Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation
The STAN & BETTY LEWIS FOUNDATION is a private foundation based in Chapman, Kansas. In its 2025 filing, it reported 12 grants totaling $25,700 to organizations in Kansas and Minnesota.
Key facts about Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation
In short: Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation gave $26K across 12 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in Kansas. 0% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 81-2813709
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $25,700
- Grants made (2025)
- 12
- Average grant
- $2,142
- Median grant
- $2,150
- New grantees (estimate)
- 0% first-time grantees (0 of 12, 2025)
- Total assets
- $484,144
- Primary geography
- Kansas (89% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$484K
+17.3% YoY
Annual Giving
$26K
+9.4% YoY
Grant Count
12
-7.7% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$2K
+18.5% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation reported a distributable amount of $26K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation open to new grantees?
0%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 0 of 12 grantees (0%) were first-time recipients. How we count
- 100% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+19%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 102% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for organizations described in the filing as serving social, health and fitness, educational, and arts and culture purposes. Among its grantees, Mayo Clinic describes its mission as providing care, education, and research to support health and well-being; the Junction City Family YMCA describes its mission as providing programs that build health of body, mind, and spirit.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation gave $25,700 through 12 grants. Grant amounts ranged from $1,200 to $3,300, with a median of $2,150. Grants included $3,300 to First Presbyterian Church in Junction City, Kansas; $2,700 to Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota; $2,600 to Chapman Senior Center; and $2,500 each to Chapman Valley Manor and Junction City Family YMCA.
Ready to take the next step with Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 89% of grant dollars went to recipients in Kansas and 11% to recipients in Minnesota. The listed grants went to organizations in Kansas and Minnesota.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 12 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $11K (2019) to $26K (2025). In 2025 it made 12 grants totaling $26K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was First Presbyterian Church ($3K). Together the top 10 received $23K.
Grant Size Distribution
60 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 60 grants of 60 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| First Presbyterian Church Junction City, KS | SOCIAL | $3,300 |
| Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN | Health and Fitness | $2,700 |
| Chapman Senior Center Chapman, KS | Health and Fitness | $2,600 |
| Chapman Valley Manor Chapman, KS | Health & Fitness | $2,500 |
| Junction City Family YMCA Junction City, KS | Health & Fitness | $2,500 |
| Irish Den Chapman, KS | Educational | $2,300 |
| Kansas Cosmosphere Hutchinson, KS | Educational | $2,000 |
| Ku School of Medicine Salina, KS | HEALTH | $2,000 |
| Hoover Opera House Junction City, KS | Arts and Culture | $1,900 |
| Good Sheperd Hospice House Manhattan, KS | Health and Fitness | $1,400 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $484,144 | $99,960 | $28,644 | $25,700 |
| 2024 | $412,828 | $76,547 | $26,704 | $23,500 |
| 2023 | $362,985 | $59,812 | $20,205 | $17,150 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $484,144 | $412,828 | $362,985 |
| Revenue | $99,960 | $76,547 | $59,812 |
| Expenses | $28,644 | $26,704 | $20,205 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $26,495 | $24,262 | $17,855 |
| Net Investment Income | $38,811 | $25,605 | $12,962 |
| Distributable Amount | $25,900 | $23,881 | $19,222 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 11, 2020)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 3, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 13, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 15, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 16, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 15, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS February 27, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Stanley Lewis as president, Betty Lewis as treasurer, Mitchell Keating as director, Rodney Gfeller as secretary, and John Kummer as vice preside.
Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation is led by Stanley Lewis, President on every filing since 2019; 2 of 5 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Stanley Lewis
President
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Mitchell Keating
Director
New on the 2025 filing
No compensation reported
John Kummer
Vice President
Director → Vice President, 2025
On filings since 2019
$500 (2019) → $500 (2025)
Rodney Gfeller
Secretary
On filings since 2019
$500 (2019) → $500 (2025)
Betty Lewis
Treasurer
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Ted Hayden (2019–2024) — Vice President
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $500, to Rodney Gfeller (Secretary). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Contact
Mailing address: 2679 Race Lane, Chapman, KS 67431
Phone: (785) 922-6291
Frequently asked questions about Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation
How much does Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation give each year?
Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation gave $26K across 12 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $24K across 13 grants.
What is Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation's typical grant size?
Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $2,150, and its average grant was $2,142, across 12 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation give grants?
Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation gives mostly in Kansas: 89% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Minnesota (11%). The most frequent recipient cities were Junction City, KS (3 grants), Chapman, KS (3 grants) and Salina, KS (2 grants).
Does Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 12 grants with a stated purpose on Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Health and Fitness" (4 grants).
Who are Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation's largest grantees?
Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include First Presbyterian Church ($3,300), Mayo Clinic ($2,700) and Chapman Senior Center ($2,600), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 33% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation?
Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation reported $484K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $26K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $26K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for organizations described in the filing as serving social, health and fitness, educational, and arts and culture purposes. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation?
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation's EIN?
Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 81-2813709. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Does Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Weary Family Foundation
Manhattan, KS
The Weary Family Foundation supports educational and public-welfare organizations, including universities, arts groups, and organizations serving people with disabilities. Its 2025 giving totaled $3 million across 27 grants, with a median grant of $30,000; grants went to organizations in Kansas and Ohio. It does not accept unsolicited requests; trustees select recipients.
Assets
$9.7M
Grants
27
Total Given
$3.0M
The Community Foundation of Herkimer and Oneida Counties Inc
Utica, NY
The Community Foundation of Herkimer and Oneida Counties funds nonprofit work addressing community needs such as neighborhood revitalization, healthcare, workforce development, healthy homes, and food insecurity, primarily in Herkimer and Oneida counties, New York. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of about $17,000, though awards varied widely; some named programs offer up to $15,000 or $2,000.
Assets
$221.2M
Grants
190
Total Given
$7.1M
Central Indiana Community Foundation Inc
Indianapolis, IN
CICF supports a range of charitable work through its funds and partner entities, including youth programs, housing, social services, environmental equity, and services for older adults, primarily in Central Indiana. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. CICF does not award grants directly; most competitive opportunities use its grants portal, while the Hamilton County Multi-Year Partner Grant is invitation-only and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$583.5M
Grants
525
Total Given
$31.1M
Ernst & Young Foundation
New York, NY
The Ernst & Young Foundation primarily supports higher education and preparation for business careers, with additional grants for educational projects, social justice, and disaster relief. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,056 to $316,005, with a median of $13,525, and went to organizations across the United States.
Assets
$47.6M
Grants
637
Total Given
$16.7M
Otto Bremer Trust
St. Paul, MN
The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
180
Total Given
$57.2M
Triangle Community Foundation Inc
Durham, NC
The foundation supports nonprofits working in cultural arts, education and youth, nonprofit capacity building, and sustainable communities, with discretionary grants focused on Durham, Orange, Wake, and Chatham Counties in North Carolina. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts varied widely. Eligible nonprofits or fiscally sponsored organizations can apply through its online system during open grant cycles, so requests are accepted when a relevant cycle is open.
Assets
$335.8M
Grants
599
Total Given
$26.7M
Foundation for Appalachian Ohio
Nelsonville, OH
The Foundation for Appalachian Ohio funds nonprofits, schools, and community organizations working in arts and culture, community and economic development, education, environmental stewardship, and health and human services, primarily across Appalachian Ohio’s 32 counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,210 to $400,000, with a median of $10,442. It offers competitive grants through an online application system; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the profile.
Assets
$128.1M
Grants
68
Total Given
$2.0M
Christian Community Foundation Inc
Colorado Springs, CO
WaterStone funds charitable and educational efforts, especially direct Christian ministries, through donor-recommended grants to eligible U.S. and international nonprofits whose missions align with its Statement of Faith. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and grants are recommended by donors.
Assets
$746.4M
Grants
1,651
Total Given
$161.8M
Indian River Community Foundation Inc
Vero Beach, FL
Indian River Community Foundation supports nonprofit work in areas including vulnerable individuals and families, animal welfare, the environment, historic preservation, education, human services, and arts and culture. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,200 to $2.2 million, with a median of $19,250; competitive grants are for organizations located in and/or serving Indian River County, Florida. It accepts online Letters of Idea for competitive grants, due by 5 p.m. on the last day of each month.
Assets
$114.6M
Grants
206
Total Given
$15.9M
WK Kellogg Foundation
Battle Creek, MI
The W.K. Kellogg Foundation funds community-led work focused on children’s health and education, good food, family economic security, racial equity and equitable opportunity. It gives across the United States, with long-term commitments in Michigan, Mississippi, New Mexico and New Orleans, and also funds in parts of Mexico and Haiti; its 2024 median grant was $100,000. It accepts proposals at any time through its website and does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$481.0M
Grants
1,818
Total Given
$303.9M
The Norwood Foundation
Colorado Springs, CO
The Norwood Foundation funds scholarships for college, trade, and vocational education, along with religious, charitable, scientific, literary, and educational organizations and efforts to prevent cruelty to children. In 2024, grants ranged from $500 to $2.8 million, with a median of $10,000; 90% of grant dollars went to Colorado recipients. The filing directs applicants to contact Christopher S Jenkins but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$82.6M
Grants
40
Total Given
$6.1M
Ima Foundation
Wichita, KS
Assets
$11.4M
Grants
602
Total Given
$831K
More Funders in Kansas
Stan & Betty Lewis Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?