Pennsylvania Dental Foundation
Pennsylvania Dental Foundation is a private foundation, based in Harrisburg, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $965K.
Key facts about Pennsylvania Dental Foundation
In short: Pennsylvania Dental Foundation gave $965K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $965K), mostly in Pennsylvania. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 23-6420571
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $965,306
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- Average grant
- $965,306
- Median grant
- $965,306
- Primary geography
- Pennsylvania (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
—
Annual Giving
$965K
+2045.1% YoY
Grant Count
1
-66.7% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$965K
+6335.4% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Pennsylvania Dental Foundation reported a distributable amount of $324 for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Pennsylvania Dental Foundation gives
- Giving grew 1954% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Ready to take the next step with Pennsylvania Dental Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $39K (2019) to $965K (2025). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $965K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Pennsylvania Dental Foundation DBA Mom-N-Pa ($965K).
Grant Size Distribution
23 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 22 grants of 23 (96%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Pennsylvania Dental Foundation DBA Mom-N-Pa Harrisburg, PA | Final Distribution of Funds | $965,306 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | — | $967,214 | $883,518 |
| Revenue | $57 | $128,426 | $42,911 |
| Expenses | $967,271 | $49,221 | $43,712 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $965,306 | $45,000 | $40,000 |
| Net Investment Income | — | $122,510 | $38,120 |
| Distributable Amount | $324 | $43,977 | $39,899 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 15, 2020)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 15, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 11, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 12, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 12, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 11, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS March 27, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Pennsylvania Dental Foundation is led by John R. Coole DMD, President since 2025 (on filings since 2019); none of the 6 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
John R. Coole DMD
President
Trustee Since April → Trustee, 2024
Trustee → President, 2025
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Samantha Abod DMD
Trustee
Trustee Since April → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
April A. Detar DMD
Trustee
Trustee Since April → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Renee Fennell DMD
Trustee
Trustee Since April → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Samuel E. Selcher DMD
Treasurer
Treasurer → Treasurer Since April, 2023
Treasurer Since April → Treasurer, 2024
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Maria J. Tacelosky DMD
Secretary
Trustee Since April → Trustee, 2024
Trustee → Secretary, 2025
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (24)
- Former: Richard R. Grossman DDS (2019–2024) — President
- Former: Karin D. Brian DDS (2021–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Michael J. Gans DMD (2021–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Theodore J. Rockwell DMD (2021–2024) — Trustee
- Former: James Mancini DMD (2022–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Cary J. Limberakis DDS (2023–2024) — Pres-Elect
- Former: Eric L. Shirley DMD (2023–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Kayla Klingensmith (2024) — Trustee
- Former: Nancy R. Rosenthal DDS (2019–2023) — President
- Former: Charles Dombrowski DMD (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: John H. Kiessling DMD (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Nipa Thakkar DMD (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Richard D. Troxler DMD MD PhD (2020–2023) — Trustee Since April
- Former: David A. Schwartz DDS (2019–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Gary S. Davis DDS (2019–2022) — President
- Former: Marian S. Wolford Dmd Ms (2020–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Brian Schwab DMD (2022) — Trustee Since April
- Former: Dennis A. Zabelsky DMD (2019–2021) — Trustee
- Former: James A. H. Tauberg DMD (2019–2021) — President
- Former: Thomas C. Petraitis DMD (2019–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Charles J. Incalcaterra DMD (2019–2020) — President
- Former: David A. Schimmel Dmd Facd (2019–2020) — Trustee
- Former: Stanley W. Markiewicz DMD (2019–2020) — Trustee
- Former: Marian S. Wolford (2019) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Pennsylvania Dental Foundation
How much does Pennsylvania Dental Foundation give each year?
Pennsylvania Dental Foundation gave $965K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $45K across 3 grants.
Where does Pennsylvania Dental Foundation operate?
Pennsylvania Dental Foundation has awarded grants in Florida, Hawaii, Louisiana, Pennsylvania.
How much is Pennsylvania Dental Foundation required to give away each year?
Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2025, Pennsylvania Dental Foundation reported a distributable amount of $324 on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
What is Pennsylvania Dental Foundation's EIN?
