The DeVlieg Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Detroit, MI EIN: 38-6075696

The DeVlieg Foundation is a private foundation, based in Detroit, MI. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $3.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $206K. Net investment income was $553K.

The DeVlieg Foundation at a glance

In short: The DeVlieg Foundation gave $206K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $206K), mostly in Michigan. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$206,000
+5.6% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$206,000
+5.6% vs 2024
Median grant
$206,000
Total assets
$3,366,265
+9.1% vs 2024
Primary geography
Michigan (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who The DeVlieg Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

40 grants across all recorded years

36<$50K2$50–100K2$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 36 grants of 40 (90%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

7states

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

Cities

MoscowHoughtonPocatelloBrightonDenverHillsbiroPittsboroSekiuPullmanRiceGrangevilleLewistonPortlandDetroitMoscow ID

How The DeVlieg Foundation gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+12%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 129% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K16 grants2020 14 grants2021 12 grants2022 12 grants2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $179K (2023) to $246K (2021). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $206K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
See Attached Detroit, MIGen Support.$206,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The DeVlieg Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$3,366,265$647,587$357,285$206,0001$262,312$552,614$202,631
2024$3,086,343$539,594$344,398$195,0001$256,938$454,136$190,730
2023$2,875,325$122,896$328,579$179,00012$241,705$36,021$175,652
2022$3,085,986$15,571$342,893$184,00012$246,268$6,854$196,010
2021$3,405,881$239,993$410,147$245,50014$309,236$139,082$237,991
2020$3,603,246$197,612$379,368$221,50016—$101,775$213,835

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The DeVlieg Foundation reported a distributable amount of $203K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The DeVlieg Foundation is led by Janet DeVlieg Pope, President on every filing since 2020; 3 of 4 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Janet DeVlieg Pope

    President

    On filings since 2020

    15 hrs/week

    $43K (2020) → $41K (2025)

  • Gary Stetler

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Curtis DeRoo

    Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    $35K (2020) → $32K (2025)

  • Julia DeVlieg

    Vice President

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    $23K (2020) → $21K (2025)

Former officers (1)
  • Former: James Pope (2020–2024) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Janet DeVlieg Pope — President: $41KJanet DeVlieg PopePresident$41KCurtis DeRoo — Secretary: $32KCurtis DeRooSecretary$32KJulia DeVlieg — Vice President: $21KJulia DeVliegVice President$21K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $41K, to Janet DeVlieg Pope (President). 3 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about The DeVlieg Foundation

How much does The DeVlieg Foundation give each year?

The DeVlieg Foundation gave $206K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $195K across 1 grant.

How large is The DeVlieg Foundation?

The DeVlieg Foundation reported $3.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $262K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $203K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

Where does The DeVlieg Foundation operate?

The DeVlieg Foundation has awarded grants in Colorado, Idaho, Michigan, North Carolina, Oregon, Washington, West Virginia.

What is The DeVlieg Foundation's EIN?

The DeVlieg Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 38-6075696. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 25, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 1, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 25, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 7, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 11, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The DeVlieg Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

Johns Hopkins University funds a broad range of education, research, health, and community-related work, with 2025 grants ranging from $5,500 to nearly $95 million and a median of $100,000; many of the largest awards were sub-awards. Its grants went to organizations across the U.S., with the largest shares in California and Maryland, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$25.3B

Grants

813

Total Given

$594.1M

Tulsa Community Foundation

Tulsa, OK

Tulsa Community Foundation supports charitable causes through donor-advised grants and selected funds, including scholarships, emergency assistance, disaster relief, arts and humanities, healthcare, and financial literacy, primarily in the Tulsa metro area and eastern Oklahoma, with some giving elsewhere in the United States. Its 2024 median grant was $18,560; selected field-of-interest funds have application cycles, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

1,066

Total Given

$158.6M

WF & Blanche E West Educational & Coffman JF

Chehalis, WA

The foundation primarily funds scholarships at colleges and universities, with most 2025 grant dollars going to recipients in Washington and smaller amounts to organizations in other states. It awarded $179,667 across 44 grants in 2025; grants ranged from $667 to $41,000, with a median of $1,000. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests and gives only to preselected organizations.

Assets

$3.3M

Grants

44

Total Given

$180K

Leo Adler Trust

Chicago, IL

The trust funds scholarships for graduates of Baker County, Oregon, high schools and grants to tax-exempt organizations in the Baker County area. Its 2025 grants ranged from $150 to $76,835, with a median of $3,500. It accepts inquiries by contacting the trust; forms and materials are available upon request.

Assets

$25.3M

Grants

200

Total Given

$1.1M

Walter E & Helen W Bruckert

Eagan, MN

The foundation funds scholarships for deserving high school graduates, with awards to colleges and universities primarily in Oregon and Washington. In 2025, grants ranged from $1,000 to $12,000, with a median of $2,500. The filing directs applicants to contact US Bank Co. Corey DiGiacinto for application materials and deadlines; recipients are selected by an independent scholarship committee.

Education

Assets

$1.8M

Grants

21

Total Given

$93K

Simplot Company Foundation Inc

Boise, ID

The Simplot Company Foundation supports arts, education, youth, community, health and human services, and food and agriculture programs, with most recent funding going to Idaho organizations. Its 2026 grants ranged from $500 to $494,613, with a median of $2,000. Although its website invites proposals for quarterly review, its 2025 filing says it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$147.9M

Grants

134

Total Given

$3.8M

More similar funders

More Funders in Michigan

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The DeVlieg Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The DeVlieg Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?