Orrville United Way Inc logo

Orrville United Way Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Orrville, OH EIN: 34-1017865 Website

ORRVILLE UNITED WAY INC is an Orrville, Ohio, public charity that brings people and resources together to address community needs in Orrville, Dalton, and Marshallville. It funds local programs in four impact areas and directly manages five Percy Programs, according to its website.

Key facts about Orrville United Way Inc

In short: Orrville United Way Inc gave $400K across 11 grants in 2024 (avg $36K), mostly in Ohio. 9% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

EIN
34-1017865
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$400,000
Grants made (2024)
11
Average grant
$36,364
Median grant
$30,000
New grantees (estimate)
9% first-time grantees (1 of 11, 2024)
Total assets
$634,970
Primary geography
Ohio (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
How to apply
The website directs nonprofit applicants to use its portal for applications and required reporting. Full details ↓
Deadline
The 2027 Sustaining Grant application deadline was September 4, 2026, at noon.

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$635K

+17.4% YoY

Annual Giving

$400K

-16.6% YoY

Grant Count

11

+0.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$36K

-16.6% YoY

Is Orrville United Way Inc open to new grantees?

9%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 1 of 11 grantees (9%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $15K; repeat grants $39K. How we count

Medians: $15K first-time, $32K repeat.

  • 91% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (+4%). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The organization’s stated mission is to improve lives by uniting people and resources to advance the common good in Orrville, Dalton, and Marshallville, with the goal of creating lasting changes that prevent future community problems.

Its four stated impact areas are Healthy Community, Youth Opportunity, Developing Life Skills & Financial Security (also described as Financial Security), and Community Resiliency. The 2024 filing describes supported programming that includes youth development and education, health and wellness, assistance with basic needs, and services related to housing, meals, transportation, mental health, and healthcare for the uninsured.

Examples of organizations it supported include the Orrville Area Boys & Girls Club, whose stated mission is to support children’s personal development through organized programs; OneEighty Inc, whose stated mission includes domestic-violence shelter and counseling, and addiction treatment and prevention; and OHuddle Incorporated, whose stated mission is to support youth through hope-filled relationships and one-to-one mentorship.

Grantmaking

The organization’s 2024, 2023, and 2022 filings each report a grant count of zero. Separately, listed 2020 grants include $114,000 to the Orrville Area Boys & Girls Club, $29,059 to OneEighty Inc, and $5,000 to OHuddle Incorporated. The available information does not give a typical grant size.

Grant Range

.

Review Cycle

, attendance at a required Grant Release Meeting was a prerequisite to applying. Applicants were also required to submit an online application and participate in an in-person presentation with the Citizen Review Committee, which makes funding recommendations to the board. The application window, August 7 through September 4, 2026, is past.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Orrville United Way Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The organization states that it serves Orrville, Dalton, and Marshallville in eastern Wayne County, Ohio. Its nonprofit grant portal is for agencies serving those communities.

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 11 itemized grants.

States

Cities

WoosterOrrvilleNorth CantonCantonClevelandDalton

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K19 grants2020 11 grants2021 Total only2022 11 grants2023 11 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $384K (2021) to $479K (2023). In 2024 it made 11 grants totaling $400K.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Orrville Area Boys and Girls Club: $105KOrrville Area Boys and GirlsClub$105KSalvation Army: $70KSalvation Army$70KOneeighty Inc: $45KOneeighty Inc$45KViola Startzman Free Clinic: $45KViola Startzman Free Clinic$45KWayne County Children's Services: $34KWayne County Children'sServices$34KWayne County Schools: $30KWayne County Schools$30KO-Huddle: $25KO-Huddle$25KYMCA of Wayne County: $17KYMCA of Wayne County$17KAultman Orrville Hospital-Serenity Program: $15KAultman OrrvilleHospital-Serenity Program$15KNAMI Moca House: $9KNAMI Moca House$9K

The largest 2024 recipient was Orrville Area Boys and Girls Club ($105K). Together the top 10 received $395K.