Pennsylvania Dental Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-6420571. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Here's the math on researching Pennsylvania Dental Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Pennsylvania Dental Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Highmark Foundation
Pittsburgh, PA
Highmark Foundation funds evidence-based programs that improve community health, with priorities including chronic disease, family health, and health service delivery. It primarily supports communities served by Highmark, especially in Pennsylvania and West Virginia; 2024 grants ranged from $900 to $5 million, with a median of $10,000. It accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$100.9M
Grants
313
Total Given
$18.7M
Loblolly Community Foundation Inc
Hobe Sound, FL
The foundation supports charitable organizations addressing education, health, welfare, housing, youth services, and safety needs in Hobe Sound and Martin County, Florida, and also runs programs for local employees, families, students, and individuals. In 2025, grants ranged from $8,000 to $175,000, with a median of $25,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.1M
Grants
31
Total Given
$1.0M
Pennsylvania Coalition for Oral Health
Delmont, PA
The organization's mission is to improve oral health for all pennsylvanians by uniting stakeholders to advance advocacy, policy, education, and innovative approaches. By bringing together oral health advocates and professionals to share the best and most innovative approaches, the organization serves as the dynamic leading voice to improve oral health across the commonwealth.
Assets
$612K
Grants
4
Total Given
$38K
Arnold Foundation
Wilkes-Barre, PA
The Arnold Foundation funds community welfare, scholarships, and charitable organizations, including human services, housing, animal welfare, and health causes. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,000 to $7,000, with a median of $4,000; it gave across several states and prefers Luzerne County residents when funds allow. Applications are accepted at any time, and any charitable organization is eligible.
Assets
$583K
Grants
12
Total Given
$48K
Claudia K Perles Family
Lenox, MA
Assets
—
Grants
1
Total Given
$4K
Allegheny County Medical Society Foundation
Pittsburgh, PA
The Allegheny County Medical Society Foundation funds nonprofit projects that improve health and well-being in Allegheny County, including work addressing health disparities, mental health, healthy eating, and access to care. Its 2025 grants ranged from $8,500 to $20,000, with a median of $20,000; it accepts applications through an online process guided by each cycle’s RFP and eligibility requirements.
Assets
$7.3M
Grants
14
Total Given
$241K
The Feigenbaum Foundation Inc
Pittsfield, MA
The Feigenbaum Foundation funds nonprofit 501(c)(3) organizations working in education, academic and medical fields, culture, Berkshire County community services, and established religious programs, preferring organizations located in or primarily benefiting the Berkshires. Its 2024 grants ranged from $200 to $1 million, with a median of $20,000. It accepts applications through online or hard-copy options, with requests reviewed in January and May.
Assets
$78.3M
Grants
105
Total Given
$4.0M
United Way of Lebanon County Inc
Lebanon, PA
United Way of Lebanon County funds nonprofit programs and collaborations focused on health, education, family stability, and essential services for Lebanon County residents. Its 2026 guidelines offer $1,000–$25,000; in 2025, grants ranged from $5,600 to $90,000, with a $10,000 median. A 2026 application is provided, so unsolicited requests are accepted through the grant process.
Assets
$5.8M
Grants
21
Total Given
$363K
The Douglas & Tonyia Bolton
Hilton Head Island, SC
The Douglas & Tonyia Bolton Foundation makes charitable grants to organizations working in areas including health, food access, education, arts and culture, and human services; these are examples of past grantees, not stated funding priorities. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $24,085, with a median of $2,000, and most funding went to South Carolina, with grants also made in other states. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations, but application requirements are unspecified.
Assets
$1.1M
Grants
30
Total Given
$83K
Colon Cancer Coalition Inc
Minneapolis, MN
The Colon Cancer Coalition funds colorectal-cancer screening, education, patient and caregiver support, advocacy, and research, with priority for screening and patient support. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,050 to $75,000, with a median of $20,000, and support communities across North America; cash-grant applicants must be in a local Get Your Rear in Gear event area. It accepts applications year-round for review in February and August.
Assets
$5.8M
Grants
37
Total Given
$921K
The Doerr Foundation Inc
Jacksonville, FL
Assets
—
Grants
4
Total Given
$1.0M
The Haugland Family Foundation
Clackamas, OR
The Haugland Family Foundation funds education, health care, arts and culture, reproductive health, and community services, primarily in Oregon. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,500 to $1 million, with a median of $17,500; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$39.7M
Grants
28
Total Given
$2.8M
More Funders in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania Dental Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?