DCSupport Organization's Programs$25,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Scott M and Jean G Spangler?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$4,530,709$561,282$241,781$190,0006$192,000$187,406$380,267
2024$4,211,208$311,391$48,435——$16,673$111,301$335,112
2023$3,948,252$385,006$43,191——$13,303$104,741$264,579
2022$3,606,437$681,221$240,840$200,0002$212,558$335,014$242,624
2021$3,166,056$514,689$639,431$600,0001$613,724$270,973$270,638
2020$3,290,798$299,919$529,542$500,0002—$110,338$213,952

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Scott M and Jean G Spangler reported a distributable amount of $380K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Scott M and Jean G Spangler's 2025 filing lists 6 officers; none of the 6 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Andrew G. Spangler

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Carolyn R. Spangler

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jean Spangler

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Karen Spangler

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matthew Yeo

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Scott M. Spangler Jr.

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about The Scott M and Jean G Spangler

How much does The Scott M and Jean G Spangler give each year?

The Scott M and Jean G Spangler gave $190K across 6 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

What is The Scott M and Jean G Spangler's typical grant size?

The Scott M and Jean G Spangler's median grant in 2025 was $25,000, and its average grant was $31,667, across 6 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does The Scott M and Jean G Spangler give grants?

The Scott M and Jean G Spangler's top state is Arizona, with 39% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Wyoming (26%) and Massachusetts (21%). The most frequent recipient cities were Jackson, WY (2 grants).

Does The Scott M and Jean G Spangler give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 6 grants with a stated purpose on The Scott M and Jean G Spangler's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Support Organization's Programs" (5 grants).

Who are The Scott M and Jean G Spangler's largest grantees?

The Scott M and Jean G Spangler's largest 2025 grantees include Valley of the Sun YMCA ($50,000), South Shore YMCA ($40,000) and Grand Teton National Park Foundation ($25,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 61% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is The Scott M and Jean G Spangler?

The Scott M and Jean G Spangler reported $4.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $192K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $380K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is The Scott M and Jean G Spangler's EIN?

The Scott M and Jean G Spangler's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 26-4308727. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 16, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 9, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 11, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS June 6, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS June 10, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 7, 2026)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Scott M and Jean G Spangler's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Indian Paintbrush Foundation

Jackson, WY

Assets

$1.5M

Grants

4

Total Given

$64K

Jewish Community Foundation of Greater Phoenix

Scottsdale, AZ

It supports Jewish life and Jewish-serving organizations, synagogues, and schools in Greater Phoenix, including community services, education, and institutional needs; Israel and overseas programs are funded by invitation only. Its 2025 grants ranged from about $119,000 to $2.6 million, with a median of about $302,000, and it also accepts small-grant requests up to $3,000 on a rolling basis. Organizations serving Greater Phoenix may apply through its published grant opportunities.

Assets

$105.5M

Grants

19

Total Given

$10.4M

McKesson Foundation Inc

Dallas, TX

The McKesson Foundation funds cancer support and care, healthcare workforce pathways, and emergency response, with grants mainly supporting organizations in the United States and Canada. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, though amounts ranged from $10,000 to about $2.47 million. Its filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests, while its application page describes an online application process with stated submission windows.

Assets

$1.6M

Grants

76

Total Given

$16.6M

Fiesta Events Inc

Scottsdale, AZ

FIESTA EVENTS INC supports Arizona community events and charitable organizations focused on youth, sports, and education, including programs in health, inclusive recreation, and services for children and families. Its 2025 grants ranged from $15,000 to $50,000, with a median of $25,000; its sponsorship information describes requests from Arizona nonprofits, but does not state whether unsolicited grant requests are accepted.

Recreation & Sports

Assets

$986K

Grants

22

Total Given

$475K

The Thunderbirds

Phoenix, AZ

The Thunderbirds support youth- and family-oriented charities, amateur athletes, and athletic programs, primarily in Phoenix and across Arizona. Its 2025 grants had a median of $15,000, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$77.7M

Grants

57

Total Given

$12.6M

The Rob Walton Foundation

Bentonviille, AR

The Rob Walton Foundation primarily funds large-scale conservation in Sub-Saharan Africa, especially protected areas, and related work supporting local communities, conservation organizations, and public-sector capacity. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,000 to $33.9 million, with a median of $50,000; it supports work across 33 African countries, though grant recipients are based largely in several U.S. states. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$441.2M

Grants

61

Total Given

$107.1M

More similar funders

More Funders in New Jersey

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Scott M and Jean G Spangler's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Scott M and Jean G Spangler down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?