Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Boca Raton, FL EIN: 26-1615064

Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation is a private foundation, based in Boca Raton, FL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $877K in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 7 grants totaling $39K. Net investment income was $85K.

Key facts about Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation

In short: Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation gave $39K across 7 grants in 2024 (avg $6K), mostly in Pennsylvania. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
26-1615064
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$39,000
Grants made (2024)
7
Average grant
$5,571
Median grant
$5,000
Total assets
$877,168
Primary geography
Pennsylvania (51% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$877K

+4.7% YoY

Annual Giving

$39K

-20.4% YoY

Grant Count

7

+16.7% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$6K

-31.8% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation reported a distributable amount of $53K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation gives

  • Giving fell 54% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 74% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

7states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 7 itemized grants.

Cities

GlensideMiamiNewtonDetroitFairfieldPhiladelphiaCoral GablesNew YorkRochesterWest Palm Beach

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$25K$50K$75K$100K2 grants2020 6 grants2021 2 grants2022 6 grants2023 7 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $10K (2022) to $85K (2021). In 2024 it made 7 grants totaling $39K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 7 recipients in 2024

The Institutes for the Achievement of Human Potential: $15KThe Institutes for theAchievement of Human Potential$15KBarry Price Center: $6KBarry Price Center$6KSpringside Chestnut Hill Fund: $5KSpringside Chestnut Hill Fund$5KPalm Beach Oxbridge Academy: $5KPalm Beach Oxbridge Academy$5KUniversity of Miami: $5KUniversity of Miami$5KMayo Clinic Development: $2KMayo Clinic Development$2KBest Buddies: $1KBest Buddies$1K

The largest 2024 recipient was The Institutes for the Achievement of Human Potential ($15K). Together the top 7 received $39K.

Grant Size Distribution

23 grants across all recorded years

23<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 23 grants of 23 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
The Institutes for the Achievement of Human Potential Glenside, PAContribution$15,000
Barry Price Center Newton, MAContribution$6,000
Springside Chestnut Hill Fund Philadelphia, PAContribution$5,000
Palm Beach Oxbridge Academy West Palm Beach, FLContribution$5,000
University of Miami Coral Gables, FLContribution$5,000
Mayo Clinic Development Rochester, MNContribution$2,000
Best Buddies Miami, FLContribution$1,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$50K$100K$150K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$877,168$837,568$869,203
Revenue$92,420$38,441$18,092
Expenses$52,820$70,076$15,178
Qualifying Distributions$39,000$49,000$10,000
Net Investment Income$85,422$11,733$6,043
Distributable Amount$52,806$48,440$49,018

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation's 2024 filing lists 5 officers; none of the 5 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Andrew D. Markowitz

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Francesca M. Pojdl

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael C. Markowitz

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Renee Markowitz

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian Cheslack

    Administrative Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Darren M. Wallace (2020–2023) — Administrative Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation

How much does Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation give each year?

Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation gave $39K across 7 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $49K across 6 grants.

What is Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation's typical grant size?

Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $5,000, and its average grant was $5,571, across 7 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation give grants?

Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation gives mostly in Pennsylvania: 51% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Florida (28%) and Massachusetts (15%).

Does Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 7 grants with a stated purpose on Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Contribution" (7 grants).

Who are Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation's largest grantees?

Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include The Institutes for the Achievement of Human Potential ($15,000), Barry Price Center ($6,000) and Springside Chestnut Hill Fund ($5,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 67% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation?

Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation reported $877K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $39K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $53K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation's EIN?

Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 26-1615064. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

H Fort Flowers Foundation

Houston, TX

The H Fort Flowers Foundation supports higher education, arts and culture, health, social services, food assistance, animal welfare, and religious organizations. In 2025, grants ranged from $400 to $66,000, with a median of $2,000, and went to recipients across multiple states, especially Texas, Ohio, Georgia, Wyoming, and Colorado. Its filing says there is no special application form or deadline and no restrictions on awards; it does not explicitly state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$2.7M

Grants

107

Total Given

$504K

Anthony Abraham Foundation

Miami, FL

The Anthony Abraham Foundation supports a broad range of charitable work, including poverty relief, health care and research, children’s programs, and services for people with disabilities. Recent grants have ranged widely: examples include $85,640–$125,000 in 2022, while its single reported 2024 grant was $4,018,431. It is based in Miami and has supported organizations in Florida and elsewhere, including internationally; it accepts inquiries by letter with information showing tax-exempt qualification, and no deadline is listed.

