Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc
Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc is a private foundation, based in Cottonwood Heights, UT. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2021. In 2021, it awarded 4 grants totaling $163K. Net investment income was $36K.
Key facts about Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc
In short: Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc gave $163K across 4 grants in 2021 (avg $41K), mostly in Michigan. Source: 2021 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 27-3728375
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2021
- Annual giving (2021)
- $163,000
- Grants made (2021)
- 4
- Average grant
- $40,750
- Median grant
- $30,500
- Primary geography
- Michigan (61% of itemized 2021 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2021; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2021 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
—
Annual Giving
$163K
+6420.0% YoY
Grant Count
4
+300.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$41K
+1530.0% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $6K for 2021 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc gives
- In 2021 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Ready to take the next step with Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2021 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2021, annual grant giving ranged from $3K (2020) to $163K (2021). In 2021 it made 4 grants totaling $163K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 4 recipients in 2021
The largest 2021 recipient was Hillsdale College ($100K). Together the top 4 received $163K.
Grant Size Distribution
5 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 3 grants of 5 (60%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Hillsdale College Hillsdale, MI | Internships | $100,000 |
| San Diego Psychoanalytic Center San Diego, CA | Internships | $55,000 |
| Fiction Collective Inc Salt Lake City, UT | Internships | $6,000 |
| Claremont Institute for Process Studies Claremont, CA | Internships | $2,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2021 | 2020 |
|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | — | $139,747 |
| Revenue | $37,630 | $6,718 |
| Expenses | $177,377 | $5,988 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $163,000 | — |
| Net Investment Income | $35,935 | $6,530 |
| Distributable Amount | $5,958 | $6,622 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2021
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc is led by Mary-Ann B. Simon, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 3 officers listed in 2021 report compensation.
Officers on the 2021 filing
Mary-Ann B. Simon
President
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Richard L. Simon
Treasurer
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Tasha D. Hatton
Secretary
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2021. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc
How much does Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc give each year?
Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc gave $163K across 4 grants in 2021, according to its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2020 it gave $3K across 1 grant.
What is Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc's typical grant size?
Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc's median grant in 2021 was $30,500, and its average grant was $40,750, across 4 grants on its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc give grants?
Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc gives mostly in Michigan: 61% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was California (35%).
Does Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc give general operating support?
Not in 2021: none of the 4 grants with a stated purpose on Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc's 2021 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Internships" (4 grants).
How much is Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc required to give away each year?
Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2021, Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $6K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
What is Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc's EIN?
Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 27-3728375. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2021.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Here's the math on researching Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
EQT Foundation
Canonsburg, PA
The EQT Foundation funds community enrichment, education and workforce development, and environmental and arts-related work, prioritizing communities within EQT Corporation’s operating footprint, especially in Pennsylvania and West Virginia. Its 2024 median grant was $10,000, though awards ranged from $100 to $800,000; it invites eligible nonprofits and institutions to apply through its website.
Assets
$26.2M
Grants
367
Total Given
$6.3M
Albert W Cherne Foundation
Fountain Hills, AZ
The foundation’s grants have supported STEM education, cardiovascular research and education, environmental protection, children’s health, and legal advocacy, with recipients concentrated in Minnesota, Arizona, Wisconsin, Michigan, and New Jersey. In 2025, grants ranged from $2,000 to $200,000, with a median of $10,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$12.7M
Grants
16
Total Given
$650K
Sentry Insurance Foundation Inc
Stevens Point, WI
The foundation supports education, workforce development, United Way, and local organizations that improve quality of life and build equitable communities, especially in Wisconsin and Hawaii, including Maui. Its 2024 grants had a median of $1,500, though awards ranged widely; it accepts requests by letter to Sentry Insurance stating the organization’s purpose and requested amount.
Assets
$9.9M
Grants
271
Total Given
$7.3M
United Jewish Foundation
Bloomfield Hills, MI
United Jewish Foundation funds Jewish community continuity, including Jewish organizations, human services, education, and related community programs. Its 2025 grants had a median of $18,000, though awards ranged widely; 87% of grant dollars went to Michigan, with some support elsewhere. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$761.7M
Grants
274
Total Given
$43.6M
R Bruce Hezlep Family Foundation Inc
Corona Del Mar, CA
Assets
—
Grants
1
Total Given
$7K
The Dr E Lawrence Deckinger Family
New York, NY
Assets
$1.4M
Grants
102
Total Given
$89K
Ralph and Jeanne Jennings Family
Winthrop, WA
Assets
$580K
Grants
7
Total Given
$16K
The Franks Family Foundation
Salt Lake City, UT
The foundation’s 2024 grants went to organizations working in areas including animal welfare, community services, health, education, and conservation; no specific foundation mission is stated. Grants ranged from $100 to $91,000, with a median of $5,000, and 75% of grant dollars went to Utah recipients. It accepts written requests by contacting Lauri Franks; the filing gives a December 15 deadline for payment by December 31.
Assets
$563K
Grants
34
Total Given
$290K
Billy & Dorothy Tucker Foundation Inc
Frisco, TX
The foundation primarily supports Christian and ministry organizations, along with some work in prison services, poverty, and education. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $13,000, with a median of $2,000, and went mainly to organizations in Texas, with others across several states. It gives only to preselected charities and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.6M
Grants
37
Total Given
$94K
John P & Kathryn G Evans Foundation
Indianola, WA
The John P & Kathryn G Evans Foundation’s recent grants include operating support for charitable organizations, but its 2025 filing reports just one $500 grant; giving totaled about $128,000–$137,000 in 2023 and 2024. Its grant dollars went to a Virginia recipient in 2025, and it accepts no unsolicited requests, contributing only to preselected organizations.
Assets
$922K
Grants
1
Total Given
$500
Dallas Seminary Foundation
Dallas, TX
Dallas Seminary Foundation primarily supports Dallas Theological Seminary, scholarships, theological education, ministry training, and related Christian ministries; in 2025, its grants ranged from $5,300 to $6.126 million, with a median of $17,100. Most 2025 grant dollars went to Texas, with additional funding in several other states. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$122.2M
Grants
125
Total Given
$14.8M
Richard T & Marianne H Walsh Charitable Tr
Notre Dame, IN
Assets
—
Grants
26
Total Given
$27K
More Funders in Utah
Richard L and Mary-Ann B Simon Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?