The National HBPA Inc
To promote the sport of thoroughbred racing and to provide assistance to owners and trainers of thoroughbred race horses.
Key facts about The National HBPA Inc
In short: The National HBPA Inc gave $15K across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $15K), mostly in Kentucky. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 52-1789171
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $15,000
- Grants made (2024)
- 1
- Average grant
- $15,000
- Median grant
- $15,000
- Total assets
- $500,668
- Primary geography
- Kentucky (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$501K
-13.6% YoY
Annual Giving
$15K
+0.0% YoY
Grant Count
1
+0.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$15K
+0.0% YoY
How The National HBPA Inc gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (+0%). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About The National HBPA Inc
Based on IRS filings
The National HBPA Inc is a public charity, based in Lexington, KY. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $501K in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $15K. Net investment income was $2K.
Open Grants
1 open opportunity from The National HBPA Inc
Ready to take the next step with The National HBPA Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2024 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $15K (2020) to $15K (2024). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $15K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Maxwell Glick Equine Research Center ($15K).
Grant Size Distribution
5 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 5 grants of 5 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Maxwell Glick Equine Research Center Lexington, KY | Equine research | $15,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $500,668 | $579,567 | $607,306 |
| Revenue | $606,461 | $676,337 | $638,566 |
| Expenses | $649,436 | $725,357 | $607,543 |
| Net Investment Income | $2,088 | $584 | $297 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 6, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 14, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 13, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 13, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 4, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The National HBPA Inc is led by Eric J Hamelback, CEO on every filing since 2020; 1 of 29 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Eric J Hamelback
CEO
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$122K (2020) → $169K (2024)
Doug Daniels
President
On filings since 2021
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Anthony Spadea Jr.
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Benard Chatters
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Bill Walmsley
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Dave McShane
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David Harrington
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David Millburn
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David Ross
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
J Lloyd Yother
Reg Vice President
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
James Miller
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jason Uelmen
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jim Watkins
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joe Davis
Reg Vice President
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Joe Poole
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lynne McNally
Secretary & Treasurer
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Pat LePley
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rick Hiles
Reg Vice President
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ron Sutton
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Sandee Martin
Member
Member → Reg Vice President, 2021
Reg Vice President → Member, 2024
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Joe Offolter
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kim Oliver
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mike Dini
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Wally Wollesen
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Paul Jenson
Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Dale Romans
Member
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Justin Revak
Member
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mike Lecesse
Member
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Naomi Long
Regional Vice President
New on the 2024 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (12)
- Former: David Brown (2023) — Member
- Former: Chris Vaccaro (2020–2022) — Member
- Former: Jami Poole (2020–2022) — Member
- Former: Pete Mattson (2020–2022) — Member
- Former: Robert Hutton (2020–2022) — Member
- Former: Leroy Gessmann (2020–2021) — Outgoing President
- Former: Brian Elmore (2021) — Member
- Former: Bob Moser Jr. (2020) — Member
- Former: David Faulkner (2020) — Member
- Former: Kent Bamford (2020) — Member
- Former: Robert Jeffries (2020) — Member
- Former: Stephen Screnci (2020) — Reg Vice President
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $169K, to Eric J Hamelback (CEO).
Frequently asked questions about The National HBPA Inc
How much does The National HBPA Inc give each year?
The National HBPA Inc gave $15K across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $15K across 1 grant.
How large is The National HBPA Inc?
The National HBPA Inc reported $501K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $606K.
Where does The National HBPA Inc operate?
The National HBPA Inc has awarded grants in Kentucky.
What is The National HBPA Inc's EIN?
The National HBPA Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 52-1789171. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching The National HBPA Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The National HBPA Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Kentucky
Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners & Breeders Foundation Inc
Lexington, KY
Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners & Breeders Foundation, inc. (ktob foundation) supports and funds equine research, in particular research to study and find a prevention or cure to the condition in horses commonly known as mare reproductive loss syndrome and other horse related illnesses which have plagued Kentucky horse owners in recent years.
Assets
$720K
Grants
1
Total Given
$55K
Geoffrey C Hughes Foundation Inc
Wilmington, DE
The foundation funds environmental protection, education, and social justice, with 2024 grants ranging from $10,000 to $175,000 and a median of $50,000. Its giving was concentrated in Massachusetts, New York, and Washington, D.C., with additional grants in Virginia and New Jersey. It accepts unsolicited requests by email as a letter of inquiry; no deadline is stated.
