The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation
The John J. and Frank Sparacio Foundation is a private foundation based in Pennington, New Jersey. Established in 1999, it says its mission is to listen, learn, and strengthen community-rooted partners, based on the belief that communities know best.
The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation at a glance
In short: The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation gave $770K across 24 grants in 2025 (avg $32K), top state California. 17% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $770,430
- +10.5% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 24
- +4.3% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $32,101
- +5.9% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $25,000
- Total assets
- $15,485,060
- +0.2% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 17% first-time grantees (4 of 23, 2025; small sample)
- Primary geography
- California (20% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- Invitation Only
-
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Its website says grants are by invitation, while inquiries are welcome.
- Contact
Mailing address: PO Box 1532 Aft, Pennington, NJ 08534
Phone: (888) 866-3275
Website: https://jsparaciofdn.org
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Thomas Jefferson University ($100K). Together the top 10 received $491K.
Organizations only. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($35,000), which are not listed by name.
Grant Size Distribution
147 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 128 grants of 147 (87%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The foundation says it supports organizations in selected communities in the United States and internationally. In 2025, the largest shares of grant dollars by recipient state were California (20%), Pennsylvania (13%), Colorado (12%), Illinois (10%), and Texas (7%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 24 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Is The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation open to new grantees?
17%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 4 of 23 grantees (17%) were first-time recipients. With only 23 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 4 points. First grants averaged $31K; repeat grants $32K. How we count
Medians: $30K first-time, $25K repeat.
- 65% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−12%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 101% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $697K (2024) to $879K (2022). In 2025 it made 24 grants totaling $770K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Thomas Jefferson University Philadelphia, PA | Scholarships/Midwifery/Stud | $100,000 |
| Bright Star of Bethlehem Chicago, IL | Match/General Operating | $80,000 |
| Bethlehem Bible College New Braunfels, TX | Bipj Capacity Grant | $57,000 |
| Afari-American Friends Asian Rural Inst Austin, TN | Regional Hub in Indonesia / | $53,123 |
| Churches for Middle East Peace Washington, DC | Match/General Operating | $45,000 |
| Zozu Project (Educhrist) Templeton, CA | Higher Education Fund for | $39,307 |
| 1 individual scholarship Recipients not named | — | $35,000 |
| Friends of Sabeel - North America Greenwood Village, CO | Matching Grant/General | $35,000 |
| Street Dog Coalition Ft Collins, CO | General Operating/Matching | $32,000 |
| Acnm Foundation Cambridge, MA | Pioneer Awards/General | $25,000 |
Ready to take the next step with The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $15,485,060 | $1,085,152 | $1,048,841 | $770,430 | 24 | $950,260 | $998,303 | $939,005 |
| 2024 | $15,446,450 | $984,348 | $949,493 | $697,318 | 23 | $854,050 | $898,427 | $897,813 |
| 2023 | $15,418,646 | $765,755 | $976,731 | $758,409 | 37 | $891,250 | $685,034 | $830,102 |
| 2022 | $15,628,222 | $569,052 | $1,100,252 | $878,649 | 33 | $992,434 | $491,246 | $873,330 |
| 2021 | $16,156,491 | $2,179,957 | $988,905 | $826,660 | 30 | $893,042 | $2,085,205 | $977,919 |
| 2020 | $14,959,314 | $-77,370 | $968,489 | $820,490 | 40 | — | $285,655 | $851,992 |
| 2019 | $15,992,790 | $799,370 | $974,397 | $814,319 | 31 | — | $683,082 | $875,934 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation reported a distributable amount of $939K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation’s vision is “A world where communities are heard and valued.” Its mission is: “We believe communities know best. We listen, learn, and strengthen community-rooted partners.” Its website describes an approach centered on community-rooted work, flexible support, relationships, and stewardship.
Its focus areas are companion-animal well-being; Christian- and Catholic-affiliated organizations; place-based environmental stewardship; midwifery education and community-rooted maternal care; Indigenous knowledge and cultural continuity; and Palestinian-led organizations and U.S.-based groups working in education, cultural preservation, and nonviolent peace-building. The foundation says it is especially drawn to grassroots, small, and mid-sized organizations.
