Saint John's Cancer Institute
To support research and development of, and education in, the basic and clinical sciences for the prevention, detection, diagnosis, and treatment of cancer.
Saint John's Cancer Institute at a glance
In short: Saint John's Cancer Institute gave $205K across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $205K), mostly in Washington. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $205,044
- +46081.1% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 1
- Average grant
- $205,044
- Median grant
- $205,044
- Total assets
- $34,276,738
- -3.3% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- Washington (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
Who Saint John's Cancer Institute funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Providence Health & Services - Washington ($205K).
Grant Size Distribution
5 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 3 grants of 5 (60%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2024 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $444 (2023) to $300K (2022). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $205K.
Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Providence Health & Services - Washington Renton, WA | Operational Support | $205,044 |
Ready to take the next step with Saint John's Cancer Institute?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $34,276,738 | $16,797,010 | $19,171,404 | $205,044 | 1 | $13,863 |
| 2023 | $35,431,292 | $20,338,858 | $22,103,647 | $444 | Total only | — |
| 2022 | $35,474,716 | $26,405,527 | $26,403,023 | $300,000 | 1 | $2,504 |
| 2021 | $27,175,448 | $21,154,027 | $21,149,134 | — | — | $4,893 |
| 2019 | $27,230,495 | $19,325,959 | $19,578,482 | $31,500 | 3 | $4,451 |
| 2018 | $21,692,845 | $15,984,217 | $21,654,104 | — | — | $25,836 |
"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
About Saint John's Cancer Institute
Based on IRS filings
Saint John's Cancer Institute is a public charity focused on Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines, based in Renton, WA. IRS filing data is available from 2018 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $34.3M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $205K. Net investment income was $14K.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Saint John's Cancer Institute is led by Michael Ricks, Director & Chief Executive since 2021 (on filings since 2019); 5 of 10 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Michael Ricks
Director & Chief Executive
Chief Executive St Johns Health Cnt → Director & Chief Executive, 2021
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Laura Siart
Director & Chair
Director & Secretary → Secretary, 2023
Secretary → Director & Chair, 2024
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lisa Van Kreuningen
Director Research Operations
On filings since 2023
50 hrs/week
$208K (2023) → $202K (2024)
Ora Gordon
Physician Medical Director III
New on the 2024 filing
50 hrs/week
$318K (2024)
Donna Schweers
Director
Chair → Director, 2023
On filings since 2022
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Dave Hoon
Research Laboratory Chief
Senior Lab Chief → Research Laboratory Chief, 2023
On filings since 2018
50 hrs/week
$307K (2018) → $350K (2024)
Stacey Stern
Manager Data Management
On filings since 2019
50 hrs/week
$200K (2019) → $188K (2024)
Angela Chen
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
Clinical Pharmacist → Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, 2024
On filings since 2023
50 hrs/week
$191K (2023) → $197K (2024)
John F. Goeders
CFO
On filings since 2021
27.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Robert J. Levitt
Secretary
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (23)
- Former: Maria Libera Ascierto (2022–2023) — Executive Director Research
- Former: Najee Boucher (2022–2023) — Senior Manager Oncology
- Former: Brian Anderson (2018–2022) — Director Sjci
- Former: Iao Katagiri (2021–2022) — Director & Secretary -
- Former: Carole Schwartz (2018–2021) — Director -
- Former: Dominic Ornato (2018–2021) — Director -
- Former: Doug Mancino (2018–2021) — Director -
- Former: Marc Ezralow (2018–2021) — Director -
- Former: Maria Arechaederra (2018–2021) — Director -
- Former: Mark Baker (2018–2021) — Director -
- Former: Michael Wayne (2018–2021) — Vice Chair & Secretary -
- Former: Norris Bishton (2018–2021) — Director -
- Former: Patrick Wayne (2018–2021) — Chair -
- Former: Przemyslaw Twardowski (2018–2021) — Med Director - Onc. Research
- Former: Roger Wacker (2018–2021) — Director -
- Former: Santosh Kesari (2018–2021) — Med Director Trans-Neuro
- Former: James H. Fordyce (2021) — Director
- Former: Marcel Loh (2018–2019) — Ce St Johns Health Cnt
- Former: Sean Fischer MD (2018–2019) — Director
- Former: Tim Wilson MD (2018–2019) — Director
- Former: Caroline Mosessian (2018) — Chief Administrator Officer
- Former: James Uli (2018) — CFO & Sjhc -
- Former: Kevin Chen (2018) — CFO & Sjhc -
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2018–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $350K, to Dave Hoon (Research Laboratory Chief). 5 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Saint John's Cancer Institute
How much does Saint John's Cancer Institute give each year?
