The Columbine Foundation Inc
The Columbine Foundation Inc is a private foundation, based in Ft Lauderdale, FL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $17K in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 4 grants totaling $50K. Net investment income was $17.
The Columbine Foundation Inc at a glance
In short: The Columbine Foundation Inc gave $50K across 4 grants in 2024 (avg $13K), mostly in Colorado. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $50,000
- +53.8% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 4
- +33.3% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $12,500
- +15.4% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $7,500
- Total assets
- $16,526
- -0.3% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- Colorado (60% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.
Who The Columbine Foundation Inc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 4 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Round up River Ranch ($30K). Together the top 4 received $50K.
Grant Size Distribution
18 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 18 grants of 18 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.
Cities
How The Columbine Foundation Inc gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−18%). Method
- In 2024 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $33K (2023) to $61K (2021). In 2024 it made 4 grants totaling $50K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Round up River Ranch Gypsum, CO | General Contribution | $30,000 |
| Feeding Westchester Elmsford, NY | General Contribution | $10,000 |
| True North Treks Evanston, IL | General Contribution | $5,000 |
| Friendship Circle Fort Lauderdale, FL | General Contribution | $5,000 |
Ready to take the next step with The Columbine Foundation Inc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $16,526 | $50,017 | $50,061 | $50,000 | 4 | $50,000 | $17 | $1,718 |
| 2023 | $16,570 | $17 | $32,561 | $32,500 | 3 | $32,500 | $17 | $1,704 |
| 2022 | $49,114 | $22 | $35,181 | $35,000 | 2 | $35,000 | $22 | $3,463 |
| 2021 | $84,273 | $100,006 | $61,071 | $61,000 | 5 | $61,000 | $6 | $3,287 |
| 2020 | $45,338 | $50,090 | $37,564 | $37,500 | 4 | — | $90 | $2,270 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Columbine Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $2K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Columbine Foundation Inc's 2024 filing lists 6 officers; none of the 6 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Brian Good
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
David Horvitz
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Francie Horvitz
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Gregory Horvitz
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Lisa G. Gershon
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Sara Corr
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about The Columbine Foundation Inc
How much does The Columbine Foundation Inc give each year?
The Columbine Foundation Inc gave $50K across 4 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $33K across 3 grants.
What is The Columbine Foundation Inc's typical grant size?
The Columbine Foundation Inc's median grant in 2024 was $7,500, and its average grant was $12,500, across 4 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Columbine Foundation Inc give grants?
The Columbine Foundation Inc gives mostly in Colorado: 60% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were New York (20%) and Illinois (10%).
Does The Columbine Foundation Inc give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of The Columbine Foundation Inc's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (4 of 4) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
How large is The Columbine Foundation Inc?
The Columbine Foundation Inc reported $17K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $50K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $2K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is The Columbine Foundation Inc's EIN?
The Columbine Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 31-1621153. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Columbine Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Florida
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
Publix Super Markets Charities Inc
Lakeland, FL
Publix Super Markets Charities supports nonprofits addressing hunger, homelessness and housing, youth, education, and community needs in Florida, Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Kentucky. Its 2024 median grant was $2,500, though awards ranged widely; it accepts online requests from eligible organizations, with application periods varying by program.
Assets
$233.8M
Grants
3,269
Total Given
$52.5M
The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida Inc
Jacksonville, FL
The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida supports neighborhood strengthening, nonprofit capacity, education, older adults, the arts, and other community needs, primarily in Baker, Clay, Duval, Nassau, Putnam, and St. Johns counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, while its Program Support grants offer up to $25,000; eligible nonprofits may apply to competitive programs, but donor-advised funds do not accept applications.
Assets
$708.7M
Grants
2,470
Total Given
$78.0M
Community Foundation of Tampa Bay Inc
Tampa, FL
The Community Foundation of Tampa Bay funds nonprofits through competitive grants and other programs focused on economic opportunity, environmental resilience, health and wellbeing, education, and vibrant communities. Its typical grant is about $25,000, and it serves Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Hernando, and Citrus counties. It accepts applications through its competitive grants process and rolling Critical Needs List.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
698
Total Given
$54.3M
Gulf Coast Community Foundation Inc
Venice, FL
Gulf Coast Community Foundation funds arts and culture, civic and economic development, education, the environment, health and human services, and disaster response, with grants generally serving Sarasota and Charlotte counties, DeSoto County, Boca Grande, Lakewood Ranch, and Longboat Key, Florida. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,030 to $2,101,739, with a median of $16,251; Community Grants are capped at $25,000 per nonprofit per fiscal year. It accepts letters of inquiry for Community Grants; Catalytic and Initiative Grants are by invitation.
Assets
$533.7M
Grants
651
Total Given
$45.0M
Early Learning Coalition of Broward County Inc
Fort Lauderdale, FL
The Early Learning Coalition of Broward funds child care reimbursement and early-learning providers, including programs supporting child care and preschool, primarily in Broward County, Florida. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,127 to $3,994,863, with a median of $158,921. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$15.9M
Grants
636
Total Given
$152.2M
More similar funders
More Funders in Florida
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Columbine Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Columbine Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?