The Conservation Alliance logo

The Conservation Alliance

Public charity · Grantmaker Bend, OR EIN: 94-3100867 Website

The mission of the Conservation Alliance is to harness the collective power of business and outdoor communities to fund and advocate for the protection of North America's wild places.

The Conservation Alliance at a glance

In short: The Conservation Alliance gave $1.3M across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $1.3M). Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$1,316,000
-33.0% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
1
+0.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$1,316,000
-33.0% vs 2023
Median grant
$1,316,000
Total assets
$5,679,692
-1.7% vs 2023
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

How to apply to The Conservation Alliance

Who The Conservation Alliance funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M5$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $1–5M range: 5 grants of 5 (100%).

How The Conservation Alliance gives

  • Giving fell 39% from 2021 to 2024. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$1M$2M$3M1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $1.3M (2024) to $2.2M (2021). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $1.3M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
See Attached Schedule See Attached Schedule$1,316,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Conservation Alliance?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$5,679,692$2,956,056$3,020,549$1,316,0001$143,400
2023$5,777,375$1,952,342$3,682,430$1,965,5001$-729,810
2022$5,921,148$2,865,320$3,531,392$2,053,0001$-52,348
2021$7,750,898$3,428,997$3,155,224$2,165,0001$348,231
2020$7,448,379$3,239,140$2,765,571$1,845,0001$622,205

About The Conservation Alliance

Based on IRS filings

The Conservation Alliance is a public charity, based in Bend, OR. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $5.7M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $1.3M. Net investment income was $143K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Conservation Alliance is led by Paul Hendricks, Executive Director since 2024 (on filings since 2023); 4 of 19 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Paul Hendricks

    Executive Director

    Executive Di → Executive Director, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    $68K (2024)

  • Annie Nyborg

    Board Chair

    Director → Chair, 2023

    Chair → Board Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Conor McElyea

    Director of Membership

    Director of Member → Director of Membership, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $111K (2023) → $111K (2024)

  • Kelly Campbell

    Comptroller & Senior Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $101K (2024)

  • Carol Shu

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dana Villeneuve

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Peter Metcalf

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Soraya Shatuck

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kirsten Blackburn

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lindsey Davis

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Misha Charles

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Wes Carter

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alicia Harvie

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ben Macaskill

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Keith Shattenkirk

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Russell Rowell

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shoren Brown

    Vice President Public Affairs

    Executive Di → Vice President Public Af, 2023

    Vice President Public Af → Vice President Public Affairs, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $56K (2021) → $128K (2024)

  • Kate Larramendy

    Vice Chair

    Director → Vice Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jim Swanson

    Treasurer

    Secretary → Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (11)
  • Former: Amy Beck (2020–2023) — Secretary
  • Former: Deven Clemens (2020–2023) — Secretary
  • Former: Hans Cole (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Russ Rowell (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Taldi Harrison (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Nicole Rom (2022–2023) — Executive Di
  • Former: Chris Hufnagel (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Joe Craig (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Bradon Robinson (2020–2021) — Executive Di
  • Former: Erik Burbank (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Michael Lalonde (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Shoren Brown — VP Public Affairs: $128KShoren BrownVP Public Affairs$128KConor McElyea — DIR. of Membership: $111KConor McElyeaDIR. of Membership$111KKelly Campbell — Comptroller/Sr. Director: $101KKelly CampbellComptroller/Sr. Director$101KPaul Hendricks — Executive Director: $68KPaul HendricksExecutive Director$68K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $128K, to Shoren Brown (VP Public Affairs). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about The Conservation Alliance

How much does The Conservation Alliance give each year?

The Conservation Alliance gave $1.3M across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $2.0M across 1 grant.

How large is The Conservation Alliance?

The Conservation Alliance reported $5.7M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $3.0M.

What is The Conservation Alliance's EIN?

The Conservation Alliance's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 94-3100867. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(5)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 21, 2026)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 15, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 15, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 15, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 8, 2024)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Conservation Alliance's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Oregon

The Oregon Community Foundation

Portland, OR

The Oregon Community Foundation funds Oregon nonprofits and community-serving projects across education, health, arts and culture, housing, economic and community vitality, and the environment. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to nearly $8 million; applications are accepted through specific grant programs and cycles, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

2,149

Total Given

$171.4M

Marie Lamfrom Charitable Foundation

Wilsonville, OR

The Marie Lamfrom Charitable Foundation supports Oregon nonprofits working in education, community, arts and creativity, health, and well-being, often through unrestricted operating grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,000, though awards ranged widely; it also has a Washington Fund for organizations serving Washington and/or Oregon. Its primary grant programs open in January and June; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Human Services

Assets

$374.9M

Grants

663

Total Given

$20.5M

The Roundhouse Foundation

Sisters, OR

The Roundhouse Foundation supports innovative arts and culture, environmental stewardship, social services, and education projects that benefit rural Oregon and Tribal communities. Its typical grant is around $10,000 overall; Open Call awards are usually about $2,501–$30,000, and Small Grants range from $500–$2,500.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$344.5M

Grants

621

Total Given

$15.6M

OCF Joseph E Weston Public Foundation

Portland, OR

The foundation supports nonprofits serving children, working-poor people, people with disabilities, seniors, and people experiencing homelessness, and also awards school scholarships. It primarily funds Oregon, with grants and scholarships also serving Southwest Washington; in 2024, grants ranged from $5,500 to $3,487,608, with a median of $21,500. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$637.5M

Grants

531

Total Given

$23.3M

Meyer Memorial Trust

Portland, OR

Meyer Memorial Trust funds community-led work advancing racial, social, and economic justice, including efforts in education, climate, community economies, and support for Black, Native, immigrant, and refugee communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, and 93% of grant dollars went to Oregon recipients. It offers open and invited opportunities, but says it will not open a general application call in 2026; check its website for current opportunities.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$901.2M

Grants

388

Total Given

$45.2M

Micro Enterprise Services of Oregon

Portland, OR

MESO supports under-resourced entrepreneurs through business development, education, and access to capital, including support for childcare businesses and providers. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,000 to $2.55 million, with a median of $72,560; reported grants went to Oregon recipients, while its services also reach the Portland metro area, Beaverton, and southwest Washington. The profile does not state whether MESO accepts unsolicited requests.

Employment

Assets

$17.4M

Grants

38

Total Given

$12.4M

More similar funders

More Funders in Oregon

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Conservation Alliance's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Conservation Alliance down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?