Assets

$27.2M

Grants

1

Total Given

$4.0M

Klorfine Foundation

Riviera Beach, FL

The Klorfine Foundation funds a range of charitable work, including public media, arts and culture, conservation, and education, with 2024 grants concentrated in Florida, Washington, Virginia, New York, and the District of Columbia. Its 57 grants ranged from $200 to $500,000, with a median of $25,000. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$87.3M

Grants

57

Total Given

$2.5M

GTE Federal Credit Union Charitable Trust

Tampa, FL

In its final year, GTE Federal Credit Union Charitable supported scholarships, education, and community organizations, with 2022 grants ranging from $2,500 to $15,000 and a median of $10,000. Most funding went to Florida, with some grants to Georgia, Alabama, Massachusetts, and Mississippi; the foundation dissolved in 2022 and no longer accepts applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

—

Grants

17

Total Given

$128K

The Pew Charitable Trusts

Washington, DC

The Pew Charitable Trusts funds evidence-based work in public policy, research, health, communities, civic life, and conservation, with a particular commitment to Philadelphia and grants across the United States and internationally. Its 2025 median grant was $75,000, though awards ranged widely; applications are invited through specific opportunities, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

535

Total Given

$140.6M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Community Foundation of North Central MA

Fitchburg, MA

The Community Foundation of North Central Massachusetts funds nonprofit and municipal programs in areas including education, health, environmental protection, community enrichment, organizational development, and racial equity that benefit its 33-community region. Competitive grants generally range from $2,000 to $10,000, with an average grant of about $8,000; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$95.3M

Grants

115

Total Given

$4.7M

Community Foundation of Tampa Bay Inc

Tampa, FL

The Community Foundation of Tampa Bay funds nonprofits addressing economic opportunity, environmental sustainability, health, education, and community vitality in Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Hernando, and Citrus counties. Its annual competitive grants are typically $10,000–$50,000; it also accepts year-round requests for urgent, unforeseen needs of up to $250,000. Apply through the relevant grant opportunity; the profile does not state whether general unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

698

Total Given

$54.3M

Micky and Madeleine Arison Family

Coral Gables, FL

The foundation funds humanitarian aid, hunger relief, health, arts, and children’s services, with most 2024 grant dollars going to Florida and additional support in several other states. Its 55 grants ranged from $1,000 to $4.1 million, with a median of $50,000. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$221.5M

Grants

55

Total Given

$13.4M

Publix Super Markets Charities Inc

Lakeland, FL

Publix Super Markets Charities supports nonprofits addressing hunger, homelessness and housing, youth, education, and community needs in Florida, Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Kentucky. Its 2024 median grant was $2,500, though awards ranged widely; it accepts online requests from eligible organizations, with application periods varying by program.

Assets

$233.8M

Grants

3,269

Total Given

$52.5M

The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida Inc

Jacksonville, FL

The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida supports nonprofits and civic work in Duval, St. Johns, Nassau, Baker, Clay, and Putnam counties, with interests including neighborhoods, education, aging adults, arts, women and girls, young children, and early literacy. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though amounts varied widely; most donor-advised grants are not open to applications, but eligible nonprofits can apply through competitive programs when application windows are open.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$708.7M

Grants

2,470

Total Given

$78.0M

Gulf Coast Community Foundation Inc

Venice, FL

Gulf Coast Community Foundation funds arts and culture, civic and economic development, education, the environment, health and human services, and disaster response, with a focus on its Florida service area. Community grants provide up to $25,000 per organization per fiscal year; larger catalytic grants are available, and 2025 grants had a median of $16,251. It accepts unsolicited requests through scheduled Community Grant cycles; catalytic grants start with a letter of inquiry, and initiative grants are by invitation only.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$533.7M

Grants

651

Total Given

$45.0M

More Funders in Florida

Renee & Teds Big Heart Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?