Grant Size Distribution

52 grants across all recorded years

43<$50K5$50–100K4$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 43 grants of 52 (83%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Orrville Area Boys and Girls Club Orrville, OHAllocation$104,500
Salvation Army Orrville, OHAllocation$70,000
Oneeighty Inc Wooster, OHAllocation$45,000
Viola Startzman Free Clinic Wooster, OHAllocation$45,000
Wayne County Children's Services Wooster, OHAllocation$34,000
Wayne County Schools Wooster, OHAllocation$30,000
O-Huddle Wooster, OHAllocation$25,000
YMCA of Wayne County Wooster, OHAllocation$17,000
Aultman Orrville Hospital-Serenity Program Canton, OHAllocation$15,000
NAMI Moca House Wooster, OHAllocation$9,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Reported grant count
2024 $634,970 $777,788 $695,233 0
2023 $540,981 $762,789 $743,735 0
2022 $523,377 $698,259 $639,096 0
Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$250K$500K$750K$1M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$634,970$540,981$523,377
Revenue$777,788$762,789$698,259
Expenses$695,233$743,735$639,096
Net Investment Income$9,049$1,452$81

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 12, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 15, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 13, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 14, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 17, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists Ann McPeek as president; Walter Samson as immediate past president; Susan Tucker as vice president; Pete Krogh as treasurer; and Sarah Colucy as secretary. It also lists Alanna Costello, Janine Hutchison, Michael Oliver, Casey Ray, and Karen Shultz as board members.

Orrville United Way Inc is led by James Carpenter, Executive Director on the 2024 filing; 2 of 14 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • James Carpenter

    Executive Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $44K (2024)

  • Ann McPeek

    President

    Secretary → Vice President, 2023

    Vice President → President, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dawn Cazzolli

    Former Executive Director

    Current Executive Director → Executive Director, 2021

    Executive Director → Former Executive Director, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $43K (2020) → $24K (2024)

  • Karen Shultz

    Board Member

    Treasurer → Finance & Audit Committee, 2021

    Finance & Audit Committee → Board Member, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Oliver

    Board Member

    Director → Board Member, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pete Krogh

    Treasurer

    Past President → Treasurer, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Arlin Steiner

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Casey Ray

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Susan Tucker

    Vice President

    Board Member → Vice President, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Katelyn Shultz

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Walter Samson

    Immediate Past President

    President → Immediate Past President, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alanna Costello

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Janine Hutchison

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sarah Colucy

    Secretary

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (17)
  • Former: Carrie Foy (2020–2023) — Immediate Past President
  • Former: Andrew Dalessandro (2021–2023) — Secretary
  • Former: Sarah Birchfield (2021–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: David Rittgers (2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Melissa Craemer Smith (2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Walt Samson (2020–2022) — Vice President
  • Former: Jenny McFarren (2021–2022) — Grant Coordinator
  • Former: Michele Wilson (2021–2022) — Administrator
  • Former: Melissa Craemer-Smith (2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Amy Strunk (2020) — Director
  • Former: Deb Bukovitz (2020) — Immediate Past President
  • Former: Jeff Eshelman (2020) — Director
  • Former: John Roncone (2020) — Director
  • Former: Phil McFarren (2020) — Vice President
  • Former: Randy Gehres (2020) — Director
  • Former: Sally Criss (2020) — Former Executive Director
  • Former: Steven Seifried (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

James Carpenter — Executive Director: $44KJames CarpenterExecutive Director$44KDawn Cazzolli — Former Executive Director: $24KDawn CazzolliFormer Executive Director$24K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $44K, to James Carpenter (Executive Director). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Contact

Mailing address: 135 North Main Street, Orrville, OH 44667
Phone: (330) 683-8181
Website: https://orrvilleareaunitedway.org

Frequently asked questions about Orrville United Way Inc

How much does Orrville United Way Inc give each year?

Orrville United Way Inc gave $400K across 11 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $479K across 11 grants.

What is Orrville United Way Inc's typical grant size?

Orrville United Way Inc's median grant in 2024 was $30,000, and its average grant was $36,364, across 11 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from Orrville United Way Inc that year got $15K on average.

Where does Orrville United Way Inc give grants?

Orrville United Way Inc gives mostly in Ohio: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Wooster, OH (7 grants) and Orrville, OH (2 grants).

Does Orrville United Way Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 11 grants with a stated purpose on Orrville United Way Inc's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Allocation" (11 grants).

Who are Orrville United Way Inc's largest grantees?

Orrville United Way Inc's largest 2024 grantees include Orrville Area Boys and Girls Club ($104,500), Salvation Army ($70,000) and Oneeighty Inc ($45,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 55% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Orrville United Way Inc?

Orrville United Way Inc reported $635K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $778K.

What does Orrville United Way Inc fund?

The organization’s stated mission is to improve lives by uniting people and resources to advance the common good in Orrville, Dalton, and Marshallville, with the goal of creating lasting changes that prevent future community problems. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Orrville United Way Inc?

