Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017

Private foundation · Grantmaker St. Louis, MO EIN: 37-6243123

Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 is a private foundation based in St. Louis, Missouri. Its 2025 grants supported organizations and projects in Murphysboro and Ava, Illinois, including community improvements, education, arts, sports, food assistance, and cemetery care.

Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 at a glance

In short: Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 gave $297K across 17 grants in 2025 (avg $17K), mostly in Illinois. 6% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$296,765
+4.2% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
17
-15.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$17,457
+22.6% vs 2024
Median grant
$19,000
Total assets
$5,612,941
-1.3% vs 2024
New grantees (estimate)
6% first-time grantees (1 of 17, 2025; small sample)
Primary geography
Illinois (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

How to apply to Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017

Review Cycle
March 1.
Deadline
March 1.
Contact

Application contact: Elizabeth A Smysor Charitable Trust
Mailing address: 8182 Maryland Avenue 12Th Floor, St Louis, MO 63105
Phone: (314) 615-2360
Email: smysorcharitable@regions.com

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Murphysboro Main Street Committee I: $50KMurphysboro Main StreetCommittee I$50KTrico CUSD176: $34KTrico CUSD176$34KCity of Ava: $30KCity of Ava$30KMurphysboro Soccer Inc: $25KMurphysboro Soccer Inc$25KJohn a Logan Museum: $25KJohn a Logan Museum$25KCrimson Express: $25KCrimson Express$25KMurphysboro CUSD186: $20KMurphysboro CUSD186$20KCity of Murphysboro: $20KCity of Murphysboro$20KKiwanis Club of Murphysboro: $19KKiwanis Club of Murphysboro$19KAva Evergreen Cemetery: $11KAva Evergreen Cemetery$11K

The largest 2025 recipient was Murphysboro Main Street Committee I ($50K). Together the top 10 received $259K.

Grant Size Distribution

97 grants across all recorded years

92<$50K5$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 92 grants of 97 (95%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The foundation’s stated award restriction is for projects within Murphysboro and Ava, Illinois. All 2025 grant dollars went to recipients in Illinois.

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 17 itemized grants.

States

Cities

MurphysboroAvaCampbell Hill

Is Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 open to new grantees?

6%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 1 of 17 grantees (6%) were first-time recipients. With only 17 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 6 points. First grants averaged $25K; repeat grants $17K. How we count

Medians: $25K first-time, $15K repeat.

  • 88% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−2%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 92% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2021–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K21 grants2021 19 grants2022 20 grants2023 20 grants2024 17 grants2025

From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $265K (2023) to $430K (2021). In 2025 it made 17 grants totaling $297K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Murphysboro Main Street Committee I Murphysboro, ILMurphysboro Main Street Improvement Projects. Historic Preservation.$50,000
Trico CUSD176 Campbell Hill, ILScholarships, Classroom Equipment & Performing Arts Support.$34,000
City of Ava Ava, ILCity infrastructure improvements & park improvements. Fire department supplies.$30,000
Murphysboro Soccer Inc Murphysboro, ILSoccer Supplies, Field Maintenance & Building Mortgage Support.$25,000
John a Logan Museum Murphysboro, ILMuseum Activities & Building Improvements.$25,000
Crimson Express Murphysboro, ILHigh School Music & Arts Support.$25,000
Murphysboro CUSD186 Murphysboro, ILScholarships, Classroom Equipment, School Activities, Special Event Transportation.$20,000
City of Murphysboro Murphysboro, ILCity Planning, Infrastructure Improvements and Revitilization Needs.$20,000
Kiwanis Club of Murphysboro Murphysboro, ILSocial Welfare and Community Service.$19,000
Ava Evergreen Cemetery Ava, ILCemetery Maintenance and General Care$11,012
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$5,612,941$276,132$349,323$296,76517$321,254$251,560$347,348
2024$5,686,132$258,437$337,070$284,85620$308,906$233,519$320,815
2023$5,764,765$97,446$313,498$264,69620$287,862$137,812$307,674
2022$5,995,663$2,567,662$427,764$301,33019$332,141$2,506,885$300,855
2021$3,845,752$1,481,739$539,520$430,47321—$1,422,051$345,922

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 reported a distributable amount of $347K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for scholarships and classroom equipment, performing arts, city infrastructure and parks, historic preservation, youth sports, a museum, and food pantry supplies.

