The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc

Private foundation · Grantmaker Laytonsville, MD EIN: 52-2219822

The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc is a private foundation, based in Laytonsville, MD. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $4.6M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 9 grants totaling $42K. Net investment income was $427K.

The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc at a glance

In short: The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc gave $42K across 9 grants in 2024 (avg $5K), top state District of Columbia. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2024)
$41,800
-67.9% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
9
-65.4% vs 2023
Average grant
$4,644
-7.1% vs 2023
Median grant
$5,000
Total assets
$4,612,834
+18.5% vs 2023
Primary geography
District of Columbia (38% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 9 recipients in 2024

Anti-Defamation League: $10KAnti-Defamation League$10KSt Johns College High School: $10KSt Johns College High School$10KFood for the Poor: $5KFood for the Poor$5KSt Paul Honduras: $5KSt Paul Honduras$5KSt Paul's Catholic Church: $5KSt Paul's Catholic Church$5KThe Trust for the National Mall: $5KThe Trust for the NationalMall$5KSt Francis Xavier Catholic School: $1KSt Francis Xavier CatholicSchool$1KRocky Mountain Elk Foundation: $300Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation$300Laytonsville Elementary School PTA: $100Laytonsville Elementary SchoolPTA$100

The largest 2024 recipient was Anti-Defamation League ($10K). Together the top 9 received $42K.

Grant Size Distribution

110 grants across all recorded years

106<$50K3$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 106 grants of 110 (96%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

13states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.

Cities

WashingtonRockvilleDamascusFrederickGaithersburgSilver SpringArlingtonBethesdaChicagoCoconut CreekFairfaxGermantownKensingtonNew YorkAlexandriaBaltimoreBostonBrooklynDallasPhoenix

How The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc gives

  • Giving fell 70% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 21% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K53 grants2020 16 grants2021 6 grants2022 26 grants2023 9 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $33K (2022) to $504K (2020). In 2024 it made 9 grants totaling $42K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Anti-Defamation League Boston, MAUnrestricted Grant for Donee's Exempt Purposes$10,000
St Johns College High School Washington, DCUnrestricted Grant for Donee's Exempt Purposes$10,000
Food for the Poor Coconut Creek, FLUnrestricted Grant for Donee's Exempt Purposes$5,400
St Paul Honduras Damascus, MDUnrestricted Grant for Donee's Exempt Purposes$5,000
St Paul's Catholic Church Damascus, MDUnrestricted Grant for Donee's Exempt Purposes$5,000
The Trust for the National Mall Washington, DCUnrestricted Grant for Donee's Exempt Purposes$5,000
St Francis Xavier Catholic School Washington, DCUnrestricted Grant for Donee's Exempt Purposes$1,000
Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation Missoula, MTUnrestricted Grant for Donee's Exempt Purposes$300
Laytonsville Elementary School PTA Gaithersburg, MDUnrestricted Grant for Donee's Exempt Purposes$100
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2024$4,612,834$585,705$136,396$41,8009$43,851$426,805$206,581
2023$3,893,250$236,351$173,770$130,05026$133,442$194,467$173,433
2022$3,225,672$92,612$35,116$33,1506$33,150$68,178$166,505
2021$4,208,623$372,771$147,041$137,33316$134,333$137,593$184,561
2020$3,444,534$388,757$446,288$503,89653—$330,502$138,153

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $207K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc is led by Craig A. Ruppert, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 2 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Craig A. Ruppert

    President

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Patricia M. Ruppert

    Secretary & Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc

How much does The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc give each year?

The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc gave $42K across 9 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $130K across 26 grants.

What is The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc's typical grant size?

The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc's median grant in 2024 was $5,000, and its average grant was $4,644, across 9 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc give grants?

The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc's top state is District of Columbia, with 38% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Maryland (24%) and Massachusetts (24%). The most frequent recipient cities were Washington, DC (3 grants) and Damascus, MD (2 grants).

Does The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (9 of 9) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc's largest grantees?

The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc's largest 2024 grantees include Anti-Defamation League ($10,000), St Johns College High School ($10,000) and Food for the Poor ($5,400), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 61% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc?

The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc reported $4.6M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $44K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $207K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc's EIN?

The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 52-2219822. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Duke Energy Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce and local economic development, disaster resilience, conservation, clean water, and economic opportunity in North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000; applications for grants of $20,000 or less are accepted year-round, after applicants discuss proposals with a state representative.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$25.6M

The Carl M Freeman Foundation Inc

Selbyville, DE

The Carl M. Freeman Foundation supports community-based nonprofits in areas including arts, education, social services, health, the environment, and cultural heritage, with a focus on communities connected to Carl M. Freeman Companies; its FACES program serves Sussex County, Delaware, and Montgomery County, Maryland. Grants vary widely: FACES requests are $2,500, $5,000, or $10,000, while 2025 grants ranged from $2,500 to $3.5 million, with a $10,000 median. It accepts online FACES applications during two annual cycles; legacy grants are often by invitation and generally lack an open application process.

Assets

$116.1M

Grants

61

Total Given

$4.7M

Aetna Foundation Inc

Hartford, CT

Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.

Assets

—

Grants

65

Total Given

$7.2M

United Way Worldwide

Alexandria, VA

United Way Worldwide funds community programs focused on youth opportunity, health, financial security, education, and disaster relief, with 2024 grants made across multiple U.S. states and internationally. Its 209 reported grants ranged from $5,100 to $736,333, with a median of $22,675. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$68.0M

Grants

209

Total Given

$11.4M

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

More similar funders

More Funders in Maryland

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Ruppert Family Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?