President and Trustees of Bates College logo

President and Trustees of Bates College

Public charity · Grantmaker Lewiston, ME EIN: 01-0211781 Website

Bates is a college of the liberal arts and sciences, and is a coeducational, nonsectarian, residential college with special commitments to academic rigor, and to assuring in all of its efforts the dignity of each individual, and access to its programs and opportunities by qualified learners. Bates offers a curriculum and faculty that challenge students to attain intellectual achievements and to develop powers of critical assessment, analysis, expression, aesthetic sensibility, and independent thought. The College sponsors cultural, volunteer, athletic, social, and religious opportunities which are open to all students, and values participation in these activities.

Key facts about President and Trustees of Bates College

In short: President and Trustees of Bates College gave $11K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $11K), mostly in Maine. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
01-0211781
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$11,099
Grants made (2025)
1
Average grant
$11,099
Median grant
$11,099
Total assets
$918,377,605
Primary geography
Maine (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$918.4M

+3.5% YoY

Annual Giving

$11K

+1.5% YoY

Grant Count

1

+0.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$11K

+1.5% YoY

How President and Trustees of Bates College gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+5%). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

About President and Trustees of Bates College

Based on IRS filings

President and Trustees of Bates College is a public charity focused on Education, based in Lewiston, ME. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $918.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $11K. Net investment income was $68.0M.

Focus Areas

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with President and Trustees of Bates College?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Lewiston

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$5K$10K$15K1 grant2019 1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $10K (2019) to $11K (2025). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $11K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Bates Morse Mountain Conservation Area Corporation: $11KBates Morse MountainConservation Area Corporation$11K

The largest 2025 recipient was Bates Morse Mountain Conservation Area Corporation ($11K).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

5<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 5 grants of 5 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Bates Morse Mountain Conservation Area Corporation Lewiston, MEPayment to Town of Phippsburg in lieu of taxes.$11,099

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$100M$200M$300M2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$918,377,605$887,376,913$880,484,919
Revenue$242,157,257$192,807,514$192,073,209
Expenses$197,827,483$189,468,466$179,471,899
Net Investment Income$67,999,907$32,122,591$17,292,415

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 13, 2026)
  2. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 10, 2020)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

President and Trustees of Bates College is led by Garry Jenkins, President on every filing since 2024; 15 of 47 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Garry Jenkins

    President

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $437K (2024) → $687K (2025)

  • Gregory A Ehret

    Board Chair

    Board Member → Board Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jason Fein

    Director of Athletics

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $175K (2021) → $197K (2025)

  • A Clayton Spencer

    President Emeritus

    President → President Emeritus, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $488K (2019) → $273K (2025)

  • Eric Foushee

    Vice President & College Advancement

    Associate Vice President for College Advancement → Vice President & College Advancement, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $173K (2019) → $295K (2025)

  • Geoffrey Swift

    Vice President Finance, Administrator & Treasurer

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $289K (2019) → $355K (2025)

  • Leigh Weisenburger

    Dean of Admission & Financial Aid

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $184K (2019) → $258K (2025)

  • Natalie Williamson

    Assistant Vice President & Controller

    Controller & Former Officer → Assistant Vice President & Controller, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $139K (2019) → $183K (2025)

  • Patricia Schoknecht

    Vice President for Information & Library Services

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $244K (2019) → $247K (2025)

  • Malcolm Hill

    Vice President for Academic Affairs & Dean of the Faculty

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $259K (2020) → $295K (2025)

  • Michael Hussey

    Vice President Institutional Affairs & Secretary to the Board of Trustees

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $166K (2020) → $203K (2025)

  • Christine Schwartz

    Associate Vice President Dining Conferences Campus Events

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $169K (2022) → $188K (2025)

  • Barry Lawson

    Professor

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $177K (2023) → $186K (2025)

  • Leana Amaez

    Vice President, Equity & Inclusion

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $202K (2024) → $244K (2025)

  • Dolores O'Higgins

    Professor

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $183K (2025)

  • Erin Foster Zsiga

    Interim Vice President & Student Affairs

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $211K (2025)

  • Andrea C Bueschel

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ann E Bushmiller

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chris Barbin

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David W Longdon III

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Emma Sprague

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Evelynn M Hammonds

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Garth A L Timoll

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jean P Wilson

    Board Vice Chair

    Board Member → Board Vice Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • John T Rossello Jr.

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Judith B Miller

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lisa Utzschneider

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark D Mandel

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Erica Bullard

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Katherine Segal Frekko

    Board Secretary

    Board Member → Board Secretary, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lance Matthiesen

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michelle A Rosenberg

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stacey A Rizza

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Terrence J Murray

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anne K Wade

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Benjamin E Robinson III

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Karen A Gordon

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kelli J Armstrong

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Melissa Wilcox Yanagi

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jason Ryan

    Board Member

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeremy Chase

    Board Member

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marc Jaffe

    Board Member

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pranav Ghai

    Board Member

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shannon Griffin

    Board Member

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Marchick

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Hob Brooks Jr.

