New York Hall of Science logo

New York Hall of Science

Public charity · Grantmaker Corona, NY EIN: 11-2104059 Website

Nysci's mission is to nurture generations of passionate learners, critical thinkers, and active citizens through design make play - an approach to learning and engagement that is deeply rooted in research on stem learning and guides the creation of learning experiences that encourage critical thinking, creativity, and agency. Nysci's service to the public as a cultural institution that provides creative, playful opportunities to explore science and engineering anchors and inspires all nysci's work. The institution has developed innovative products to extend learning far beyond the museum walls, and its extensive network of partnerships deepens and broadens its impact, both locally and around the world.

Key facts about New York Hall of Science

In short: New York Hall of Science gave $1.1M across 6 grants in 2025 (avg $182K), top state New York. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
11-2104059
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$1,092,051
Grants made (2025)
6
Average grant
$182,009
Median grant
$135,205
Total assets
$51,417,523
Primary geography
New York (46% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$51.4M

+3.0% YoY

Annual Giving

$1.1M

+91.0% YoY

Grant Count

6

+20.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$182K

+59.2% YoY

How New York Hall of Science gives

  • Giving grew 62% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

About New York Hall of Science

Based on IRS filings

New York Hall of Science is a public charity focused on Arts, Culture & Humanities, based in Corona, NY. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $51.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 6 grants totaling $1.1M. Net investment income was $298K.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with New York Hall of Science?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

10states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.

Cities

WashingtonChapel HillLathamWalthamBentonvilleSan JoseAlbuquerqueAnn ArborNew YorkPittsburghBloomingtonGreenwood LakeIrvineSacramento

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M7 grants2019 7 grants2020 6 grants2021 4 grants2022 4 grants2023 5 grants2024 6 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $183K (2019) to $1.1M (2025). In 2025 it made 6 grants totaling $1.1M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 6 recipients in 2025

Family Pictures Institute for Inclusive Storytelling Inc: $498KFamily Pictures Institute forInclusive Storytelling Inc$498KEducation Development Center Inc: $187KEducation Development CenterInc$187KExplora Science Center & Children's Museum of Albuquerque: $153KExplora Science Center &Children's Museum of…$153KAmerican Institute for Research in the Behavioral Sciences: $118KAmerican Institute forResearch in the Behavioral…$118KChildren's Museum of Pittsburgh: $80KChildren's Museum ofPittsburgh$80KKnight Williams Inc: $57KKnight Williams Inc$57K

The largest 2025 recipient was Family Pictures Institute for Inclusive Storytelling Inc ($498K). Together the top 6 received $1.1M.

Grant Size Distribution

25 grants across all recorded years

7<$50K8$50–100K6$100–250K4$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 8 grants of 25 (32%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Family Pictures Institute for Inclusive Storytelling Inc Greenwood Lake, NYSee Part IV$497,612
Education Development Center Inc Waltham, MASee Part IV$187,422
Explora Science Center & Children's Museum of Albuquerque Albuquerque, NMSee Part IV$152,655
American Institute for Research in the Behavioral Sciences Washington, DCSee Part IV$117,754
Children's Museum of Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, PASee Part IV$80,082
Knight Williams Inc Sacramento, CASee Part IV$56,526

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$51,417,523$49,897,499$51,826,875
Revenue$24,824,555$22,211,480$19,210,858
Expenses$28,679,475$25,442,574$21,334,875
Net Investment Income$298,233$345,200$73,745

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 14, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 12, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS March 29, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS February 27, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 9, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 27, 2020)
  7. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 7, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

New York Hall of Science is led by Minerva Tantoco, Interim President & CEO since 2024 (on filings since 2019); 11 of 49 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Minerva Tantoco

    Interim President & CEO

    Vice Chair → Co-Chair, 2022

    Co-Chair → Interim President & CEO, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    35 hrs/week

    $60K (2024) → $325K (2025)

  • Lisa Gugenheim

    President & CEO

    New on the 2025 filing

    35 hrs/week

    $121K (2025)

  • Timothy J. Tynan

    Chair

    Trustee → Co-Chair, 2021

    Co-Chair → Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Samuel Litt

    It Director

    Director of Information Technology → Vice President of It, Facilities & Business Ops., 2024

    Vice President of It, Facilities & Business Ops. → It Director, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    35 hrs/week

    $132K (2019) → $121K (2025)

  • Daniel M. Samaniego

    Hr Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    35 hrs/week

    $138K (2025)

  • Al Bunshaft

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alan Sinsheimer

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anil Shrivastava

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anna M. Ewing

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Atul Dubey

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dario Gil

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Chubak

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Edward D. Horowitz

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gilda A. Barabino

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Hendrik Lammers

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • James S. Wiener

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joseph R. Ficalora

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Louis Modano

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Martez R. Moore

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mary Jane McCartney

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Melissa G. Vail

    Trustee

    Co-Chair → Trustee, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stephen H. Sands

