Newtown Macon Inc logo

Newtown Macon Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Macon, GA EIN: 58-2273893 Website

Invest time, resources, and money in local people and businesses to revitalize downtown macon.

Newtown Macon Inc at a glance

In short: Newtown Macon Inc gave $35K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $18K), mostly in Georgia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$35,000
-72.5% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
2
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$17,500
-72.5% vs 2024
Median grant
$17,500
Total assets
$47,364,573
+8.6% vs 2024
Primary geography
Georgia (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Newtown Macon Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 2 recipients in 2025

Otis Redding Foundation Inc: $25KOtis Redding Foundation Inc$25KMacon Pops: $10KMacon Pops$10K

The largest 2025 recipient was Otis Redding Foundation Inc ($25K). Together the top 2 received $35K.

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

4<$50K$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 4 grants of 5 (80%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.

States

Cities

Macon

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150KTotal only2020 Total only2021 Total only2022 1 grant2023 2 grants2024 2 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $6K (2021) to $128K (2024). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $35K.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Otis Redding Foundation Inc Macon, GAGeneral Support$25,000
Macon Pops Macon, GAGeneral Support$10,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Newtown Macon Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$47,364,573$5,345,883$4,091,031$35,0002$2,334,508
2024$43,633,726$2,735,233$3,796,164$127,5002$1,247,030
2023$36,186,795$3,338,620$2,913,101$10,0001$549,281
2022$32,465,436$9,813,654$3,269,796$23,166Total only$270,735
2021$28,447,383$5,896,499$2,229,186$5,775Total only$404,648
2020$21,941,903$2,099,062$2,823,500$13,550Total only$149,071

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

About Newtown Macon Inc

Based on IRS filings

Newtown Macon Inc is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Macon, GA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $47.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $35K. Net investment income was $2.3M.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Newtown Macon Inc is led by James Fritze, President since 2025 (on filings since 2020); 4 of 32 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • James Fritze

    President

    CFO → President, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $97K (2020) → $152K (2025)

  • Joshua M. Rogers

    President

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $157K (2020) → $362K (2025)

  • Chris R. Sheridan

    Chair Oht Co

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • William Underwood

    Chair

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bryan Nichols

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Curtis Hertwig

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ember Bentley

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jacob Patton

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jim Daws

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lester Miller

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Scott Seigel

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Virgil Adams

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Christina O'Brien

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Thompson

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Delvecchio Finley

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lori Brewer

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Caryn Frey

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gary Bechtel

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jessica Walden

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Patrick Harris

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • R. Kris Ellis

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Travis Williams

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Christy Kovac

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Duke Groover

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Erin Keller

    Chief of Sta

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $105K (2025)

  • Lauren Marshall

    Vice President of Committee

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $101K (2025)

  • Blake Lisenby

    Of Counsel

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Karen Lambert

    Vice Chair

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • R. Kirby Godsey

    Chair Emeritus

    Director → Chair Emeritus, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert F. Hatcher

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Thomas Wicker

    Past Chair

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bruce Leicht

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2023

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (23)
  • Former: Corrie Hall (2020–2024) — Director
  • Former: Emily Myers (2020–2024) — Director
  • Former: Ron Shipman (2022–2024) — Director
  • Former: Annisa Jones (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Ron Foster (2023) — Director
  • Former: Dan Forrester (2020–2022) — Treasurer
  • Former: Michael Wright (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Jason Willard (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Joey Leverette (2022) — Director
  • Former: Toni Hannah (2022) — Director
  • Former: Deon Tucker (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Elbert McQueen (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Yvonne Williams (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Bonnie Lopez-Crowe (2021) — Director
  • Former: Bill Kilburg (2020) — Director
  • Former: Bonnie Lopez (2020) — Director
  • Former: Carl Garofalo (2020) — Director
  • Former: Jean Bragg (2020) — Director
  • Former: John Rhea (2020) — Director
  • Former: Juanita T. Jordan (2020) — Past Vice Ch
  • Former: Robert Reichert (2020) — Director
  • Former: Scott Thompson (2020) — Director
  • Former: Tony Rojas (2020) — Secretary

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Joshua M Rogers — President &: $362KJoshua M RogersPresident &$362KJames Fritze — President &: $152KJames FritzePresident &$152KErin Keller — Chief of Sta: $105KErin KellerChief of Sta$105KLauren Marshall — VP of Comm.: $101KLauren MarshallVP of Comm.$101K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $362K, to Joshua M Rogers (President &). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Newtown Macon Inc

How much does Newtown Macon Inc give each year?

Newtown Macon Inc gave $35K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $128K across 2 grants.

How large is Newtown Macon Inc?

Newtown Macon Inc reported $47.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $5.3M.

What is Newtown Macon Inc?

Newtown Macon Inc is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Macon, GA. It holds $47.4M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Newtown Macon Inc operate?

Newtown Macon Inc has awarded grants in Georgia.

What is Newtown Macon Inc's EIN?

Newtown Macon Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 58-2273893. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 14, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 25, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 27, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 15, 2025)
  5. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Newtown Macon Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Georgia

The Peyton Anderson Foundation

Macon, GA

The Peyton Anderson Foundation funds arts and culture, community development, education, health, and human services projects benefiting Macon and Bibb County, Georgia. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000. It accepts applications through an online grant portal, with deadlines of April 1 and September 1.

Assets

$92.7M

Grants

88

Total Given

$4.9M

The Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta Inc

Atlanta, GA

The Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta funds nonprofits across areas including health, education, human services, arts, housing, and civic engagement, with an emphasis on equity and shared prosperity. Its itemized 2024 grants had a median of $21,000, and over 64% of its 2024 grant support stayed in the 23-county metro Atlanta region, though it also funds organizations nationally and internationally. Nonprofits can apply through the foundation’s Grants Portal for competitive opportunities; it also makes donor-advised grants, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

1,414

Total Given

$152.3M

Boys & Girls Clubs of America

Atlanta, GA

BGCA funds youth development through local Boys & Girls Clubs, supporting academic success, health, leadership, mentoring, and related programs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,047 to $2,704,861, with a median of $81,098, and went to communities across the United States, Native lands, and military installations. Whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Youth Development

Assets

$95.2M

Grants

797

Total Given

$120.5M

Habitat for Humanity International Inc

Americus, GA

Habitat for Humanity International funds affiliates and other organizations working on affordable housing, including homebuilding, housing preservation, coalition building and advocacy. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,027 to $6.37 million, with a median of about $48,700, supporting work across the U.S. and internationally; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

International, Foreign Affairs & National Security

Assets

$760.0M

Grants

719

Total Given

$101.6M

American Cancer Society Inc

Atlanta, GA

The American Cancer Society funds cancer research, patient support, and advocacy, including grants to researchers, institutions, and related organizations. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,648 to $9.6 million, with a median of $15,000; research funding supports institutions across the United States. It accepts applications for specific research programs through ProposalCentral, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

509

Total Given

$23.1M

The Arthur M Blank Family Foundation

Atlanta, GA

The Arthur M. Blank Family Foundation funds work in Atlanta’s Westside, democracy, the environment, mental health and well-being, youth development, and founder initiatives, with a focus on Georgia and Montana and some national impact. In 2024, grants ranged from $500 to $20 million, with a median of $50,000. It makes grants by invitation and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$466.3M

Grants

586

Total Given

$212.1M

More similar funders

More Funders in Georgia

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Newtown Macon Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Newtown Macon Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?