The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation
The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Richfield, Ohio. In 2025, it gave $117,000 through 11 grants, primarily to organizations in Ohio.
Key facts about The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation
In short: The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation gave $117K across 11 grants in 2025 (avg $11K), mostly in Ohio. 18% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 46-3720227
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $117,000
- Grants made (2025)
- 11
- Average grant
- $10,636
- Median grant
- $5,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 18% first-time grantees (2 of 11, 2025)
- Total assets
- $503
- Primary geography
- Ohio (98% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation states on its 2024 filing that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$503
-85.8% YoY
Annual Giving
$117K
-32.6% YoY
Grant Count
11
-26.7% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$11K
-8.1% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $2K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation open to new grantees?
18%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 2 of 11 grantees (18%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $2K; repeat grants $13K. How we count
Medians: $2K first-time, $6K repeat.
- 82% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−4%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for science, food banks, public health, parks and nature programs, job training, and library services.
The Greater Cleveland Food Bank describes its mission as providing nutritious food and essential resources so neighbors facing hunger can thrive. The Cuyahoga County Public Library Foundation says it exists to support and strengthen the library’s services and help ensure its vitality and excellence for current and future generations.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation awarded 11 grants totaling $117,000. Grant amounts ranged from $1,000 to $40,000, with a median of $5,000. Notable grants included $40,000 to Great Lakes Science Center, $25,000 to Salvation Army Harbor Light, $20,000 to Akron Regional Food Bank, and $7,000 to Cleveland Metroparks. Other recipients included Edwin’s Leadership School ($6,000), Greater Cleveland Food Bank ($5,000), Cuyahoga County Public Library Foundation ($5,000), Summit County Metroparks ($3,500), Conservancy for Cuyahoga Valley National Park ($2,500), American Red Cross ($2,000), and Mandel Jewish Community Center ($1,000).
Ready to take the next step with The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 98% of grant dollars went to recipients in Ohio and 2% to recipients in Washington, DC.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 11 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $73K (2020) to $174K (2024). In 2025 it made 11 grants totaling $117K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Great Lakes Science Center ($40K). Together the top 10 received $116K.
Grant Size Distribution
70 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 70 grants of 70 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Great Lakes Science Center Cleveland, OH | Improve Knowledge Base | $40,000 |
| Salvation Army Harbor Light Cleveland, OH | Promote Public Health | $25,000 |
| Akron Regional Food Bank Akron, OH | Reduce Hunger | $20,000 |
| Cleveland Metroparks Cleveland, OH | Support Park and Nature Programs | $7,000 |
| Edwin's Leadership School Shaker Heights, OH | Job Training | $6,000 |
| Greater Cleveland Food Bank Cleveland, OH | Reduce Hunger | $5,000 |
| Cuyahoga County Public Library Foundation Parma, OH | To Improve the Public Liabray System | $5,000 |
| Summit County Metroparks Akron, OH | Support Park and Nature Programs | $3,500 |
| Conservancy for Cuyahoga Valley National Park Peninsula, OH | Support Park and Nature Programs | $2,500 |
| American Red Cross Washington, DC | Promote Public Health | $2,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $503 | $117,670 | $120,720 | $117,000 | 11 |
| 2024 | $3,553 | $117,670 | $178,539 | $173,515 | 15 |
| 2023 | $64,422 | $117,670 | $130,596 | $126,100 | 14 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $503 | $3,553 | $64,422 |
| Revenue | $117,670 | $117,670 | $117,670 |
| Expenses | $120,720 | $178,539 | $130,596 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $117,000 | $173,515 | $126,100 |
| Distributable Amount | $1,535 | $2,181 | $2,757 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 13, 2020)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS April 25, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 5, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS April 11, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 12, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 7, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 7, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Nancy Andrews Hamerly as president and treasurer, Michael Curtiss Dutt as vice president, and Katherine Lynne Oglesbee as secretary.
The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation is led by Nancy Andrews Hamerly, President & Treasurer on every filing since 2019; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Nancy Andrews Hamerly
President & Treasurer
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Michael Curtiss Dutt
Vice President
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Katherine Lynne Oglesbee
Secretary
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Katherine Lynne Hamerly (2019–2022) — Secretary
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 3616 Seven Oaks Trail, Richfield, OH 44286
Phone: (216) 789-7420
Frequently asked questions about The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation
How much does The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation give each year?
The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation gave $117K across 11 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $174K across 15 grants.
What is The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation's typical grant size?
