Sadler Family Foundation
The Sadler Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Palm Beach, Florida. Its 2025 filing reports grants to educational, medical, charitable, and scientific/educational organizations.
Key facts about Sadler Family Foundation
In short: Sadler Family Foundation gave $314K across 13 grants in 2025 (avg $24K), mostly in Virginia. 8% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 20-8040696
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $314,440
- Grants made (2025)
- 13
- Average grant
- $24,188
- Median grant
- $10,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 8% first-time grantees (1 of 12, 2025)
- Total assets
- $1,964,926
- Primary geography
- Virginia (70% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$2.0M
-8.2% YoY
Annual Giving
$314K
+215.4% YoY
Grant Count
13
+8.3% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$24K
+191.2% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Sadler Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $206K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Sadler Family Foundation open to new grantees?
8%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 1 of 12 grantees (8%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $5K; repeat grants $28K. How we count
Medians: $5K first-time, $10K repeat.
- 83% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 266% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 152% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants include support for educational institutions, a cancer research and treatment organization, a charitable organization, and a science museum. Roswell Park Alliance Foundation describes its purpose as supporting research, treatment, and prevention programs at Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center and the psychosocial needs of patients and families affected by cancer. Charleston Day School says it aims to foster scholarship, integrity, respect, and responsibility in its students. These are grantees’ stated missions, not the foundation’s.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2025, the foundation awarded 13 grants totaling $314,440. Grants ranged from $2,000 to $199,440, with a median of $10,000.
Ready to take the next step with Sadler Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 70% of grant dollars went to recipients in Virginia and 23% to recipients in New York. Colorado, South Carolina, and Maryland each accounted for 3%, 2%, and 2%, respectively. These figures describe the locations of 2025 grant recipients.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 13 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $86K (2022) to $314K (2025). In 2025 it made 13 grants totaling $314K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Washington & Lee University ($219K across 2 grants). Together the top 10 received $308K.
Grant Size Distribution
61 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 59 grants of 61 (97%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Washington & Lee University Lexington, VA | Educational | $199,440 |
| Roswell Park Alliance Foundation Buffalo, NY | Medical | $20,000 |
| United Way of Erie County Buffalo, NY | Charitable | $20,000 |
| Washington & Lee University Lexington, VA | Educational | $20,000 |
| Buffalo Museum of Science Buffalo, NY | Scientific/Educational | $10,000 |
| Boulder Country Day School Boulder, CO | Educational | $10,000 |
| Groton School Groton, NY | Educational | $10,000 |
| Charleston Day School Charleston, SC | Educational | $5,000 |
| Canisius University Buffalo, NY | Educational | $5,000 |
| Caves Valley Golf Club Foundation Owings Mills, MD | General Donation | $5,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,964,926 | $122,826 | $318,673 | $314,440 | 13 |
| 2024 | $2,139,344 | $117,933 | $101,635 | $99,686 | 12 |
| 2023 | $2,123,046 | $115,544 | $94,742 | $91,000 | 12 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,964,926 | $2,139,344 | $2,123,046 |
| Revenue | $122,826 | $117,933 | $115,544 |
| Expenses | $318,673 | $101,635 | $94,742 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $314,440 | $99,686 | $91,000 |
| Net Investment Income | $117,460 | $115,984 | $110,739 |
| Distributable Amount | $206,332 | $176,464 | $153,242 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS July 6, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Robert E Sadler Jr, Elizabeth Robinson Coffin, Elizabeth M Cryan, Catherine T Seaman, and Trelsie Sadler Cople as trustees.
Sadler Family Foundation's 2025 filing lists 5 officers; none of the 5 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Catherine T. Seaman
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Elizabeth M. Cryan
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Elizabeth Robinson Coffin
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Robert E. Sadler Jr.
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Trelsie Sadler Cople
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 226 Ridgeview Drive, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone: (716) 472-3799
Frequently asked questions about Sadler Family Foundation
How much does Sadler Family Foundation give each year?
Sadler Family Foundation gave $314K across 13 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $100K across 12 grants.
What is Sadler Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Sadler Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $10,000, and its average grant was $24,188, across 13 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Sadler Family Foundation that year got $5K on average.
Where does Sadler Family Foundation give grants?
Sadler Family Foundation gives mostly in Virginia: 70% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was New York (23%). The most frequent recipient cities were Buffalo, NY (4 grants), Lexington, VA (2 grants) and Brooklyn, NY (2 grants).
