The Republic of Tea Foundation
The Republic of Tea Foundation is a private foundation based in Nashville, Illinois. Its stated charitable activity is providing scholarships to employees of The Republic of Tea and their spouses and children.
The Republic of Tea Foundation at a glance
In short: The Republic of Tea Foundation gave $32K across 18 grants in 2026 (avg $2K), mostly in Illinois. Source: 2026 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2026)
- $31,617
- -2.8% vs 2025
- Grants made (2026)
- 18
- -5.3% vs 2025
- Average grant
- $1,757
- +2.6% vs 2025
- Median grant
- $2,000
- Total assets
- $4,074
- -62.2% vs 2025
- Primary geography
- Illinois (84% of itemized 2026 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2026 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2026; updated October 2026.
How to apply to The Republic of Tea Foundation
- How to Apply
-
The 2025 filing lists Steve Lohmann as the contact. Applicants must provide proof of enrollment and GPA upon request.
- Review Cycle
- None is listed on the 2025 filing.
- Deadline
- None is listed on the 2025 filing.
- Contact
Application contact: Steve Lohmann
Mailing address: 17577 Mockingbird Rd, Nashville, IL 62263
Phone: (618) 478-5520
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who The Republic of Tea Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
76 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 76 grants of 76 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In filing year 2026, 84% of grant dollars went to recipients in Illinois, 13% to recipients in Texas, and 3% to recipients in California.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2026 grant dollars across all 18 itemized grants.
Cities
How The Republic of Tea Foundation gives
- Giving grew 54% from 2023 to 2026. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2026, annual grant giving ranged from $18K (2022) to $33K (2025). In 2026 it made 18 grants totaling $32K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 18 individual scholarships Recipients not named | — | $31,617 |
Ready to take the next step with The Republic of Tea Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | $4,074 | $25,000 | $31,702 | $31,617 | 18 | $31,617 |
| 2025 | $10,776 | $25,000 | $32,552 | $32,542 | 19 | $32,542 |
| 2024 | $18,328 | $25,000 | $29,428 | $29,333 | 17 | $29,333 |
| 2023 | $22,756 | $25,000 | $20,489 | $20,489 | 10 | $20,489 |
| 2022 | — | $25,000 | $18,010 | $18,000 | 12 | $18,000 |
| 2021 | $11,255 | — | $18,818 | $18,808 | 12 | — |
| 2020 | $30,073 | $25,000 | $19,469 | $19,293 | 12 | — |
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated October 2026.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2026, the foundation gave 18 grants totaling $31,617. Grants ranged from $557 to $3,000, with a median grant of $2,000. The listed grants were to individual recipients for scholarships.
The foundation’s 2025 filing says scholarship recipients must be employees, or spouses or children of full- or part-time employees of The Republic of Tea. Eligible children may be natural, adopted, or stepchildren. Recipients must maintain a GPA equivalent to 3.0 out of 5.0; the maximum scholarship is $2,000 per school year. Proof of enrollment and GPA must be provided upon request.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2026 filing lists Ronald T. Rubin as president and treasurer, and Pamela Rubin as secretary.
The Republic of Tea Foundation is led by Ronald T. Rubin, President & Treasurer on every filing since 2020; none of the 2 officers listed in 2026 report compensation.
Officers on the 2026 filing
Ronald T. Rubin
President & Treasurer
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Pamela Rubin
Secretary
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2026. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about The Republic of Tea Foundation
How much does The Republic of Tea Foundation give each year?
The Republic of Tea Foundation gave $32K across 18 grants in 2026, according to its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2025 it gave $33K across 19 grants.
What is The Republic of Tea Foundation's typical grant size?
The Republic of Tea Foundation's median grant in 2026 was $2,000, and its average grant was $1,757, across 18 grants on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Republic of Tea Foundation give grants?
The Republic of Tea Foundation gives mostly in Illinois: 84% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Texas (13%).
Does The Republic of Tea Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2026: none of the 18 grants with a stated purpose on The Republic of Tea Foundation's 2026 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "$2000 Scholarship" (10 grants) and "$1000 Scholarship" (4 grants).
How large is The Republic of Tea Foundation?
The Republic of Tea Foundation reported $4K in total assets on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. Its revenue that year was $25K.
How do I apply for a grant from The Republic of Tea Foundation?
The 2025 filing lists Steve Lohmann as the contact. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is The Republic of Tea Foundation's EIN?
The Republic of Tea Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 37-1264351. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2026.
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated October 2026.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 4, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2026 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS September 8, 2020)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS August 5, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS September 14, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS September 5, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS September 9, 2024)
Other open foundation grants in Illinois
Illinois Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Republic of Tea Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Illinois
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
The Allstate Foundation
Northbrook, IL
The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.
Assets
$89.3M
Grants
2,010
Total Given
$38.0M
Elks National Foundation Inc
Chicago, IL
The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans’ services, and charitable projects through Elks Lodges and state associations across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median size of $10,000, though awards varied widely; the profile describes application routes for specific Lodge and scholarship programs but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$954.1M
Grants
1,536
Total Given
$36.5M
John D and Catherine T Macarthur Foundation
Chicago, IL
The MacArthur Foundation funds work advancing a more just, verdant, and peaceful world, including climate solutions, criminal justice, journalism, technology, and Chicago. In 2024, its grants had a median of $160,000, though awards ranged widely; it generally does not accept unsolicited requests, with possible exceptions for specific open calls or proposals that meet program guidelines.
Assets
$9.3B
Grants
1,086
Total Given
$356.1M
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial
Chicago, IL
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial supports education, the environment, health and human services, gun violence prevention, homelessness prevention, and Jewish community and Israel initiatives, with a strong focus on Chicago and giving across the U.S. and internationally. In 2024, its grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $55,000. It uses an invitation-only process and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
897
Total Given
$115.2M
Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago
Chicago, IL
The Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago funds human services, Jewish education and community programs, crisis response, and support for Israel and Jewish communities worldwide, primarily through Chicago-area agencies and initiatives. In 2025, its grants had a median of about $20,000, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
896
Total Given
$166.6M
More similar funders
More Funders in Illinois
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Republic of Tea Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Republic of Tea Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?