Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Abita Springs, LA EIN: 20-0478943

The Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation is a private foundation based in Abita Springs, Louisiana. It made 19 grants totaling $130,733 in 2025 to organizations in several states.

Key facts about Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation

In short: Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation gave $131K across 19 grants in 2025 (avg $7K), top state Missouri. 37% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
20-0478943
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$130,733
Grants made (2025)
19
Average grant
$6,881
Median grant
$3,750
New grantees (estimate)
37% first-time grantees (7 of 19, 2025)
Total assets
$1,714,635
Primary geography
Missouri (43% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
How to apply
Contact Ronald P. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$1.7M

+3.2% YoY

Annual Giving

$131K

-49.7% YoY

Grant Count

19

-13.6% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$7K

-41.7% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation reported a distributable amount of $117K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation open to new grantees?

37%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 7 of 19 grantees (37%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $5K; repeat grants $8K. How we count

Medians: $5K first-time, $3K repeat.

  • 53% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving fell 35% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 112% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants went to organizations whose missions include supporting children and orphans, providing direct services to people in need, and assisting people in recovery. For example, Franciscan Works describes its mission as providing missionary support to poor children and orphans in several regions; Catholic Charities of Central Texas says it serves anyone in need through family-strengthening and direct services; and Guest House describes its work as providing recovery-related information, education, treatment, and care to members of Catholic religious communities.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation made 19 grants totaling $130,733. Grant amounts ranged from $1 to $51,482, with a median grant of $3,750. The largest grants included $51,482 to Jesuits of the US Central and Southern Province, $20,000 to Catholic Charities USA, and $10,000 each to Franciscan Works and Jesuit Volunteer Corps. Other listed grants included $5,000 to Boys Hope Girls Hope of Greater New Orleans and $3,750 to Bridge House.

Review Cycle

and no award restrictions.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2025, the largest shares of grant dollars went to recipients in Missouri (43%), Virginia (16%), Louisiana (13%), Illinois (10%), and Maryland (8%).

Grant Distribution by State

18states

Share of all 19 itemized 2025 grant dollars.

Cities

New OrleansMetairieHoustonChicagoBaltimoreBaton RougeGrand CoteauSt. LouisConventSan AntonioWoodland HillsBurnsvilleLake OrionSlidellBay St LouisClevelandCovingtonNew YorkSaint BenedictSummit

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K$400K22 grants201923 grants202029 grants202125 grants202221 grants202322 grants202419 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $125K (2023) to $378K (2021). In 2025 it made 19 grants totaling $131K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Jesuits of the US Central and Southern Province: $51KJesuits of the US Central andSouthern Province$51KCatholic Charities USA: $20KCatholic Charities USA$20KFranciscan Works: $10KFranciscan Works$10KJesuit Volunteer Corps: $10KJesuit Volunteer Corps$10KBoys Hope Girls Hope of Greater New Orleans: $5KBoys Hope Girls Hope ofGreater New Orleans$5KImmaculate Conception Jesuit Church: $5KImmaculate Conception JesuitChurch$5KGregorian University Foundation: $5KGregorian UniversityFoundation$5KJesuit White House Retreat: $5KJesuit White House Retreat$5KCatholic Charities of Central Texas: $5KCatholic Charities of CentralTexas$5KBridge House: $4KBridge House$4K

The largest 2025 recipient was Jesuits of the US Central and Southern Province ($51K). Together the top 10 received $120K.

Grant Size Distribution

116 grants across all recorded years

112<$50K2$50–100K2$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 112 grants of 116 (97%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Jesuits of the US Central and Southern Province St. Louis, MOSupport$51,482
Catholic Charities USA Alexandria, VASupport$20,000
Franciscan Works Chicago, ILSupport$10,000
Jesuit Volunteer Corps Baltimore, MDSupport$10,000
Boys Hope Girls Hope of Greater New Orleans New Orleans, LASupport$5,000
Immaculate Conception Jesuit Church New Orleans, LASupport$5,000
Gregorian University Foundation Washington, DCSupport$5,000
Jesuit White House Retreat St. Louis, MOSupport$5,000
Catholic Charities of Central Texas Austin, TXSupport$5,000
Bridge House New Orleans, LASupport$3,750

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2025 $1,714,635 $174,671 $137,761 $130,733
2024 $1,661,491 $325,611 $265,336 $259,863
2023 $1,512,273 $90,798 $128,243 $125,408
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$500K$1M$1.5M2019202020212022202320242025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$1,714,635$1,661,491$1,512,273
Revenue$174,671$325,611$90,798
Expenses$137,761$265,336$128,243
Qualifying Distributions$130,733$259,863$125,408
Net Investment Income$167,643$320,138$87,963
Distributable Amount$117,007$106,011$114,365

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 9, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 24, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS March 9, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 23, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 13, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 2, 2025)
  7. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 23, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Ronald P. Briggs as president and V. Gwendolyn Briggs as secretary.

Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation is led by Ronald P. Briggs, President on every filing since 2019; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Ronald P. Briggs

    President

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • V. Gwendolyn Briggs

    Secretary

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Application contact: Ronald P Briggs
Mailing address: 732 Plantation Drive, Abita Springs, LA 70420
Phone: (985) 875-0332

Frequently asked questions about Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation

How much does Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation give each year?

Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation gave $131K across 19 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $260K across 22 grants.

What is Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation's typical grant size?

Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $3,750, and its average grant was $6,881, across 19 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation that year got $5K on average.

Where does Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation give grants?

Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation's top state is Missouri, with 43% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Virginia (16%) and Louisiana (13%). The most frequent recipient cities were New Orleans, LA (4 grants), St. Louis, MO (2 grants) and Chicago, IL (2 grants).

Does Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 19 grants with a stated purpose on Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Support" (19 grants).

Who are Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation's largest grantees?

Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Jesuits of the US Central and Southern Province ($51,482), Catholic Charities USA ($20,000) and Franciscan Works ($10,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 62% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation?

Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation reported $1.7M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $131K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $117K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants went to organizations whose missions include supporting children and orphans, providing direct services to people in need, and assisting people in recovery. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation?

Contact Ronald P. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation's EIN?

Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-0478943. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

Greater Horizons

Kansas City, MO

Greater Horizons is a donor-advised fund provider whose donor-directed grants support eligible U.S. public charities across a broad range of causes; international organizations may also qualify with additional review and fees. In 2024, grants had a median of $15,000, with itemized awards ranging from $5,001 to $10,073,050, and recipients were located across the United States, especially in California, Texas, Nebraska, New York, and Kansas. It describes a grant-request process for donors, not an application process for organizations, so unsolicited requests are not stated as accepted.

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

3,282

Total Given

$212.2M

The Administrators of the Tulane Educational Fund

New Orleans, LA

The Administrators of the Tulane Educational Fund supports higher education, research, and public service, with 2025 grants to universities, hospitals, education organizations, and research institutions. Its 891 grants ranged from $5,005 to $643,695, with a median of $16,445; Louisiana received the largest share of grant dollars, though funding also went to organizations in many other states. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$4.6B

Grants

891

Total Given

$25.4M

The Greater New Orleans Foundation

New Orleans, LA

The Greater New Orleans Foundation funds arts and culture, education, youth development, health, social services, and selected initiatives such as climate action and nonprofit capacity building, primarily in Southeast Louisiana’s 13-parish region. Its typical grant is around $20,000, though awards vary widely; special funding opportunities average $20,000, and some offer set limits. IMPACT grants are invitation-only; other opportunities have their own application processes.

Assets

$513.0M

Grants

623

Total Given

$34.6M

Baton Rouge Area Foundation

Baton Rouge, LA

The Baton Rouge Area Foundation funds nonprofits and community projects in areas including education, health, economic prosperity, human services, and safer, more resilient communities, primarily in greater Baton Rouge and South Louisiana. Competitive grants range by program: Impact Grants offer up to $50,000, while Cox Charities grants offer up to $5,000 for nonprofits and $2,500 for eligible schools. It accepts requests through specific competitive opportunities; Impact Grant applicants submit a Letter of Intent, and only selected organizations are invited to apply in full.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$342.7M

Grants

370

Total Given

$32.9M

Community Foundation of Acadiana

Lafayette, LA

Community Foundation of Acadiana funds charitable projects and community needs through parish-based Affiliate Grants of up to $5,000 and Fund for Acadiana grants of up to $15,000, with larger awards also appearing in its grantmaking. Its primary service area is eight Acadiana parishes in South Louisiana; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$183.5M

Grants

324

Total Given

$18.6M

Goldring Family Foundation

Metairie, LA

The Goldring Family Foundation funds nonprofits in education, health, arts and culture, human services, children’s opportunities, Jewish causes, and other areas, primarily in Greater New Orleans. Its 2024 grants had a median of $7,000, though awards ranged from $30 to $1 million. It invites organizations to begin with a Letter of Inquiry.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$199.2M

Grants

305

Total Given

$7.0M

Baptist Community Ministries

New Orleans, LA

Baptist Community Ministries funds health, education, public safety, and related community programs in Orleans, Jefferson, St. Tammany, St. Bernard, and Plaquemines parishes. Its 2025 grants had a median award of $10,000, though amounts ranged from $400 to $873,294. The filing directs applicants to its grant guidelines and lists March 15 and September 15 deadlines.

Education

Assets

$397.5M

Grants

264

Total Given

$10.6M

The Scott Foundation

Monroe, LA

Assets

$17.6M

Grants

256

Total Given

$856K

Second Harvest Food Bank Greater New

New Orleans, LA

To lead the fight against hunger and build food security in South Louisiana by providing food access, advocacy, education and disaster response.

Assets

$86.7M

Grants

245

Total Given

$59.8M

Community Foundation of North Louisiana

Shreveport, LA

The Community Foundation of North Louisiana funds nonprofit programs in areas including education, health, human services, economic development, arts, the environment, and civic engagement, with programs generally serving Caddo and/or Bossier Parishes. Its 2024 grants had a median of $19,750 and ranged from $5,083 to $745,181; it accepts applications annually through competitive grant programs.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$193.2M

Grants

191

Total Given

$11.3M

United Way of Southeast Louisiana

New Orleans, LA

United Way of Southeast Louisiana funds programs addressing poverty, including workforce development, housing, health, education, and youth supports, primarily across seven Southeast Louisiana parishes. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,575 to $303,517, with a median of $37,368; it offers grant opportunities, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$25.1M

Grants

160

Total Given

$8.4M

More Funders in Louisiana

Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?