The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc
To unite people and resources at the local level to meet needs of pregnant women, infants, young children and their families.
Key facts about The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc
In short: The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc gave $1.3M across 5 grants in 2025 (avg $260K), mostly in Florida. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 59-3163742
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $1,299,826
- Grants made (2025)
- 5
- Average grant
- $259,965
- Median grant
- $75,000
- Total assets
- $1,776,876
- Primary geography
- Florida (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$1.8M
-27.8% YoY
Annual Giving
$1.3M
-1.7% YoY
Grant Count
5
+25.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$260K
-21.4% YoY
How The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc gives
- Giving grew 46% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc
Based on IRS filings
The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc is a public charity focused on Children and youth, based in Daytona Beach, FL. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.8M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 5 grants totaling $1.3M. Net investment income was $11K.
Focus Areas
Ready to take the next step with The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $674K (2020) to $1.3M (2024). In 2025 it made 5 grants totaling $1.3M.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 5 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Children's Home Society ($1.0M). Together the top 5 received $1.3M.
Grant Size Distribution
21 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 8 grants of 21 (38%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Children's Home Society Daytona Beach, FL | Healthy Start | $1,021,705 |
| Jennie Joseph Telehealth Services LLC Winter Garden, FL | Healthy Start | $159,921 |
| Healthy Communities Daytona Beach, FL | Healthy Start | $75,000 |
| Volusia County Health Department Daytona Beach, FL | Healthy Start | $36,000 |
| Flagler County Health Department Bunnell, FL | Healthy Start | $7,200 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,776,876 | $2,460,312 | $1,924,324 |
| Revenue | $3,617,507 | $3,661,891 | $3,108,787 |
| Expenses | $3,769,911 | $3,690,178 | $3,083,762 |
| Net Investment Income | $11,447 | $11,716 | $555 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS January 8, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 1, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 8, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS February 12, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 15, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS December 27, 2019)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc is led by Gabrielle Bargerstock, Executive Director since 2024 (on filings since 2021); 1 of 12 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Gabrielle Bargerstock
Executive Director
Executive Director & Secretary → Executive Director, 2024
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$10K (2021) → $0 (2025)
Sarah Papert
Executive Director
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$89K (2025)
Amy Workowski
President
Board Member → Vice President & Secretary, 2024
Vice President & Secretary → President, 2025
On filings since 2021
No compensation reported
Byron Williams
Board Member
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Jessica Fox-Sznapstajler
Board Member
Vice President → President, 2020
President → Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Pamela Carbiener
Immediate Past President
Vice President → President, 2024
President → Immediate Past President, 2025
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Tyler Debord
Treasurer
Board Member → Treasurer, 2021
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Heidi Wright
Vice President & Secretary
Board Member → Vice President & Secretary, 2025
On filings since 2021
No compensation reported
Kim Kania
Board Member
Board Memebe → Board Member, 2024
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Carrie Baird
Board Member
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Kelly Murgolo
Board Member
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Stephen Civitelli
Board Member
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Former officers (22)
- Former: Rebecca Vernon (2019–2024) — Board Member
- Former: Jessica Fox Sznapstajler (2024) — Immediate Past President
- Former: Matt Ferritto (2024) — Board Member
- Former: Cynthia Mayer (2019–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Matthew Doughney (2019–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Robert Snyder (2019–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Steven R. Forsyth (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Clay Meek (2021–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Rebecca Hacker (2021–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Ethan Johnson (2022–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Sarah Marks (2022–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Heidi Herzberg (2019–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Amanda Hayes (2019–2021) — Board Member
- Former: Dixie Morqese (2019–2021) — Associate Executive Director
- Former: Patrica Boswell (2019–2021) — Governor & Nomina
- Former: Suzette Cameron (2019–2021) — Past President
- Former: Matilda Johnson (2020–2021) — Board Member
- Former: Joanna Nightingale (2019–2020) — Board Member
- Former: Colin G. Chesley (2020) — Board Member
- Former: Carly Meek (2019) — Immediate Past P
- Former: John Meyers (2019) — Board Member
- Former: Rafael Ramirez (2019) — Treasurer
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $89K, to Sarah Papert (Executive Director).
Frequently asked questions about The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc
How much does The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc give each year?
The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc gave $1.3M across 5 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $1.3M across 4 grants.
What is The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc's typical grant size?
The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc's median grant in 2025 was $75,000, and its average grant was $259,965, across 5 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.
Where does The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc give grants?
The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc gives mostly in Florida: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Daytona Beach, FL (3 grants).
Does The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 5 grants with a stated purpose on The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Healthy Start" (5 grants).
Who are The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc's largest grantees?
The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Children's Home Society ($1,021,705), Jennie Joseph Telehealth Services LLC ($159,921) and Healthy Communities ($75,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 97% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc?
