Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) logo

Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)

Foundation · Grantmaker Auburndale, MA EIN: 04-6054630 Website

POMROY REBECCA FOUNDATION INC (CUST) is a private foundation based in Auburndale, Massachusetts. It makes annual grants to charitable organizations, with a stated preference for organizations serving the Newton community.

Key facts about Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)

In short: Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) gave $131K across 18 grants in 2025 (avg $7K), mostly in Massachusetts. 17% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
04-6054630
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$131,187
Grants made (2025)
18
Average grant
$7,288
Median grant
$6,000
New grantees (estimate)
17% first-time grantees (3 of 18, 2025)
Total assets
$1,983,770
Primary geography
Massachusetts (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
How to apply
The Foundation invites applications from local organizations and does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. Full details ↓
Deadline
The website lists March 2, 2026, at 11:59 p.m.

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$2.0M

+2.5% YoY

Annual Giving

$131K

+3.6% YoY

Grant Count

18

-10.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$7K

+15.1% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) reported a distributable amount of $130K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) open to new grantees?

17%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 3 of 18 grantees (17%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $5K; repeat grants $8K. How we count

Medians: $3K first-time, $7K repeat.

  • 83% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−3%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 105% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The Foundation seeks to “assist worthy charitable organizations that offer and provide health-building, educational and recreational opportunities and guidance to people of all ages in the community,” with the preferences noted above. Its website says support is offered without regard to religious preference, race, ethnicity, or national origin.

Its 2025 grants included organizations whose own missions cover a range of services. For example, Newton Community Development Foundation says it works to develop housing for moderate- and low-income families and older adults, and to provide advocacy and planning resources. Families for Depression Awareness says it educates families about depression and bipolar disorder and how to seek mental health care. Pathway to Possible says it provides housing, support, and advocacy for people with cognitive and developmental disabilities and their families. Suzuki School of Newton says it promotes development through music instruction and sharing music with the community.

Grantmaking

The Foundation makes grants annually. In 2025, it awarded 18 grants totaling $131,187; grants ranged from $2,500 to $25,155, with a median of $6,000. The Foundation’s grant program describes an award range of $2,000–$10,000 and says it considers capital grants, general operating support, and special projects.

Review Cycle

** The website lists March 2, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. as the application deadline and states that the 2026 submission window is closed. The 2024 filing lists February 1.

Open Grants

1 open opportunity from Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The Foundation’s mission gives a special preference to organizations operating community centers in Newton, Massachusetts, and its website says it especially seeks applications from organizations serving the Newton community. All 2025 grant dollars went to recipients in Massachusetts.

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of all 18 itemized 2025 grant dollars.

Cities

NewtonWalthamNewtonvilleWest NewtonBostonNeedhamFramingham

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K13 grants202015 grants202115 grants202215 grants202320 grants202418 grants2025

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Newton Community Service Centers Inc DBA Family Access of Newton: $25KNewton Community ServiceCenters Inc DBA Family Access…$25KNew Art Center: $10KNew Art Center$10KNewton Community Development Foundation: $10KNewton Community DevelopmentFoundation$10KSecond Step: $10KSecond Step$10KJohn M Barry Boys & Girls Club of Newton: $10KJohn M Barry Boys & Girls Clubof Newton$10KJewish Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Boston: $8KJewish Big Brothers BigSisters of Greater Boston$8KNewton Athletes Unlimited: $8KNewton Athletes Unlimited$8KDreamfar High School Marathon: $8KDreamfar High School Marathon$8KFamilies for Depression Awareness: $7KFamilies for DepressionAwareness$7KNewton Community Education: $5KNewton Community Education$5K

