Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc
Prevent Child Abuse-New Jersey (PCA-NJ) is a public charity based in North Brunswick, New Jersey, and the New Jersey chapter of Prevent Child Abuse America. It works to promote family wellness, positive parenting, healthy child development, and nurturing communities. Its nonprofit subsidiary, the Child Wellness Institute (ChildWIN), builds resilience and social-emotional health in children and families.
Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc at a glance
In short: Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc gave $635K across 26 grants in 2025 (avg $24K), mostly in New Jersey. 0% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $634,765
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 26
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $24,414
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $7,694
- Total assets
- $4,396,645
- +36.9% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 0% first-time grantees (0 of 21, 2025; small sample)
- Primary geography
- New Jersey (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc
- Contact
Mailing address: 103 Church Street 210, New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: (732) 246-8060
Website: https://preventchildabusenj.org
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was New Jersey Dept of Children and Family Services ($371K). Together the top 10 received $560K.
Grant Size Distribution
141 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 139 grants of 141 (99%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
All reported grant dollars in filing year 2025 went to recipients in New Jersey. PCA-NJ describes its technical assistance and public education as statewide in New Jersey.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 26 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Is Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc open to new grantees?
0%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 0 of 21 grantees (0%) were first-time recipients. With only 21 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 5 points. How we count
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $116K (2020) to $635K (2025). In 2025 it made 26 grants totaling $635K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| New Jersey Dept of Children and Family Services Trenton, NJ | Epxenses Related to Video Production | $370,995 |
| Temple Sharey Tefilo Iris Family South Orange, NJ | Educational Supplies | $37,800 |
| Temple Sharey Tefilo Iris Family South Orange, NJ | Educational Supplies | $37,800 |
| JCC of Bayonne Bayonne, NJ | Educational Supplies | $15,952 |
| Korparate Kids Cedar Grove, NJ | Educational Supplies | $15,430 |
| Little Friends Preschool Kearny, NJ | Educational Supplies | $14,305 |
| Little Scholars Preschool Guttenberg, NJ | Educational Supplies | $10,712 |
| Little Beginnings Childcare Howell, NJ | Educational Supplies | $9,617 |
| A Step Ahead North Bergen, NJ | Educational Supplies | $9,469 |
| The Kids Palace II West Orange, NJ | Educational Supplies | $8,864 |
Ready to take the next step with Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $4,396,645 | $8,515,351 | $8,108,957 | $634,765 | 26 | $83,914 |
| 2024 | $3,212,637 | $7,530,080 | $7,373,526 | $634,765 | 26 | $41,461 |
| 2023 | $4,085,293 | $7,604,845 | $7,241,950 | $413,078 | 37 | $16,458 |
| 2022 | $3,002,123 | $6,332,555 | $6,132,622 | $367,824 | 36 | $8,501 |
| 2021 | $2,518,294 | $5,846,113 | $5,612,458 | $135,269 | 16 | $6,868 |
| 2020 | $2,245,106 | $6,091,744 | $6,058,318 | $115,592 | 9 | $14,699 |
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
PCA-NJ’s mission is to build a brighter future for children by promoting family wellness, positive parenting, healthy child development, and nurturing communities. Its stated work includes technical assistance on child-abuse-prevention program models, professional training, and statewide public education through presentations, parenting education, and resources. The organization also describes work to help make homes and schools nurturing, trauma-informed environments.
In its 2025 filing, PCA-NJ reported grants to New Jersey recipients, with listed purposes including educational supplies and expenses related to video production. The available descriptions do not establish a general outside-applicant grant program.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2025, PCA-NJ reported 26 grants totaling $634,765. Grant amounts ranged from $5,119 to $370,995, with a median of $7,694. The largest listed grant was $370,995 to the New Jersey Department of Children and Family Services for expenses related to video production. Other listed grants included $37,800 to Temple Sharey Tefilo Iris Family for educational supplies, $15,952 to JCC of Bayonne for educational supplies, and $15,430 to Korparate Kids for educational supplies.
The grantees’ own names and reported purposes indicate support to organizations including a family, a Jewish community center, and child-care or preschool providers. The available information does not specify an application process, required materials, or a deadline.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Harvey Lermack as president, Christopher L. Formica as vice president, Steven Bernknopf, CPP, EA, as treasurer, and Worlue Kokro as secretary. Listed board members include Rev. Dr. Darrell L. Armstrong, Jeffrey Calabrese, Barbara Cali, Patrick Chong, CPA, Joseph E. Colford, PhD, and Monique Collier-Nickles, MD, whose service is listed through January 2025. The organization’s 2025 annual report identifies Gina Hernandez as CEO and executive director.
Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc is led by Gina Hernandez, Executive Director since 2021 (on filings since 2020); 1 of 24 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Gina Hernandez
Executive Director
Senior Vice President → Executive Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
35 hrs/week
$109K (2020) → $159K (2025)
Harvey B. Lermack
President
Board Vice President → Board President, 2023
Board President → President, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Barbara Cali
Board Member
Board Secretary → Board Member, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Christopher L. Formica
Vice President
Board Member → Board Vice President, 2023
Board Vice President → Vice President, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joseph E. Colford PhD
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Maura Somers Dughi Esq.
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael Tatro
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Susan Staloff
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Allison Scaduto Esq.
Board Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Alycia M. Guichard Esq.