Saint John's Cancer Institute gave $205K across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it reported $444 in grants paid.
How large is Saint John's Cancer Institute?
Saint John's Cancer Institute reported $34.3M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $16.8M.
What is Saint John's Cancer Institute?
Saint John's Cancer Institute is a public charity focused on Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines, based in Renton, WA. It holds $34.3M in total assets as of 2024.
Where does Saint John's Cancer Institute operate?
Saint John's Cancer Institute has awarded grants in California, Washington.
What is Saint John's Cancer Institute's EIN?
Saint John's Cancer Institute's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 95-4291515. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2018–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2018 (received by the IRS October 25, 2021)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS October 25, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 14, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 11, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 12, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Saint John's Cancer Institute's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Washington
Seattle Foundation
Seattle, WA
Seattle Foundation supports community-led solutions, racial and economic equity, policy and systems change, and a broad range of community needs through donor-recommended and foundation-directed grants. Its 2024 median grant was $6,000, and its giving primarily serves Greater Seattle and Washington, with some grants made nationally and internationally.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
5,379
Total Given
$177.9M
Gates Foundation
Seattle, WA
The Gates Foundation funds work to reduce disease and poverty, improve health and gender equality in lower-income countries, and support education and economic mobility in the United States, especially Washington State; it works in more than 140 countries. Its 2024 grants had a median of $500,000, with awards ranging from $1 to $350.5 million. It generally does not accept unsolicited proposals, but periodically offers opportunities through published requests for proposals.
Assets
$78.7B
Grants
4,974
Total Given
$6.3B
M J Murdock Charitable Trust
Vancouver, WA
The M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust funds nonprofit capacity-building and projects in arts and culture, civic and community services, education, health and environmental stewardship, and scientific research across Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. Its 2024 median grant was $87,000, with awards ranging from $4,000 to about $1.55 million. Eligible organizations can submit a Letter of Inquiry; full applications are by invitation.
Assets
$2.0B
Grants
797
Total Given
$116.6M
Artsfund
Seattle, WA
ArtsFund supports Washington arts and cultural organizations, primarily through unrestricted operating grants, with some project and capital support. Its 2025 itemized grants ranged from $5,934 to $860,000, with a median of $17,500; the Annual Allocations program is invitation-only, and the profile does not state whether other programs accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$9.6M
Grants
434
Total Given
$10.8M
The Avista Foundation
Spokane, WA
The Avista Foundation supports 501(c)(3) nonprofits working in education, basic needs and poverty, and economic and cultural vitality. Its 2025 grants had a median of $1,000, though awards ranged from $20 to $350,000, and it serves communities in eastern Washington, northern Idaho, parts of southern Oregon, Sanders County, Montana, and Juneau, Alaska.
Assets
$10.6M
Grants
577
Total Given
$2.2M
Scholar Fund
Seattle, WA
Scholar Fund supports community organizations and programs addressing childcare, college access, economic hardship, and barriers to resources, with a focus on underserved communities. Its 2023 grants had a median of $23,486 and ranged from $5,036 to $1,313,081; 98% of grant dollars went to Washington recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.2M
Grants
535
Total Given
$23.1M
More similar funders
More Funders in Washington
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Saint John's Cancer Institute's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Saint John's Cancer Institute down — hundreds of funders to go?