Prout Research Institute
Prout Research Institute (PRI) researches and develops practical applications and policies for North America based on the Progressive Utilization Theory (Prout). Through education, training and publishing we strive to create a society that values all beings, enabling all to achieve their highest potential.
Key facts about Prout Research Institute
In short: Prout Research Institute gave $25K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $25K), mostly in North Carolina. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 87-4687486
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $25,000
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- Average grant
- $25,000
- Median grant
- $25,000
- Total assets
- $749,372
- Primary geography
- North Carolina (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$749K
+32.0% YoY
Annual Giving
$25K
+129.0% YoY
Grant Count
1
Avg Grant Size
$25K
About Prout Research Institute
Based on IRS filings
Prout Research Institute is a public charity focused on Social Science, based in Marshall, NC. IRS filing data is available from 2022 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $749K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $25K.
Focus Areas
Ready to take the next step with Prout Research Institute?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 1 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2024 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $11K (2024) to $25K (2025). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $25K.
Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 1 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Neohumanist College of Asheville ($25K).
Grant Size Distribution
1 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 1 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Neohumanist College of Asheville Marshall, NC | Support mission-aligned non-profit organization in need of financial assistance | $25,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $749,372 | $567,592 | $429,579 |
| Revenue | $210,428 | $213,355 | $122,819 |
| Expenses | $100,791 | $31,837 | $12,676 |
| Net Investment Income | $-1,532 | — | — |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 7, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 6, 2026)
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Prout Research Institute is led by Robert Caring, President on every filing since 2022; none of the 7 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Robert Caring
President
On filings since 2022
20 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Craig Runde
Director
On filings since 2022
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Howard Nemon
Member
Treasurer → Member, 2025
On filings since 2022
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jody Wright
Vice President
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mark Friedman
Secretary
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael Zimmerman
Treasurer
Director → Treasurer, 2025
On filings since 2022
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Christy Shaver
Member
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (2)
- Former: Shriraksha Mohan (2022–2024) — Director
- Former: McIhael Zimmerman (2024) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2022–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Prout Research Institute
How much does Prout Research Institute give each year?
Prout Research Institute gave $25K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it reported $11K in grants paid.
How large is Prout Research Institute?
Prout Research Institute reported $749K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $210K.
What is Prout Research Institute?
Prout Research Institute is a public charity focused on Social Science, based in Marshall, NC. It holds $749K in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Prout Research Institute operate?
Prout Research Institute has awarded grants in North Carolina.
What is Prout Research Institute's EIN?
Prout Research Institute's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 87-4687486. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2022–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Prout Research Institute by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Prout Research Institute's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
State Employees Credit Union Foundation
Raleigh, NC
The foundation funds capital projects, regional or statewide programs, and organizational capacity building that strengthen North Carolina communities; it favors projects with broad or replicable impact and does not fund operating budgets or shortfalls. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,250 to $1 million, with a median of $2,500. Applications are accepted at any time and typically reviewed semiannually.
Assets
$61.0M
Grants
1,806
Total Given
$17.4M
Foundation for the Carolinas
Charlotte, NC
Foundation For The Carolinas funds nonprofits and other eligible organizations working in areas such as education, health and human services, the environment, youth development, and animal welfare, primarily across 13 counties in North and South Carolina. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely; most grants are donor-recommended and have no application process, while some competitive programs accept applications under program-specific rules.
Assets
$3.9B
Grants
1,605
Total Given
$609.1M
Dogwood Health Trust
Asheville, NC
Dogwood Health Trust funds organizations working to improve health and wellbeing through housing, education, economic opportunity, and health and wellness in Western North Carolina’s 18 counties and the Qualla Boundary. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $21 million, with a median of $37,500; amounts vary by opportunity.
Assets
$2.0B
Grants
835
Total Given
$148.2M
The Winston-Salem Foundation
Winston-Salem, NC
The Winston-Salem Foundation funds nonprofits and community groups serving Forsyth County, North Carolina, across areas including education, housing, health, arts, community development, and human services. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000; specific programs offer up to $2,000 for small grants, $30,000 for civic engagement and inclusion, and $15,000 through The Women’s Fund. It accepts applications through its grants portal for listed programs, subject to their requirements and deadlines.
Assets
$630.1M
Grants
823
Total Given
$88.8M
The Community Foundation
Asheville, NC
The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina funds nonprofits and public agencies working in cultural resources, education, human services and natural resources, with some programs also accepting faith communities. Grants serve 18 Western North Carolina counties and the Qualla Boundary; the median 2025 grant was $25,000, and the Human Services and Education program offers up to $25,000. Application access and deadlines vary by program; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$481.0M
Grants
793
Total Given
$59.4M
North Carolina Community Foundation
Raleigh, NC
The North Carolina Community Foundation supports local needs across North Carolina, especially in rural communities, including human services, education, youth development, health, food and nutrition, arts, and scholarships. Its 2025 grants had a median award of $15,000, though amounts varied widely; organizations may apply through the relevant affiliate, giving circle, or community fund, with eligibility and deadlines varying by program.
Assets
$569.1M
Grants
732
Total Given
$30.6M
Triangle Community Foundation Inc
Durham, NC
The foundation supports nonprofits working in cultural arts, education and youth, nonprofit capacity building, and sustainable communities, with discretionary grants focused on Durham, Orange, Wake, and Chatham Counties in North Carolina. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts varied widely. Eligible nonprofits or fiscally sponsored organizations can apply through its online system during open grant cycles, so requests are accepted when a relevant cycle is open.
Assets
$335.8M
Grants
599
Total Given
$26.7M
The Leon Levine Foundation
Charlotte, NC
The Leon Levine Foundation funds healthcare, human services, education, and Jewish community work, primarily benefiting people in North and South Carolina. Its 2025 grants ranged from $10,000 to $2.1 million, with a median of $60,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through an eligibility quiz and portal, starting with a letter of inquiry.
Assets
$1.9B
Grants
522
Total Given
$57.9M
Nchsaa Foundation Inc
Chapel Hill, NC
The foundation funds NCHSAA member schools for student-athletes’ physical, mental, and psychosocial wellness and life-skill development, including scholarships, programs, safety initiatives, and equipment. Its 2025 grants ranged from $750 to $5,000, with a median of $1,845, and nearly all funding went to North Carolina recipients. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$25.9M
Grants
498
Total Given
$967K
The Duke Endowment
Charlotte, NC
The Duke Endowment funds child and family well-being, health care, higher education at four named colleges and universities, and rural churches, primarily in North Carolina and South Carolina. Its 2024 grants ranged from $7,000 to $6.8 million, with a median of $200,000. The application process varies by program; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$3.6B
Grants
480
Total Given
$251.2M
The Morehead-Cain Foundation
Chapel Hill, NC
The Morehead-Cain Foundation funds the Morehead-Cain Scholars Program and undergraduate scholarships, with reported 2024 grants going to recipients in North Carolina. Its 409 grants ranged from $300 to $3,489,800, with a median of $28,200. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$225.0M
Grants
422
Total Given
$14.9M
Anonymous Trust
Raleigh, NC
Anonymous Trust funds education, health and human services, arts and culture, community and economic development, historic preservation, the environment, and disaster relief, with education a priority. It focuses on rural, under-resourced, and marginalized communities in eastern North Carolina; its 2025 grants ranged from $150 to $2.52 million, with a median of $3,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$110.5M
Grants
344
Total Given
$20.3M
More Funders in North Carolina
Prout Research Institute down — hundreds of funders to go?