The Castleman Family Foundation
The Castleman Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Reno, Nevada. Its 2024 filing reports 11 grants totaling $583,000 to charitable organizations, including legal advocacy groups, organizations supporting special operations communities and their families, and health-related organizations.
Key facts about The Castleman Family Foundation
In short: The Castleman Family Foundation gave $583K across 11 grants in 2024 (avg $53K), top state Virginia. 55% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 20-5393405
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $583,000
- Grants made (2024)
- 11
- Average grant
- $53,000
- Median grant
- $25,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 55% first-time grantees (6 of 11, 2024)
- Total assets
- $13,843,101
- Primary geography
- Virginia (32% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$13.8M
+6.9% YoY
Annual Giving
$583K
-9.4% YoY
Grant Count
11
+10.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$53K
-17.6% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Castleman Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $672K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is The Castleman Family Foundation open to new grantees?
55%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 6 of 11 grantees (55%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $21K; repeat grants $91K. How we count
Medians: $16K first-time, $50K repeat.
- 45% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (+6%). Method
- In 2024 it paid out 87% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation’s filing does not state a mission. Its 2024 grants included support for organizations whose own missions cover a range of activities. The Institute for Justice says it uses litigation, training, communication, activism, and research to advance individual liberties. Pacific Legal Foundation says it litigates nationwide to secure Americans’ rights. Special Operations Care Fund says it connects people to the special operations community and supports service members and their families. New York Cancer Foundation says it assists cancer patients with ancillary bills during treatment. Douglas County Sheriffs Advisory Council says it raises funds for equipment, education, and training for personnel of the county sheriff’s office.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation reported 11 grants totaling $583,000. Grants ranged from $7,500 to $186,750, with a median of $25,000. Its largest grants were $186,750 each to the Institute for Justice and Pacific Legal Foundation, both for general support. Other notable grants were $50,000 to Special Operations Care Fund and $50,000 to New York Cancer Foundation, also for general support.
Ready to take the next step with The Castleman Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2024 grants went to recipients in several states. The largest shares of grant dollars went to Virginia and California, at 32% each; Nevada, Georgia, and New York each received 9%.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 11 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $549K (2021) to $644K (2023). In 2024 it made 11 grants totaling $583K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Institute for Justice ($187K). Together the top 10 received $576K.
Grant Size Distribution
47 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 31 grants of 47 (66%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Institute for Justice Arlington, VA | General Support | $186,750 |
| Pacific Legal Foundation Sacramento, CA | General Support | $186,750 |
| Special Operations Care Fund Atlanta, GA | General Support | $50,000 |
| New York Cancer Foundation Shirley, NY | General Support | $50,000 |
| Independence Fund Charlotte, NV | General Support | $26,000 |
| Douglas County Sheriff's Advisory Council Minden, NV | General Support | $25,000 |
| Boot Campaign Dallas, TX | General Support | $20,000 |
| Special Forces Charitable Trust Southern Pines, NC | General Support | $11,000 |
| Hoodneck Inc Galveston, TX | General Support | $10,000 |
| Lubbock Swat Foundation Idalou, TX | General Support | $10,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $13,843,101 | $1,520,698 | $625,458 | $583,000 | 11 |
| 2023 | $12,947,586 | $1,627,960 | $673,649 | $643,500 | 10 |
| 2022 | $10,358,116 | $1,122,851 | $606,421 | $590,500 | 11 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $13,843,101 | $12,947,586 | $10,358,116 |
| Revenue | $1,520,698 | $1,627,960 | $1,122,851 |
| Expenses | $625,458 | $673,649 | $606,421 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $587,495 | $647,440 | $596,442 |
| Net Investment Income | $1,512,737 | $1,622,805 | $1,127,118 |
| Distributable Amount | $672,423 | $623,879 | $616,869 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Peter M Castleman, Sloane C Castleman, and Christine Jha (effective 12/14/22) as trustees.
The Castleman Family Foundation's 2024 filing lists 3 officers; none of the 3 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Peter M. Castleman
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Sloane C. Castleman
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Christine Jha
Trustee
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Daniel J. O'Brien (2020–2021) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 10580 N Mccarran Blvd 115-535, Reno, NV 89503
Phone: (775) 832-5527
Frequently asked questions about The Castleman Family Foundation
How much does The Castleman Family Foundation give each year?
The Castleman Family Foundation gave $583K across 11 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $644K across 10 grants.
What is The Castleman Family Foundation's typical grant size?
The Castleman Family Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $25,000, and its average grant was $53,000, across 11 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Castleman Family Foundation that year got $21K on average.
Where does The Castleman Family Foundation give grants?
The Castleman Family Foundation's top state is Virginia, with 32% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were California (32%) and Nevada (9%).
Does The Castleman Family Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of The Castleman Family Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (11 of 11) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are The Castleman Family Foundation's largest grantees?
The Castleman Family Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Institute for Justice ($186,750), Pacific Legal Foundation ($186,750) and Special Operations Care Fund ($50,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 73% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is The Castleman Family Foundation?
