The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable

Private foundation · Grantmaker Boston, MA EIN: 76-6181299

THE ROBERT AND CYNTHIA MARR CHARITABLE is a private foundation based in Boston, Massachusetts. Its 2025 filing reports 25 grants totaling $1,152,174, with nearly all grant dollars going to Massachusetts recipients.

Key facts about The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable

In short: The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable gave $1.2M across 25 grants in 2025 (avg $46K), mostly in Massachusetts. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
76-6181299
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$1,152,174
Grants made (2025)
25
Average grant
$46,087
Median grant
$5,500
Total assets
$50,518,042
Primary geography
Massachusetts (99% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
How to apply
The 2025 filing lists Cynthia M Marr as the contact. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$50.5M

+286.7% YoY

Annual Giving

$1.2M

+103.1% YoY

Grant Count

25

+8.7% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$46K

+86.9% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable reported a distributable amount of $1.0M for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable gives

  • 60% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving grew 3099% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 111% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants include support for the Greater Boston Food Bank, whose stated work includes acquiring and distributing food through member agencies and distribution sites, and Pine Street Inn, whose mission is to help end homelessness through outreach, shelter, housing, job training, and employment connections. Other 2025 recipients include health, education, and children’s organizations.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation reported 25 grants totaling $1,152,174. Grants ranged from $500 to $812,924, with a median grant of $5,500. The largest listed awards were $812,924 to The Boys and Girls Club of Dorchester; $60,000 to St Francis House; and $50,000 each to Boston Healthcare for the Homeless, Greater Boston Food Bank, and Pine Street Inn.

Review Cycle

, and award restrictions are listed as N/A. The filing states that giving is not restricted to preselected organizations.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The 2025 filing’s grant-dollar distribution was 99% to Massachusetts recipients, 1% to Indiana, and 0% each to California and Maryland.

Grant Distribution by State

9states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 25 itemized grants.

Cities

BostonBraintreeDorchesterCantonNotre DameBethesdaBrightonJamaica PlainLa QuintaMemphisSudburyDenverStoughtonCherry HillDavidsonFoxboroughLong BeachMiltonNew YorkOrange

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M13 grants2019 16 grants2020 11 grants2021 2 grants2022 25 grants2023 23 grants2024 25 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $36K (2022) to $1.2M (2025). In 2025 it made 25 grants totaling $1.2M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

The Boys and Girls Club of Dorchester: $813KThe Boys and Girls Club ofDorchester$813KSt Francis House: $60KSt Francis House$60KBoston Healthcare for the Homeless: $50KBoston Healthcare for theHomeless$50KGreater Boston Food Bank: $50KGreater Boston Food Bank$50KPine Street Inn: $50KPine Street Inn$50KMGH Durant Fellowship: $27KMGH Durant Fellowship$27KRosies Place: $25KRosies Place$25KCatholic Community Fund: $14KCatholic Community Fund$14KBoston Childrens Hospital: $13KBoston Childrens Hospital$13KUnversity of Notre Dame: $10KUnversity of Notre Dame$10K

The largest 2025 recipient was The Boys and Girls Club of Dorchester ($813K). Together the top 10 received $1.1M.

Grant Size Distribution

86 grants across all recorded years

60<$50K25$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K1$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 60 grants of 86 (70%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
The Boys and Girls Club of Dorchester Dorchester, MACharitable$812,924
St Francis House Boston, MACharitable$60,000
Boston Healthcare for the Homeless Boston, MACharitable$50,000
Greater Boston Food Bank Boston, MACharitable$50,000
Pine Street Inn Boston, MACharitable$50,000
MGH Durant Fellowship Boston, MACharitable$27,250
Rosies Place Boston, MACharitable$25,000
Catholic Community Fund Braintree, MACharitable$14,000
Boston Childrens Hospital Boston, MACharitable$12,500
Unversity of Notre Dame Notre Dame, INCharitable$10,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2025 $50,518,042 $34,815,777 $1,305,233 $1,152,174
2024 $13,063,376 $721,863 $673,708 $567,156
2023 $12,329,328 $464,762 $543,445 $502,531
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$50,518,042$13,063,376$12,329,328
Revenue$34,815,777$721,863$464,762
Expenses$1,305,233$673,708$543,445
Qualifying Distributions$1,152,174$567,156$502,531
Net Investment Income$1,069,147$721,863$462,961
Distributable Amount$1,033,669$632,369$597,800

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 26, 2020)
  2. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS July 7, 2026)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Cynthia M Marr and Kimberley Whiteley as trustees.

The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable's 2025 filing lists 2 officers; 1 of 2 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Cynthia M. Marr

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    20 hrs/week

    $13K (2020) → $93K (2025)

  • Kimberley Whiteley

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Robert L. Marr (2019–2021) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Cynthia M Marr — Trustee: $93KCynthia M MarrTrustee$93K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $93K, to Cynthia M Marr (Trustee).

