The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family
The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family is a private foundation based in West St. Paul, Minnesota. Its 2025 filing reports grants to charitable organizations, including Minnesota recipients and organizations in New York and Washington, DC.
Key facts about The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family
In short: The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family gave $26K across 22 grants in 2025 (avg $1K), mostly in Minnesota. 0% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 41-2009631
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $26,100
- Grants made (2025)
- 22
- Average grant
- $1,186
- Median grant
- $1,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 0% first-time grantees (0 of 22, 2025)
- Total assets
- $337,822
- Primary geography
- Minnesota (80% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it contributes only to preselected charitable organizations. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$338K
+0.8% YoY
Annual Giving
$26K
+9.2% YoY
Grant Count
22
+15.8% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$1K
-5.7% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family reported a distributable amount of $18K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family open to new grantees?
0%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 0 of 22 grantees (0%) were first-time recipients. How we count
- 86% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+11%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 155% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants went to organizations working in areas including health, arts and culture, animal welfare, Jewish community life, and services for people with intellectual disabilities. These are grantees’ activities, not stated focus areas of the foundation. For example, Mayo Clinic describes its mission as advancing health and well-being through patient care, education, and research; Hennepin Theatre Trust says it supports Minnesota’s cultural and economic vitality and provides educational programming; and Minnesota Hillel says it enriches students’ lives so they can enrich the Jewish community and the world.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation reported 22 grants totaling $26,100. Grants ranged from $350 to $5,000, with a median of $1,000. The largest listed grant was $5,000 to Mayo Clinic. Other notable grants included $3,000 to ADL and $1,500 each to Hennepin Theatre Trust, Jewish Family and Children’s Service of Minneapolis, Jewish Family Services, Ordway Center, and the U of M Foundation Shelly Kordell Scholarship.
How to Apply
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it contributes only to preselected charitable organizations.
Ready to take the next step with The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 80% of grant dollars went to recipients in Minnesota, 17% to recipients in New York, and 3% to recipients in Washington, DC.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 22 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $22K (2021) to $57K (2020). In 2025 it made 22 grants totaling $26K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Mayo Clinic ($5K). Together the top 10 received $19K.
Grant Size Distribution
108 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 108 grants of 108 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN | General Funding | $5,000 |
| ADL New York, NY | General Funding | $3,000 |
| Hennepin Theatre Trust Minneapolis, MN | General Funding | $1,500 |
| Jewish Family and Children's Service of Minneapolis Golden Valley, MN | General Funding | $1,500 |
| Jewish Family Services St. Paul, MN | General Funding | $1,500 |
| Ordway Center St. Paul, MN | General Funding | $1,500 |
| U of M Foundation Shelly Kordell Scholorship St. Paul, MN | General Funding | $1,500 |
| Animal Humane Society St. Paul, MN | General Funding | $1,000 |
| ASPCA New York, NY | General Funding | $1,000 |
| Children's Cancer Research Center Minneapolis, MN | General Funding | $1,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $337,822 | $31,977 | $29,374 | $26,100 |
| 2024 | $335,219 | $11,613 | $25,909 | $23,900 |
| 2023 | $349,515 | $5,816 | $28,387 | $24,650 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $337,822 | $335,219 | $349,515 |
| Revenue | $31,977 | $11,613 | $5,816 |
| Expenses | $29,374 | $25,909 | $28,387 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $27,235 | $24,819 | $25,477 |
| Net Investment Income | $30,867 | $25,758 | $25,593 |
| Distributable Amount | $17,608 | $16,966 | $16,200 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 11, 2020)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 11, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS August 17, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS July 17, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 6, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 14, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 12, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Rossy M Shaller as president, and Steven Shaller and Scott Shaller as directors.
The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family is led by Rossy M. Shaller, President on every filing since 2019; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Rossy M. Shaller
President
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Scott Shaller
Director
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Steven Shaller
Director
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 1916 Livingston Ave, West St Paul, MN 55118
Phone: (612) 672-8200
Frequently asked questions about The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family
How much does The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family give each year?
The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family gave $26K across 22 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $24K across 19 grants.
What is The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family's typical grant size?
The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family's median grant in 2025 was $1,000, and its average grant was $1,186, across 22 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family give grants?
The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family gives mostly in Minnesota: 80% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was New York (17%). The most frequent recipient cities were Minneapolis, MN (9 grants), St. Paul, MN (5 grants) and New York, NY (3 grants).