Board Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Patrick Chong CPA
Board Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Worlue Kokro
Secretary
Board Member → Secretary, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Altisha Glaster Mpa Msw
Board Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Darrell L. Armstrong
Board Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jeffrey Calabrese
Board Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lucien Foster
Board Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Monique Collier-Nickles MD
Board Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Natalia Rothman Dc
Board Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Quinton Robinson Esq.
Board Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Scott Stein
Board Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Steven Bernknopf Cpp Ea
Treasurer
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Aishwarya Subramanian
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Julissa Alvarado
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Vishal Patel
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (20)
- Former: Nicholas D. Borrelli (2020–2024) — Board Member
- Former: Dawn Brindle (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Harold Kaplan (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Monique Collier Nickles MD (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Robert Campbell (2020–2023) — Honorary Board Member
- Former: Ronald Surlak (2020–2023) — Director of Finance
- Former: Steven Bernknopf (2020–2023) — Board Treasurer
- Former: Jason D. McTaggart (2021–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Reverend Dr Darrell L. Armstrong (2021–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Tina McLean (2021–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Jeff Calabrese (2023) — Board Member
- Former: Tyra Gray (2023) — Board Member
- Former: Veronica Ford (2023) — Vice President
- Former: Anupa S. Wijaya (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Catherine Wells Esq. (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Jodi Hutchison-Sanford (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Judith Tell Feldman (2020–2022) — Board Development Chair
- Former: Robert D. Rotondi (2020–2022) — Board President
- Former: Rush Russell (2020–2021) — Former Executive Director
- Former: Michael Giacobello (2020) — Board Member
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $159K, to Gina Hernandez (Executive Director).
Frequently asked questions about Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc
How much does Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc give each year?
Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc gave $635K across 26 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $635K across 26 grants.
What is Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc's typical grant size?
Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc's median grant in 2025 was $7,694, and its average grant was $24,414, across 26 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.
Where does Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc give grants?
Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc gives mostly in New Jersey: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were West Orange, NJ (4 grants), Jersey City, NJ (4 grants), Kearny, NJ (3 grants) and South Orange, NJ (2 grants).
Does Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 26 grants with a stated purpose on Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Educational Supplies" (25 grants).
Who are Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc's largest grantees?
Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc's largest 2025 grantees include New Jersey Dept of Children and Family Services ($370,995), Temple Sharey Tefilo Iris Family ($75,600 across 2 grants) and The Kids Palace II ($17,728 across 2 grants), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 73% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc?
Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc reported $4.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $8.5M.
What does Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc fund?
PCA-NJ’s mission is to build a brighter future for children by promoting family wellness, positive parenting, healthy child development, and nurturing communities. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc?
Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check preventchildabusenj.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.
What is Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc's EIN?
Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 22-2314861. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS December 22, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS December 16, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS December 7, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS December 14, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS February 7, 2025)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS March 2, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Other open foundation grants in New Jersey
New Jersey Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in New Jersey
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Princeton, NJ
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation funds efforts to improve health and health equity in the United States, including systems change addressing structural barriers to health. In 2024, its grants ranged from $125 to $12.15 million, with a median of $40,000. It typically funds through targeted programs and partnerships; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$13.4B
Grants
3,093
Total Given
$622.6M
Community Foundation of New Jersey
Morristown, NJ
The Community Foundation of New Jersey supports a broad range of causes, including arts, education, health, human services, and the environment, through donor-directed and other charitable funds. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of $19,759, with awards ranging widely; its current health grant opportunity serves Morris and Somerset counties. Eligible New Jersey nonprofits may apply to specific grant opportunities, subject to each opportunity’s guidelines.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,321
Total Given
$93.8M
Crane Fund for Widows and Children
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
The Crane Fund for Widows and Children supports charitable organizations, including those working in healthcare and social services, children’s services, recreation, and basic needs, with grants across multiple states. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $45,000, with a median of $4,500; it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.6M
Grants
985
Total Given
$4.5M
Oceanfirst Foundation
Toms River, NJ
OceanFirst Foundation funds nonprofits working in health and wellness, housing, youth development and education, economic stability, quality of life, and higher education in communities served by OceanFirst Bank. In 2025 it awarded grants of $50 to $55,000, with a median of $2,200. It does not limit giving to preselected organizations; prospective applicants are directed to contact the foundation to discuss fit before applying through its online portal.
Assets
$6.1M
Grants
425
Total Given
$1.6M
The Hyde and Watson Foundation
Warren Township, NJ
The Hyde and Watson Foundation funds capital projects in human services, education, health, arts and culture, and the environment. Most awards are $5,000–$20,000, with a 2024 median of $10,000, for eligible nonprofits in New York City and Essex, Morris, and Union counties in New Jersey. It accepts applications through an online portal during its stated application periods; the profile does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$88.2M
Grants
611
Total Given
$6.1M
Princeton Area Community Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The foundation supports nonprofits and community programs in areas such as basic needs, education, health, housing, arts, and the environment, with competitive grants focused on under-resourced communities and women and girls. Its 2024 grants had a median of $15,000, and its discretionary grantmaking primarily serves Mercer County and nearby parts of New Jersey and eastern Bucks County, Pennsylvania. The profile describes competitive programs but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$279.6M
Grants
515
Total Given
$31.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in New Jersey
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Prevent Child Abuse- New Jersey Chapter Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?