The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty
The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty is a private foundation, based in Chatham, NJ. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $39.0M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 7 grants totaling $5.5M. Net investment income was $1.0M.
The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty at a glance
In short: The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty gave $5.5M across 7 grants in 2024 (avg $793K), top state Massachusetts. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $5,550,000
- -22.1% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 7
- +0.0% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $792,857
- -22.1% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $250,000
- Total assets
- $39,033,858
- -3.0% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- Massachusetts (49% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.
Who The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 7 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was College of Holy Cross ($2.7M). Together the top 7 received $5.5M.
Grant Size Distribution
31 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 8 grants of 31 (26%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 7 itemized grants.
Cities
How The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty gives
- Giving grew 49% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out 347% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $3.7M (2022) to $7.1M (2023). In 2024 it made 7 grants totaling $5.5M.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| College of Holy Cross Worcester, MA | Capital Campaign | $2,700,000 |
| Saint Peters Prep Jersey City, NJ | Annual Fund | $2,050,000 |
| The Gregorian University Foundation Washington, DC | Annual Campaign | $375,000 |
| Rosemont College Byrn Mawr, PA | Annual Fund | $250,000 |
| Saint Vincent Academy Newark, NJ | General Support | $100,000 |
| Summit Area YMCA Summit, NJ | General Support | $50,000 |
| Saint Teresa's Catholic Church Summit, NJ | General Support | $25,000 |
Ready to take the next step with The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $39,033,858 | $3,963,653 | $6,102,623 | $5,550,000 | 7 | $5,550,950 | $1,009,381 | $1,598,508 |
| 2023 | $40,254,916 | $3,111,564 | $7,412,997 | $7,125,000 | 7 | $7,156,093 | $1,356,991 | $1,889,686 |
| 2022 | $36,752,319 | $11,948,517 | $3,683,669 | $3,675,000 | 6 | $3,683,669 | $566,736 | $1,887,713 |
| 2021 | $28,351,035 | $10,104,907 | $3,786,038 | $3,725,000 | 7 | $3,726,038 | $462,448 | $1,402,774 |
| 2020 | $22,032,166 | $7,256,076 | $3,905,015 | $3,905,000 | 4 | — | $37,397 | $1,135,695 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty reported a distributable amount of $1.6M for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty's 2024 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Timothy E. Moriarty
Co-Pres, Co-Sec, Co-Treas & Director
President, Secretary, Treasurer & Director → Co-Pres, Co-Sec, Co-Treas & Director, 2023
On filings since 2020
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Robert F. Moriarty
Co-Pres, Co-Sec, Co-Treas & Director
On filings since 2023
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty
How much does The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty give each year?
The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty gave $5.5M across 7 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $7.1M across 7 grants.
What is The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty's typical grant size?
The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty's median grant in 2024 was $250,000, and its average grant was $792,857, across 7 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty give grants?
The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty's top state is Massachusetts, with 49% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were New Jersey (40%) and District of Columbia (7%). The most frequent recipient cities were Summit, NJ (2 grants).
Does The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty give general operating support?
Yes: 71% of The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (5 of 7) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty's largest grantees?
The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty's largest 2024 grantees include College of Holy Cross ($2,700,000), Saint Peters Prep ($2,050,000) and The Gregorian University Foundation ($375,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 92% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty?
The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty reported $39.0M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $5.6M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.6M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty's EIN?
The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 83-4357439. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in New Jersey
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Princeton, NJ
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation funds efforts to improve health and health equity in the United States, including systems change addressing structural barriers to health. In 2024, its grants ranged from $125 to $12.15 million, with a median of $40,000. It typically funds through targeted programs and partnerships; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$13.4B
Grants
3,093
Total Given
$622.6M
Community Foundation of New Jersey
Morristown, NJ
The Community Foundation of New Jersey supports a broad range of causes, including arts, education, health, human services, and the environment, through donor-directed and other charitable funds. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of $19,759, with awards ranging widely; its current health grant opportunity serves Morris and Somerset counties. Eligible New Jersey nonprofits may apply to specific grant opportunities, subject to each opportunity’s guidelines.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,321
Total Given
$93.8M
Crane Fund for Widows and Children
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
The Crane Fund for Widows and Children supports charitable organizations, including those working in healthcare and social services, children’s services, recreation, and basic needs, with grants across multiple states. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $45,000, with a median of $4,500; it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.6M
Grants
985
Total Given
$4.5M
Oceanfirst Foundation
Toms River, NJ
OceanFirst Foundation funds nonprofits working in health and wellness, housing, youth development and education, economic stability, quality of life, and higher education in communities served by OceanFirst Bank. In 2025 it awarded grants of $50 to $55,000, with a median of $2,200. It does not limit giving to preselected organizations; prospective applicants are directed to contact the foundation to discuss fit before applying through its online portal.
Assets
$6.1M
Grants
425
Total Given
$1.6M
The Hyde and Watson Foundation
Warren Township, NJ
The Hyde and Watson Foundation funds capital projects in human services, education, health, arts and culture, and the environment. Most awards are $5,000–$20,000, with a 2024 median of $10,000, for eligible nonprofits in New York City and Essex, Morris, and Union counties in New Jersey. It accepts applications through an online portal during its stated application periods; the profile does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$88.2M
Grants
611
Total Given
$6.1M
Princeton Area Community Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The foundation supports nonprofits and community programs in areas such as basic needs, education, health, housing, arts, and the environment, with competitive grants focused on under-resourced communities and women and girls. Its 2024 grants had a median of $15,000, and its discretionary grantmaking primarily serves Mercer County and nearby parts of New Jersey and eastern Bucks County, Pennsylvania. The profile describes competitive programs but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$279.6M
Grants
515
Total Given
$31.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in New Jersey
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Donald P and Mary E Moriarty down — hundreds of funders to go?