Assets
$24.2M
Grants
22
Total Given
$1.4M
Misdee Wrigley and James Mather Miller
Sarasota, FL
The foundation’s grants have supported organizations in marine education, baseball, health, human services, and equine-related activities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $168,000, with a median of $5,000; most funding went to organizations in Florida, followed by California and Kentucky. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.6M
Grants
43
Total Given
$394K
Julia & Isadore Klein Family
Louisville, KY
The Louisville-based Julia & Isadore Klein Family supports charitable organizations in areas including education, community services, arts, social services, and animal welfare, with most funding going to Kentucky. Its 2024 grants ranged from $50 to $57,000, with a median of $1,375. It accepts submissions year-round, has no prescribed application format, and invites applicants to contact Beth Klein.
Assets
$5.5M
Grants
64
Total Given
$375K
The Community Foundation of Louisville Inc
Louisville, KY
The Community Foundation of Louisville funds nonprofits across areas including education, arts and culture, health, and community development, with a focus on Louisville and surrounding communities while also supporting work beyond the region. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,012 to $3,853,691, with a median of $22,987; it states that grant programs for local nonprofits use an open application and review process.
Assets
$766.9M
Grants
678
Total Given
$55.0M
Blue Grass Community Foundation Inc
Lexington, KY
Blue Grass Community Foundation funds charitable causes and community needs, including education, housing, basic assistance, and youth wellbeing, primarily in Central and Appalachia Kentucky. Its 2025 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $520,000, with a median of about $16,700; the foundation’s website describes competitive grant opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$296.2M
Grants
514
Total Given
$20.7M
LG&E and Ku Foundation Inc
Louisville, KY
The foundation funds community organizations in economic development, education, the environment, and diversity, as well as event sponsorships and tree-planting grants, primarily in communities served by LG&E and KU. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $749,000, with a median of $2,500; 96% of grant dollars went to Kentucky. It accepts community grant applications through its online portal in March and October.
Assets
$22.0M
Grants
497
Total Given
$4.3M
The Community Foundation of Louisville Depository Inc
Louisville, KY
The Community Foundation of Louisville supports a broad range of causes, including arts, parks, education, social services, and libraries, with most 2025 grant dollars going to Kentucky organizations. Its 2025 grants had a median of $15,200 and ranged from $5,100 to over $2.3 million; the available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$24.0M
Grants
421
Total Given
$20.5M
John B & Brownie Young Memorial Fund
Owensboro, KY
The fund provides scholarships to eligible high school seniors from four Owensboro-area Kentucky school districts for full-time college or vocational/technical study, primarily supporting the first year. Awards are at least $500, with a $500 median grant in 2025; larger awards depend on students’ financial need. Students are notified and receive application information through their school counselor and Independence Bank; the fund does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$13.5M
Grants
392
Total Given
$894K
Honorable Order of Kentucky Colonels Inc
Louisville, KY
The Honorable Order of Kentucky Colonels funds Kentucky 501(c)(3) organizations serving Kentuckians, supporting projects in areas such as education, health, community services, arts, and disaster relief. Its 2024 grants ranged from $370 to $500,000, with a median of about $6,000; Good Works applications require a letter of intent, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$23.5M
Grants
358
Total Given
$4.5M
Adam R Scripps Foundation
Ft Mitchell, KY
The Adam R Scripps Foundation funds science and STEM education, housing, health, scholarships, and community and cultural projects, with grants across multiple states, especially Texas and California. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $2 million, with a median of $50,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$754.6M
Grants
281
Total Given
$35.5M
The Scripps Family Fund for Education
Ft Mitchell, KY
The Scripps Family Fund for Education and the Arts supports educational, enrichment, and arts-related opportunities—especially for economically disadvantaged people, from infants through young adults—and funds new initiatives, program expansion, and capacity building. Its 2025 grants ranged from $138 to $200,000, with a median of $10,000; it primarily funded organizations in Connecticut, with grants also reaching New York and other states. Funding is invitation-only, and the fund does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$28.0M
Grants
256
Total Given
$3.4M
More Funders in Kentucky
The National HBPA Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?