Stephen J Potter Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Ticonderoga, NY EIN: 14-6016858

Stephen J Potter Foundation is a private foundation, based in Ticonderoga, NY. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $436K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 3 grants totaling $22K. Net investment income was $15K.

Key facts about Stephen J Potter Foundation

In short: Stephen J Potter Foundation gave $22K across 3 grants in 2025 (avg $7K), mostly in New York. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
14-6016858
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$22,000
Grants made (2025)
3
Average grant
$7,333
Median grant
$250
Total assets
$436,390
Primary geography
New York (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$436K

-7.3% YoY

Annual Giving

$22K

+12.8% YoY

Grant Count

3

+200.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$7K

-62.4% YoY

How Stephen J Potter Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 69% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Stephen J Potter Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.

States

Cities

Ticonderoga

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10K$20K$30K1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 3 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $13K (2022) to $22K (2020). In 2025 it made 3 grants totaling $22K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 3 recipients in 2025

College Students: $22KCollege Students$22KBlack Watch Library: $250Black Watch Library$250Ticonderoga Historical Society: $250Ticonderoga Historical Society$250

The largest 2025 recipient was College Students ($22K). Together the top 3 received $22K.

Grant Size Distribution

7 grants across all recorded years

7<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 7 grants of 7 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
College Students Various, NYCollege Scholarships - Education$21,500
Black Watch Library Ticonderoga, NYAssist Public Library$250
Ticonderoga Historical Society Ticonderoga, NYAssist Historic Museum$250

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$50K$100K$150K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$436,390$470,987$412,323
Revenue$20,723$13,261$5,105
Expenses$34,668$30,009$30,047
Qualifying Distributions$22,000$19,500$16,750
Net Investment Income$14,687$11,711$4,548

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS June 30, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS August 10, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 14, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS February 8, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS January 16, 2025)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS February 16, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Stephen J Potter Foundation is led by Thomas Morhouse, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 7 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Thomas Morhouse

    President

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Peter Reale

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • James O'Toole

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lynne Lenhart

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Sutphen

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard Bartlett

    1st Vice President

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sheridan Burleigh

    Secretary & Treasurer

    2nd Vice Pr → Secretary, 2022

    Secretary → Secretary & Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (5)
  • Former: John McDonald (2020–2024) — Emeritus
  • Former: Jim O'Toole (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: John Lapointe (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: William Wetherbee (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Richard Sanderspree (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Stephen J Potter Foundation

How much does Stephen J Potter Foundation give each year?

Stephen J Potter Foundation gave $22K across 3 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $20K across 1 grant.

What is Stephen J Potter Foundation's typical grant size?

Stephen J Potter Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $250, and its average grant was $7,333, across 3 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Stephen J Potter Foundation give grants?

Stephen J Potter Foundation gives mostly in New York: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Ticonderoga, NY (2 grants).

Does Stephen J Potter Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 3 grants with a stated purpose on Stephen J Potter Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.

How large is Stephen J Potter Foundation?

Stephen J Potter Foundation reported $436K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Its revenue that year was $21K.

What is Stephen J Potter Foundation's EIN?

Stephen J Potter Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 14-6016858. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Stephen J Potter Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Stephen J Potter Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

The Ford Foundation

New York, NY

The Ford Foundation funds organizations, individuals, and ideas working to reduce inequality and advance social justice, including work in areas such as immigrant justice, criminal justice reform, gender equity, and arts and culture, through grants around the world. Its 2024 grants had a median of $100,000, with amounts ranging from $45 to $15 million; it does not accept unsolicited requests by mail, email, or phone.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$17.5B

Grants

4,007

Total Given

$844.7M

The New York Community Trust

New York, NY

The New York Community Trust funds projects in areas including arts, education, health, human services, community development, and the environment, primarily in New York City, Long Island, and Westchester, with some opportunities elsewhere. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though awards varied widely. It accepts applications through its open competitive grants program and selected RFPs or letters of interest; donor-advised funds do not accept proposals.

Assets

$3.5B

Grants

2,748

Total Given

$193.8M

The Simons Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The Simons Foundation funds research in mathematics and the basic sciences, as well as autism and other disease research, through grants to research centers, universities, and related organizations. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,480 to $20 million, with a median of $72,000; funding is concentrated in New York, California, and Massachusetts, with awards also made elsewhere in the U.S. and internationally. Whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.5B

Grants

1,727

Total Given

$272.0M

Local Initiatives Support Corporation

New York, NY

Local Initiatives Support Corporation funds affordable housing, economic development, education, health, child care, small businesses and other community initiatives, often through grants, loans and equity. Its 2024 grants had a median of $40,000, with awards ranging from $5,189 to $4.7 million, and its work spans communities across all 50 states. It offers specific grant opportunities, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$1.6B

Grants

1,119

Total Given

$102.8M

Wellspring Philanthropic Fund Inc

New York, NY

Wellspring Philanthropic Fund supports climate and environmental work, human rights, civic engagement, Jewish causes, and some economic-opportunity initiatives, with grants reported across the U.S. and internationally. In 2024, its grants ranged from $500 to $9.75 million, with a median of $200,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$134.4M

Grants

1,101

Total Given

$326.0M

More Funders in New York

Stephen J Potter Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?