Reach Foundation is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Birmingham, AL. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $308K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $40K. Net investment income was $14K.
Key facts about Reach Foundation
In short: Reach Foundation gave $40K across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $10K), mostly in Alabama. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 46-1639926
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $40,000
- Grants made (2025)
- 4
- Average grant
- $10,000
- Median grant
- $12,500
- Total assets
- $308,036
- Primary geography
- Alabama (94% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$308K
+4.7% YoY
Annual Giving
$40K
+33.3% YoY
Grant Count
4
+100.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$10K
-33.3% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Reach Foundation reported a distributable amount of $26K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Reach Foundation gives
- In 2025 it paid out 151% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Ready to take the next step with Reach Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $15K (2021) to $40K (2025). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $40K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 4 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Mountain Brook Library Foundation ($13K). Together the top 4 received $40K.
Grant Size Distribution
7 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 7 grants of 7 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Mountain Brook Library Foundation Mountain Brook, AL | Support purpose of the Mountain Brook Library Foundation | $12,500 |
| Birmingham Museum of Art Birmingham, AL | Support the charitable purpose of the Birmingham Museum of Art | $12,500 |
| Parkinson Association of Alabama Birmingaham, AL | Support Mission & Research | $12,500 |
| Rockfish Valley Baptist Church Nellysford, VA | Support Youth Program | $2,500 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $308,036 | $294,068 | $282,243 |
| Revenue | $53,968 | $42,262 | $11,232 |
| Expenses | $40,000 | $30,438 | $300 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $40,000 | $30,000 | — |
| Net Investment Income | $13,968 | $12,262 | $11,232 |
| Distributable Amount | $26,441 | $22,167 | $21,920 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS July 29, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS July 26, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS July 31, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 16, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Reach Foundation's 2025 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Michael McDowell
Director Presdent Treasurer
Director President Secretary Treasurer → Director Presdent Treasurer, 2022
On filings since 2021
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Megan McDowell
Secretary
Director → Secretary, 2024
On filings since 2021
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Reach Foundation
How much does Reach Foundation give each year?
Reach Foundation gave $40K across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $30K across 2 grants.
What is Reach Foundation's typical grant size?
Reach Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $12,500, and its average grant was $10,000, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Reach Foundation give grants?
Reach Foundation gives mostly in Alabama: 94% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Virginia (6%).
Does Reach Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 4 grants with a stated purpose on Reach Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.
How large is Reach Foundation?
Reach Foundation reported $308K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $40K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $26K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Reach Foundation?
Reach Foundation is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Birmingham, AL. It holds $308K in total assets as of 2025.
What is Reach Foundation's EIN?
Reach Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-1639926. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Here's the math on researching Reach Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Reach Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Alabama
Wells Family Foundation Inc
Winter Park, FL
Assets
$6.7M
Grants
7
Total Given
$294K
Ron and Suzanne Harris Family Foundation
Austin, TX
The foundation supports religious and spiritual development, medical care, education, social welfare, and related charitable work, with recent grants ranging from $5,000 to $60,000 and a typical grant of about $10,000. It is based in Austin and gives mainly in Texas and Florida, as well as to organizations in other states. It accepts requests by contacting Ron Harris; no application form or deadline is specified, and applicants must be 501(c)(3) organizations.
Assets
$10.8M
Grants
29
Total Given
$515K
The Cole Charitable Trust
Chicago, IL
The Cole Charitable Trust funded a mix of schools, health, religious, and research organizations, with most 2024 grant dollars going to Georgia. Its 10 grants ranged from $5,000 to $160,000, with a median of $10,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$3.5M
Grants
10
Total Given
$265K
DK Charitable Foundation
Wilmington, DE
DK Charitable Foundation supports Alabama nonprofits working in areas including faith, education, food assistance, and services for children and people with disabilities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $250,000, with a median of $5,500; it does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations.
Assets
$6.0M
Grants
24
Total Given
$521K
D and M Howell Foundation
Farragut, TN
Assets
$1.3M
Grants
7
Total Given
$69K
East Tennessee Foundation
Knoxville, TN
East Tennessee Foundation supports nonprofits and public entities through grants for areas including housing, youth, racial justice, health, arts, and community priorities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $17,316, and it serves a 25-county region in East Tennessee.
Assets
$282.5M
Grants
298
Total Given
$14.4M
Susan R and John W Sullivan Foundation
Stuart, FL
The foundation made grants to preselected charitable organizations, with reported giving ranging from $521,390 across 79 grants in 2022 to $4,950,900 across 70 grants in 2023; it completed its final asset distribution by May 31, 2024. Its reported 2024 grant went to a Florida donor-advised fund, and it did not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
—
Grants
1
Total Given
$276K
Teague Family Foundation
Atlanta, GA
The Teague Family Foundation funds preselected charitable organizations in community services, education, health, and Christian ministry, with 2025 grants ranging from $50,000 to $1.15 million and a median grant of $200,000. Its 2025 grants primarily went to organizations in Georgia, with additional funding in Iowa, Colorado, Maryland, and North Carolina; it does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.1M
Grants
14
Total Given
$5.5M
Christian Community Foundation Inc
Colorado Springs, CO
WaterStone funds charitable and educational efforts, especially direct Christian ministries, through donor-recommended grants to eligible U.S. and international nonprofits whose missions align with its Statement of Faith. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and grants are recommended by donors.
Assets
$746.4M
Grants
1,651
Total Given
$161.8M
Kingdom Alliance Foundation
Florence, AL
The Kingdom Alliance Foundation supports churches, ministries, and charitable organizations working in areas such as health care, education, and family support. Its 2025 grants ranged from $600 to $107,000, with a median of $10,000; most funding went to Alabama, with additional grants in several other states. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations.
Assets
$5.5M
Grants
23
Total Given
$438K
Alabama Power Foundation Inc
Birmingham, AL
The Alabama Power Foundation funds education, community development, arts and culture, health and human services, and environmental projects in Alabama communities within Alabama Power’s service territory. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $500,000, with a median of $2,500; it offers online grant application cycles, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$117.9M
Grants
1,240
Total Given
$16.2M
The Daniel Foundation of Alabama
Birmingham, AL
The Daniel Foundation of Alabama funds Alabama organizations working in education, basic needs, health, mental health, arts, youth mentoring, veterans, and community projects, with some grants limited to designated counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $10,000, and operating grants are capped at $25,000. Applicants begin by submitting a letter of intent; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.
Assets
$114.5M
Grants
521
Total Given
$7.5M
More Funders in Alabama
Reach Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?