Grant Size Distribution

83 grants across all recorded years

83<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
NEWTON COMMUNITY SERVICE CENTERS INC DBA FAMILY ACCESS OF NEWTON Newton, MATO SUPPORT OPERATIONS OF THE PUBLIC CHARITY$25,155
NEW ART CENTER Newton, MATO SUPPORT OPERATIONS OF THE PUBLIC CHARITY$10,000
NEWTON COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION Newton, MATO SUPPORT OPERATIONS OF THE PUBLIC CHARITY$10,000
SECOND STEP Newtonville, MATO SUPPORT OPERATIONS OF THE PUBLIC CHARITY$10,000
JOHN M BARRY BOYS & GIRLS CLUB OF NEWTON Newton, MATO SUPPORT OPERATIONS OF THE PUBLIC CHARITY$10,000
JEWISH BIG BROTHERS BIG SISTERS OF GREATER BOSTON Newton, MATO SUPPORT OPERATIONS OF THE PUBLIC CHARITY$8,000
NEWTON ATHLETES UNLIMITED Newton, MATO SUPPORT OPERATIONS OF THE PUBLIC CHARITY$8,000
DREAMFAR HIGH SCHOOL MARATHON Newton, MATO SUPPORT OPERATIONS OF THE PUBLIC CHARITY$7,500
FAMILIES FOR DEPRESSION AWARENESS Waltham, MATO SUPPORT OPERATIONS OF THE PUBLIC CHARITY$7,000
NEWTON COMMUNITY EDUCATION Newton, MATO SUPPORT OPERATIONS OF THE PUBLIC CHARITY$5,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants Grant count
2025 $1,983,770 $199,203 $151,089 $131,187 18
2024 $1,935,656 $123,401 $144,489 $126,617 20
2023 $1,956,744 $106,449 $140,995 $123,985 15
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$100K$200K$300K202020212022202320242025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$1,983,770$1,935,656$1,956,744
Revenue$199,203$123,401$106,449
Expenses$151,089$144,489$140,995
Qualifying Distributions$136,262$132,117$128,433
Net Investment Income$159,071$90,902$59,002
Distributable Amount$129,796$124,821$120,432

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Victor Lee as president; Bradley K Sharp as treasurer; and Churchill Franklin, Gayle Smalley, Mary-Ellen Efferen, Patie Berkman, Kathleen Carter Colantonio, Nicholas D Brandt, Anita Lichtblau, and Michele M Morris as directors.

Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) is led by Victor Lee, President since 2023 (on filings since 2020); none of the 16 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Victor Lee

    President

    Director → President, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Amy Worth

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anita Lichtblau

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Churchill Franklin

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gayle Smalley

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kathleen Carter Colantonio

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Laura Towvim

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mary-Ellen Efferen

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michele M. Morris

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nicholas D. Brandt

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Patie Berkman

    Director

    President → Director, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Carline M. Durocher

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jenny Klein-Sosa

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kate Carpenter Bernier

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Balraj Kalsi

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bradley K. Sharp

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (8)
  • Former: Carol H. Brown (2020–2023) — Clerk
  • Former: Emily M. Shumsky (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Rosemary H. Thomsen (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Susan Farris (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Brandon Thomas Crowley (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Guy Moss (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Newell Flather (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Anne Swingle Borg (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Application contact: The Rebecca Pomroy Foundation Inc
Mailing address: PO Box 66066, Auburndale, MA 02466
Phone: (617) 557-7407
Website: https://pomroy.org

Frequently asked questions about Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)

How much does Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) give each year?

Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) gave $131K across 18 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $127K across 20 grants.

What is Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)'s typical grant size?

Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)'s median grant in 2025 was $6,000, and its average grant was $7,288, across 18 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) that year got $5K on average.

Where does Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) give grants?

Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) gives mostly in Massachusetts: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Newton, MA (13 grants) and Newtonville, MA (2 grants).

Does Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 18 grants with a stated purpose on Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)'s 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "To Support Operations of the Public Charity" (18 grants).

Who are Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)'s largest grantees?

Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)'s largest 2025 grantees include Newton Community Service Centers Inc DBA Family Access of Newton ($25,155), New Art Center ($10,000) and Newton Community Development Foundation ($10,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 34% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)?

Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) reported $2.0M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $136K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $130K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) fund?

The Foundation seeks to “assist worthy charitable organizations that offer and provide health-building, educational and recreational opportunities and guidance to people of all ages in the community,” with the preferences noted above. Its website says support is offered without regard to religious preference, race, ethnicity, or national origin. Its 2025 grants included organizations whose own missions cover a range of services. For example, Newton Community Development Foundation says it works…

How do I apply for a grant from Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)?

The Foundation invites applications from local organizations and does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)'s EIN?

Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)'s EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 04-6054630. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust)'s focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Eastern Bank Foundation

Wakefield, MA

Eastern Bank Foundation funds systemic efforts to advance economic inclusion and mobility, including small-business equity, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its programs range from $1,000–$10,000 for Community Donations, up to $15,000 for CITC Grants, and $50,000–$150,000 for Impact Grants; it supports organizations primarily in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. The foundation accepts online applications, with no specific submission deadlines stated.

