Suzanne Bennett Charitable
Suzanne Bennett Charitable is a private foundation based in Quincy, Massachusetts. Its 2025 filing reports 15 grants totaling $31,500, and states that the foundation contributes only to preselected charitable organizations.
Suzanne Bennett Charitable at a glance
In short: Suzanne Bennett Charitable gave $32K across 15 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in Massachusetts. 7% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $31,500
- +10.5% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 15
- -6.3% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $2,100
- +17.9% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $2,000
- Total assets
- $503,198
- -4.4% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 7% first-time grantees (1 of 15, 2025; small sample)
- Primary geography
- Massachusetts (67% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Suzanne Bennett Charitable
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to Apply
-
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.
- Contact
Mailing address: C/O Codycodymccarthy1 Pine Hill 501, Quincy, MA 02169
Phone: (617) 472-5151
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Suzanne Bennett Charitable funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was The Shepherd's Pantry ($4K). Together the top 10 received $25K.
Grant Size Distribution
79 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 79 grants of 79 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2025 grant dollars were distributed among recipients in Massachusetts (67%), Florida (8%), Ohio (8%), Georgia (8%), and Maryland (5%). The listed grants also include a $1,500 award to Save the Children in Fairfield, Connecticut.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 15 itemized grants.
Cities
Is Suzanne Bennett Charitable open to new grantees?
7%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 1 of 15 grantees (7%) were first-time recipients. With only 15 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 7 points. First grants averaged $2K; repeat grants $2K. How we count
Medians: $2K first-time, $2K repeat.
- 80% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−17%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 100% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $29K (2024) to $38K (2022). In 2025 it made 15 grants totaling $32K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| The Shepherd's Pantry Fairhaven, MA | General Use | $3,500 |
| Home for Our Troops Taunton, MA | General Use | $3,000 |
| PWSA Sarasota, FL | General use | $2,500 |
| 4 Paws for Ability Xenia, OH | General Use | $2,500 |
| Lakeville Animal Shelter Lakeville, MA | General Use | $2,500 |
| Eric C Johnson Memorial Schol East Freetown, MA | General Use | $2,500 |
| Joy Mission Roswell, GA | General Use | $2,500 |
| Conway House Middleboro Middleboro, MA | General Use | $2,000 |
| Farm and Community Collaborative - Lakeville, MA | General Use | $2,000 |
| New England Coastal Wildlife Allian Middleboro, MA | General Use | $2,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Suzanne Bennett Charitable?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $503,198 | $38,512 | $63,892 | $31,500 | 15 | $31,500 | $17,186 | $31,429 |
| 2024 | $526,578 | $41,949 | $56,909 | $28,500 | 16 | $28,500 | $23,016 | $31,360 |
| 2023 | $548,724 | $42,827 | $59,084 | $31,000 | 15 | $31,000 | $23,777 | $29,876 |
| 2022 | $557,539 | $22,643 | $63,139 | $38,000 | 17 | $38,000 | $8,136 | $31,593 |
| 2021 | $606,095 | $41,251 | $69,881 | $34,500 | 16 | $34,500 | $21,101 | $37,194 |
| 2020 | $633,863 | $36,253 | $54,330 | $33,500 | 12 | — | $18,084 | $33,739 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Suzanne Bennett Charitable reported a distributable amount of $31K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants went to organizations including food, disability, animal welfare, community, education, military-family, and children’s organizations. For example, 4 PAWS for Ability describes its work as training service dogs for people with physical and hidden disabilities, while Cape Abilities describes providing education, counseling, residential, social, therapeutic, and employment supports to people with disabilities.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2025, the foundation made 15 grants totaling $31,500. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $3,500, with a median of $2,000. Notable grants included $3,500 to The Shepherd’s Pantry; $3,000 to Home for Our Troops; and $2,500 each to PWSA, 4 Paws for Ability, Lakeville Animal Shelter, Eric C Johnson Memorial Scholarship, and Joy Mission. The filing lists each of these grants’ purposes as general use.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Michael T Cody as president, treasurer, and director. Jamie Nadeau Cody is listed as clerk and director. Janet Driscoll and Patrick Donovan are also listed as directors.
Suzanne Bennett Charitable is led by Michael T. Cody, President, Treasurer & Director on every filing since 2020; all 4 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Michael T. Cody
President, Treasurer & Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
$3K (2021) → $2K (2025)
Jamie Nadeau Cody
Clerk & Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
$3K (2021) → $2K (2025)
Janet Driscoll
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
$3K (2021) → $2K (2025)
Patrick Donovan
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
$3K (2021) → $2K (2025)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $2K, to Michael T Cody (Director). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Suzanne Bennett Charitable
How much does Suzanne Bennett Charitable give each year?
Suzanne Bennett Charitable gave $32K across 15 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $29K across 16 grants.
What is Suzanne Bennett Charitable's typical grant size?
Suzanne Bennett Charitable's median grant in 2025 was $2,000, and its average grant was $2,100, across 15 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Suzanne Bennett Charitable that year got $2K on average.
Where does Suzanne Bennett Charitable give grants?
Suzanne Bennett Charitable gives mostly in Massachusetts: 67% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Florida (8%) and Ohio (8%). The most frequent recipient cities were Lakeville, MA (2 grants) and Middleboro, MA (2 grants).
Does Suzanne Bennett Charitable give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Suzanne Bennett Charitable's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (15 of 15) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Suzanne Bennett Charitable's largest grantees?
Suzanne Bennett Charitable's largest 2025 grantees include The Shepherd's Pantry ($3,500), Home for Our Troops ($3,000) and PWSA ($2,500), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 29% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Suzanne Bennett Charitable?
Suzanne Bennett Charitable reported $503K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $32K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $31K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Suzanne Bennett Charitable fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants went to organizations including food, disability, animal welfare, community, education, military-family, and children’s organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Suzanne Bennett Charitable?
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Suzanne Bennett Charitable's EIN?
Suzanne Bennett Charitable's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-1192399. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Suzanne Bennett Charitable accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS July 13, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS July 29, 2022)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 11, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 14, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 6, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 7, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Suzanne Bennett Charitable's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Massachusetts
Eastern Bank Foundation
Wakefield, MA
Eastern Bank Foundation supports economic inclusion and mobility, including small businesses, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its 2025 grants ranged from $50 to $2,002,500, with a median of $2,500, primarily in Massachusetts and also in New Hampshire and Rhode Island. It accepts online applications and does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$266.7M
Grants
1,786
Total Given
$19.0M
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
Synchrony Foundation
Stamford, CT
In 2024, Synchrony Foundation supported charitable organizations across workforce development, education, financial assistance, and giving, with grants ranging from $150 to $2.6 million and a median of $10,000. Its largest shares of grant funding went to Connecticut, New York, and South Carolina, followed by the District of Columbia and New Jersey; it does not accept unsolicited requests and funds preselected organizations only.
Assets
$72.3M
Grants
394
Total Given
$20.5M
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Boston Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
The Boston Foundation funds nonprofits and community initiatives focused on equity and opportunity, including child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer amounts such as $50,000; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$2.1B
Grants
2,375
Total Given
$228.4M
Barr Foundation
Boston, MA
The Barr Foundation funds arts and creativity, climate, education, and New England’s social sector, primarily through long-term support for organizations in New England. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $3.275 million, with a median of $80,000. Its filing says it accepts only requests from preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests, though its website describes program-page inquiries and occasional open calls.
Assets
$1.9B
Grants
903
Total Given
$123.2M
More similar funders
More Funders in Massachusetts
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Suzanne Bennett Charitable's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Suzanne Bennett Charitable down — hundreds of funders to go?