The Anna and John J Sie Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Denver, CO EIN: 83-6058353

The Anna and John J Sie Foundation is a private foundation based in Denver, Colorado. Its 2024 giving included support for Down syndrome research and care, film, children’s health, education, arts and culture, and other charitable activities.

Key facts about The Anna and John J Sie Foundation

In short: The Anna and John J Sie Foundation gave $5.1M across 52 grants in 2024 (avg $98K), mostly in Colorado. 19% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
83-6058353
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$5,073,043
Grants made (2024)
52
Average grant
$97,559
Median grant
$7,313
New grantees (estimate)
19% first-time grantees (10 of 52, 2024)
Total assets
$38,261,211
Primary geography
Colorado (95% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$38.3M

-2.4% YoY

Annual Giving

$5.1M

+61.3% YoY

Grant Count

52

-8.8% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$98K

+76.9% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Anna and John J Sie Foundation reported a distributable amount of $1.7M for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is The Anna and John J Sie Foundation open to new grantees?

19%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 10 of 52 grantees (19%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $16K; repeat grants $117K. How we count

Medians: $5K first-time, $9K repeat.

  • 81% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (+3%). Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 337% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The foundation’s own mission is not stated in the available information. Its 2024 grants supported organizations with varied missions. The Global Down Syndrome Foundation says its mission is to improve the lives of people with Down syndrome through research, medical care, education, and advocacy. The Denver Film Society describes its work as creating opportunities for diverse audiences to discover film, while Children’s Hospital Colorado says it works to improve children’s health through patient care, education, research, and advocacy.

Other 2024 grantees included the University of Colorado Foundation, which receives and manages gifts for the benefit of the University of Colorado; Regis University, which describes its mission as building a more just and humane world through transformative education; and Judaism Your Way, a community organization offering ways for Jews and loved ones to participate in Jewish community life.

Grantmaking

In 2024, the foundation made 52 grants totaling $5,073,043. Grants ranged from $500 to $1,437,696, with a median of $7,312.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Anna and John J Sie Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Colorado recipients received 95% of the foundation’s 2024 grant dollars. Recipients in Florida received 2%, and those in Minnesota received 1%; Washington and Arizona each accounted for less than 1%.

Grant Distribution by State

17states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 52 itemized grants.

Cities

DenverEnglewoodWashingtonLakewoodSeattleBellevueGreenwood VillageNew YorkAuroraLittletonLos AngelesRoswellChicagoSan FranciscoAustinB AuroraHackensackHillsdaleMinneapolisParker

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2M$4M$6M88 grants2020 77 grants2021 60 grants2022 57 grants2023 52 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $2.4M (2022) to $5.1M (2024). In 2024 it made 52 grants totaling $5.1M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Global Down Syndrome Foundation: $1.4MGlobal Down SyndromeFoundation$1.4MDenver Film Society: $966KDenver Film Society$966KChildren's Hospital Colorado: $847KChildren's Hospital Colorado$847KUniversity of Colorado Foundation: $750KUniversity of ColoradoFoundation$750KDenver Health & Hospitals: $275KDenver Health & Hospitals$275KRegis University: $149KRegis University$149KDenver Art Museum: $110KDenver Art Museum$110KMoffitt Cancer Center Foundation: $100KMoffitt Cancer CenterFoundation$100KJudaism Your Way: $60KJudaism Your Way$60KDenver School of Science and: $35KDenver School of Science and$35K

The largest 2024 recipient was Global Down Syndrome Foundation ($1.4M). Together the top 10 received $4.7M.

