Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc
Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc is a private foundation based in Carmel, Indiana. Its 2025 filing describes direct charitable activity in STEM education at the university level for Indiana universities, including scholarship funds and STEM camps.
Key facts about Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc
In short: Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc gave $173K across 20 grants in 2025 (avg $9K), mostly in Indiana. 15% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 35-6065111
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $172,723
- Grants made (2025)
- 20
- Average grant
- $8,636
- Median grant
- $10,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 15% first-time grantees (3 of 20, 2025)
- Total assets
- $3,792,764
- Primary geography
- Indiana (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$3.8M
+10.9% YoY
Annual Giving
$173K
+22.1% YoY
Grant Count
20
+5.3% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$9K
+16.0% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc reported a distributable amount of $165K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc open to new grantees?
15%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 3 of 20 grantees (15%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $5K; repeat grants $9K. How we count
Medians: $5K first-time, $10K repeat.
- 85% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+2%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 111% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation’s stated direct charitable activity is STEM education at the university level for Indiana universities, including scholarships and STEM camps. Its 2025 grants also supported organizations and programs whose work includes STEM education and science-related career recruitment.
Among its grantees, Starbase Indiana describes its work as building at-risk youths’ interest and skills in science, math, and technology through experiential learning, exposure to technology, and positive role models. Cold Spring School says its mission is to develop students’ curiosity in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. NXG Youth Motorsports describes itself as an academy serving youth in Central Indiana and Detroit, Michigan.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation made 20 grants totaling $172,723. Grants ranged from $250 to $15,400, with a median grant of $10,000.
How to Apply
or materials are specified.
Ready to take the next step with Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
All grant dollars in 2025 went to recipients in Indiana.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 20 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $93K (2021) to $173K (2025). In 2025 it made 20 grants totaling $173K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was University of Indianapolis ($15K). Together the top 10 received $114K.
Grant Size Distribution
83 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 83 grants of 83 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| University of Indianapolis Indianapolis, IN | STEM research | $15,400 |
| NXG Youth Motorsports Indianapolis, IN | STEM education | $15,000 |
| Starbase Indiana Inc Fort Wayne, IN | STEM education | $12,000 |
| Stout Field Elementary School Grant Indianapolis, IN | STEM education | $11,494 |
| Girls Inc Indianapolis, IN | STEM education | $10,000 |
| Marion University Engineering Indianapolis, IN | STEM education | $10,000 |
| Jordan YMCA preschool Indianapolis, IN | STEM education | $10,000 |
| STEM Connection Indianapolis, IN | STEM education | $10,000 |
| Art Center Indianapolis, IN | STEM education | $10,000 |
| Cold Spring School Indianapolis, IN | STEM education | $10,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $3,792,764 | $678,371 | $183,112 | $172,723 | 20 |
| 2024 | $3,419,403 | $696,833 | $146,583 | $141,440 | 19 |
| 2023 | $3,054,123 | $181,814 | $141,331 | $140,000 | 17 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $3,792,764 | $3,419,403 | $3,054,123 |
| Revenue | $678,371 | $696,833 | $181,814 |
| Expenses | $183,112 | $146,583 | $141,331 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $183,112 | $146,583 | $141,331 |
| Net Investment Income | $619,496 | $645,595 | $95,631 |
| Distributable Amount | $165,239 | $151,098 | $139,303 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS July 21, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Douglas R Gettelfinger as Treasurer; Victor Wenning as Chairman; Gregg Stewart as Director; Jeff Rasley as President; Teresa Trierweiler MD, Douglas Sherow, William Halsema, and Nancy Halsema as directors; Benny Ko as Vice President; and Robert Yee as Secretery.
Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc is led by Jeff Rasley, President since 2023 (on filings since 2020); none of the 17 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Jeff Rasley
President
Secretary → President, 2023
On filings since 2020
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Victor Wenning
Chairman
President → Chairman, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Teresa Trierweiler MD
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Douglas Sherow
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John Prentice
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Nancy Halsema
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rick Whitener
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
William Halsema
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Andrew Ratermann
Director
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Christopher Moore
Director
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Gregg Stewart
Director
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joshua Matthews
Director
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Judy Weitzman
Director
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Martin Meisenheimer
Director
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Douglas R Gettelfinger
Treasurer
On filings since 2020
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Benny Ko
Vice President
Director → Vice President, 2023
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Robert Yee
Secretery
Director → Secretery, 2023
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (7)
- Former: Helmi Banta (2020–2024) — Director
- Former: Joseph Abella (2020–2024) — Director
- Former: Jerry Williams (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Paul Richard (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Joyce Mallette (2021–2022) — Director
- Former: Richard Carter (2020) — Director
- Former: Steve Springer (2020) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 505 Lexington Blvd, Carmel, IN 46032
Phone: (317) 842-7364
Website: https://www.scientechfoundation. org
Frequently asked questions about Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc
How much does Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc give each year?
Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc gave $173K across 20 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $141K across 19 grants.
What is Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc's typical grant size?
Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc's median grant in 2025 was $10,000, and its average grant was $8,636, across 20 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc that year got $5K on average.
Where does Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc give grants?
Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc gives mostly in Indiana: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Indianapolis, IN (17 grants).
Does Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 20 grants with a stated purpose on Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "STEM education" (16 grants).
Who are Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc's largest grantees?
Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc's largest 2025 grantees include University of Indianapolis ($15,400), NXG Youth Motorsports ($15,000) and Starbase Indiana Inc ($12,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 25% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc?
Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc reported $3.8M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $183K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $165K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc fund?
The foundation’s stated direct charitable activity is STEM education at the university level for Indiana universities, including scholarships and STEM camps. Its 2025 grants also supported organizations and programs whose work includes STEM education and science-related career recruitment. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc's EIN?
Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 35-6065111. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Lilly Endowment Inc
Indianapolis, IN
Lilly Endowment funds community development, education and youth, and religion, with a national reach—especially in religion—and a particular commitment to Indianapolis and Indiana. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$105.9B
Grants
2,285
Total Given
$3.9B
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Duke Energy Foundation
Charlotte, NC
The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce development, local economic development and recovery, disaster resilience, conservation, and economic opportunity in communities across North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. It reports more than $30 million in annual charitable grants; awards vary widely, with a 2024 median of $25,000, and applications of $20,000 or less are accepted on a rolling basis. Applicants should contact their local Foundation representative before applying.
Assets
$1.9M
Grants
41
Total Given
$25.6M
Central Indiana Community Foundation Inc
Indianapolis, IN
CICF supports a range of charitable work through its funds and partner entities, including youth programs, housing, social services, environmental equity, and services for older adults, primarily in Central Indiana. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. CICF does not award grants directly; most competitive opportunities use its grants portal, while the Hamilton County Multi-Year Partner Grant is invitation-only and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$583.5M
Grants
525
Total Given
$31.1M
Ernst & Young Foundation
New York, NY
The Ernst & Young Foundation primarily supports higher education and preparation for business careers, with additional grants for educational projects, social justice, and disaster relief. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,056 to $316,005, with a median of $13,525, and went to organizations across the United States.
Assets
$47.6M
Grants
637
Total Given
$16.7M
United Way of Central Indiana Inc
Indianapolis, IN
United Way of Central Indiana funds basic needs, family opportunity, economic mobility, early learning, housing, and human-services-sector support, primarily in Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Marion, Morgan, and Putnam counties. Its 2025 grants had a median of $16,238, while current Basic Needs and Family Opportunity awards range from $8,500 to $150,000; those funds accept applications from nonprofits outside its accredited partner network, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$255.2M
Grants
370
Total Given
$29.9M
Eli Lilly and Company Foundation
Indianapolis, IN
The Eli Lilly and Company Foundation supports global health, K–12 STEM education, economic mobility, and community-strengthening efforts, with a focus on low-income communities in Marion County, Indiana, as well as health programs in the U.S. and eligible lower-income countries. Its 2024 median grant was $100,000, with awards ranging from $250 to over $6.3 million. It funds preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$13.8M
Grants
95
Total Given
$29.1M
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
$16.6M
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
National Collegiate Athletic Association
Indianapolis, IN
The NCAA funds college sports, including member conferences and schools, championships, student-athlete programs, coaching and athletics administration, and academic initiatives. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $61.9 million, with a median of $16,228; recipients were across the United States, with the largest reported shares in Texas, North Carolina, Illinois, and Alabama. The profile does not state whether the NCAA accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
591
Total Given
$627.8M
University of Notre Dame du Lac
Notre Dame, IN
The University of Notre Dame supports Catholic education, student life, academics, athletics, research, and nonprofit and institutional projects; its 2025 grants had a median of $30,480, though amounts varied widely. Giving is concentrated in Florida and Indiana, with support also going to organizations elsewhere in the U.S.; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited general requests.
Assets
$29.6B
Grants
462
Total Given
$84.8M
Lumina Foundation for Education Inc
Indianapolis, IN
Lumina Foundation funds research, policy, technical assistance, and initiatives that expand equitable access to education and credentials beyond high school, with a national focus. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $2.51 million, with a median of $12,500. It says it does not accept unsolicited requests; funding is primarily proactive, with occasional open calls for proposals.
Assets
$1.5B
Grants
357
Total Given
$30.0M
Round Room Gives Inc
Fishers, IN
Round Room Gives supports community organizations and local charitable activities, including education, family services, health, and animal welfare, with grants across about 40 states. In 2024, grants ranged from $250 to $140,000, with a median of $3,452. It accepts applications through an online form on an ongoing basis; applicants must be 501(c)(3) organizations with a TCC employee sponsor.
Assets
$1.4M
Grants
357
Total Given
$1.8M
More Funders in Indiana
Scientech Foundation Of Indiana Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?