Does The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (22 of 22) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family's largest grantees?
The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family's largest 2025 grantees include Mayo Clinic ($5,000), ADL ($3,000) and Hennepin Theatre Trust ($1,500), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 36% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family?
The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family reported $338K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $27K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $18K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants went to organizations working in areas including health, arts and culture, animal welfare, Jewish community life, and services for people with intellectual disabilities. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it contributes only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family's EIN?
The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-2009631. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Does The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Minnesota
Mutual of America Foundation
New York, NY
Assets
$136K
Grants
539
Total Given
$839K
The Minneapolis Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Minneapolis Foundation supports civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education equity, community safety, health, and the environment. In 2025, its grants had a median of $25,000, though awards varied widely; 77% of grant dollars went to Minnesota recipients. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; current opportunities are closed, and some programs are invitation-based.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
1,565
Total Given
$121.7M
Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation
St. Paul, MN
The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic development, health and human services, youth and education, arts and culture, democracy, and nonprofit capacity, serving the East Metro and communities statewide. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000, while the Management Improvement Fund offers up to $15,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through open application programs, though some opportunities are invite-only.
Assets
$1.7B
Grants
1,473
Total Given
$107.2M
The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$218.3M
Grants
1,431
Total Given
$47.9M
Wells Fargo Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Wells Fargo Foundation funds nonprofits working on financial opportunity, affordable housing, and small-business growth, with giving at national and local levels. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $8 million, with a median of $35,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations are invited to apply.
Assets
$8.6M
Grants
1,376
Total Given
$157.4M
C K Blandin Foundation
Grand Rapids, MN
The C K Blandin Foundation funds community wealth-building, rural placemaking and small-community efforts, including work on housing, civic engagement, community spaces and food systems. It primarily supports rural Minnesota, especially Itasca County and nearby communities, and its 2024 median grant was $2,900, though awards ranged from $50 to $335,000.
Assets
$506.3M
Grants
931
Total Given
$15.8M
The McKnight Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The McKnight Foundation funds arts and culture, resilient food systems, Midwest climate and energy, neuroscience, and vibrant and equitable communities, with Minnesota a primary focus for several programs and grants also reaching beyond the state. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,150 to $10 million, with a median of $100,000. It does not accept direct unsolicited proposals: organizations that fit a program’s guidelines should first discuss an inquiry with program staff, who may invite a proposal.
Assets
$2.7B
Grants
790
Total Given
$145.9M
Neighborhood Development Center Inc
Saint Paul, MN
Neighborhood Development Center supports entrepreneurs and neighborhood revitalization through business financing, training, services, and affordable commercial space, primarily in Saint Paul and Minneapolis, with grants going to Minnesota recipients. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $207,211, with a median of $13,500. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; a specific small-business grant RFP described was a past cycle.
Assets
$55.3M
Grants
571
Total Given
$10.2M
Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund
Duluth, MN
The Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund awards scholarships to eligible students pursuing mathematics, science, engineering, or medical fields, primarily serving students from northern Minnesota. Recent awards were typically $2,500, with grants ranging from $2,500 to $3,000. It accepts applications through its scholarship programs; high-school applications are due January 15, and the college-transfer pathway also has an application process.
Assets
$18.4M
Grants
566
Total Given
$1.5M
Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota
St. Paul, MN
The Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota funds spiritual, educational, and social needs through grants for education, capital improvements, assistance programs, and other charitable purposes. Its 2025 grants had a median of $16,124, and at least half of grants over any three-year period are intended for Minnesota organizations; 86% of 2025 grant dollars went to Minnesota. Its Social Impact and Educational Impact programs are invitation-only, while other CCF-directed programs may offer open, competitive applications.
Assets
$751.7M
Grants
504
Total Given
$43.9M
Communitygiving
St Cloud, MN
CommunityGiving supports nonprofits, schools, government entities, students, and community initiatives through partner foundations, donor-directed funds, competitive grants, and scholarships. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $680,477, with a median of $15,528; most funding went to Minnesota, though its network also includes Derby, Kansas. Competitive grant applications are accepted through online systems for specific opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$282.6M
Grants
426
Total Given
$16.7M
More Funders in Minnesota
The Richard & Rossy Shaller Family down — hundreds of funders to go?