Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg
Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg is a private foundation based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. In 2025, it awarded grants to organizations including Minnesota arts and education institutions, as well as organizations outside the state.
Key facts about Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg
In short: Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg gave $22K across 9 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in Minnesota. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 41-1875783
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $22,160
- Grants made (2025)
- 9
- Average grant
- $2,462
- Median grant
- $1,300
- Total assets
- $566,009
- Primary geography
- Minnesota (85% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$566K
+1.0% YoY
Annual Giving
$22K
-65.0% YoY
Grant Count
9
-66.7% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$2K
+5.1% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg reported a distributable amount of $28K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg gives
- Giving fell 62% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 88% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its grants show support for a range of organizations. For example, the Minnesota Orchestra describes its mission as enriching, inspiring, and serving its community through an internationally recognized symphony orchestra. Children’s Theatre Company says it creates theater experiences that educate, challenge, and inspire young people and their communities. Breck School describes its work as creating confident learners who lead lives of intellectual curiosity, self-knowledge, and social responsibility.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation awarded 9 grants totaling $22,160. Grants ranged from $360 to $10,000, with a median of $1,300. The largest awards were $10,000 to Guthrie Theater and $5,000 to Minnesota Orchestral Association, both in Minneapolis. Other grants included $1,300 each to Breck School, Groves Learning Organization, and Hamline University.
Ready to take the next step with Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 85% of grant dollars went to recipients in Minnesota. The remaining grant dollars were distributed to organizations in Maryland (5%), Texas (5%), New York (4%), and Massachusetts (2%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $14K (2020) to $73K (2023). In 2025 it made 9 grants totaling $22K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 9 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Guthrie Theater ($10K). Together the top 9 received $22K.
Grant Size Distribution
92 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 92 grants of 92 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Guthrie Theater Minneapolis, MN | General Funding | $10,000 |
| Minnesota Orchestral Association Minneapolis, MN | General Funding | $5,000 |
| Breck School Minneapolis, MN | General Funding | $1,300 |
| Groves Learning Organization St Louis Park, MN | General Funding | $1,300 |
| Hamline University Saint Paul, MN | General Funding | $1,300 |
| Hias Inc Silver Spring, MD | General | $1,000 |
| Warrior Dog Foundation Dallas, TX | General | $1,000 |
| The Hadar Institute New York, NY | Pedagogy of Partnership | $900 |
| Brandeis University Waltham, MA | General Funding | $360 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grant sum | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $566,009 | $32,784 | $27,563 | $22,160 | 9 |
| 2024 | $560,444 | -$66,584 | $68,713 | $63,250 | 27 |
| 2023 | $699,999 | $96,276 | $77,835 | $72,650 | 25 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $566,009 | $560,444 | $699,999 |
| Revenue | $32,784 | $-66,584 | $96,276 |
| Expenses | $27,563 | $68,713 | $77,835 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $24,762 | $65,663 | $74,963 |
| Net Investment Income | $25,326 | $24,723 | $36,838 |
| Distributable Amount | $28,109 | $27,967 | $24,676 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 13, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 16, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 12, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 13, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 13, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 13, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Luella G Goldberg and Dr Stanley M Goldberg as directors; Ellen Goldberg Luger as president; Fredric Gross Goldberg and Martha Goldberg Aronson as directors; and Dan Aronson as treasurer.
Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg is led by Ellen Goldberg Luger, President since 2025 (on filings since 2020); none of the 6 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Ellen Goldberg Luger
President
Director → President, 2025
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Fredric Gross Goldberg
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Luella G. Goldberg
Director
President & Secretary → Director, 2025
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Martha Goldberg Aronson
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Stanley M. Goldberg
Director
Treasurer → Director, 2025
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Dan Aronson
Treasurer
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 1710 Colfax Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone: (612) 839-6423
Frequently asked questions about Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg
How much does Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg give each year?
Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg gave $22K across 9 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $63K across 27 grants.
What is Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg's typical grant size?
Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg's median grant in 2025 was $1,300, and its average grant was $2,462, across 9 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg give grants?
Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg gives mostly in Minnesota: 85% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Minneapolis, MN (3 grants).
Does Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg give general operating support?
Yes: 89% of Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (8 of 9) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg's largest grantees?
Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg's largest 2025 grantees include Guthrie Theater ($10,000), Minnesota Orchestral Association ($5,000) and Breck School ($1,300), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 74% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg?
Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg reported $566K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $25K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $28K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its grants show support for a range of organizations. For example, the Minnesota Orchestra describes its mission as enriching, inspiring, and serving its community through an internationally recognized symphony orchestra. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg's EIN?
Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-1875783. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Minnesota
The Minneapolis Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Minneapolis Foundation supports civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education equity, community safety, health, and the environment. In 2025, its grants had a median of $25,000, though awards varied widely; 77% of grant dollars went to Minnesota recipients. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; current opportunities are closed, and some programs are invitation-based.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
1,565
Total Given
$121.7M
Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation
St. Paul, MN
The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic development, health and human services, youth and education, arts and culture, democracy, and nonprofit capacity, serving the East Metro and communities statewide. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000, while the Management Improvement Fund offers up to $15,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through open application programs, though some opportunities are invite-only.
Assets
$1.7B
Grants
1,473
Total Given
$107.2M
The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$218.3M
Grants
1,431
Total Given
$47.9M
United Way Worldwide
Alexandria, VA
United Way Worldwide supports community-focused work in health, youth opportunity, financial security, resilience, disaster recovery, education, and human services, including local United Way organizations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,100 to $736,333, with a median of $22,675, and went to recipients across multiple U.S. states; it describes its broader reach as global. No application process for unsolicited grant requests is specified.
Assets
$68.0M
Grants
209
Total Given
$11.4M
Wells Fargo Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Wells Fargo Foundation funds nonprofits working on financial opportunity, affordable housing, and small-business growth, with giving at national and local levels. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $8 million, with a median of $35,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations are invited to apply.
Assets
$8.6M
Grants
1,376
Total Given
$157.4M
C K Blandin Foundation
Grand Rapids, MN
The C K Blandin Foundation funds community wealth-building, rural placemaking and small-community efforts, including work on housing, civic engagement, community spaces and food systems. It primarily supports rural Minnesota, especially Itasca County and nearby communities, and its 2024 median grant was $2,900, though awards ranged from $50 to $335,000.
Assets
$506.3M
Grants
931
Total Given
$15.8M
The McKnight Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The McKnight Foundation funds nonprofit organizations, research, and community initiatives in arts and culture, food systems, climate and energy, neuroscience, and equitable communities, primarily in Minnesota and the Midwest, with some work in Africa and South America and beyond. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,150 to $10 million, with a median of $100,000; prospective applicants are asked to contact program staff first, who provide proposal instructions if they determine funding may be considered.
Assets
$2.7B
Grants
790
Total Given
$145.9M
Neighborhood Development Center Inc
Saint Paul, MN
Neighborhood Development Center supports entrepreneurs and neighborhood revitalization through business financing, training, services, and affordable commercial space, primarily in Saint Paul and Minneapolis, with grants going to Minnesota recipients. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $207,211, with a median of $13,500. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; a specific small-business grant RFP described was a past cycle.
Assets
$55.3M
Grants
571
Total Given
$10.2M
Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund
Duluth, MN
The Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund awards scholarships to eligible students pursuing mathematics, science, engineering, or medical fields, primarily serving students from northern Minnesota. Recent awards were typically $2,500, with grants ranging from $2,500 to $3,000. It accepts applications through its scholarship programs; high-school applications are due January 15, and the college-transfer pathway also has an application process.
Assets
$18.4M
Grants
566
Total Given
$1.5M
Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota
St. Paul, MN
The Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota funds spiritual, educational, and social needs through grants for education, capital improvements, assistance programs, and other charitable purposes. Its 2025 grants had a median of $16,124, and at least half of grants over any three-year period are intended for Minnesota organizations; 86% of 2025 grant dollars went to Minnesota. Its Social Impact and Educational Impact programs are invitation-only, while other CCF-directed programs may offer open, competitive applications.
Assets
$751.7M
Grants
504
Total Given
$43.9M
Communitygiving
St Cloud, MN
CommunityGiving supports nonprofits, schools, government entities, students, and community initiatives through partner foundations, donor-directed funds, competitive grants, and scholarships. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $680,477, with a median of $15,528; most funding went to Minnesota, though its network also includes Derby, Kansas. Competitive grant applications are accepted through online systems for specific opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$282.6M
Grants
426
Total Given
$16.7M
Pohlad Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
Assets
$76.4M
Grants
372
Total Given
$14.1M
More Funders in Minnesota
Stanley M & Luella G Goldberg down — hundreds of funders to go?