Spruance Foundation I

Private foundation · Grantmaker Wilmington, DE EIN: 51-0351914
PhilanthropyFoundations

Spruance Foundation I is a private foundation focused on Philanthropy, based in Wilmington, DE. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $2.2M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 9 grants totaling $225K. Net investment income was $115K.

Spruance Foundation I at a glance

In short: Spruance Foundation I gave $225K across 9 grants in 2024 (avg $25K), mostly in Georgia. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2024)
$225,000
+0.0% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
9
+0.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$25,000
+0.0% vs 2023
Median grant
$14,000
Total assets
$2,177,807
-6.7% vs 2023
Primary geography
Georgia (50% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Spruance Foundation I funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 9 recipients in 2024

National Christian Foundation: $113KNational Christian Foundation$113KZoo Miami Foundation: $14KZoo Miami Foundation$14KCalvary Chapel Church: $14KCalvary Chapel Church$14KEmbry Riddle Aeronautical University: $14KEmbry Riddle AeronauticalUniversity$14KHenderson Behavioral Health: $14KHenderson Behavioral Health$14KSamaritan's Purse: $14KSamaritan's Purse$14KWounded Warrior Project: $14KWounded Warrior Project$14KTunnels to Towers: $14KTunnels to Towers$14KSouth Florida Wildlife Center: $14KSouth Florida Wildlife Center$14K

The largest 2024 recipient was National Christian Foundation ($113K). Together the top 9 received $225K.

Grant Size Distribution

45 grants across all recorded years

40<$50K1$50–100K4$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 40 grants of 45 (89%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

6states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.

Cities

Fort LauderdaleAlpharettaDaytona BeachLaureldale LakesMiamiTopekaBooneStaten IslandBaltimoreWinterhaven

How Spruance Foundation I gives

  • Giving grew 105% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 103% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K9 grants2020 9 grants2021 9 grants2022 9 grants2023 9 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $110K (2021) to $250K (2022). In 2024 it made 9 grants totaling $225K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
National Christian Foundation Alpharetta, GAReligious foundation support$113,000
Zoo Miami Foundation Miami, FLZoo and animal education$14,000
Calvary Chapel Church Fort Lauderdale, FLReligious foundation support$14,000
Embry Riddle Aeronautical University Daytona Beach, FLSupport aeronautical research$14,000
Henderson Behavioral Health Laureldale Lakes, FLHealthcare for underpriviledged$14,000
Samaritan's Purse Boone, NCDisaster relief$14,000
Wounded Warrior Project Topeka, KSVeteran support$14,000
Tunnels to Towers Staten Island, NYFirst responder support$14,000
South Florida Wildlife Center Fort Lauderdale, FLZoo and animal education$14,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Spruance Foundation I?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2024$2,177,807$75,224$231,030$225,0009$229,365$114,957$223,076
2023$2,333,613$93,298$231,295$225,0009$229,280$106,250$218,781
2022$2,471,610$191,956$259,242$250,0009$258,110$99,315$221,098
2021$2,538,896$133,698$110,067$110,0009$110,000$93,127$228,647
2020$2,515,265$75,816$283,025$250,0009—$88,446$205,352

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Spruance Foundation I reported a distributable amount of $223K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Spruance Foundation I is led by William E Spruance, President on every filing since 2020 — the only officer listed, and uncompensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • William E Spruance

    President

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Spruance Foundation I

How much does Spruance Foundation I give each year?

Spruance Foundation I gave $225K across 9 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $225K across 9 grants.

What is Spruance Foundation I's typical grant size?

Spruance Foundation I's median grant in 2024 was $14,000, and its average grant was $25,000, across 9 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Spruance Foundation I give grants?

Spruance Foundation I gives mostly in Georgia: 50% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Florida (31%) and North Carolina (6%). The most frequent recipient cities were Fort Lauderdale, FL (2 grants).

Does Spruance Foundation I give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 9 grants with a stated purpose on Spruance Foundation I's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.

Who are Spruance Foundation I's largest grantees?

Spruance Foundation I's largest 2024 grantees include National Christian Foundation ($113,000), Zoo Miami Foundation ($14,000) and Calvary Chapel Church ($14,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 63% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Spruance Foundation I?

Spruance Foundation I reported $2.2M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $229K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $223K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Spruance Foundation I?

Spruance Foundation I is a private foundation focused on Philanthropy, based in Wilmington, DE. It holds $2.2M in total assets as of 2024.

What is Spruance Foundation I's EIN?

Spruance Foundation I's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 51-0351914. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Spruance Foundation I's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Delaware

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation funds nonprofits working on education, housing, community and cultural vibrancy, and related regional needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though amounts vary widely; specific opportunities include awards of up to $35,000 for Resilient Communities and up to $450,000 through the Neighborhood Development Fund. It lists RFP and letter-of-intent opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

1,408

Total Given

$184.4M

Tulsa Community Foundation

Tulsa, OK

Tulsa Community Foundation supports charitable causes through donor-advised grants and selected funds, including scholarships, emergency assistance, disaster relief, arts and humanities, healthcare, and financial literacy, primarily in the Tulsa metro area and eastern Oklahoma, with some giving elsewhere in the United States. Its 2024 median grant was $18,560; selected field-of-interest funds have application cycles, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

1,066

Total Given

$158.6M

The Winston-Salem Foundation

Winston-Salem, NC

The Winston-Salem Foundation funds charitable organizations serving Forsyth County, North Carolina, across areas including education, housing, economic opportunity, civic engagement, arts, health, and human services. Its 2024 median grant was $25,000; specific programs offer grants ranging from small grants of up to $2,000 to capital grants of up to $100,000. The profile describes application-based programs but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$630.1M

Grants

823

Total Given

$90.4M

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

American Electric Power Foundation

Wilmington, DE

The American Electric Power Foundation funds education, especially STEM, basic human services, social justice, and environmental protection, primarily for organizations in AEP’s service territory or with broader beneficial impact. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $1,428,570, with a median of $10,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations need an invitation from their local AEP Operating Company.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$43.6M

Grants

753

Total Given

$23.0M

Puget Sound Energy Foundation

Wilmington, DE

The Puget Sound Energy Foundation funds nonprofits serving communities where PSE has a service or generation presence, primarily in Washington, across household needs, education and workforce pathways, climate resilience, and community safety. Grants vary widely; in 2024 they ranged from $13 to $100,000, with a $500 median, while its 2026 disaster-focused competitive program offers up to $15,000. It generally does not accept unsolicited requests, but eligible local nonprofits can apply through that competitive program.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$19.6M

Grants

451

Total Given

$1.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Delaware

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Spruance Foundation I's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Spruance Foundation I down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?