Sully Foundation Ltd
Sully Foundation Ltd is a private foundation focused on Education, based in The Plains, VA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.2M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 8 grants totaling $41K. Net investment income was $92K.
Sully Foundation Ltd at a glance
In short: Sully Foundation Ltd gave $41K across 8 grants in 2025 (avg $5K), mostly in Virginia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $40,624
- -10.1% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 8
- +60.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $5,078
- -43.8% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $2,500
- Total assets
- $1,159,478
- +3.9% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Virginia (69% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Sully Foundation Ltd funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 5 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Fairfax County Park Authority ($18K). Together the top 5 received $28K.
Organizations only. It also paid 3 individual scholarships ($12,500), which are not listed by name.
Grant Size Distribution
30 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 30 grants of 30 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 8 itemized grants.
Cities
How Sully Foundation Ltd gives
- Giving fell 35% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 85% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $31K (2020) to $62K (2022). In 2025 it made 8 grants totaling $41K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Fairfax County Park Authority Fairfax, VA | Cash to Benefit Sully Plantation | $18,124 |
| 3 individual scholarships Recipients not named | — | $12,500 |
| Bringham Young University Provo, UT | Scholarship | $2,500 |
| James Madison University Harrisonburg, VA | Scholarship | $2,500 |
| University of Maryland College Park, MD | Scholarship | $2,500 |
| Usma at West Point West Point, NY | Scholarship | $2,500 |
Ready to take the next step with Sully Foundation Ltd?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,159,478 | $106,350 | $62,572 | $40,624 | 8 | $45,292 | $91,935 | $53,034 |
| 2024 | $1,115,700 | $96,356 | $60,167 | $45,173 | 5 | $49,855 | $88,064 | $51,814 |
| 2023 | $1,079,511 | $22,056 | $51,910 | $33,796 | 6 | $36,098 | $19,246 | $48,500 |
| 2022 | $1,114,377 | $47,752 | $84,293 | $62,033 | 8 | $64,418 | $37,954 | $50,181 |
| 2021 | $1,150,918 | $115,853 | $61,690 | $43,217 | 3 | $49,727 | $104,251 | $56,357 |
| 2020 | $1,096,755 | $49,864 | $49,409 | $31,303 | 6 | — | $40,023 | $48,623 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Sully Foundation Ltd reported a distributable amount of $53K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Sully Foundation Ltd is led by Roberta Jeffries, Chair & Treasurer since 2025 (on filings since 2020); none of the 9 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Roberta Jeffries
Chair & Treasurer
Chairperson → Chair & Treasurer, 2025
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Beverly Horton
Director
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Barbara Naef
Director
On filings since 2023
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mike Henry
Director
On filings since 2023
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
William Leigh III
Director
On filings since 2023
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Carol McDonnell
Director
New on the 2025 filing
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Sheri Huerta
Director
New on the 2025 filing
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Anne Stuntz
Secretary
Director → Secretary, 2023
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lee Hubbard
Vice Chairperson
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (5)
- Former: Michael Frey (2020–2024) — Director
- Former: Orlo Chip Paciulli III (2020–2024) — Treasurer
- Former: Elizabeth Hamill (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Paula Elsey (2020–2022) — Secretary
- Former: W. Lewis Leigh Jr. (2020–2022) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Sully Foundation Ltd
How much does Sully Foundation Ltd give each year?
Sully Foundation Ltd gave $41K across 8 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $45K across 5 grants.
What is Sully Foundation Ltd's typical grant size?
Sully Foundation Ltd's median grant in 2025 was $2,500, and its average grant was $5,078, across 8 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Sully Foundation Ltd give grants?
Sully Foundation Ltd gives mostly in Virginia: 69% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Pennsylvania (12%) and Utah (6%).
Does Sully Foundation Ltd give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 8 grants with a stated purpose on Sully Foundation Ltd's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (7 grants).
Who are Sully Foundation Ltd's largest grantees?
Sully Foundation Ltd's largest 2025 grantees include Fairfax County Park Authority ($18,124), Bringham Young University ($2,500) and James Madison University ($2,500), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 3 individual scholarships ($12,500), which are not listed by name. Together they received 57% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Sully Foundation Ltd?
Sully Foundation Ltd reported $1.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $45K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $53K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is Sully Foundation Ltd?
Sully Foundation Ltd is a private foundation focused on Education, based in The Plains, VA. It holds $1.2M in total assets as of 2025.
What is Sully Foundation Ltd's EIN?
Sully Foundation Ltd's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 54-0855626. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 4, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Sully Foundation Ltd's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Tulsa Community Foundation
Tulsa, OK
Tulsa Community Foundation supports charitable causes through donor-advised grants and selected funds, including scholarships, emergency assistance, disaster relief, arts and humanities, healthcare, and financial literacy, primarily in the Tulsa metro area and eastern Oklahoma, with some giving elsewhere in the United States. Its 2024 median grant was $18,560; selected field-of-interest funds have application cycles, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
1,066
Total Given
$158.6M
Executive Leadership Council
Washington, DC
The Executive Leadership Council funds scholarships and initiatives supporting leadership development, education, entrepreneurship, and inclusive opportunities, with 2024 grants going to universities and nonprofits. Grants ranged from $8,000 to $534,315, with a median of $15,000; funding was distributed across the United States, especially DC, Georgia, New York, North Carolina, and Delaware. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$64.9M
Grants
102
Total Given
$4.0M
Old Dominion University Research Foundation
Norfolk, VA
Old Dominion University Research primarily administers sponsored research, training grants, and related programs for Old Dominion University, including research subcontracts and student or participant support. In 2025, it reported 126 grants totaling $13.5 million, with a median award of about $32,000; nearly half of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$57.3M
Grants
126
Total Given
$13.5M
Folds of Honor Foundation
Owasso, OK
Folds of Honor funds education scholarships for spouses and children of U.S. military service members and first responders killed or disabled in service, with awards available for K–12 and higher education in the United States and its territories. Awards are up to $5,000 per academic year, based on unmet need, and are paid directly to the school. It accepts scholarship applications through an online portal during its annual application window; it does not make grants to outside applicants.
Assets
$122.3M
Grants
1,551
Total Given
$37.6M
The Andrew W Mellon Foundation
New York, NY
The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation supports arts and cultural organizations, higher education, and humanities-focused work, primarily through grants to organizations in the United States, with some support for eligible organizations abroad. In 2024, its grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.56 million, with a median of $500,000. Most grants are by invitation, but it accepts inquiries for some opportunities, including rolling inquiries for Humanities in Place.
Assets
$7.8B
Grants
848
Total Given
$555.0M
Gates Foundation
Seattle, WA
The Gates Foundation funds work to reduce disease and poverty, improve health and gender equality in lower-income countries, and support education and economic mobility in the United States, especially Washington State; it works in more than 140 countries. Its 2024 grants had a median of $500,000, with awards ranging from $1 to $350.5 million. It generally does not accept unsolicited proposals, but periodically offers opportunities through published requests for proposals.
Assets
$78.7B
Grants
4,974
Total Given
$6.3B
More similar funders
More Funders in Virginia
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Sully Foundation Ltd's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Sully Foundation Ltd down — hundreds of funders to go?