The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc reported $1.8M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $3.6M.
What is The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc?
The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc is a public charity focused on Children and youth, based in Daytona Beach, FL. It holds $1.8M in total assets as of 2025.
What is The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc's EIN?
The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 59-3163742. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Florida
First Interstate BancSystem Foundation
Billings, MT
The First Interstate BancSystem Foundation funds poverty reduction, youth development, financial education, and community development, as well as civic, arts, education, health, human services, and sustainability efforts in communities served by First Interstate Bank across 10 states. Its 2025 grants had a median award of $2,500, though amounts varied widely; the stated minimum grant is $2,500. Organizations can submit grant requests online, which are traditionally reviewed monthly, but grants must be recommended by a local First Interstate branch.
Assets
$19.2M
Grants
767
Total Given
$5.0M
Donald and Ruby Branson Foundation
Lone Pine, CA
Assets
$1.6M
Grants
7
Total Given
$75K
Duneland Health Council
Michigan City, IN
The Duneland Health Council funds nonprofit work in community health and welfare, including children’s and family services, mental and dental health, homelessness, and health-career scholarships, in the greater Michigan City, Indiana, area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $50,000, with a median of $13,500. It describes its application process as open and does not limit grants to preselected organizations.
Assets
$5.6M
Grants
18
Total Given
$309K
ROAD RUNNERS CLUB OF AMERICA Columbus Running Club
Columbus, IN
The mission of Columbus Running Club is to promote health and wellness in Columbus and Bartholomew Co, Indiana by providing programs and activities which encourages participation in running and walking activities.
Assets
$132K
Grants
1
Total Given
$40K
Shelburne Farms
Shelburne, VT
The mission of Shelburne Farms is to inspire and cultivate learning for a sustainable future.
Assets
$90.3M
Grants
7
Total Given
$90K
Halifax Medical Center Employee Service Fund Inc
Daytona Beach, FL
The purpose of the employees community service fund is to help meet the needs of local health related organizations and charities by distributing tax-deductible contributions from its members.
Assets
$185K
Grants
0
Total Given
$30K
Publix Super Markets Charities Inc
Lakeland, FL
Publix Super Markets Charities supports nonprofits addressing hunger, homelessness and housing, youth, education, and community needs in Florida, Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Kentucky. Its 2024 median grant was $2,500, though awards ranged widely; it accepts online requests from eligible organizations, with application periods varying by program.
Assets
$233.8M
Grants
3,269
Total Given
$52.5M
The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida Inc
Jacksonville, FL
The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida supports neighborhood strengthening, nonprofit capacity, education, older adults, the arts, and other community needs, primarily in Baker, Clay, Duval, Nassau, Putnam, and St. Johns counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, while its Program Support grants offer up to $25,000; eligible nonprofits may apply to competitive programs, but donor-advised funds do not accept applications.
Assets
$708.7M
Grants
2,470
Total Given
$78.0M
The Community Foundation of Sarasota CO Inc
Sarasota, FL
The Community Foundation of Sarasota County funds nonprofit programs in areas including education, health care, basic needs, animal welfare, arts, and community capacity building. Its programmatic grants average $10,000–$25,000 and support organizations serving Sarasota, Manatee, Charlotte, and DeSoto counties; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$518.5M
Grants
540
Total Given
$41.2M
Community Foundation of Tampa Bay Inc
Tampa, FL
The Community Foundation of Tampa Bay funds nonprofits through competitive grants and other programs focused on economic opportunity, environmental resilience, health and wellbeing, education, and vibrant communities. Its typical grant is about $25,000, and it serves Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Hernando, and Citrus counties. It accepts applications through its competitive grants process and rolling Critical Needs List.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
698
Total Given
$54.3M
Gulf Coast Community Foundation Inc
Venice, FL
Gulf Coast Community Foundation funds arts and culture, civic and economic development, education, the environment, health and human services, and disaster response, with grants generally serving Sarasota and Charlotte counties, DeSoto County, Boca Grande, Lakewood Ranch, and Longboat Key, Florida. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,030 to $2,101,739, with a median of $16,251; Community Grants are capped at $25,000 per nonprofit per fiscal year. It accepts letters of inquiry for Community Grants; Catalytic and Initiative Grants are by invitation.
Assets
$533.7M
Grants
651
Total Given
$45.0M
Early Learning Coalition of Broward County Inc
Fort Lauderdale, FL
The Early Learning Coalition of Broward funds child care reimbursement and early-learning providers, including programs supporting child care and preschool, primarily in Broward County, Florida. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,127 to $3,994,863, with a median of $158,921. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$15.9M
Grants
636
Total Given
$152.2M
More Funders in Florida
The Healthy Start Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?