Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial

Private foundation · Grantmaker Kotzebue, AK EIN: 94-3116762

Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial is a private foundation focused on Arts, Culture & Humanities, based in Kotzebue, AK. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $43.2M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $1.2M. Net investment income was $2.5M.

Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial at a glance

In short: Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial gave $1.2M across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $1.2M), mostly in Alaska. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$1,158,293
+3.8% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$1,158,293
+3.8% vs 2024
Median grant
$1,158,293
Total assets
$43,196,076
+12.2% vs 2024
Primary geography
Alaska (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Scholarships - See Attached Schedul: $1.2MScholarships - See AttachedSchedul$1.2M

The largest 2025 recipient was Scholarships - See Attached Schedul ($1.2M).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K3$500K–1M2$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $500K–1M range: 3 grants of 5 (60%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

How Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial gives

  • Giving grew 70% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 131% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $681K (2022) to $1.2M (2025). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $1.2M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Scholarships - See Attached Schedul See Attached Schedule, AKEducation$1,158,293
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$43,196,076$4,132,096$2,249,731$1,158,2931$1,881,333$2,513,796$1,437,595
2024$38,483,596$5,575,052$2,917,147$1,115,7331$2,278,855$3,668,628$1,793,728
2023$35,516,460$2,655,371$2,528,367$864,2361$2,010,629$854,324$1,614,261
2022$31,263,391$2,970,487$1,996,763$680,7271$1,564,853$1,163,233$1,583,138
2021$37,919,726$3,778,616$1,856,713$702,0001$1,429,965$2,002,968$1,744,259
2020$33,904,974$1,946,048$1,674,214$812,6241—$559,639$1,438,172

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial reported a distributable amount of $1.4M for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial is led by Ian Erlich, President & CEO on every filing since 2023; 7 of 8 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Ian Erlich

    President & CEO

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $108K (2023) → $28K (2025)

  • Brett Kirk

    Chair

    Trustee → Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $4K (2024) → $2K (2025)

  • Clara McConnell

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $4K (2024) → $1K (2025)

  • Julie Petro Lowndes

    Interim Operations Manager & Trustee

    Trustee → Interim Operations Manager & Trustee, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $2K (2023) → $67K (2025)

  • Lee Staheli Jr.

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $470 (2023) → $1K (2025)

  • Jamie Margaret Adams

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    $235 (2024) → $2K (2025)

  • Robin J. Kornfield

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    $235 (2024) → $1K (2025)

  • Meghan Palmer

    Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (13)
  • Former: William Hensley (2020–2024) — Chair
  • Former: Kristina McCall (2021–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Christina Fields (2023–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Angeline Strum (2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Hannah Loon (2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Angeline Sturm (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Brittney McConnell (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Denise Koutchak (2020–2022) — President & CEO
  • Former: Diana Ramoth (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Marie Greene (2020–2022) — Chair
  • Former: Willy Zibell (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Sandra Kowalski (2021–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Janice Westlake-Reich (2020–2021) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Julie Petro Lowndes — Interim Operations Manager / Trustee: $67KJulie Petro LowndesInterim Operations Manager /…$67KIan Erlich — President/CEO, Resigned February 2025: $28KIan ErlichPresident/CEO, Resigned…$28KBrett Kirk — Chair: $2KBrett KirkChair$2KJamie Margaret Adams — Trustee: $2KJamie Margaret AdamsTrustee$2KClara McConnell — Trustee: $1KClara McConnellTrustee$1KRobin J Kornfield — Trustee: $1KRobin J KornfieldTrustee$1KLee Staheli Jr — Trustee: $1KLee Staheli JrTrustee$1K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $67K, to Julie Petro Lowndes (Interim Operations Manager / Trustee). 7 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial

How much does Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial give each year?

Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial gave $1.2M across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $1.1M across 1 grant.

How large is Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial?

Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial reported $43.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.9M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.4M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial?

Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial is a private foundation focused on Arts, Culture & Humanities, based in Kotzebue, AK. It holds $43.2M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial operate?

Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial has awarded grants in Alaska.

What is Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial's EIN?

Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 94-3116762. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 12, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 14, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 13, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 13, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 14, 2025)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 1, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Alaska

Doyon Foundation

Fairbanks, AK

Doyon Foundation primarily funds scholarships, workforce development, and language revitalization for Doyon, Limited shareholders and their descendants, with a focus on Alaska Native communities; scholarship recipients may live outside Alaska. Typical itemized awards were $400–$5,500, with a $2,400 median, while specific scholarship programs offer different amounts. It accepts applications for its scholarship and language grant programs; the information provided does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests for general grants.

Assets

$49.2M

Grants

552

Total Given

$1.3M

The Aleut Foundation

Anchorage, AK

The Aleut Foundation supports education, career development, vocational training, and cultural preservation, primarily for Aleut shareholders and descendants; nearly all reported 2025 grant dollars went to Alaska. Grants ranged from $45 to $15,000 in 2025, with a median of $1,834. It states that it does not accept unsolicited funding requests, though eligible individuals can apply through its scholarship and career-development programs.

Education

Assets

$565K

Grants

522

Total Given

$1.3M

Arctic Education Foundation

Anchorage, AK

The Arctic Education Foundation supports scholarships, student assistance, skills training, and cultural education, primarily for eligible Iñupiat students pursuing higher education. Its 2024 awards ranged from $110 to $42,889, with a median of $5,750; 73% of grant dollars went to Alaska recipients. It accepts online scholarship applications; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests for other funding.

Education

Assets

$30.5M

Grants

411

Total Given

$2.9M

The Alaska Community Foundation

Anchorage, AK

The Alaska Community Foundation supports Alaska nonprofits and other eligible applicants through grants for community needs, youth programs, skills development, and other charitable work, as well as scholarships. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,019 to $1,359,483, with a median of $10,750; its Vocational Fund grants $10,000–$50,000. Competitive grants generally require applicants to serve Alaska, and applications are accepted through specific grant opportunities, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$243.9M

Grants

343

Total Given

$12.3M

Rasmuson Foundation

Anchorage, AK

Rasmuson Foundation funds Alaska nonprofits, tribes, and local governments across a broad range of community needs, from small purchases to major capital and strategic projects. Grants range from $50 to $1 million, with a 2024 median of $5,000; Tier 1 awards are up to $35,000, Community Support grants up to $250,000, and Legacy grants exceed $250,000. Tier 1 applications are accepted year-round on a rolling basis; strategic grants are by invitation.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$845.4M

Grants

300

Total Given

$17.7M

Bristol Bay Foundation

Anchorage, AK

Bristol Bay Foundation funds education and cultural heritage projects, including scholarships for eligible BBNC shareholders and descendants and grants that preserve Bristol Bay’s Indigenous culture and way of life. In 2024, grants ranged from $200 to $16,000, with a median of $2,500; funding is for organizations in the Bristol Bay region or projects benefiting BBNC shareholders. It accepts unsolicited proposals through its online application process.

Assets

$40.8M

Grants

290

Total Given

$988K

More similar funders

More Funders in Alaska

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Robert Aqqaluk Newlin Sr Memorial down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?