Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Philadelphia, PA EIN: 23-2586851

Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation is a private foundation, based in Philadelphia, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $4.8M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 8 grants totaling $189K. Net investment income was $53K.

Key facts about Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation

In short: Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation gave $189K across 8 grants in 2024 (avg $24K), mostly in Pennsylvania. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
23-2586851
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$188,500
Grants made (2024)
8
Average grant
$23,563
Median grant
$7,500
Total assets
$4,757,920
Primary geography
Pennsylvania (54% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$4.8M

Annual Giving

$189K

Grant Count

8

Avg Grant Size

$24K

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation reported a distributable amount of $219K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 518% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 86% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

5states

Share of all 8 itemized 2024 grant dollars.

Cities

LongportHatfieldBoca RatonBoynton BeachEgg Harbor TownshipMargateNewtown SquareAtlantic CityBostonBoyntonConshockenConshohockenEssingtonLansdaleMerion StationPhiladelphiaPhiladlephiaWilmingtonWynnewood

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K$400K3 grants20205 grants202113 grants20228 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $7K (2020) to $351K (2022). In 2024 it made 8 grants totaling $189K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 8 recipients in 2024

Laurellen Productions: $100KLaurellen Productions$100KBoca Raton Regional Hospital: $50KBoca Raton Regional Hospital$50KNext Generations of Holocoust Survivors: $15KNext Generations of HolocoustSurvivors$15KA Meaningdul Purpose: $10KA Meaningdul Purpose$10KMarjorie & Lewis Katz Community Center: $5KMarjorie & Lewis KatzCommunity Center$5KTara Miller Melonoma Foundation: $5KTara Miller MelonomaFoundation$5KBoy Scouts Troop 51: $2KBoy Scouts Troop 51$2KThe B Foundation: $2KThe B Foundation$2K

The largest 2024 recipient was Laurellen Productions ($100K). Together the top 8 received $189K.

Grant Size Distribution

29 grants across all recorded years

23<$50K4$50–100K2$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 23 grants of 29 (79%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Laurellen Productions Newtown Square, PAGeneral Operating No Restriction$100,000
Boca Raton Regional Hospital Boca Raton, FLGeneral Operating No Restrictions$50,000
Next Generations of Holocoust Survivors Boynton, FLGeneral Operating No Restrictions$15,000
A Meaningdul Purpose Egg Harbor Township, NJGeneral Operating No Restrictions$10,000
Marjorie & Lewis Katz Community Center Margate, NJGeneral Operating No Restictions$5,000
Tara Miller Melonoma Foundation Longport, NJGeneral Operating No Restrictions$5,000
Boy Scouts Troop 51 Hatfield, PAGeneral Operating No Restrictions$2,000
The B Foundation Wilmington, DEGeneral Operating No Restrictions$1,500

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$200K$400K$600K2020202120222024
Metric202420222021
Total Assets$4,757,920$776,916$1,314,736
Revenue$47,416$204,327$60,019
Expenses$237,731$363,795$44,190
Qualifying Distributions$188,500$350,900$30,500
Net Investment Income$53,094$204,327$60,019
Distributable Amount$218,830$44,937$58,371

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation is led by Mark Rubin, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 2 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Mark Rubin

    President

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Susan Rubin

    Vice President

    New on the 2024 filing

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Suasa Rubin (2021–2022) — Vice President

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation

How much does Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation give each year?

Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation gave $189K across 8 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

What is Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation's typical grant size?

Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $7,500, and its average grant was $23,563, across 8 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation give grants?

Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation gives mostly in Pennsylvania: 54% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Florida (34%) and New Jersey (11%).

Does Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (8 of 8) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation's largest grantees?

Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Laurellen Productions ($100,000), Boca Raton Regional Hospital ($50,000) and Next Generations of Holocoust Survivors ($15,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 88% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation?

Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation reported $4.8M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $189K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $219K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation's EIN?

Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-2586851. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

FJC

New York, NY

FJC supports nonprofits and fiscally sponsored charitable projects across areas including arts, education, social services, health, religion, and the environment, with grantmaking concentrated in New York and also reaching other U.S. states. In 2025, grants had a median of $17,200 and ranged from $5,040 to $2.8 million. The profile does not state whether FJC accepts unsolicited grant requests.

Crime & Legal Related

Assets

$462.3M

Grants

747

Total Given

$41.7M

Joseph J Schott Foundation

Mount Pleasant, SC

The Joseph J Schott Foundation supports racial justice in K–12 education, grassroots organizations, and parent- and youth-led initiatives, with a national focus and particular interest in the Northeast, South, and West. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $115,000, with a median of $5,000. The profile says requests should be sent to trustee William Dunne Saal and that giving is not limited to preselected organizations.

Assets

$9.1M

Grants

56

Total Given

$502K

H Herbert Myers Memorial Foundation

Parsippany, NJ

The foundation supports charitable organizations serving people with intellectual and developmental disabilities, Jewish communities, and healthcare needs, primarily in New Jersey, with grants also going to Florida, New York, Oregon, and Illinois. In 2024, grants ranged from $90 to $99,350, with a median of $1,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$3.9M

Grants

61

Total Given

$317K

Tr American Lung Assoc Uw MLZ

Dallas, TX

Assets

$1.6M

Grants

1

Total Given

$55K

The Schlanger Family Foundation Inc

Boca Raton, FL

The Schlanger Family Foundation supports a range of charitable organizations, including health and education groups, with 2025 grants typically around $8,750 (median; awards ranged from $2,000 to $107,500). Based in Boca Raton, Florida, it gave most of its 2025 grant dollars to organizations in New York, followed by Florida, New Jersey, Michigan, and North Carolina. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$7.4M

Grants

22

Total Given

$357K

The Dr E Lawrence Deckinger Family

New York, NY

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.4M

Grants

102

Total Given

$89K

Macnaughton Foundation

Honolulu, HI

The MacNaughton Foundation supports education, healthcare, housing, homelessness, arts, sustainability, job creation, and community development, primarily in Hawaii. Its 2025 grants ranged from $206 to $25,000, with a median of $5,000. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$470K

Grants

20

Total Given

$124K

Ima Foundation

Wichita, KS

Assets

$11.4M

Grants

602

Total Given

$831K

Traditional Medicinals Foundation

Sebastopol, CA

Traditional Medicinals Foundation supports charitable organizations in areas including community health, land stewardship, food security, herbal education, and organic agriculture. Its 2025 grants ranged from $25 to $46,000, with a median of $1,000; 80% of grant dollars went to California, with additional funding in New York and several other states. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$2.1M

Grants

61

Total Given

$190K

The Pittsburgh Foundation

Pittsburgh, PA

The Pittsburgh Foundation funds basic needs, racial equity and social justice, environmental action, arts and culture, and economic mobility, primarily for organizations located in or serving Allegheny County, Pennsylvania. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,576, though awards varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

1,132

Total Given

$64.0M

The William Penn Foundation

Philadelphia, PA

The William Penn Foundation funds arts and culture, children and families, civic engagement, the environment and public spaces, and workforce training across the Philadelphia region. Its 2024 grants ranged from $45 to $7.78 million, with a median of $50,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through a limited open-application process, though it recommends applying through a relevant RFP when available.

Assets

$3.4B

Grants

1,027

Total Given

$148.8M

More Funders in Pennsylvania

Seymore and Helen Ann Rubin Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?