The Edwin E Hatch Foundation
The Edwin E Hatch Foundation is a private foundation, based in New York, NY. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.3M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 3 grants totaling $117K. Net investment income was $155K.
The Edwin E Hatch Foundation at a glance
In short: The Edwin E Hatch Foundation gave $117K across 3 grants in 2025 (avg $39K), mostly in New York. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $116,713
- +55.6% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 3
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $38,904
- +55.6% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $8,440
- Total assets
- $1,285,941
- +3.2% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- New York (86% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who The Edwin E Hatch Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 3 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Road Forward Scholarship Fund ($100K). Together the top 3 received $117K.
Grant Size Distribution
12 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 10 grants of 12 (83%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.
Cities
How The Edwin E Hatch Foundation gives
- Giving fell 48% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 143% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $10K (2023) to $225K (2022). In 2025 it made 3 grants totaling $117K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Road Forward Scholarship Fund Bridgehampton, NY | To Further Donee's Exempt Purpose | $100,000 |
| Worcester State University Worcester, MA | To Further Donee's Exempt Purpose | $8,440 |
| Fitchburg State University Fitchburg, MA | To Further Donee's Exempt Purpose | $8,273 |
Ready to take the next step with The Edwin E Hatch Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,285,941 | $173,008 | $137,598 | $116,713 | 3 | $118,463 | $155,474 | $82,810 |
| 2024 | $1,245,663 | $69,542 | $96,150 | $75,000 | 3 | $81,478 | $54,870 | $81,139 |
| 2023 | $1,272,329 | $66,266 | $26,970 | $10,000 | 1 | $11,922 | $52,218 | $74,850 |
| 2022 | $1,229,313 | $62,229 | $249,261 | $225,000 | 2 | $227,875 | $44,939 | $89,374 |
| 2021 | $1,420,291 | $59,938 | $94,106 | $75,000 | 3 | — | $45,806 | $90,192 |
| 2020 | $1,457,188 | $-6,201 | $82,493 | $75,000 | 3 | — | $38,636 | $83,290 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Edwin E Hatch Foundation reported a distributable amount of $83K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Edwin E Hatch Foundation is led by Roger S. Blane, President since 2021 (on filings since 2020); none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Roger S. Blane
President
Secretary → President, 2021
On filings since 2020
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Steven J. Bergerson
Treasurer
On filings since 2020
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Stephen L. Solomon (2020) — President
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about The Edwin E Hatch Foundation
How much does The Edwin E Hatch Foundation give each year?
The Edwin E Hatch Foundation gave $117K across 3 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $75K across 3 grants.
What is The Edwin E Hatch Foundation's typical grant size?
The Edwin E Hatch Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $8,440, and its average grant was $38,904, across 3 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Edwin E Hatch Foundation give grants?
The Edwin E Hatch Foundation gives mostly in New York: 86% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Massachusetts (14%).
How large is The Edwin E Hatch Foundation?
The Edwin E Hatch Foundation reported $1.3M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $118K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $83K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is The Edwin E Hatch Foundation's EIN?
The Edwin E Hatch Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 04-3591196. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 12, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS August 11, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 15, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS March 25, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS February 10, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS February 14, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Edwin E Hatch Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
IBM International Foundation
Armonk, NY
The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$357.7M
Grants
16
Total Given
$11.7M
Ernst & Young Foundation
New York, NY
Ernst & Young Foundation supports higher education through employee and partner matching gifts, as well as educational and special-project grants, including research, education forums, and programs that expand educational opportunity. In 2025, it made 637 grants ranging from $5,056 to $316,005, with a median of $13,525, to recipients across multiple states; the largest shares went to New York, Texas, California, Michigan, and Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$47.6M
Grants
637
Total Given
$16.7M
KPMG US Foundation Inc
Montvale, NJ
KPMG US Foundation supports education, mental health, community vitality, and community relief and resilience, with grants distributed across the United States. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts ranged from about $5,000 to $2.2 million. The available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$12.4M
Grants
387
Total Given
$33.5M
Deloitte Foundation
Stamford, CT
The Deloitte Foundation funds U.S. education initiatives, including scholarships, curriculum and faculty support, mentoring, and grants to education nonprofits and universities, particularly through local programs in about 30 selected locations. Its 2025 grants had a median of $50,000, and it does not accept unsolicited requests for its Local Impact Grant Program.
Assets
$51.4M
Grants
121
Total Given
$32.5M
Tulsa Community Foundation
Tulsa, OK
Tulsa Community Foundation supports charitable causes through donor-advised grants and selected funds, including scholarships, emergency assistance, disaster relief, arts and humanities, healthcare, and financial literacy, primarily in the Tulsa metro area and eastern Oklahoma, with some giving elsewhere in the United States. Its 2024 median grant was $18,560; selected field-of-interest funds have application cycles, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
1,066
Total Given
$158.6M
The Ford Foundation
New York, NY
The Ford Foundation funds organizations and initiatives working to reduce inequality and advance social justice, including work on civic engagement, civil rights, climate justice, disability rights, and technology and society. In 2024, its grants ranged from $45 to $15 million, with a median of $100,000, supporting work in the U.S. and internationally. It says most grants are identified by the foundation and it does not accept unsolicited proposals by mail, email, or phone; limited opportunities may be offered separately.
Assets
$17.5B
Grants
4,007
Total Given
$844.7M
More similar funders
More Funders in New York
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Edwin E Hatch Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Edwin E Hatch Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?