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Natalie Rodriquez

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (39)
  • Former: Erik O Jarnryd (2019–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Joshua McIntosh (2019–2024) — Vice President Student Affairs & Dean of Students
  • Former: Marcus Bruce (2023–2024) — Professor
  • Former: Hope Burnell (2024) — Assistant Vice President Human Resources, Environmental Health & Safety
  • Former: Lillian Nayder (2024) — Professor
  • Former: Tracey Reeves (2024) — Vice President, Communications & Marketing
  • Former: Jeremy M Sclar (2019–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: John D Gillespie (2019–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Kathryn Low (2019–2023) — Professor
  • Former: Lisa B Barry (2019–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Sarah Pearson (2019–2023) — Vice President & College Advancement
  • Former: Stacey L Kelly (2019–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Steven Dillon (2023) — Professor
  • Former: H Scott Bierman (2019–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Michael Murray (2019–2022) — Professor
  • Former: Paul Marks (2019–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Richard L Smith (2019–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Scott D Freeman (2019–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Sean Findlen (2019–2022) — Chief Communications Officer
  • Former: William F Sweat (2019–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Noelle Chaddock (2021–2022) — Vice President for Equity & Inclusion
  • Former: T Glen Lawson (2022) — Professor
  • Former: Christopher J Gorayeb (2019–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Dervilla M McCann (2019–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Darrell W Crate (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: April Hill (2021) — Professor, Equity & Inclusion in Stem
  • Former: Margaret Imber (2021) — Associate Professor
  • Former: Carol L Rattray (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Geraldine M FitzGerald (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Jennifer Foley (2019–2020) — Associate Vice President for College Advancement
  • Former: John P Murchison (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Marjorie Northrop Friedman (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Quoc Kinh Tran (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Thomas Wenzel (2019–2020) — Professor
  • Former: William C Carey (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: James Hughes (2020) — Professor
  • Former: Mary H Pressman (2019) — Board Member
  • Former: Michael W Bonney (2019) — Board Member
  • Former: Stuart B Abelson (2019) — Board Member

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Garry Jenkins — President: $687KGarry JenkinsPresident$687KGeoffrey Swift — VP Fin & Admin, Treasurer: $355KGeoffrey SwiftVP Fin & Admin, Treasurer$355KMalcolm Hill — VP for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty: $295KMalcolm HillVP for Academic Affairs and…$295KEric Foushee — Vice President, College Advancement: $295KEric FousheeVice President, College…$295KA Clayton Spencer — President Emeritus thru 6/30/24: $273KA Clayton SpencerPresident Emeritus thru 6/30/24$273KLeigh Weisenburger — Dean of Admission and Financial Aid: $258KLeigh WeisenburgerDean of Admission and Financial…$258KPatricia Schoknecht — VP for Information & Library Services: $247KPatricia SchoknechtVP for Information & Library…$247KLeana Amaez — Vice President, Equity and Inclusion: $244KLeana AmaezVice President, Equity and…$244KErin Foster Zsiga — Interim VP, Student Affairs thru 12-31-24: $211KErin Foster ZsigaInterim VP, Student Affairs…$211KMichael Hussey — VP Institutional Affairs and Secretary to the Board of Trustees: $203KMichael HusseyVP Institutional Affairs and…$203KJason Fein — Director of Athletics: $197KJason FeinDirector of Athletics$197KChristine Schwartz — Assoc VP Dining Conferences Campus Events: $188KChristine SchwartzAssoc VP Dining Conferences…$188KBarry Lawson — Professor: $186KBarry LawsonProfessor$186KNatalie Williamson — AVP and Controller: $183KNatalie WilliamsonAVP and Controller$183KDolores O'Higgins — Professor: $183KDolores O'HigginsProfessor$183K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $687K, to Garry Jenkins (President). 15 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about President and Trustees of Bates College

How much does President and Trustees of Bates College give each year?

President and Trustees of Bates College gave $11K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $11K across 1 grant.

How large is President and Trustees of Bates College?

President and Trustees of Bates College reported $918.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $242.2M.

What is President and Trustees of Bates College?

President and Trustees of Bates College is a public charity focused on Education, based in Lewiston, ME. It holds $918.4M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does President and Trustees of Bates College operate?

President and Trustees of Bates College has awarded grants in Maine.

What is President and Trustees of Bates College's EIN?

