The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund
The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Braintree, MA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $277K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 9 grants totaling $18K.
The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund at a glance
In short: The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund gave $18K across 9 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in Massachusetts. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $18,000
- -10.0% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 9
- -10.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $2,000
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $2,000
- Total assets
- $277,258
- -11.5% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Massachusetts (67% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 9 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Bentley University- Di Schino ($2K). Together the top 9 received $18K.
Grant Size Distribution
46 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 46 grants of 46 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.
Cities
How The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+13%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 94% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $9K (2020) to $20K (2024). In 2025 it made 9 grants totaling $18K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Bentley University- Di Schino Waltham, MA | Education | $2,000 |
| Vassar College- Rodriguez Poughkeepsie, NY | Education | $2,000 |
| Brandeis University- Sedaro Waltham, MA | Education | $2,000 |
| Penn State University- Butler University Park, PA | Education | $2,000 |
| Endicott College- Tripp Beverly, MA | Education | $2,000 |
| University of Massachusetts-Agostin Amherst, MA | Education | $2,000 |
| Endicott College- Trudel Beverly, MA | Education | $2,000 |
| Bryant University- Marchese Smithfield, RI | Education | $2,000 |
| Spa Tech Institute- Persico North Andover, MA | Education | $2,000 |
Ready to take the next step with The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $277,258 | $10,469 | $46,510 | $18,000 | 9 | $30,378 | — | $32,267 |
| 2024 | $313,299 | $31,861 | $42,133 | $20,000 | 10 | $30,729 | $24,457 | $32,406 |
| 2023 | $324,650 | $66,894 | $58,985 | $20,000 | 10 | $42,343 | $50,278 | $26,313 |
| 2022 | $317,140 | $16,165 | $17,187 | $16,000 | 8 | $16,067 | $15,045 | $27,738 |
| 2021 | $317,749 | $52,021 | $32,049 | $18,000 | 9 | $26,359 | $46,331 | $29,009 |
| 2020 | $299,026 | $43,240 | $18,856 | $9,000 | 8 | — | $38,615 | $22,954 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund reported a distributable amount of $32K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund is led by Richard Gattine, Trustee on every filing since 2022 — the only officer listed, and compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Richard Gattine
Trustee
On filings since 2022
0.5 hrs/week
$4K (2023) → $4K (2025)
Former officers (1)
- Former: Patricia McDonald (2020–2021) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $4K, to Richard Gattine (Trustee).
Frequently asked questions about The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund
How much does The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund give each year?
The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund gave $18K across 9 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $20K across 10 grants.
What is The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund's typical grant size?
The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund's median grant in 2025 was $2,000, and its average grant was $2,000, across 9 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund give grants?
The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund gives mostly in Massachusetts: 67% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were New York (11%) and Pennsylvania (11%). The most frequent recipient cities were Waltham, MA (2 grants) and Beverly, MA (2 grants).
Does The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 9 grants with a stated purpose on The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Education" (9 grants).
Who are The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund's largest grantees?
The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund's largest 2025 grantees include Bentley University- Di Schino ($2,000), Vassar College- Rodriguez ($2,000) and Brandeis University- Sedaro ($2,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 33% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund?
The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund reported $277K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $30K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $32K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund?
The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Braintree, MA. It holds $277K in total assets as of 2025.
What is The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund's EIN?
The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 04-3031308. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS July 24, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 8, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS April 30, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 7, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 13, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 5, 2026)
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Davis Educational Foundation
Yarmouth, ME
The Davis Educational Foundation supports undergraduate teaching, learning, affordability, and cost-containment projects at eligible regionally accredited bachelor’s-degree institutions in New England, including consortia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $322,148, with a median of about $150,000; it also offers Presidential Grants of up to $25,000. Institutions apply online, and the foundation encourages contacting staff before preparing a proposal; no letter of inquiry is required.
Assets
$130.3M
Grants
22
Total Given
$3.4M
Dorothy Harrison Egan Foundation
Nantucket, MA
The Dorothy Harrison Egan Foundation primarily funds scholarships for students pursuing health- or health care-related studies, and its recent grants also include general support for organizations. In 2025, grants ranged from $1,000 to $55,000, with a median of $7,488; funding was concentrated in Massachusetts. Its 2024 filing says scholarship applicants should submit a written request, but does not state whether unsolicited organizational requests are accepted.
Assets
$6.1M
Grants
76
Total Given
$663K
Ernst & Young Foundation
New York, NY
Ernst & Young Foundation supports higher education through employee and partner matching gifts, as well as educational and special-project grants, including research, education forums, and programs that expand educational opportunity. In 2025, it made 637 grants ranging from $5,056 to $316,005, with a median of $13,525, to recipients across multiple states; the largest shares went to New York, Texas, California, Michigan, and Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$47.6M
Grants
637
Total Given
$16.7M
The Sudbury Foundation
Sudbury, MA
The Sudbury Foundation funds youth and family services, local food and sustainable agriculture, community needs, equity and inclusion, and projects benefiting Sudbury residents and nearby communities. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,083 to $100,000, with a median of $6,000. Application rules vary by program: Community grants are by invitation only, and the profile does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests.
Assets
$36.9M
Grants
137
Total Given
$1.9M
Arthur Cunningham Scholarship Fund
Boston, MA
The fund provides scholarships for students through the Lynn Knights of Columbus, with selection criteria set by a Knights vote. In 2025, it gave 31 grants totaling $52,000, typically $500–$6,000, primarily in Massachusetts, with grants also going to organizations in several other states. It supports only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$644K
Grants
31
Total Given
$52K
IBM International Foundation
Armonk, NY
The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$357.7M
Grants
16
Total Given
$11.7M
More similar funders
More Funders in Massachusetts
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Jennie & Samuel J Costa Education Fund down — hundreds of funders to go?