Murphysboro Soccer Inc., a 2025 grantee, says its mission is to operate a youth soccer program, develop soccer facilities, and promote sportsmanship, teamwork, and the physical, social, and mental skills associated with youth sports. Murphysboro Food Pantry Inc., also a 2025 grantee, says its mission is to collect, sort, store, and distribute food to local people in need.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation reported 17 grants totaling $296,765. Grants ranged from $1,500 to $50,000, with a median of $19,000. Among the largest awards were $50,000 to Murphysboro Main Street Committee for improvement projects and historic preservation; $34,000 to TRICO CUSD176 for scholarships, classroom equipment, and performing arts support; and $30,000 to the City of Ava for infrastructure and park improvements and fire department supplies. Other awards included $25,000 each to Murphysboro Soccer Inc. and John A Logan Museum, and $20,000 each to Murphysboro CUSD186 and the City of Murphysboro.

The foundation states that it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. Application forms are to be obtained from Elizabeth A Smysor Charitable Trust. Awards are restricted to projects within the cities of Murphysboro and Ava, Illinois.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Bill Wilson as Chairman; Thomas Jones as Vice Chairman; Bert Ozburn as Secretary; and James A Lawder, Steve Grace, Gerald Spieth, and Scott R Maloney as Governors.

Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 is led by Bill Wilson, Chairman on every filing since 2021; none of the 7 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Bill Wilson

    Chairman

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bert Ozburn

    Secretary

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gerald Spieth

    Governor

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • James A. Lawder

    Governor

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Scott R. Maloney

    Governor

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Steve Grace

    Governor

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Thomas Jones

    Vice Chairman

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017

How much does Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 give each year?

Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 gave $297K across 17 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $285K across 20 grants.

What is Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017's typical grant size?

Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017's median grant in 2025 was $19,000, and its average grant was $17,457, across 17 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 that year got $25K on average.

Where does Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 give grants?

Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 gives mostly in Illinois: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Murphysboro, IL (10 grants) and Ava, IL (6 grants).

Does Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 give general operating support?

Yes: 18% of Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (3 of 17) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017's largest grantees?

Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017's largest 2025 grantees include Murphysboro Main Street Committee I ($50,000), Trico CUSD176 ($34,000) and City of Ava ($30,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 38% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017?

Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 reported $5.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $321K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $347K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What does Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for scholarships and classroom equipment, performing arts, city infrastructure and parks, historic preservation, youth sports, a museum, and food pantry supplies. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017?

Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.

What is Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017's EIN?

Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 37-6243123. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Lunda Charitable Fund Inc

Black River Falls, WI

The fund supports tax-exempt educational, health care, and other charitable organizations, with recent grants going to Wisconsin organizations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $300 to $1,000,000, with a median of $4,200; it accepts written applications and lists a July 31 annual deadline.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$72.0M

Grants

25

Total Given

$1.2M

Dubuque Racing Association Ltd

Dubuque, IA

Dubuque Racing Association funds projects supporting population growth, retention, tourism, community betterment, and organizational capacity in the tri-state area, with most recent grant dollars going to Iowa. Its 2025 grants had a median of $19,000; Core requests are up to $50,000, while Mission requests are $50,000 or more. It describes an application process, but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$132.0M

Grants

38

Total Given

$4.5M

Humbert Rogers Charitable Trust

Birmingham, AL

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$723K

Grants

4

Total Given

$42K

Ohnward Foundation

Maquoketa, IA

The OHNWARD FOUNDATION supports nonprofits and community groups through general operating support, student and scholarship assistance, and sponsorships, with grants restricted to its market area in Iowa. Its 2025 grants ranged from $25 to $50,000, with a median of $6,000. The filing says there is no standard application form but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.8M

Grants

13

Total Given

$140K

Alliant Energy Foundation Inc

Madison, WI

Assets

$28.5M

Grants

929

Total Given

$2.4M

Freedom Foundation Inc

Marion, IL

Freedom Foundation Inc. supported Illinois organizations working in youth services, food access, emergency assistance, and community development, with 2020 grants ranging from $700 to $2,500 among the listed awards. It made no grants in 2021 or 2022, and its filings do not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$5

Grants

76

Total Given

$61K

More similar funders

More Funders in Missouri

Cite this profile

Grantable. (2026). Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 15, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/smysor-elizabeth-charitable-8455000017-morg_a8d628a04d044754b63794e8d708419d

BibTeX
@misc{grantable_376243123_2026,
  author       = {{Grantable}},
  title        = {{Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 funder profile}},
  howpublished = {GrantGraph},
  year         = {2026},
  url          = {https://grantable.co/funders/smysor-elizabeth-charitable-8455000017-morg_a8d628a04d044754b63794e8d708419d},
  note         = {Accessed 2026-10-15. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
}

The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.

Figures come from Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Smysor Elizabeth Charitable 8455000017 down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?