Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc is a public charity based in New Bedford, Massachusetts. It supports health care and community well-being in the communities served by Southcoast; its 2025 filing describes extensive inpatient, outpatient, emergency, and other health services.
Key facts about Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc
In short: Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc gave $381K across 25 grants in 2025 (avg $15K), mostly in Massachusetts. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 22-2592333
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $381,167
- Grants made (2025)
- 25
- Average grant
- $15,247
- Median grant
- $11,393
- Total assets
- $1,240,071,776
- Primary geography
- Massachusetts (86% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- How to apply
- The Healthy Community Fund’s stated process is to submit a Letter of Interest; selected applicants are invited to submit a Request for Proposal. Full details ↓
- Deadline
- September 28, 2026, for the listed Letter of Interest cycle.
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$1.2B
+7.0% YoY
Annual Giving
$381K
+48.0% YoY
Grant Count
25
+47.1% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$15K
+0.6% YoY
How Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc gives
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The organization’s stated mission is “to promote the optimal health and well-being of the individuals and families in the communities served by Southcoast Hospitals Group.” Its filing says endowment funds are intended to support its tax-exempt purpose of providing quality health care services in its service area.
The Healthy Community Fund, a partnership between Southcoast Health and United Way of Greater New Bedford, funds local health and wellness efforts. Its stated focus areas include socioeconomic factors, housing, the built environment, food access and security, access to care, behavioral health, chronic disease, maternal and child health, and overall health.
Grantees’ own descriptions illustrate the range of work represented among 2025 recipients. The Marion Institute says it engages individuals and communities in an integrative approach to whole-body health. Coastal Foodshed describes its work connecting local growers and consumers and improving access to healthy local food. Elephant Circle says it works toward a world in which people have support throughout the perinatal period. Other recipients include organizations whose stated missions involve local economic development, youth programs, violence prevention, language and career education, and community mobilization.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the filing reports 25 grants totaling $381,167. Grants ranged from $5,250 to $42,500, with a median of $11,393. The largest awards included:
Grant Range
is $10,000–$25,000.
Review Cycle
September 28, 2026, for the listed Letter of Interest cycle.
Ready to take the next step with Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The organization’s stated service area includes southeastern Massachusetts and Rhode Island. The Healthy Community Fund information specifies that programs must benefit Southcoast Health and/or United Way of Greater New Bedford service areas in southeastern Massachusetts. In 2025, 86% of grant dollars went to recipients in Massachusetts, 8% to Rhode Island, and 7% to Colorado, as reported in the filing.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 25 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $38K (2021) to $861K (2020). In 2025 it made 25 grants totaling $381K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was The Marion Institute ($43K). Together the top 10 received $248K.
Grant Size Distribution
77 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 75 grants of 77 (97%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| The Marion Institute Marion, MA | Community Outreach and Support Services | $42,500 |
| YWCA Southeastern Massachusetts New Bedford, MA | Support Services | $30,000 |
| Elephant Circle Palisade, CO | Support Services | $25,000 |
| Coastal Foodshed Inc New Bedford, MA | Support Services | $25,000 |
| Positive Action Against Chemical Add New Bedford, MA | Community Outreach and Support Services | $25,000 |
| Town of Lakeville Lakeville, MA | Community Outreach | $23,868 |
| One Southcoast Chamber New Bedford, MA | Community Outreach and Support Services | $21,355 |
| Town of Middletown Middletown, RI | Community Outreach | $20,000 |
| Fall River Public Schools Fall River, MA | Community Outreach | $20,000 |
| Dennison Memorial Community Center Inc New Bedford, MA | Community Outreach and Support Services | $15,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,240,071,776 | $1,381,528,208 | $1,285,336,650 | $381,167 (25) |
| 2024 | $1,158,657,361 | $1,203,785,146 | $1,109,586,238 | $257,580 (17) |
| 2023 | $1,044,672,844 | $1,121,349,892 | $1,034,147,962 | $173,354 (13) |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,240,071,776 | $1,158,657,361 | $1,044,672,844 |
| Revenue | $1,381,528,208 | $1,203,785,146 | $1,121,349,892 |
| Expenses | $1,285,336,650 | $1,109,586,238 | $1,034,147,962 |
| Net Investment Income | $20,007,200 | $15,109,721 | $6,959,286 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS August 16, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS August 15, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 15, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS August 15, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS August 17, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 15, 2024)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 17, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists David McCready as ex-officio president and CEO; Donald Giumetti as chair; and Carmen F. Sylvester as vice chair. Listed trustees include Ilana Feinerman, MD; Anil Shukla, MD (as of January 2025); Salman Bashir, MD; Dennis Fusco; and Elizabeth Huidekoper. John Mungovan, MD, is listed as a trustee until December 2024, and Christopher Hodgson as trustee and clerk until December 2024.
Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc is led by Keith Hovan, Former President & CEO since 2023 (on filings since 2019); 19 of 32 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Keith Hovan
Former President & CEO
President, CEO & Ex-Officio → President & CEO, 2020
President & CEO → Former President & CEO, 2023
On filings since 2019
$2.4M (2019) → $115K (2025)
Rayford S. Kruger MD
Former President & CEO
President & CEO → Former President & CEO, 2025
On filings since 2022
$1.2M (2023) → $1.3M (2025)
David McCready
Ex-Officio, President & CEO
On filings since 2024
17.5 hrs/week
$317K (2024) → $1.6M (2025)
Matthew Shaw
Executive Director - Chief Info Security Officer
New on the 2025 filing
60 hrs/week
$338K (2025)
Donald G. Giumetti
Chair
Vice Chair → Vice Chair & Chair, 2023
Vice Chair & Chair → Chair, 2024
On filings since 2019
2.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Salman Bashir MD
Trustee
On filings since 2019
2.5 hrs/week
$16K (2019) → $7K (2025)
John Mungovan MD
Trustee
On filings since 2024
12.5 hrs/week
$144K (2024) → $152K (2025)
Anil Shukla MD
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
9.5 hrs/week
$175K (2025)
Christopher Hodgson
Trustee & Clerk
Trustee → Trustee & Clerk, 2024
On filings since 2019
2.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Dennis J. Fusco
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Elizabeth Huidekoper
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Helena Dasilva Hughes
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jason Rua
Trustee
Chair → Trustee, 2020
On filings since 2019
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Louis Cabral
Trustee
Chair → Chair Trustee, 2023
Chair Trustee → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2019
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
W. Hugh M. Morton
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jay S. Schachne MD
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jonathan L. Rounds
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ilana Feinerman MD
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Judge Phillip Rapoza
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
James Feen
Senior Vice President - Chief Digital Info Officer
Senior Vice President & CIO → Senior Vice President & Chief Digital Info Officer, 2024
Senior Vice President & Chief Digital Info Officer → Senior Vice President - Chief Digital Info Officer, 2025
On filings since 2019
3 hrs/week
$432K (2019) → $818K (2025)
Stephen Canessa
Senior Vice President External Affairs CCO
Senior Vice President Chief Brand Strategy Offcr → Senior Vice President External Affairs CCO, 2024
On filings since 2019
50 hrs/week
$349K (2019) → $654K (2025)
Wade Broughman
Treasurer, Executive Vice President Finance & CFO
Executive Vice President Finance, CFO & Treasurer → Treasurer of Board, Executive Vice President Finance & CFO, 2024
Treasurer of Board, Executive Vice President Finance & CFO → Treasurer, Executive Vice President Finance & CFO, 2025
On filings since 2019
47.5 hrs/week
$758K (2019) → $1.1M (2025)
Lauren Desimon Johnson
Senior Vice President & Chro
On filings since 2020
18 hrs/week
$553K (2020) → $671K (2025)
Tonya Johnson
Senior Vice President & COO
Vice President Operations → Senior Vice President & COO, 2023
On filings since 2020
$309K (2020) → $226K (2025)
Jaqueline Somerville
Senior Vice President & Cno
On filings since 2021
60 hrs/week
$521K (2021) → $578K (2025)
Stephen Pires
Senior Vice President & Insurance Risk Management
Senior Vice President Insurance & Risk Management → Senior Vice President & Insurance Risk Management, 2024
On filings since 2021
60 hrs/week
$347K (2021) → $461K (2025)
Jadene Elden
Vice President Revenue Cycle
On filings since 2022
40 hrs/week
$330K (2022) → $353K (2025)
Charles E. Cusson Jr.