Contact

Application contact: Cynthia M Marr
Mailing address: 10 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110
Phone: (617) 596-1192

Frequently asked questions about The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable

How much does The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable give each year?

The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable gave $1.2M across 25 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $567K across 23 grants.

What is The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable's typical grant size?

The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable's median grant in 2025 was $5,500, and its average grant was $46,087, across 25 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable give grants?

The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable gives mostly in Massachusetts: 99% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Boston, MA (12 grants), Braintree, MA (3 grants) and Dorchester, MA (2 grants).

Does The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 25 grants with a stated purpose on The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charitable" (24 grants).

Who are The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable's largest grantees?

The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable's largest 2025 grantees include The Boys and Girls Club of Dorchester ($812,924), St Francis House ($60,000) and Boston Healthcare for the Homeless ($50,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 80% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable?

The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable reported $50.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.2M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.0M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable?

The 2025 filing lists Cynthia M Marr as the contact. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable's EIN?

The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 76-6181299. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Eastern Bank Foundation

Wakefield, MA

Eastern Bank Foundation funds systemic efforts to advance economic inclusion and mobility, including small-business equity, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its programs range from $1,000–$10,000 for Community Donations, up to $15,000 for CITC Grants, and $50,000–$150,000 for Impact Grants; it supports organizations primarily in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. The foundation accepts online applications, with no specific submission deadlines stated.

Assets

$266.7M

Grants

1,786

Total Given

$19.0M

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation supports education, affordable housing, arts and culture, community well-being, neighborhood development, and basic needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, while specific opportunities range from small awards to grants of up to $450,000. It offers open RFP and LOI opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside those opportunities.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

1,408

Total Given

$184.4M

Boston Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

The Boston Foundation funds equity-focused work in child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer awards from up to $15,000 to $50,000; it accepts applications through some competitive initiatives, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally is not stated.

Assets

$2.1B

Grants

2,375

Total Given

$228.4M

Arbella Insurance Foundation

Boston, MA

The Arbella Insurance Foundation supports social justice, housing and homelessness, immigration, health and human services, education, and the arts, primarily in New England, with most 2024 grant dollars going to Massachusetts. Its 201 grants in 2024 totaled about $2.23 million; awards ranged from $28 to $152,319, with a median of $2,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$22.2M

Grants

201

Total Given

$2.2M

Barr Foundation

Boston, MA

Barr Foundation funds arts and creativity, climate, education, and related initiatives, primarily supporting organizations and leaders in New England. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $3.275 million, with a median of $80,000. It welcomes inquiries through program pages and occasionally issues open requests for proposals; most grants go to returning partners.

Assets

$1.9B

Grants

903

Total Given

$123.2M

Liberty Mutual Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

Liberty Mutual Foundation funds nonprofits working on basic needs such as food and shelter, education and workforce development, and climate and community infrastructure, primarily in the Boston area, with grants also made in other states. Its 2024 grants had a median of $35,000 and ranged from $2,500 to $11 million; it accepts online applications on a rolling basis, with no stated deadlines.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$46.1M

Grants

706

Total Given

$50.6M

Cummings Foundation Grants Inc (Fka Oneworld Boston Inc)

Woburn, MA

The foundation supports nonprofits focused on human services, education, healthcare, fairness and justice, and environmental causes, primarily in greater Boston and eastern Massachusetts, with limited support for Rwanda’s recovery. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $3.5 million, with a median of $35,000; it accepts letters of inquiry through an online portal for its local grant program.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$258.2M

Grants

658

Total Given

$38.2M

American Tower Corporation Foundation

Boston, MA

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$15.4M

Grants

632

Total Given

$1.7M

Good Sports Inc

Braintree, MA

Good Sports provides free sports equipment, footwear, and apparel to established schools and community organizations running ongoing youth sports and physical-activity programs in high-need communities; it serves all 50 states and Puerto Rico. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,004 to $229,133, with a median of $12,781. Youth programs and schools can apply through its community-organization application process.

Assets

$13.8M

Grants

619

Total Given

$11.2M

The Stephen Phillips Memorial

Boston, MA

The Stephen Phillips Memorial funds need- and merit-based scholarships for bachelor’s students, generally awarding $3,000–$17,000 (with typical annual awards of $6,000–$10,000). Applicants must be permanent residents of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont, but may attend college anywhere in the United States. Students apply through the online portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Education

Assets

$41.6M

Grants

520

Total Given

$5.1M

Berkshire Bank Foundation Inc

Pittsfield, MA

Berkshire Bank Foundation supports nonprofits working on small-business growth, financial inclusion, affordable housing, and additional needs including health, food access, youth, and the arts. Recent grants ranged from $50 to $33,333, with a median of $2,500; it serves communities in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont, though all 2024 grant dollars went to Massachusetts. It accepts written applications from eligible 501(c)(3) public charities, with quarterly deadlines on December 15, March 15, June 15, and September 15.

Assets

$17.1M

Grants

478

Total Given

$2.0M

More Funders in Massachusetts

The Robert and Cynthia Marr Charitable down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?