Outcomes Research Institute

Private foundation · Grantmaker Stanford, CA EIN: 91-2145776

Outcomes Research Institute is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Stanford, CA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $50K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $191K.

Outcomes Research Institute at a glance

In short: Outcomes Research Institute gave $191K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $96K), top state Massachusetts. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$191,000
+2.7% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
2
+100.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$95,500
-48.7% vs 2024
Median grant
$95,500
Total assets
$49,928
-79.4% vs 2024
Primary geography
Massachusetts (3% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Outcomes Research Institute funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 2 recipients in 2025

ifo Institute: $186Kifo Institute$186KEmpower Schools: $5KEmpower Schools$5K

The largest 2025 recipient was ifo Institute ($186K). Together the top 2 received $191K.

Grant Size Distribution

11 grants across all recorded years

7<$50K$50–100K4$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 7 grants of 11 (64%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

3states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.

Cities

BostonNew YorkSan FranciscoStanfordMenloPalo AltoPetalumaRedwood City

How Outcomes Research Institute gives

  • Giving grew 2147% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2023 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300KTotal only2019 3 grants2020 3 grants2021 4 grants2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 2 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $9K (2022) to $248K (2020). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $191K.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
ifo Institute ifo Institute is a department of the University of Munich the equivalent of a public charity. The grant supports research involving deepening and expanding previous research on international comparative education studies conducted by the ifo Institute.$186,000
Empower Schools Boston, MAEmpower Schools partners with communities to help them get the schools they want with the results their students need. It holds an annual innovation conference. ORI provided sponsorship for the event.$5,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Outcomes Research Institute?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsDistributable Amount
2025$49,928—$193,027$191,0002$191,000—
2024$242,955$200,000$186,734$186,0001$186,000—
2023$229,689$400,000$190,856$186,0001$186,000$2,297
2022$20,545—$24,016$8,5004$8,500—
2021$53,061$200,300$189,228$188,3753$188,375—
2020$49,833—$251,221$247,5003—$7,034
2019$304,084$253,030$248,771$237,500Total only——

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Outcomes Research Institute is led by Margaret E Raymond, President on every filing since 2019; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Margaret E Raymond

    President

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Eric A Hanushek

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Steven G Rivkin

    Secretary

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Outcomes Research Institute

How much does Outcomes Research Institute give each year?

Outcomes Research Institute gave $191K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $186K across 1 grant.

How large is Outcomes Research Institute?

Outcomes Research Institute reported $50K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

What is Outcomes Research Institute?

Outcomes Research Institute is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Stanford, CA. It holds $50K in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Outcomes Research Institute operate?

Outcomes Research Institute has awarded grants in California, Massachusetts, New York.

What is Outcomes Research Institute's EIN?

Outcomes Research Institute's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 91-2145776. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(8)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS August 28, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS January 10, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 9, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 21, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 12, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 23, 2025)
  7. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS March 21, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Outcomes Research Institute's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Center For Applied Science & Technology Network

San Antonio, TX

The Center for Applied Science & Technology Network (CAST) is a San Antonio-based network of tuition-free public schools with a mission to reinvent schooling in order to maximize options for students while preparing them for college, career, and life. Open to all Bexar County students. The Network includes CAST Tech, CAST Teach,CAST Stem, CAST Med, CAST Lead, CAST Imagine and Advanced Learning Academy. Schools are co-created with industries and partners with area public school districts including Northside ISD,San Antonio ISD, Southwest ISD and East Central ISD. For more information, visit castschools.com.

Education

Assets

$1.7M

Grants

2

Total Given

$35K

Good Reason Houston Inc

Houston, TX

Good Reason Houston strives to grow and sustain great schools while advocating for families and communities.

Education

Assets

$17.5M

Grants

2

Total Given

$364K

Yampa Valley Partnership for Students STEWARDSHIP&SUSTAINABILITY

Craig, CO

To unite educators, industry leaders, and students throughout the yampa valley with a goal of creating shared career pathways and career-connected opportunities that empower students and contribute to a resilient region.

Assets

$61K

Grants

6

Total Given

$191K

Charleston Coalition for Kids

Charleston, SC

Education

Assets

$26K

Grants

7

Total Given

$600K

Lyra

Denver, CO

LYRA funds education initiatives addressing challenges such as climate literacy, green-skills and career pathways, rural education, and youth leadership, primarily in Colorado’s rural and urban communities. In 2025, its 14 grants ranged from $5,500 to $40,000, with a median of $10,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.1M

Grants

14

Total Given

$268K

South Carolina Childrens Fund

Columbia, SC

South Carolina Children’s Fund supports education organizations serving underserved students, including public and charter schools, educator pipelines, advocacy, research, and community-based services. Its 2025 grants ranged from $15,000 to $125,000, with a median of $30,000; most funding went to South Carolina recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$982K

Grants

15

Total Given

$575K

More similar funders

More Funders in California

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Outcomes Research Institute's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Outcomes Research Institute down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?