The Chew Foundation
The Chew Foundation is a private foundation, based in Sarasota, FL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $14.2M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 7 grants totaling $1.1M. Net investment income was $229K.
The Chew Foundation at a glance
In short: The Chew Foundation gave $1.1M across 7 grants in 2025 (avg $159K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $1,113,736
- +1000.3% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 7
- +600.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $159,105
- +57.2% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $20,000
- Total assets
- $14,153,399
- +6.0% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Ohio (90% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who The Chew Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 7 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was The Cleveland Clinic Foundation ($999K). Together the top 7 received $1.1M.
Grant Size Distribution
35 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 29 grants of 35 (83%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 7 itemized grants.
Cities
How The Chew Foundation gives
- Giving grew 406% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 94% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $101K (2024) to $2.8M (2020). In 2025 it made 7 grants totaling $1.1M.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| The Cleveland Clinic Foundation Independence, OH | The purpose of the contribution was for promotion of charitable works.the gift was a contribution of 1,600 shares of vanguard stock on 12/16/25 with an appreciated fair market value that day of $998,736 ($624.21/sh) over cost of $314,997.67 (avg cost of $196.87/sh). The net gain of $683,738.33 was excluded from excise tax and shown as an other addition to net assets on page 2 of the 990pf. | $998,736 |
| Gigi's Playhouse Down Syndrome Achievement Centers Metairie, LA | Promotion of Charitable Works | $50,000 |
| St Jude Children Research Hospital Memphis, TN | Promotion of Charitable Works | $20,000 |
| Ovarian Cancer Research Alliance New York, NY | Promotion of Charitable Works | $20,000 |
| Mustard Seed Brandon, MS | Promotion of Charitable Works | $10,000 |
| VHL Alliance Boston, MA | Promotion of Charitable Works | $10,000 |
| Central Ms Down Syndrome Society Jackson, MS | Promotion of Charitable Works | $5,000 |
Ready to take the next step with The Chew Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $14,153,399 | $1,313,402 | $1,198,211 | $1,113,736 | 7 | $1,113,736 | $228,927 | $1,182,352 |
| 2024 | $13,356,204 | $310,939 | $185,565 | $101,225 | 1 | $101,225 | $226,599 | $1,037,506 |
| 2023 | $13,173,307 | $215,663 | $280,807 | $235,000 | 8 | $235,000 | $242,894 | $839,146 |
| 2022 | $13,238,452 | $5,937,359 | $272,414 | $220,000 | 6 | $220,000 | $2,375,845 | $633,083 |
| 2021 | $9,681,557 | $4,722,956 | $140,786 | $122,500 | 13 | $122,500 | $2,613,670 | $613,785 |
| 2020 | $5,099,386 | $331,511 | $2,789,879 | $2,775,000 | 11 | — | $292,914 | $475,841 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Chew Foundation reported a distributable amount of $1.2M for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Chew Foundation's 2025 filing lists 5 officers; 1 of 5 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Kelly Robinson
Director
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$55K (2024) → $50K (2025)
John S. Chew Jr.
Board Member
President → Board Member, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Judith A. Chew
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Karen Chew Taylor
Secretary
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
T. Calvin Wells
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $50K, to Kelly Robinson (Director).
Frequently asked questions about The Chew Foundation
How much does The Chew Foundation give each year?
The Chew Foundation gave $1.1M across 7 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $101K across 1 grant.
What is The Chew Foundation's typical grant size?
The Chew Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $20,000, and its average grant was $159,105, across 7 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Chew Foundation give grants?
The Chew Foundation gives mostly in Ohio: 90% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there.
Does The Chew Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 7 grants with a stated purpose on The Chew Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Promotion of Charitable Works" (6 grants).
Who are The Chew Foundation's largest grantees?
The Chew Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include The Cleveland Clinic Foundation ($998,736), Gigi's Playhouse Down Syndrome Achievement Centers ($50,000) and St Jude Children Research Hospital ($20,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 96% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The Chew Foundation?
The Chew Foundation reported $14.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.1M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.2M (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is The Chew Foundation's EIN?
The Chew Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 81-3660933. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 25, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Chew Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Van Devender Family Foundation William Van Devender Trustee
Jackson, MS
The Van Devender Family Foundation supports schools, churches and ministries, health organizations, and housing or community initiatives, primarily in Mississippi. Its 2025 grants ranged from $200 to $202,500, with a median of $5,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$137K
Grants
47
Total Given
$760K
Butler Snow O'Mara Stevens & Cannada
Ridgeland, MS
The foundation funds community services and improvements, including health and safety, homelessness support, meal delivery, accessibility, and legal services. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,138 to $20,000, with a median of $7,500, and supported organizations in several states, especially Tennessee, Alabama, Mississippi, Texas, and Virginia. It accepts requests by letter; no deadline is listed.
Assets
$983K
Grants
21
Total Given
$200K
Century Club Charities Inc
Ridgeland, MS
Century Club Charities supports Mississippi nonprofits, with a primary focus on Children’s of Mississippi and additional giving for health, human services, hunger relief, youth, education, arts, and animal care. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,500 to $1 million, with a median of $10,500; nearly all grant dollars went to Mississippi. No application process or deadline is stated.
Assets
$5.4M
Grants
36
Total Given
$1.5M
Walker Foundation
Ridgeland, MS
Walker Foundation funds arts, education, schools, community services, neighborhood improvement, and religious organizations, with most of its giving in Mississippi. Its 2025 grants ranged from $250 to $100,000, with a median of $10,000. The filing does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$15.7M
Grants
72
Total Given
$1.1M
Community Foundation for Mississippi
Jackson, MS
The Community Foundation for Mississippi supports nonprofit and community work, with competitive grants focused on Placemaking, Children and Families, and Community Partnerships, as well as donor-directed giving across varied charitable purposes. Its 2025 grants had a median of $19,500, with itemized awards ranging from $5,500 to $800,000; it primarily serves 22 counties in central and southwest Mississippi. It offers competitive grant programs, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$90.3M
Grants
104
Total Given
$6.2M
More similar funders
More Funders in Florida
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Chew Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Chew Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?