Grant Size Distribution

334 grants across all recorded years

282<$50K15$50–100K21$100–250K4$250–500K9$500K–1M3$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 282 grants of 334 (84%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Global Down Syndrome Foundation Denver, COFor Research/Edu/Advocacy/Grants.$1,437,696
Denver Film Society Denver, COFor Audiences to Discover Film.$965,780
Children's Hospital Colorado Aurora, COPediatric Health Care$847,016
University of Colorado Foundation Denver, COFor Down Syndrome Research.$750,000
Denver Health & Hospitals Denver, CODown Syndrome Medical Care$275,282
Regis University Denver, COFor Post Secondary Feasibility Study$149,194
Denver Art Museum Denver, COFor Exhibitions/Programs/Collection.$109,700
Moffitt Cancer Center Foundation Tampa, FLCancer Research$100,000
Judaism Your Way Denver, COConnect with All Jews$60,000
Denver School of Science and Minneapolis, MNCore Values Education.$35,300

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2024 $38,261,211 $4,845,761 $5,780,857 $5,073,043
2023 $39,196,307 $2,309,095 $3,760,984 $3,144,207
2022 $40,648,196 $897,903 $2,908,364 $2,411,656
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$5M$10M$15M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$38,261,211$39,196,307$40,648,196
Revenue$4,845,761$2,309,095$897,903
Expenses$5,780,857$3,760,984$2,908,364
Qualifying Distributions$5,661,714$3,660,189$2,802,301
Net Investment Income$4,764,139$2,228,300$816,840
Distributable Amount$1,680,907$1,752,469$1,918,411

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists John J Sie as trustee and Michelle Sie Whitten as ED.

The Anna and John J Sie Foundation is led by Michelle Sie Whitten, Executive Director on every filing since 2020; all 2 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Michelle Sie Whitten

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2020

    20 hrs/week

    $126K (2020) → $138K (2024)

  • John J. Sie

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    25 hrs/week

    $12K (2020) → $12K (2024)

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Anna M. Sie (2020–2023) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Michelle Sie Whitten — Ed: $138KMichelle Sie WhittenEd$138KJohn J Sie — Trustee: $12KJohn J SieTrustee$12K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $138K, to Michelle Sie Whitten (Ed). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Contact

Mailing address: 3239 E 2Nd Ave, Denver, CO 80206
Phone: (303) 468-6060

Frequently asked questions about The Anna and John J Sie Foundation

How much does The Anna and John J Sie Foundation give each year?

The Anna and John J Sie Foundation gave $5.1M across 52 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $3.1M across 57 grants.

What is The Anna and John J Sie Foundation's typical grant size?

The Anna and John J Sie Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $7,313, and its average grant was $97,559, across 52 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Anna and John J Sie Foundation that year got $16K on average.

Where does The Anna and John J Sie Foundation give grants?

The Anna and John J Sie Foundation gives mostly in Colorado: 95% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Denver, CO (23 grants), Englewood, CO (2 grants), Seattle, WA (2 grants) and Lakewood, CO (2 grants).

Does The Anna and John J Sie Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 52 grants with a stated purpose on The Anna and John J Sie Foundation's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.

Who are The Anna and John J Sie Foundation's largest grantees?

The Anna and John J Sie Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Global Down Syndrome Foundation ($1,437,696), Denver Film Society ($965,780) and Children's Hospital Colorado ($847,016), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 64% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is The Anna and John J Sie Foundation?

The Anna and John J Sie Foundation reported $38.3M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $5.7M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.7M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does The Anna and John J Sie Foundation fund?

The foundation’s own mission is not stated in the available information. Its 2024 grants supported organizations with varied missions. The Global Down Syndrome Foundation says its mission is to improve the lives of people with Down syndrome through research, medical care, education, and advocacy. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from The Anna and John J Sie Foundation?

The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is The Anna and John J Sie Foundation's EIN?

The Anna and John J Sie Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 83-6058353. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Does The Anna and John J Sie Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching The Anna and John J Sie Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Anna and John J Sie Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

El Pomar Foundation

Colorado Springs, CO

El Pomar Foundation funds Colorado nonprofits and government agencies, with emphasis on arts and culture, civic and community initiatives, education, health, and human services; it supports operating, program, and capital needs statewide. Typical grants are $2,500–$10,000 for operating or program support and $15,000–$25,000 for capital projects. It accepts unsolicited applications on a rolling basis.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$468.2M

Grants

1

Total Given

$20.4M

Western Union Foundation

Denver, CO

The Western Union Foundation, which closed at the end of 2025, funded workforce readiness, education, job creation, and economic opportunity programs, including support for migrants and displaced people. Its 2024 grants ranged from $50,000 to $500,000, with a median of about $125,000, and went to organizations in multiple U.S. states and around the world. It accepted only requests from preselected organizations and did not accept unsolicited applications.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