Does Sadler Family Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 15% of Sadler Family Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (2 of 13) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Recurring purposes include "Educational" (8 grants).
Who are Sadler Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Sadler Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Washington & Lee University ($219,440 across 2 grants), Roswell Park Alliance Foundation ($20,000) and United Way of Erie County ($20,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 83% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Sadler Family Foundation?
Sadler Family Foundation reported $2.0M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $314K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $206K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Sadler Family Foundation fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants include support for educational institutions, a cancer research and treatment organization, a charitable organization, and a science museum. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Sadler Family Foundation?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Sadler Family Foundation's EIN?
Sadler Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-8040696. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Sadler Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Sadler Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Sadler Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
IBM International Foundation
Armonk, NY
The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$357.7M
Grants
16
Total Given
$11.7M
Publix Super Markets Charities Inc
Lakeland, FL
Publix Super Markets Charities supports nonprofits addressing hunger, homelessness and housing, youth, education, and community needs in Florida, Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Kentucky. Its 2024 median grant was $2,500, though awards ranged widely; it accepts online requests from eligible organizations, with application periods varying by program.
Assets
$233.8M
Grants
3,269
Total Given
$52.5M
The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida Inc
Jacksonville, FL
The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida supports nonprofits and civic work in Duval, St. Johns, Nassau, Baker, Clay, and Putnam counties, with interests including neighborhoods, education, aging adults, arts, women and girls, young children, and early literacy. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though amounts varied widely; most donor-advised grants are not open to applications, but eligible nonprofits can apply through competitive programs when application windows are open.
Assets
$708.7M
Grants
2,470
Total Given
$78.0M
Community Foundation of Tampa Bay Inc
Tampa, FL
The Community Foundation of Tampa Bay funds nonprofits addressing economic opportunity, environmental sustainability, health, education, and community vitality in Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Hernando, and Citrus counties. Its annual competitive grants are typically $10,000–$50,000; it also accepts year-round requests for urgent, unforeseen needs of up to $250,000. Apply through the relevant grant opportunity; the profile does not state whether general unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
698
Total Given
$54.3M
Gulf Coast Community Foundation Inc
Venice, FL
Gulf Coast Community Foundation funds arts and culture, civic and economic development, education, the environment, health and human services, and disaster response, with a focus on its Florida service area. Community grants provide up to $25,000 per organization per fiscal year; larger catalytic grants are available, and 2025 grants had a median of $16,251. It accepts unsolicited requests through scheduled Community Grant cycles; catalytic grants start with a letter of inquiry, and initiative grants are by invitation only.
Assets
$533.7M
Grants
651
Total Given
$45.0M
Early Learning Coalition of Broward County Inc
Fort Lauderdale, FL
The Early Learning Coalition of Broward funds child care reimbursement and early-learning providers, including programs supporting child care and preschool, primarily in Broward County, Florida. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,127 to $3,994,863, with a median of $158,921. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$15.9M
Grants
636
Total Given
$152.2M
Leslie L Alexander Foundation Inc
Delray Beach, FL
The Leslie L Alexander Foundation supports animal rescue, education, children’s services, and other charitable work. In 2024, grants ranged from $600 to $1 million, with a median of $35,000; giving was concentrated in Florida and Texas, with awards also made elsewhere. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$291.4M
Grants
622
Total Given
$28.4M
CSX Foundation Inc
Jacksonville, FL
Assets
$9.7M
Grants
607
Total Given
$13.7M
United Way Miami Inc
Miami, FL
United Way Miami funds education, economic mobility, health and wellbeing, and resilient-community programs, with its community focus in Miami-Dade County. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,082 to $1,693,432, with a median of $18,410; published opportunities include selected awards of up to $153,000. It publishes specific grant opportunities and application details; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$157.2M
Grants
562
Total Given
$32.6M
The Community Foundation of Sarasota CO Inc
Sarasota, FL
The Community Foundation of Sarasota County funds nonprofits working in areas including human services, education, arts, health, economic stability, animal welfare, and community resilience. Its typical grants are around $10,000–$25,000, with a 2025 median of $18,798, for programs serving Sarasota, Manatee, Charlotte, or DeSoto County. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$518.5M
Grants
540
Total Given
$41.2M
More Funders in Florida
Sadler Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?