Assets

$266.7M

Grants

1,786

Total Given

$19.0M

GivenGain Foundation USA

Fort Lauderdale, FL

GivenGain Foundation USA makes donor-directed grants to US-based registered charities, supporting a range of charitable programs; its 2024 grants included health care, cancer, heart disease, and rehabilitation. In 2024, itemized grants ranged from $5,066 to $1.6 million, with a median of about $35,800, and most grant dollars went to Massachusetts. Grants are based on donor recommendations through its platform; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.9M

Grants

294

Total Given

$22.8M

Eastern Cambridge Foundation

Wakefield, MA

Eastern Cambridge Foundation has historically made grants in Massachusetts, but it is dissolving and transferring its assets to Eastern Bank Foundation; its 2025 filing reports a one-time $5.5 million transfer, not a typical ongoing grant size. The filing says to contact the foundation for application materials and does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$15K

Grants

1

Total Given

$5.5M

The George and Louise J Hauser Charitable

Wilmington, DE

The George and Louise J Hauser Charitable supports education, family services, youth programs, housing, and advocacy, primarily in Massachusetts, with some funding in California. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $50,000, with a median of $9,500. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$8.5M

Grants

30

Total Given

$393K

Rockland Trust Charitable Foundation

Rockland, MA

The Rockland Trust Charitable Foundation supports eligible public charities working on affordable housing, children and youth, financial inclusion, workforce development, and small-business assistance, especially those serving low- to moderate-income people. In 2025, grants ranged from $500 to $45,000, with a median of $5,000; it funds communities in specified counties in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. It accepts unsolicited requests, with deadlines varying by application.

Assets

$53.4M

Grants

345

Total Given

$2.3M

Boston Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

The Boston Foundation funds equity-focused work in child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer awards from up to $15,000 to $50,000; it accepts applications through some competitive initiatives, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally is not stated.

Assets

$2.1B

Grants

2,375

Total Given

$228.4M

Cambridge Savings Charitable

Cambridge, MA

Cambridge Savings Charitable funds affordable housing, shelters, transitional housing, food insecurity, and financial education for underserved residents in Middlesex, Suffolk, Essex, and Norfolk counties, Massachusetts. Its website lists grants up to $5,000 and sponsorships up to $2,500 per organization per year; 2025 grants ranged from $21 to $100,000, with a median of $4,000. It states that it contributes only to preselected charities and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$947K

Grants

205

Total Given

$1.8M

Cummings Foundation Grants Inc (Fka Oneworld Boston Inc)

Woburn, MA

The foundation supports nonprofits focused on human services, education, healthcare, fairness and justice, and environmental causes, primarily in greater Boston and eastern Massachusetts, with limited support for Rwanda’s recovery. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $3.5 million, with a median of $35,000; it accepts letters of inquiry through an online portal for its local grant program.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$258.2M

Grants

658

Total Given

$38.2M

Ge Aerospace Foundation

Norwalk, CT

The GE Aerospace Foundation supports engineering education, workforce development, military and veterans causes, and disaster relief in communities where GE Aerospace employees live and work around the world. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10 to nearly $6 million, with a median of $429; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$22.5M

Grants

2,467

Total Given

$15.3M

Rosenberg Family Charitable Foundation

Newton, MA

The Rosenberg Family Charitable Foundation gives operating support to preselected organizations across areas including education, health, community services, arts, and food access. Its 2025 grants ranged from $30 to $3,735, with a median of $122; most funding went to Massachusetts, with grants also reaching other states. It does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$784K

Grants

96

Total Given

$31K

Fidelity Foundation

Boston, MA

The Fidelity Foundation funds capacity-building and strategic projects in arts and culture, conservation, education, health, and social and economic mobility, including capital investments and planning. Its 2024 grants had a median of $400, though awards ranged widely; it focuses on communities near Fidelity Investments sites and also considers nationally important organizations and high-impact projects. Organizations may submit an unsolicited Letter of Inquiry; full proposals are by invitation.

Assets

$5.0B

Grants

4,430

Total Given

$156.2M

The Pfizer Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The Pfizer Foundation funds locally led health programs that improve access to care and strengthen health systems, as well as health-crisis and disaster responses, worldwide. In 2024, grants ranged from $2 to $4 million, with a median of $200. It supports only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$255.3M

Grants

9,306

Total Given

$23.2M

More Funders in Massachusetts

Pomroy Rebecca Foundation Inc (Cust) down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?