21

Total Given

$3.9M

Richmond American Foundation

Greenwood Village, CO

Richmond American Foundation supports efforts addressing poverty, healthcare, education, public safety, tolerance, sustainability, and community needs, with most of its funding going to Colorado organizations. In 2024, grants ranged from $6,000 to $500,000, with a median of $10,000. It considers charitable-organization email inquiries and will contact applicants if it needs more information.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$87.3M

Grants

60

Total Given

$2.9M

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health-access initiatives for disproportionately affected populations, including cancer, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation, in the United States and internationally. In 2024, its median grant was $134,090, though awards varied widely; it says application materials are available upon request and advises organizations to contact it about the process, but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

Rose Community Foundation

Denver, CO

Rose Community Foundation funds nonprofits in the seven-county Greater Denver region across Jewish life, education and economic opportunity, health, and community wellbeing, with some statewide initiatives. Its 2024 itemized grants ranged from $5,050 to $1,348,353, with a median of $25,000; it accepts inquiries for listed funding opportunities, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally is not stated.

Assets

$399.6M

Grants

531

Total Given

$27.8M

Mile High United Way Inc

Denver, CO

Mile High United Way funds nonprofits addressing basic needs, early childhood education, youth development, education, and economic opportunity, primarily across Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas, and Jefferson counties in Colorado. Its Strategic Investment Grants typically range from $10,000 to $200,000. The profile describes a competitive application process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$80.2M

Grants

314

Total Given

$24.3M

The Denver Foundation

Denver, CO

The Denver Foundation supports community organizations working on economic opportunity, climate and environment, housing, youth well-being, and related charitable work, with racial equity guiding its grantmaking. Its Community Grants typically award $20,000–$50,000 to organizations serving the seven-county Metro Denver region; other funds have different award levels and may support work beyond the region.

Assets

$1.3B

Grants

1,184

Total Given

$131.7M

Colorado Gives Foundation

Arvada, CO

Colorado Gives Foundation funds nonprofits serving Jefferson County, Colorado, with priorities including essential needs, housing, food security, education, workforce development, health, and connected neighborhoods. Its 2024 median grant was $17,814; current opportunities offer $2,500–$100,000 for responsive support and $5,000–$25,000 for housing. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$527.1M

Grants

2,211

Total Given

$91.0M

Temple Hoyne Buell Foundation

Denver, CO

The Temple Hoyne Buell Foundation primarily funds early childhood education and development for children from birth to age five, along with related quality improvement and evaluation, especially in underserved communities and rural Colorado. Most grants are $10,000–$50,000, and funding is focused primarily on Colorado. It accepts unsolicited requests through its responsive grant cycles, though some targeted initiatives are by invitation.

Assets

$477.1M

Grants

486

Total Given

$19.8M

The Colorado Health Foundation

Denver, CO

The Colorado Health Foundation funds Colorado organizations working to improve health and health equity, including projects in primary care, housing, recovery, advocacy, and community solutions; it offers project, operating, capacity-building, and capital support. Its 2024 grants had a median of $80,000, though awards ranged widely, and its work is statewide, with 96% of 2024 grant dollars going to Colorado recipients. Applicants must apply through an open funding opportunity; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$2.9B

Grants

684

Total Given

$102.2M

Daniels Fund

Denver, CO

The Daniels Fund supports nonprofit organizations in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming, with grants focused on areas including aging, amateur sports, disabilities, addiction, early childhood education, homelessness and disadvantage, K–12 education reform, and youth. The profile does not state a typical grant size or whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

1,593

Total Given

$69.7M

Christian Community Foundation Inc

Colorado Springs, CO

WaterStone funds charitable and educational efforts, especially direct Christian ministries, through donor-recommended grants to eligible U.S. and international nonprofits whose missions align with its Statement of Faith. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and grants are recommended by donors.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$746.4M

Grants

1,651

Total Given

$161.8M

More Funders in Colorado

The Anna and John J Sie Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?