Vice President Org Captly & Talent Management
Executive Director Talent Management & Org Captly → Vice President Org Captly & Talent Management, 2024
On filings since 2023
12 hrs/week
$328K (2023) → $290K (2025)
Mark Cale
CFO Shg & Senior Vice President Finance Shs
On filings since 2023
60 hrs/week
$509K (2023) → $549K (2025)
Patricia Buiocchi
Senior Vice President Post Acute Services
Senior Vice President Post Acute Care Network → Senior Vice President Post Acute Services, 2024
On filings since 2023
30 hrs/week
$345K (2023) → $532K (2025)
Michael Bushell
Treasurer, Executive Vice President Finance & CFO
New on the 2025 filing
17.5 hrs/week
$174K (2025)
Carmen F. Sylvester
Vice Chair
Trustee → Vice Chair, 2023
On filings since 2020
2.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (28)
- Former: Renee Clark Asst Clerk (2019–2025) — Clerk & Executive Vice President COO · Filing note: Until
- Former: James Jerome Coogan (2019–2024) — Clerk
- Former: Philip Oliveira (2021–2024) — Vice President Supply Chain Strat & Logist
- Former: Robert Ronan MD (2023–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Heidi A. Kostin (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Ana Laus (2022–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Mark Lacombe (2023) — Director It Eng Syst Network
- Former: Michael Cofone (2019–2022) — Senior Vice President Finance
- Former: James Witkowski MD (2021–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Robert Swann (2022) — Vice President & Acno Slh
- Former: Robert Caldas MD (2019–2021) — Former Senior Vice President & CMO
- Former: Robert Tripp Jr. DO (2019–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Georgina Nouaime MD (2020–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Joely Edwards MD (2021) — Trustee
- Former: Sheri Weintraub (2021) — Cheif Physicist
- Former: Christopher Cheneymd (2019–2020) — Trustee
- Former: David Dejesus Jr. (2019–2020) — Former Senior Vice President & Chro
- Former: Jack Dresser (2019–2020) — Senior Vice President & Cpo
- Former: John Lentini MD (2019–2020) — Trustee
- Former: Michael Barretti DO (2019–2020) — Ex-Officio
- Former: Pamela McNamara (2019–2020) — Trustee
- Former: Carl Ribeiro (2019) — Trustee
- Former: Daniel Sousa MD (2019) — Ex-Officio
- Former: Kristofer Lindeman (2019) — Former Treasurer
- Former: Linda Bodenmann (2019) — Former Executive Vice President, COO & Assistant Clerk
- Former: Maureen Sylvia Armstrong (2019) — Trustee
- Former: Paul Iannini (2019) — Phys. in Chief & Med
- Former: Timothy Eixenberger (2019) — Cno
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $1.6M, to David McCready (Ex-Officio, President & CEO). 20 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Contact
Mailing address: 101 Page Street, New Bedford, MA 02740
Phone: (508) 961-5000
Website: https://southcoast.org
Frequently asked questions about Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc
How much does Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc give each year?
Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc gave $381K across 25 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $258K across 17 grants.
What is Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc's typical grant size?
Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc's median grant in 2025 was $11,393, and its average grant was $15,247, across 25 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.
Where does Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc give grants?
Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc gives mostly in Massachusetts: 86% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest states were Rhode Island (8%) and Colorado (7%). The most frequent recipient cities were New Bedford, MA (10 grants) and Fall River, MA (3 grants).
Does Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 25 grants with a stated purpose on Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Community Outreach" (12 grants), "Support Services" (7 grants) and "Community Outreach and Support Services" (6 grants).
Who are Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc's largest grantees?
Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc's largest 2025 grantees include The Marion Institute ($42,500), YWCA Southeastern Massachusetts ($30,000) and Elephant Circle ($25,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 26% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc?
Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc reported $1.2B in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.4B.
What does Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc fund?
The organization’s stated mission is “to promote the optimal health and well-being of the individuals and families in the communities served by Southcoast Hospitals Group.” See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc?
The Healthy Community Fund’s stated process is to submit a Letter of Interest; selected applicants are invited to submit a Request for Proposal. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc's EIN?
Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 22-2592333. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Bristol County Savings Charitable
Taunton, MA
Bristol County Savings Charitable funds 501(c)(3) nonprofits working in education and literacy, economic development, affordable housing, and critical needs in communities across Bristol County, Massachusetts, and Providence County, Rhode Island. Its current program lists awards up to $10,000; 2025 grants had a median of $5,000. It accepts applications through its grant process, and giving is not limited to preselected organizations.
Assets
$24.5M
Grants
289
Total Given
$3.2M
Southcoast Community Foundation Inc
New Bedford, MA
The foundation funds nonprofits working in arts and culture, basic human needs, education and economic development, and nonprofit resilience across Southeastern Massachusetts. Its 2024 grants ranged from $6,000 to $190,000, with a median of $12,550; it accepts applications through specific open grant opportunities and cycles, while some donor-directed funds are by invitation or advisor recommendation.
Assets
$62.0M
Grants
92
Total Given
$2.5M
Eastern Bank Foundation
Wakefield, MA
Eastern Bank Foundation funds systemic efforts to advance economic inclusion and mobility, including small-business equity, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its programs range from $1,000–$10,000 for Community Donations, up to $15,000 for CITC Grants, and $50,000–$150,000 for Impact Grants; it supports organizations primarily in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. The foundation accepts online applications, with no specific submission deadlines stated.
Assets
$266.7M
Grants
1,786
Total Given
$19.0M
The Carney Family Charitable Foundation
Bridgewater, MA
The foundation supports organizations working in health, education, human services, food access, and community capacity building, with 95% of its 2024 grant dollars going to Massachusetts recipients. It made 142 grants in 2024, ranging from $250 to $200,000, with a median grant of $5,000. It accepts written requests on letterhead with information about charitable status and intended use; no deadline is listed.
Assets
$9.4M
Grants
142
Total Given
$2.4M
First Citizens Charitable Foundation Inc
Fairhaven, MA
In 2025, the foundation funded Massachusetts organizations working in areas including food assistance, aging services, youth and family support, children’s learning, and environmental protection. Its 77 grants ranged from $332 to $20,000, with a median of $1,000. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.4M
Grants
77
Total Given
$134K
Arbella Insurance Foundation
Boston, MA
The Arbella Insurance Foundation supports social justice, housing and homelessness, immigration, health and human services, education, and the arts, primarily in New England, with most 2024 grant dollars going to Massachusetts. Its 201 grants in 2024 totaled about $2.23 million; awards ranged from $28 to $152,319, with a median of $2,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$22.2M
Grants
201
Total Given
$2.2M
The Braitmayer Foundation
Marion, MA
The Braitmayer Foundation funds K–12 experiential learning that expands equitable access for low-income students, especially in coastal New England and the coastal Pacific Northwest. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,000 to $50,000, with a median of $2,500. It does not accept unsolicited applications; it invites selected organizations to apply and says it will not invite new organizations until late 2026.
Assets
$4.6M
Grants
16
Total Given
$297K
Fall River Women's Union
Fall River, MA
Fall River Women’s Union funds educational and related programs serving women and children, including social support, training, childcare, food assistance, recreation, and formal education in the greater Fall River area. Recent grants ranged from $500 to $8,750, with a median of $1,650. It accepts applications through an electronic process and does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$2.0M
Grants
40
Total Given
$87K
The Ludes Family Foundation
Marion, MA
The Ludes Family Foundation supports organizations in health, education, humanitarian aid, arts and culture, and conservation, with most of its grant dollars going to Massachusetts. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $15,000, with a median of $1,000. The foundation’s filing says to request funds by sending a letter to John Ludes; it lists no deadline.
Assets
$1.3M
Grants
91
Total Given
$139K
Island Foundation Inc
Marion, MA
The Island Foundation funds environmental and coastal conservation, education, and community initiatives, with particular focus on Southeastern Massachusetts and coastal areas of Maine, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island; it may consider projects elsewhere that fit its priorities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $240 to $100,000, with a median award of $10,000; applicants are asked to contact the Foundation first to discuss a project or renewal.
Assets
$58.1M
Grants
169
Total Given
$2.1M
Boston Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
The Boston Foundation funds equity-focused work in child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer awards from up to $15,000 to $50,000; it accepts applications through some competitive initiatives, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally is not stated.
Assets
$2.1B
Grants
2,375
Total Given
$228.4M
More Funders in Massachusetts
Southcoast Hospitals Group Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?