Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason
To encourage a high standard of skill; fair standard of wages; assist each other in securing employment; protect the jurisdiction of the trade
Key facts about Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason
In short: Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason gave $11K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $5K), mostly in Missouri. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 44-0194955
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $10,750
- Grants made (2025)
- 2
- Average grant
- $5,375
- Median grant
- $5,375
- Total assets
- $2,730,796
- Primary geography
- Missouri (51% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$2.7M
+31.5% YoY
Annual Giving
$11K
+72.0% YoY
Grant Count
2
+100.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$5K
-14.0% YoY
How Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason gives
- Giving grew 115% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason
Based on IRS filings
Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason is a public charity, based in Independence, MO. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $2.7M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $11K. Net investment income was $66K.
Ready to take the next step with Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2022 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2022) to $11K (2025). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $11K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 2 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Working Families Friend ($6K). Together the top 2 received $11K.
Grant Size Distribution
5 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 5 grants of 5 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Working Families Friend Kansas City, MO | Event Sponsorships | $5,500 |
| Union Sportsmen's Alliance Spring Hill, TN | Event Sponsorships | $5,250 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $2,730,796 | $2,077,091 | $1,707,021 |
| Revenue | $2,730,439 | $2,428,619 | $2,255,676 |
| Expenses | $2,077,335 | $2,142,580 | $1,827,346 |
| Net Investment Income | $66,047 | $-25,014 | $16,854 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason is led by Gordon Hitt, President & Business Agent since 2020 (on filings since 2019); 4 of 8 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Gordon Hitt
President & Business Agent
Bus Agent Trustee → President & Business Agent, 2020
On filings since 2019
41 hrs/week
$42K (2019) → $107K (2025)
David Clay
Trustee
Trustee → Trustee & Organizer, 2021
Trustee & Organizer → Trustee, 2025
On filings since 2020
41 hrs/week
$8K (2021) → $95K (2025)
Phil Mount
Trustee
On filings since 2023
41 hrs/week
$91K (2023) → $108K (2025)
Kevin Nesbitt
Trustee
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Whitney Chandler
Trustee
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kevin Gard
Bus Manager, Secretary & Treasurer
Sgt at Arms Bus Agent → Bus Manager, Secretary & Treasurer, 2020
On filings since 2019
41 hrs/week
$78K (2019) → $120K (2025)
Tina Read
Sargeant at Arms
Sergeant at Arms → Sargeant at Arms, 2025
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
$12K (2020) → $0 (2025)
Kenneth Gorham
Vice President
Trustee → Vice President, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (6)
- Former: Alise Martiny (2019–2023) — Vice President -
- Former: David R. Kirkpatrick (2019–2023) — Trustee & Business Agent -
- Former: Lamont Curtis (2019–2023) — Trustee -
- Former: David F. Willette (2019–2021) — Vice President
- Former: Brian Randle (2019–2020) — Trustee
- Former: Mike Gard (2019–2020) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $120K, to Kevin Gard (Bus MGR/Secretary/Treasurer). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason
How much does Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason give each year?
Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason gave $11K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $6K across 1 grant.
How large is Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason?
Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason reported $2.7M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $2.7M.
Where does Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason operate?
Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason has awarded grants in Missouri, Tennessee.
What is Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason's EIN?
Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 44-0194955. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Intl Union of Elevator Constructors
Philadelphia, PA
The local is a labor organization formed principally to unite and advance its members. The local enforces the provisions of collectively bargained agreements and administers grievances, arbitration and litigation to secure improved wages, hours, working conditions and other economic advantages. The local represents elevator constructors in southeastern Pennsylvania, central and southern New Jersey, and northern and central Delaware.
Assets
$5.8M
Grants
4
Total Given
$28K
Utility Workers Union of America Uwua
Washington, DC
To unite workers employed in the utility industries.
Assets
$44.7M
Grants
3
Total Given
$36K
United Union of Roofers Waterproofers and Allied Workers
Washington, DC
International labor union
Assets
$54.3M
Grants
4
Total Given
$99K
United Association of Journeymen & Apprentices of the Plumbing & Pipe
Annapolis, MD
The United Association supports members, their families and communities through training, disaster relief, emergency assistance and community support, with grants also going to pipe-trades organizations. Its 2025 grants ranged from $7,500 to $2.15 million, with a median of about $90,000, and went to recipients across North America. The available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$532.9M
Grants
88
Total Given
$38.9M
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
Washington, DC
IBEW sometimes contributes to tax-exempt organizations for programmatic support, including worker, economic-development, conservation, and policy activities, though it says it is not a grant-making organization. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,500 to $3 million, with a median of $17,500; most grant dollars went to recipients in Washington, DC, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$950.5M
Grants
30
Total Given
$4.5M
Operative Plasterers and Cement Masons'
Columbia, MD
The operative plasterers' & cement masons' intl association's primary mission is to achieve a fair wage, safer work environment and better fringe benefits for its union employees and members.
Assets
$64.7M
Grants
3
Total Given
$50K
Communications Workers of America AFL-CIO CLC
Washington, DC
Communications Workers of America’s Growth Fund supports union organizing, legislative and political work, education, leadership development, and related economic-justice and democracy efforts, primarily in the United States. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,500 to $250,000, with a median of $15,000. The request process involves CWA locals, districts, sectors, or divisions; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.
Assets
$588.2M
Grants
52
Total Given
$1.4M
American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations
Washington, DC
The AFL-CIO supports worker organizing, collective bargaining, and related worker and labor programs, with its Organizing Fund prioritizing strategic campaigns led by national or international unions. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,938 to $8.56 million, with a median of $57,500; funding went mainly to Washington, DC, with recipients also across the country. Organizing Fund requests are developed with the AFL-CIO Organizing Department by unions seeking support; the profile does not state whether other unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$159.5M
Grants
136
Total Given
$29.0M
Western Asset Management Company
Pasadena, CA
Western Asset Management Company funds education, humanitarian aid, religious activities, and other charitable work, primarily in California, with some giving in New York and other states. Its 2026 grants ranged from $100 to $6,772, with a median of $1,000. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$10K
Grants
66
Total Given
$55K
United Union of Roofers Waterproofers
Oak Brook, IL
To unite and mutually obligate all members for the purpose of securing concerted action in all matters regarding their welfare and interests.
Assets
$14.1M
Grants
5
Total Given
$48K
International Brotherhood of Electrical
Boothwyn, PA
Labor organization, collective bargaining
Assets
$8.2M
Grants
2
Total Given
$11K
Chicago Federation of Labor and Industrial Union Council
Chicago, IL
Labor council
Assets
$8.5M
Grants
3
Total Given
$28K
More Funders in Missouri
Operative Plasterers & Cement Mason down — hundreds of funders to go?