Examples among its 2025 grantees illustrate the range of supported work. Thomas Jefferson University describes itself as a comprehensive university spanning fields including health and medicine; the Wolakota Waldorf Society says it provides Waldorf education integrated with Lakota language and culture; and the Ventana Wilderness Alliance’s stated mission is to protect, preserve, and restore wilderness qualities and biodiversity in California’s northern Santa Lucia Mountains and Big Sur coast.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2025, the foundation reported 24 grants totaling $770,430. Individual grants ranged from $7,000 to $100,000, with a median of $25,000. Its website says most grants range from $1,000 to $50,000 and are considered throughout the calendar year.
Among the largest 2025 grants were $100,000 to Thomas Jefferson University for scholarships/midwifery/study; $80,000 to Bright Star of Bethlehem for a matching/general operating grant; $57,000 to Bethlehem Bible College for a capacity grant; $45,000 to Churches for Middle East Peace for a matching/general operating grant; and $39,307 to Zozu Project (EduChrist) for a higher education fund.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Katri Brewer as president and executive director; Ruth L Haines Lang, Theodor Lang, and Jonathan Lang as directors; Teresa Lang as secretary; and Michael Lang as treasurer.
The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation is led by Katri Brewer, President & Executive Director on the 2025 filing; 1 of 6 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Katri Brewer
President & Executive Director
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$94K (2025)
Jonathan Lang
Director
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ruth L. Haines Lang
Director
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Theodor Lang
Director
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael Lang
Treasurer
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Teresa Lang
Secretary
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (3)
- Former: Katri Brewer Delac (2019–2024) — Vice President, Fdn Grants & Program Manager
- Former: Martin T. Lang (2019–2024) — President
- Former: Ruth L. Haines (2019–2024) — Secretary & Treasurer
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $94K, to Katri Brewer (President, Executive Director).
Frequently asked questions about The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation
How much does The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation give each year?
The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation gave $770K across 24 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $697K across 23 grants.
What is The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation's typical grant size?
The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $25,000, and its average grant was $32,101, across 24 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation that year got $31K on average.
Where does The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation give grants?
The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation's top state is California, with 20% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Pennsylvania (13%) and Colorado (12%). The most frequent recipient cities were Santa Barbara, CA (2 grants).
Does The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 58% of The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (14 of 24) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation's largest grantees?
The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Thomas Jefferson University ($100,000), Bright Star of Bethlehem ($80,000) and Bethlehem Bible College ($57,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($35,000), which are not listed by name. Together they received 31% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation?
The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation reported $15.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $950K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $939K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation fund?
The foundation’s vision is “A world where communities are heard and valued.” Its mission is: “We believe communities know best. We listen, learn, and strengthen community-rooted partners.” See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation's EIN?
The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 65-0951605. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Does The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(3)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 14, 2020)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 25, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Live grants for the work The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation funds
Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
- Nixa Affiliate Grantmaking Program Up to US $10,000 · Due October 19, 2026
- Community and School Grants $28,000 total pool; 10-15 grants expected · Due October 19, 2026
- Mary Pinola/Crescenta Valley Chamber Education Fund $500 - $5,000 for ongoing programs; up to $15,000 for Strategic Initiative Grants · Due October 19, 2026
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
IBM International Foundation
Armonk, NY
The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$357.7M
Grants
16
Total Given
$11.7M
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
—
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
United Way Worldwide
Alexandria, VA
United Way Worldwide funds community programs focused on youth opportunity, health, financial security, education, and disaster relief, with 2024 grants made across multiple U.S. states and internationally. Its 209 reported grants ranged from $5,100 to $736,333, with a median of $22,675. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.
Assets
$68.0M
Grants
209
Total Given
$11.4M
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
More similar funders
More Funders in New Jersey
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 19, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/the-john-j-and-frank-sparacio-foundation-morg_1da0db533df648af8cdf2374d156efed
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_650951605_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{The John J \& Frank Sparacio Foundation funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/the-john-j-and-frank-sparacio-foundation-morg_1da0db533df648af8cdf2374d156efed},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-19. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The John J & Frank Sparacio Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?