Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio

Private foundation · Grantmaker Milwaukie, OR EIN: 03-0464922

NOEL C NELSON & CHILDREN FOUNDATIO is a private foundation based in Milwaukie, Oregon. In its 2025 filing, it reported 20 grants totaling $39,213 to charitable organizations, including organizations working in children’s health, disaster relief, education, and other areas.

Key facts about Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio

In short: Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio gave $39K across 20 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), top state Oregon. 0% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
03-0464922
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$39,213
Grants made (2025)
20
Average grant
$1,961
Median grant
$1,400
New grantees (estimate)
0% first-time grantees (0 of 20, 2025)
Total assets
$609,576
Primary geography
Oregon (28% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$610K

-12.4% YoY

Annual Giving

$39K

+7.8% YoY

Grant Count

20

+0.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$2K

+7.8% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio reported a distributable amount of $44K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio open to new grantees?

0%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 0 of 20 grantees (0%) were first-time recipients. How we count

  • 100% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−5%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 113% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants went to organizations with varied purposes, including children’s hospitals, disaster relief, medical support, education, food assistance, homelessness services, and guide dog training.

Some grantees describe their own missions as follows: Operation Smile says it provides surgery for people born with cleft lip and cleft palate and supports medical education and health-system strengthening; Guide Dogs for the Blind says it creates partnerships between people, dogs, and communities; and Shepherd’s House Ministries says it serves people in need while sharing its Christian faith. These are the grantees’ descriptions, not statements of the foundation’s mission.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2025, the foundation made 20 grants totaling $39,213. Grants ranged from $300 to $5,900, with a median grant of $1,400.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The 2025 filing’s grant-dollar distribution was led by Oregon (28%), followed by Tennessee (15%), the District of Columbia (9%), and Maryland and Arkansas (8% each). The listed grants also included recipients in other states.

Grant Distribution by State

13states

Share of all 20 itemized 2025 grant dollars.

Cities

PortlandHagerstownWashingtonAshlandBendBostonChamberlainFairfieldHappy ValleyLittle RockMemphisSan RafaelVirginia BeachBooneCincinnati

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K20 grants202021 grants202120 grants202220 grants202320 grants202420 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $26K (2020) to $41K (2022). In 2025 it made 20 grants totaling $39K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

St Jude Children's Hospital: $6KSt Jude Children's Hospital$6KMedical Teams International: $5KMedical Teams International$5KSmile Train: $3KSmile Train$3KHeifer Foundation: $3KHeifer Foundation$3KOperation Smile: $3KOperation Smile$3KDoctors Without Borders: $2KDoctors Without Borders$2KSt Joseph's Indian School: $2KSt Joseph's Indian School$2KGuide Dogs for the Blind: $2KGuide Dogs for the Blind$2KMercy Corps: $2KMercy Corps$2KRonald McDonald House: $1KRonald McDonald House$1K

The largest 2025 recipient was St Jude Children's Hospital ($6K). Together the top 10 received $30K.

Grant Size Distribution

101 grants across all recorded years

101<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 101 grants of 101 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
St Jude Children's Hospital Memphis, TNChildren's Hospital$5,900
Medical Teams International Portland, ORDisaster Relief$5,100
Smile Train Washington, DCChildren with Cleft Palate$3,200
Heifer Foundation Little Rock, ARFood for Needy$3,000
Operation Smile Virginia Beach, VACleft Palate Treatement$3,000
Doctors Without Borders Hagerstown, MDMedical Support for Poor Nations$2,400
St Joseph's Indian School Chamberlain, SDEducation for Indian Children$2,100
Guide Dogs for the Blind San Rafael, CAGuide Dog Training$1,900
Mercy Corps Boone, IAEmergency Relief$1,900
Ronald McDonald House Portland, ORHouses for Families with Sick Childr$1,400

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2025 $609,576 −$13,856 $72,685 $39,213
2024 $696,117 $211,757 $63,039 $36,390
2023 $547,399 −$60,626 $53,347 $39,696
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$100K$200K$300K202020212022202320242025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$609,576$696,117$547,399
Revenue$-13,856$211,757$-60,626
Expenses$72,685$63,039$53,347
Qualifying Distributions$49,715$47,644$45,301
Net Investment Income—$196,362$15,043
Distributable Amount$44,174$39,213$36,639

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS September 3, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS June 22, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 22, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 26, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS January 31, 2025)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS February 27, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Noel C. Nelson as president, Tom Dragicevic as treasurer, and Gabriel I. Levin and Elizabeth R. Levin as board members.

Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio is led by Noel C. Nelson, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Noel C. Nelson

    President

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Elizabeth R. Levin

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Gabriel I. Levin

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Tom Dragicevic

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: 6400 Se Lake Road Ste 400, Milwaukie, OR 97222
Phone: (503) 786-7320

Frequently asked questions about Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio

How much does Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio give each year?

Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio gave $39K across 20 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $36K across 20 grants.

What is Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio's typical grant size?

Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio's median grant in 2025 was $1,400, and its average grant was $1,961, across 20 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio give grants?

Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio's top state is Oregon, with 28% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Tennessee (15%) and District of Columbia (9%). The most frequent recipient cities were Portland, OR (5 grants), Washington, DC (2 grants) and Hagerstown, MD (2 grants).

Does Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 20 grants with a stated purpose on Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.

Who are Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio's largest grantees?

Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio's largest 2025 grantees include St Jude Children's Hospital ($5,900), Medical Teams International ($5,100) and Smile Train ($3,200), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 36% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio?

Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio reported $610K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $50K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $44K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants went to organizations with varied purposes, including children’s hospitals, disaster relief, medical support, education, food assistance, homelessness services, and guide dog training. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio?

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio's EIN?

Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 03-0464922. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Does Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Lamb Weston Charitable Foundation

Eagle, ID

The foundation funds 501(c)(3) community programs, employee matching gifts, and scholarships for employees’ children, with recent grants supporting food banks and hunger relief. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,000 to $795,172, with a median of $40,565, and supported communities where Lamb Weston operates and employees live and work, including Idaho, Minnesota, Washington, and Oregon. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.9M

Grants

11

Total Given

$1.3M

Duke Energy Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce development, local economic development and recovery, disaster resilience, conservation, and economic opportunity in communities across North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. It reports more than $30 million in annual charitable grants; awards vary widely, with a 2024 median of $25,000, and applications of $20,000 or less are accepted on a rolling basis. Applicants should contact their local Foundation representative before applying.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$25.6M

The Beck Foundation Inc

Fairfax Station, VA

The Beck Foundation supports wounded veterans and their families, education, and a broad range of local, humanitarian, religious, healthcare, and military organizations, with a central program at Arkansas State University. In 2026 it awarded 65 grants ranging from $25 to $115,000, with a median grant of $1,000; much of its giving went to Arkansas, followed by Virginia. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.8M

Grants

65

Total Given

$419K

The Carol J Adragna

Depew, NY

The foundation primarily supports scholarships for Western New York high school seniors pursuing college studies in music education, performance, or therapy, and also gives to charitable organizations. In 2025, grants ranged from $1,250 to $20,000, with a median of $5,000. Scholarship candidates are recommended and audition before the committee; the filing says there is no formal application process, and it does not state whether unsolicited requests for organizational grants are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$8.6M

Grants

73

Total Given

$389K

McKesson Foundation Inc

Dallas, TX

McKesson Foundation supports healthcare access across the U.S. and Canada, focusing on cancer, healthcare workforce training, and emergency response, especially for vulnerable communities; local priorities include Atlanta, Columbus, Dallas-Fort Worth, Houston, Memphis, Montreal, Richmond, and Toronto. Its 2025 grants ranged from $10,000 to $2.47 million, with a median of $100,000. Its filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests, while its current website describes online applications: up to $25,000 year-round and larger requests from February 1 through April 30.

Assets

$1.6M

Grants

76

Total Given

$16.6M

The Granoff Family Foundation

Palm Beach, FL

Assets

$193K

Grants

92

Total Given

$115K

United Way Worldwide

Alexandria, VA

United Way Worldwide supports community-focused work in health, youth opportunity, financial security, resilience, disaster recovery, education, and human services, including local United Way organizations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,100 to $736,333, with a median of $22,675, and went to recipients across multiple U.S. states; it describes its broader reach as global. No application process for unsolicited grant requests is specified.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$68.0M

Grants

209

Total Given

$11.4M

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health-access initiatives for disproportionately affected populations, including cancer, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation, in the United States and internationally. In 2024, its median grant was $134,090, though awards varied widely; it says application materials are available upon request and advises organizations to contact it about the process, but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

The Donald and Barbara Zucker

New York, NY

Assets

$17.1M

Grants

217

Total Given

$9.6M

Baker Hughes Foundation

Houston, TX

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.2M

Grants

990

Total Given

$3.2M

The Oregon Community Foundation

Portland, OR

The Oregon Community Foundation funds nonprofit work in areas including education, health, arts and culture, housing, and community vitality, primarily serving communities across Oregon. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $25,000, though amounts varied widely; organizations apply through specific open grant programs, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

2,149

Total Given

$171.4M

More Funders in Oregon

Noel C Nelson & Children Foundatio down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?