The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $5,000, and its average grant was $10,636, across 11 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation that year got $2K on average.
Where does The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation give grants?
The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation gives mostly in Ohio: 98% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Cleveland, OH (4 grants) and Akron, OH (2 grants).
Does The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 11 grants with a stated purpose on The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Support Park and Nature Programs" (3 grants) and "Promote Public Health" (3 grants).
Who are The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation's largest grantees?
The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Great Lakes Science Center ($40,000), Salvation Army Harbor Light ($25,000) and Akron Regional Food Bank ($20,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 73% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation?
The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation reported $503 in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $117K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $2K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for science, food banks, public health, parks and nature programs, job training, and library services. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation?
The foundation states on its 2024 filing that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation's EIN?
The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-3720227. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Does The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Cleveland Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The Cleveland Foundation funds nonprofits working on community needs and long-term priorities, including education, health, arts and culture, economic development, neighborhoods, and human services in Cuyahoga, Lake, and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $30,700, though amounts varied widely. Its general application is open year-round, so it accepts unsolicited requests through that process.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
1,016
Total Given
$184.2M
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation supports education, affordable housing, arts and culture, community well-being, neighborhood development, and basic needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, while specific opportunities range from small awards to grants of up to $450,000. It offers open RFP and LOI opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside those opportunities.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,408
Total Given
$184.4M
Columbus Foundation
Columbus, OH
The Columbus Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including arts and culture, education, youth, neighborhoods, basic needs, and capacity building, with a median 2024 grant of about $21,500. Its focus is Central Ohio, though it also funds organizations elsewhere; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
1,747
Total Given
$242.7M
The Scripps Howard Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Scripps Howard Foundation supports journalism education and related programs, including fellowships and investigative and open-source reporting, with 2024 grants concentrated in Maryland, Washington, D.C., Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. Its median 2024 grant was $1,250, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$69.4M
Grants
819
Total Given
$7.4M
Nisource Charitable Foundation
Columbus, OH
The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$43.0M
Grants
683
Total Given
$7.5M
Dayton Foundation Depository
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation supports eligible nonprofits working in arts and culture, health, education, human services and community building, including capacity building, capital projects and program expansions, primarily in Greater Dayton and nearby counties. Its 2025 itemized grants ranged from $5,020 to $1,792,990, with a median of $12,000. It accepts applications for its discretionary grant program through an online portal.
Assets
$42.3M
Grants
677
Total Given
$22.7M
The Dayton Foundation
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation supports nonprofit projects in areas such as education, arts and culture, health, human services and the environment that benefit Greater Dayton. Greenlight grants range from $500 to $7,500, discretionary grants are above $7,500 and up to $75,000, and its 2025 grant median was $14,550. Organizations can apply through its grants portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$771.2M
Grants
589
Total Given
$32.6M
Timken Co Charitable & Educational Fund
North Canton, OH
The Fund supports approved nonprofits delivering measurable, lasting improvements in communities where Timken operates, including community services, housing, food access, education, and workforce programs. Typical grants are $500–$10,000, with larger requests requiring board preapproval; eligible communities include locations in Ohio, North Carolina, Colorado, Illinois, and South Carolina. It says it gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.1M
Grants
436
Total Given
$2.5M
Jewish Federation of Cleveland
Cleveland, OH
The Jewish Federation of Cleveland funds social-welfare, religious, educational, security, and community programs, with a focus on Cleveland and Ohio as well as Jewish needs in Israel and around the world. Its 2025 grants had a median of $22,250, though amounts varied widely; the available information does not specify whether it accepts unsolicited institutional requests.
Assets
$680.2M
Grants
425
Total Given
$72.7M
Toledo Community Foundation Inc
Toledo, OH
Greater Toledo Community Foundation funds a broad range of community programs, including education, health, social services, arts and culture, and environmental work, mainly in northwest Ohio and southeast Michigan. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $15,500, though amounts varied widely; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$246.9M
Grants
406
Total Given
$17.8M
Premier Bank Foundation
Canfield, OH
The foundation supports qualified charitable organizations and community efforts, with 2025 grants spanning neighborhood development, social equity, entrepreneurship, revitalization, and local services. Grants ranged from $30 to $60,000, with a median of $1,682, and most funding went to Ohio, followed by Indiana, Michigan, and Pennsylvania. Its filing says it does not limit giving to preselected organizations; awards are determined by its Distribution Committee, and no application form or materials are listed.
Assets
$14.5M
Grants
388
Total Given
$1.4M
More Funders in Ohio
The Nancy Andrews Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?