The website directs nonprofit applicants to use its portal for applications and required reporting. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Orrville United Way Inc's EIN?

Orrville United Way Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-1017865. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Orrville United Way Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Orrville United Way Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Wayne County Community Foundation

Wooster, OH

The Wayne County Community Foundation funds capital and program projects in arts and culture, community affairs, conservation, education, health, and human services, primarily benefiting Wayne County, Ohio. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, though awards varied widely; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$156.4M

Grants

137

Total Given

$7.8M

United Way of Wayne and Holmes CO

Wooster, OH

United Way of Wayne and Holmes Counties funds local nonprofit programs addressing health and behavioral health, basic needs, workforce development, and youth development in Wayne and Holmes Counties, Ohio. In 2024, its 18 grants ranged from $15,000 to $197,500, with a median award of $30,000. It describes application-based community and micro-grant opportunities, but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.1M

Grants

18

Total Given

$997K

Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley

Youngstown, OH

The Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley funds nonprofits and public institutions working in health, education, economic development, human services, and historical, cultural, or environmental activities, with grants benefiting Mahoning or Trumbull county residents and surrounding areas. Its 2024 grants had a median of $15,000 and ranged from $5,125 to $317,215; applications are required, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$50.1M

Grants

133

Total Given

$3.6M

Willard E Smucker Foundation

Orrville, OH

The Willard E Smucker Foundation supports charitable organizations, including community, health, arts and culture, and education programs. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,000 to $300,000, with a median of $15,000; funding primarily went to Ohio, with grants also made in other states. It supports only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$609K

Grants

59

Total Given

$1.2M

Wooster Elks Lodge No 1346

Wooster, OH

The foundation supports community organizations and programs, including youth activities, veterans, health services, and adaptive sports, with most funding going to Ohio. Its 2025 grants ranged from $300 to $12,000, with a median of $2,000. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$23K

Grants

56

Total Given

$144K

Donald & Alice Noble Foundation Inc

Wooster, OH

The Donald & Alice Noble Foundation supports preselected charitable organizations working across varied fields, with most funding going to Ohio organizations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $200 to $459,673, with a median grant of $5,000. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests.

Assets

$21.4M

Grants

60

Total Given

$1.2M

Charles W & Laura B Frick Irr

Pittsburgh, PA

This Pittsburgh-based foundation supports services including emergency shelter, counseling, housing, arts, hospice care, food distribution, and education. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,600 to $25,000, with a median of $10,000, and mostly went to organizations in Ohio, followed by Virginia and New York. The filing says it does not limit giving to preselected organizations, but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$4.0M

Grants

17

Total Given

$184K

The Westfield Insurance Foundation

Westfield, OH

The Westfield Insurance Foundation funds nonprofits focused on family stability, disaster recovery, and safety, with emphasis on addressing barriers related to systemic racism. Its 2024 grants ranged from $26 to $500,000, with a median of $3,000; most funding went to Ohio, with support also reaching organizations elsewhere. It accepts requests electronically at any time and does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$35.6M

Grants

287

Total Given

$2.7M

Oneohio Recovery Foundation Inc

Westerville, OH

OneOhio Recovery Foundation funds evidence-based opioid misuse prevention, treatment, and recovery services in Ohio through a competitive grant process. In 2024, grants ranged from $8,900 to $1,081,000, with a median of about $146,000. Its Cycle #2 funding inquiry is closed; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Mental Health & Crisis Intervention

Assets

$236.7M

Grants

178

Total Given

$35.6M

Lehner Family Foundation

Akron, OH

The Lehner Family Foundation supports 501(c)(3) organizations serving primarily Summit County, Ohio, with 2024 grants benefiting work in areas such as conservation, health care, arts and culture, education, and community services. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $150,000, with a median of $5,000. It accepts requests from organizations beyond a preselected list; applicants should contact the executive director and submit the requested materials by one of four annual deadlines.

Assets

$12.0M

Grants

96

Total Given

$1.2M

Columbus Foundation

Columbus, OH

The Columbus Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including arts and culture, education, youth, neighborhoods, basic needs, and capacity building, with a median 2024 grant of about $21,500. Its focus is Central Ohio, though it also funds organizations elsewhere; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

1,747

Total Given

$242.7M

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation supports education, affordable housing, arts and culture, community well-being, neighborhood development, and basic needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, while specific opportunities range from small awards to grants of up to $450,000. It offers open RFP and LOI opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside those opportunities.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

1,408

Total Given

$184.4M

More Funders in Ohio

Orrville United Way Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?