The Khaled Hosseini Foundation
The Khaled Hosseini Foundation is a private foundation, based in San Jose, CA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $1.0M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 6 grants totaling $229K. Net investment income was $5K.
The Khaled Hosseini Foundation at a glance
In short: The Khaled Hosseini Foundation gave $229K across 6 grants in 2024 (avg $38K), mostly in New York. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $228,500
- -24.8% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 6
- +0.0% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $38,083
- -24.8% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $27,250
- Total assets
- $1,023,470
- +80.8% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- New York (59% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.
How to apply to The Khaled Hosseini Foundation
Open Grants
1 open opportunity from The Khaled Hosseini Foundation
Who The Khaled Hosseini Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 6 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Medecins Sans Frontieresdoctors Without Borders ($80K). Together the top 6 received $229K.
Grant Size Distribution
37 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 28 grants of 37 (76%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.
Cities
How The Khaled Hosseini Foundation gives
- Giving fell 28% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out 510% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $188K (2020) to $316K (2021). In 2024 it made 6 grants totaling $229K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Medecins Sans Frontieresdoctors Without Borders New York, NY | To support medical assistance services provided by the organization to people affected by conflict, epidemics, disasters, or exclusion from healthcare. | $80,000 |
| USA for Unhcr Washington, DC | To Support Unhcr's Work in Afghanistan | $50,000 |
| Emergency USA New York, NY | To support programs that partner with local populations in war-torn and impoverished communities to provide healthcare services that reach beyond walls to heal communities. | $29,500 |
| UNICEF USA New York, NY | To Support Unicef's Work in Afghanistan. | $25,000 |
| Trust in Education Lafayette, CA | To support their programs that provide educational, economic, and health care assistance to afghan families. | $24,000 |
| Jewish Family and Community Services East Bay Berkeley, CA | Support to ensure that afghan refugees resettling in northern California are welcomed with dignity, care and support. | $20,000 |
Ready to take the next step with The Khaled Hosseini Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $1,023,470 | $689,104 | $231,817 | $228,500 | 6 | $231,584 | $4,727 | $45,410 |
| 2023 | $566,176 | $138,630 | $314,679 | $303,975 | 6 | $313,217 | $9,556 | $33,666 |
| 2022 | $747,493 | $193,602 | $198,749 | $190,000 | 5 | $198,508 | $8,721 | $35,733 |
| 2021 | $755,854 | $271,337 | $324,780 | $315,772 | 13 | $323,282 | $7,668 | $38,217 |
| 2020 | $863,690 | $236,348 | $210,935 | $187,768 | 7 | — | $106,622 | $38,334 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Khaled Hosseini Foundation reported a distributable amount of $45K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Khaled Hosseini Foundation is led by Khaled Hosseini, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 3 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Khaled Hosseini
President
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Sandra Hosseini
Executive Director
On filings since 2020
12 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Roya Hosseini
Chief Financial Officer
On filings since 2020
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about The Khaled Hosseini Foundation
How much does The Khaled Hosseini Foundation give each year?
The Khaled Hosseini Foundation gave $229K across 6 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $304K across 6 grants.
What is The Khaled Hosseini Foundation's typical grant size?
The Khaled Hosseini Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $27,250, and its average grant was $38,083, across 6 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Khaled Hosseini Foundation give grants?
The Khaled Hosseini Foundation gives mostly in New York: 59% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were District of Columbia (22%) and California (19%). The most frequent recipient cities were New York, NY (3 grants).
Does The Khaled Hosseini Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2024: none of the 6 grants with a stated purpose on The Khaled Hosseini Foundation's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.
Who are The Khaled Hosseini Foundation's largest grantees?
The Khaled Hosseini Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Medecins Sans Frontieresdoctors Without Borders ($80,000), USA for Unhcr ($50,000) and Emergency USA ($29,500), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 70% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is The Khaled Hosseini Foundation?
The Khaled Hosseini Foundation reported $1.0M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $232K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $45K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is The Khaled Hosseini Foundation's EIN?
The Khaled Hosseini Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 26-4199874. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Khaled Hosseini Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Gannett Foundation Inc
New York, NY
Gannett Foundation’s 2025 grants supported a range of organizations, with listed awards generally between $1,500 and $2,500, though the available figures do not establish a typical grant size or geographic focus. The foundation has wound down: its 2026 filing reports no grants or assets, and no current application process or acceptance of unsolicited requests is stated.
Assets
—
Grants
32
Total Given
$65K
Newton Family Fund
Jackson, WY
The Newton Family Fund supports varied charitable work, including community development, outdoor education, humanitarian relief, children’s healthcare, and gender justice, with 2024 grants distributed across multiple states and Washington, DC. It made 47 grants totaling $74,999, ranging from $100 to $10,000, with a median grant of $1,000. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$834K
Grants
47
Total Given
$75K
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
Flora Family Foundation
Menlo Park, CA
The Flora Family Foundation funds selected organizations working on poverty and community development in developing regions, climate protection and clean energy, ocean health, and Black maternal health in California. In 2024, it gave 200 grants ranging from $250 to $125,000, with a median of $19,000; it has no geographic restrictions when projects fit its interests. It makes grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$128.4M
Grants
200
Total Given
$5.0M
FTHREE Foundation
Carrollton, GA
FTHREE FOUNDATION’s 2024 grants supported varied work in journalism, civic engagement, democracy, education, and social justice, with no stated mission or defined priorities. It made 102 grants ranging from $500 to $100,000, with a median of $5,000; the largest shares went to organizations in California and Washington, DC. The filing says it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and directs applicants to its website for guidelines and application details, but does not explicitly state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$30.4M
Grants
102
Total Given
$1.9M
Edwards Lifesciences Foundation
Irvine, CA
Edwards Lifesciences Foundation funds access to care for underserved structural heart patients, along with health, education, and economic-opportunity programs in communities where Edwards employees live and work; some specific projects outside the U.S. may also be eligible. Its 2024 grants had a median of $7,500, though awards ranged widely; it describes an annual application cycle but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$81.4M
Grants
224
Total Given
$9.0M
More similar funders
More Funders in California
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Khaled Hosseini Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Khaled Hosseini Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?