The Castleman Family Foundation reported $13.8M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $587K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $672K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does The Castleman Family Foundation fund?
The foundation’s filing does not state a mission. Its 2024 grants included support for organizations whose own missions cover a range of activities. The Institute for Justice says it uses litigation, training, communication, activism, and research to advance individual liberties. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from The Castleman Family Foundation?
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is The Castleman Family Foundation's EIN?
The Castleman Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-5393405. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Does The Castleman Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching The Castleman Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Castleman Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Greater Houston Community Foundation
Houston, TX
The Foundation makes grants through donor-advised and other donor-established funds for public benefit, human services, education, and health, including initiatives addressing economic mobility and poverty in Harris County. In 2024, its median grant was $25,000; it serves Greater Houston, while grants also go to recipients elsewhere in Texas and beyond. It does not accept proposals for the upcoming High-Impact Grantmaking cycle and plans to invite selected organizations or collaboratives to apply.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
1,724
Total Given
$232.3M
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
Community Foundation of Northern Nevada
Reno, NV
The Community Foundation of Northern Nevada supports a wide range of charitable projects, including nonprofit capacity building, mental-health access, housing, and environmental work, with a focus on Northern Nevada. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $20,000, though amounts varied widely; it also offers grants through specific fund cycles.
Assets
$178.2M
Grants
207
Total Given
$16.0M
NV Energy Charitable Foundation
Reno, NV
NV Energy Charitable Foundation funds qualified public charities serving NV Energy’s Nevada service territory, with priorities including safety and wellness, education and youth development, and the environment. In 2025, grants ranged from $350 to $500,000, with a median of $7,500. It accepts unsolicited letters of interest from eligible Nevada nonprofits, with one submission allowed per organization each calendar year.
Assets
$26.6M
Grants
207
Total Given
$4.2M
Tahoe Community Foundation
Incline Village, NV
Tahoe Community Foundation supports nonprofit work in arts, culture and heritage; well-being; community engagement; education and youth development; and the environment, primarily serving the Lake Tahoe Basin. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while its Action Grants typically provide $2,500–$5,000 for one-time expenses or materials. It accepts unsolicited Action Grant applications on a rolling basis.
Assets
$169.9M
Grants
191
Total Given
$26.9M
MGM Resorts Foundation
Las Vegas, NV
The MGM Resorts Foundation funds one-year grants to nonprofits providing essential services, including housing, workforce development, education, food, health, and family support. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,200 to $128,542, with a median of $13,019; funding focuses on communities where MGM employees live and work, especially Nevada. It describes a proposal-review process through regional Community Grant Councils but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$9.9M
Grants
143
Total Given
$3.5M
Dermody Properties Foundation
Reno, NV
The Dermody Properties Foundation funds 501(c)(3) nonprofits focused on arts, education and family, with added emphasis on children, older adults, people with disabilities, substance abuse and homelessness. It typically gives $500–$3,000 to organizations within about 30 miles of a current Dermody project, in communities where the company operates. It accepts online grant requests; the stated annual deadline is August 1, though its 2025 filing gives a different deadline.
Assets
$2K
Grants
137
Total Given
$245K
Nevada Community Foundation Inc
Las Vegas, NV
Nevada Community Foundation supports a wide range of charitable causes through donor funds, with a stated focus on Southern Nevada; its grants also include recipients beyond Nevada. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, while named programs offer smaller awards—typically $1,000–$5,000 through Cox Charities and up to $7,000 for school music programs. It accepts applications through those specific programs from eligible organizations and schools; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests for general grants.
Assets
$253.5M
Grants
122
Total Given
$16.5M
Three Square
Las Vegas, NV
Three Square supports hunger relief in Clark, Lincoln, Esmeralda, and Nye Counties, including food distribution, food-access programs, and nonprofit partners. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,500 to $558,060, with a median of $12,180; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$178.1M
Grants
121
Total Given
$73.3M
The Nell J Redfield Foundation
Reno, NV
The Nell J. Redfield Foundation supports healthcare, education, medical research, and services for children, women, older adults, and people experiencing homelessness, generally through qualified 501(c)(3) organizations in Washoe County, Nevada. Its 2025 grants ranged from $4,492 to $500,000, with a median of $20,000. It accepts written applications; they must arrive at least 10 business days before a quarterly board meeting.
Assets
$71.9M
Grants
106
Total Given
$4.7M
Gabelli Funds Foundation Inc
Reno, NV
Gabelli Funds Foundation supports universities and business-school programs, broadcaster assistance, health-related work, and environmental conservation, with most grant dollars going to New York, followed by Nevada and Florida. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $700,000, with a median of $5,000. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.6M
Grants
94
Total Given
$2.4M
Thomas Nelson Abdella MD Foundation
Las Vegas, NV
The Thomas Nelson Abdella MD Foundation supports charitable organizations providing food, healthcare, housing, education, scholarships, and other direct assistance to people in need, primarily in Arizona, Georgia, and Nevada. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $233,170, with a median of $15,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$32.1M
Grants
93
Total Given
$2.2M
More Funders in Nevada
The Castleman Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?