PCI Foundation logo

PCI Foundation

Public charity · Grantmaker Chicago, IL EIN: 36-4462696 Website

Mission of the foundation is to foster educational initiatives focused on innovative approaches to the integrated and sustainable use of precast concrete design, fabrication, and construction. PCI Foundation helps create precast-focused college experiences. The foundation funds "precast studios" at schools around the united states in partnership with local organizations who help create the curricula.

PCI Foundation at a glance

In short: PCI Foundation gave $381K across 5 grants in 2025 (avg $76K), top state Virginia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$381,000
+1424.0% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
5
+400.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$76,200
+204.8% vs 2024
Median grant
$80,000
Total assets
$598,233
-28.2% vs 2024
Primary geography
Virginia (26% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

How to apply to PCI Foundation

Who PCI Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2025

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University: $100KVirginia Polytechnic Instituteand State University$100KNorthern Arizona University: $80KNorthern Arizona University$80KUniversity of Southern Florida: $80KUniversity of Southern Florida$80KUniversity of Georgia: $71KUniversity of Georgia$71KTexas State University: $50KTexas State University$50K

The largest 2025 recipient was Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University ($100K). Together the top 5 received $381K.

Grant Size Distribution

31 grants across all recorded years

9<$50K15$50–100K7$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 15 grants of 31 (48%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

24states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

Cities

ClemsonNewarkAmherstAthensAuburn UniversityBlacksburgCharlottesvilleChicoDuluthFlagstaffHonoluluKennesawLake CharlesLexingtonLincolnLos AngelesManhattanMiamiMilwaukeeMs State

How PCI Foundation gives

  • Giving fell 51% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K$800K2 grants2020 15 grants2022 8 grants2023 1 grant2024 5 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $25K (2024) to $781K (2022). In 2025 it made 5 grants totaling $381K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Blacksburg, VAPromote Education$100,000
Northern Arizona University Flagstaff, AZPromote Education$80,000
University of Southern Florida Tampa, FLPromote Education$80,000
University of Georgia Athens, GAPromote Education$71,000
Texas State University San Marcos, TXPromote Education$50,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with PCI Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$598,233$902,142$1,003,437$381,0005$101,881
2024$832,870$708,344$785,452$25,0001$19,790
2023$1,128,927$663,448$1,129,794$684,0558$24,374
2022$1,298,319$469,574$1,153,619$781,07115$27,167
2020$1,864,807$639,823$352,959$50,0002$34,156

About PCI Foundation

Based on IRS filings

PCI Foundation is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Chicago, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $598K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 5 grants totaling $381K. Net investment income was $102K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

PCI Foundation is led by Ray Clark, Executive Director since 2024 (on filings since 2020); none of the 22 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Ray Clark

    Executive Director

    Secretary → Secretary & Development Council Chair, 2022

    Secretary & Development Council Chair → Executive Director, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Monty Oehrlein

    Chairman

    Director → Chairman & Director, 2023

    Chairman & Director → Chairman, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Adel El Safty

    Director

    Acad Coun Chair → Director, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Monty Overstreet

    Director

    Trustee → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Todd Adams

    Director

    Trustee → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dawn Decker

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matt Shea

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Paul Ramsburg

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jim Voss

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Carlos Barrios

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chris Mosley

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dan Eckenrode

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Gorgas

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shanda Lee

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Wael Zatar

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bob Risser

    Ex-Officio

    Director → Ex-Officio, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nancy Peterson

    Vice Chairman

    Secretary & Development Counsel → Director, 2024

    Director → Vice Chairman, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Patty Petersen

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cheryl Lang

    Ex-Officio

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jason Lien

    Ex-Officio

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jon Mohle

    Ex-Officio

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kim Wacker

    Treasurer

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (21)
  • Former: Dan Juntunen (2020–2024) — Treasurer
  • Former: Dean Gwin (2020–2024) — Director
  • Former: Lloyd Kennedy (2020–2024) — Director
  • Former: Adel El-Safty (2022–2024) — Director
  • Former: Carlos Cerna (2023–2024) — Director
  • Former: Chris Kercsmar (2023–2024) — Director
  • Former: Andy Osborne (2024) — Director
  • Former: James R. Voss (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Marty McIntyre (2022–2023) — Executive Director
  • Former: Christopher J. Pastorius (2020–2022) — Vice Chairman
  • Former: Doug Bevier (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Peter Finsen (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Ruth Lehmann (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Andrew Osborn (2022) — Director
  • Former: Gregory Force (2022) — Chairman
  • Former: Matt Ballain (2022) — Director
  • Former: Greg Force (2020) — Vice Chairman
  • Former: J. Matt De Voss (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Marianne Methven (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: MARTHA McINTYRE (2020) — Executive Director
  • Former: Robert J. Risser (2020) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about PCI Foundation

How much does PCI Foundation give each year?

PCI Foundation gave $381K across 5 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $25K across 1 grant.

What is PCI Foundation's typical grant size?

PCI Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $80,000, and its average grant was $76,200, across 5 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does PCI Foundation give grants?

PCI Foundation's top state is Virginia, with 26% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were Arizona (21%) and Florida (21%).

Does PCI Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 5 grants with a stated purpose on PCI Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Promote Education" (5 grants).

Who are PCI Foundation's largest grantees?

PCI Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University ($100,000), Northern Arizona University ($80,000) and University of Southern Florida ($80,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 68% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is PCI Foundation?

PCI Foundation reported $598K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $902K.

What is PCI Foundation?

PCI Foundation is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Chicago, IL. It holds $598K in total assets as of 2025.

What is PCI Foundation's EIN?

PCI Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-4462696. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 5, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS December 21, 2023)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 13, 2024)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS March 6, 2025)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS January 19, 2026)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Live grants for the work PCI Foundation funds

Community Improvement & Capacity Building Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in PCI Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

American Chemical Society

Washington, DC

The American Chemical Society funds chemistry research, education, scholarships, fellowships, student activities, and related projects through programs for researchers, institutions, educators, students, and ACS groups. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,200 to $504,691, with a median of $31,252; funding supports U.S. and international research, though some programs are limited to U.S.-based applicants. The profile does not state whether ACS accepts unsolicited requests.

Science & Technology

Assets

$2.2B

Grants

341

Total Given

$22.4M

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

Johns Hopkins University funds a broad range of education, research, health, and community-related work, with 2025 grants ranging from $5,500 to nearly $95 million and a median of $100,000; many of the largest awards were sub-awards. Its grants went to organizations across the U.S., with the largest shares in California and Maryland, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$25.3B

Grants

813

Total Given

$594.1M

The Simons Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The Simons Foundation funds research and public engagement in mathematics and the physical, life, autism, and neuroscience sciences. In 2024, it made 1,727 grants, with a median award of $72,000 and amounts ranging from $1,480 to $20 million, supporting organizations in the U.S. and internationally. It states that it funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.5B

Grants

1,727

Total Given

$272.0M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Alfred P Sloan Foundation

New York, NY

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation primarily funds original research and education in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and economics, with grants across the United States. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to about $1.48 million, with a median of about $98,000. It accepts unsolicited requests year-round through program-specific processes, beginning with a Letter of Inquiry.

Education

Assets

$2.2B

Grants

522

Total Given

$89.0M

American Heart Association Inc

Dallas, TX

The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational and population research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular and brain health, along with research training and education programs. In 2025 it awarded 833 grants totaling about $198 million; amounts ranged from $5,000 to nearly $9.93 million, with a median of $20,000. Research awards are for eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions, and the profile describes a formal proposal process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

833

Total Given

$198.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Illinois

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from PCI Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

PCI Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?