President and Trustees of Bates College's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 01-0211781. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching President and Trustees of Bates College by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in President and Trustees of Bates College's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Maine

Maine Community Foundation Inc

Ellsworth, ME

Maine Community Foundation supports Maine communities through grants for community building, arts, education, the environment, economic development, human services, and other areas. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,030 to $2,487,900, with a median of $17,500; the Community Building Grant Program offers awards up to $10,000. Applications are submitted online, and the information does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$807.6M

Grants

1,161

Total Given

$57.6M

TD Charitable Foundation

Portland, ME

The foundation funds education, human services, housing and financial stability, nonprofit capacity-building, and community programs, with particular consideration for underserved and low- to moderate-income communities. Its stated award range is $135–$475,000, though the 2025 median grant was $10,000; it focuses primarily on Florida, New Jersey, and New York. It accepts unsolicited requests through online applications from eligible 501(c)(3) public charities in states with a TD Bank, N.A. branch.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$9.1M

Grants

1,003

Total Given

$24.9M

Simple Generosity Foundation

Cape Elizabeth, ME

Simple Generosity Foundation supports nonprofits across varied missions, with an emphasis on smaller organizations, mainly in the United States. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,002 to $271,548, with a median of $6,287. It does not describe an open unsolicited-request process: nonprofits must join its network and be matched to a client giving program to receive donations.

Religion Related

Assets

$2.8M

Grants

339

Total Given

$4.4M

Elmina B Sewall Foundation

Freeport, ME

The Elmina B. Sewall Foundation funds equity and well-being for people, animals, and the environment in Maine, including work on animal welfare, food systems, Wabanaki communities, nature-based education, and rural partnerships. Its 2024 grants ranged from $150 to $580,000, with a median of $30,975. It accepts applications during designated periods; some programs are open to applications, while others are by invitation.

Assets

$164.8M

Grants

296

Total Given

$14.4M

Onion Foundation

Auburn, ME

The Onion Foundation funds Maine nonprofits working in the arts and environment, especially arts education and public engagement, equitable outdoor access, and nature learning. Typical grants vary by program: arts awards can be up to $60,000, while environment grants are generally $5,000–$30,000; its 2024 median grant was $15,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through its online grant portal.

Assets

$63.6M

Grants

245

Total Given

$4.4M

Saco & Biddeford Savings

Saco, ME

Saco & Biddeford Savings supports Maine nonprofits working in areas including food access, health and social services, education, youth, arts, elder care, and community development, with most giving concentrated in Southern Maine. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $50,200, with a median of $1,000. It accepts applications from eligible 501(c)(3) organizations; no deadline is listed.

Assets

$478K

Grants

168

Total Given

$372K

Melmac Education Foundation

Augusta, ME

MELMAC Education Foundation funds college and career readiness, post-secondary student success, and partnerships linking education, communities, and employers, primarily in Maine. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $219,873, with a median of $2,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$38.7M

Grants

180

Total Given

$1.4M

Bangor Savings Bank Foundation

Bangor, ME

The Bangor Savings Bank Foundation funds arts and culture, education, health and wellness, workforce and economic development, and social and community services in Maine, New Hampshire, and Essex County, Massachusetts. Published grant requests are typically $2,000–$25,000, though reported 2025 awards ranged from $1,000 to $50,000, with a median of $4,750. It accepts applications through an online process and reviews them twice a year.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$7.0M

Grants

156

Total Given

$1.2M

John T Gorman Foundation

Portland, ME

The John T. Gorman Foundation primarily supports strategies that strengthen children and families experiencing poverty, with an application-based program for Maine nonprofits addressing food insecurity and housing or shelter needs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $345,000, with a median of $20,250, and 89% of grant dollars went to Maine recipients. Most grants are invitation-only and unsolicited proposals are generally not funded; the Direct Services Grant Program accepts applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$223.5M

Grants

154

Total Given

$7.5M

Lunder Foundation

Portland, ME

The Lunder Foundation supports higher education, the arts, health care, and other charities, primarily in Maine and Massachusetts. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $4.8 million, with a median of $2,016; it accepts requests by brief letter and lists no deadline.

Assets

$380K

Grants

153

Total Given

$24.4M

Franklin Savings Bank Community

Farmington, ME

Franklin Savings Bank Community funds qualifying charities, government organizations, and school scholarships, with emphasis on economic development, affordable housing, support for low-income or underserved people, and job retraining. It primarily serves Western and Central Maine; 2025 grants ranged from $200 to $153,000, with a median of $2,000. It accepts written requests by letter or charitable request form; no definitive deadline is stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.0M

Grants

182

Total Given

$705K

Maine Technology Institute

Portland, ME

Maine Technology Institute funds innovative products, services, and processes with potential to strengthen Maine’s economy and create jobs, especially in its targeted technology sectors. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,040 to $3 million, with a median of $50,000; first-time Business Innovation Funding grants typically start at $10,000–$30,000. Its programs focus on Maine-based applicants; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$22.5M

Grants

194

Total Given

$22.2M

More Funders in Maine

President and Trustees of Bates College down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?