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Steven Thogmartin

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Yvonne Liu

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Srini Kalapala

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sudhir Nair

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ellen S. Baker

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Frederick Royall III

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Davis

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alexandra Zubko

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bridget Engle

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shaka Rasheed

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Yvette Encarnacion

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Christopher Doroszczyk

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gary Hoberman

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ivan Kimball

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kathryn Guarini

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Maya Kulycky

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Katherine McMillan Culp

    Chief Learning Officer

    On filings since 2019

    35 hrs/week

    $198K (2019) → $255K (2025)

  • Kiryn Hoffman

    Chief Advancement Officer

    Chief Development Officer → Chief Advancement Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    35 hrs/week

    $202K (2019) → $215K (2025)

  • Priya Mohabir

    Chief People Officer

    Vice President & Youth Development → Senior Vice President & Youth Development, 2021

    Senior Vice President & Youth Development → Chief People Officer, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    35 hrs/week

    $129K (2019) → $177K (2025)

  • Sylvia Perez

    Senior Vice President & Education Services

    Vice President & Education Services → Senior Vice President & Education Services, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    35 hrs/week

    $126K (2019) → $164K (2025)

  • April Drummond

    CFO

    On filings since 2024

    35 hrs/week

    $150K (2024) → $254K (2025)

  • Christopher Ebe

    Chief Marketing & Business Development Officer

    On filings since 2024

    35 hrs/week

    $262K (2024) → $289K (2025)

  • Mariana G. Hairabedian

    Assistant Vice President & Finance

    New on the 2025 filing

    35 hrs/week

    $144K (2025)

  • Frans Johansson

    Vice Chair

    Trustee → Vice Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Linda S. Sanford

    Secretary

    Trustee → Secretary, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Martin R. Kupferberg

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stuart Fischer

    Secretary

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (34)
  • Former: David Christman (2019–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Jaclyn A. Mucaria (2019–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Lisa M. Thomas (2019–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Margaret Honey (2019–2024) — President & CEO
  • Former: Mary E. Kelly (2019–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Ian Trombley (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Gerwin Eje (2021–2024) — Controller
  • Former: Michael B. Freedman (2021–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Reinalda Medina (2024) — Chief Administrative Officer
  • Former: Francisco D'souza (2019–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Seth H. Dubin (2019–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Shih-Chang Lu (2019–2023) — Chief Finance & Op. Officer
  • Former: Stephen Miles Uzzo (2019–2023) — Chief Scientist
  • Former: Michelle Neal (2021–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: James Korein (2019–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Brian Avenius (2021–2022) — Chief Marketing Officer
  • Former: Andres Henriquez (2019–2021) — Vice President & Stem Learning
  • Former: Jeanne M. Sullivan (2019–2021) — Trustee
  • Former: John J. Gilbert III (2019–2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Ravenel Curry III (2019–2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Sara Lee Schupf (2019–2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Danny Wempa (2019–2020) — Chief Operating Officer
  • Former: Devesh Raj (2019–2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Ed Chan (2019–2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Guy Chiarello (2019–2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Paul J. Maddon (2019–2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Betania Tiburcio Vp (2020) — Audience & Business Development
  • Former: Dmitry Lopatukhin Vp Facilities (2020) — Security & Safety
  • Former: Arvind Krishna (2019) — Trustee
  • Former: Betania Tiburcio (2019) — Vice President, Audience & Business Development
  • Former: James A. Firestone (2019) — Trustee
  • Former: Jeffrey R. Libshutz (2019) — Trustee
  • Former: Michel Herve Gulick (2019) — Assistant Vice President for Institutional Development
  • Former: Russell Sarder (2019) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Minerva Tantoco — Interim Pres. & CEO, Thru 10/2024: $325KMinerva TantocoInterim Pres. & CEO, Thru…$325KChristopher EBE — Chief Marketing & Business Dev. Off.: $289KChristopher EBEChief Marketing & Business Dev.…$289KKatherine McMillan Culp — Chief Learning Officer: $255KKatherine McMillan CulpChief Learning Officer$255KApril Drummond — CFO: $254KApril DrummondCFO$254KKiryn Hoffman — Chief Advancement Officer: $215KKiryn HoffmanChief Advancement Officer$215KPriya Mohabir — Chief People Officer: $177KPriya MohabirChief People Officer$177KSylvia Perez — SVP, Education Services: $164KSylvia PerezSVP, Education Services$164KMariana G Hairabedian — AVP, Finance: $144KMariana G HairabedianAVP, Finance$144KDaniel M Samaniego — HR Director: $138KDaniel M SamaniegoHR Director$138KSamuel Litt — It Director: $121KSamuel LittIt Director$121KLisa Gugenheim — President & CEO, as of 09/2024: $121KLisa GugenheimPresident & CEO, as of 09/2024$121K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $325K, to Minerva Tantoco (Interim Pres. & CEO, Thru 10/2024). 11 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about New York Hall of Science

How much does New York Hall of Science give each year?

New York Hall of Science gave $1.1M across 6 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $572K across 5 grants.

What is New York Hall of Science's typical grant size?

New York Hall of Science's median grant in 2025 was $135,205, and its average grant was $182,009, across 6 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does New York Hall of Science give grants?

New York Hall of Science's top state is New York, with 46% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were Massachusetts (17%) and New Mexico (14%).

Does New York Hall of Science give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 6 grants with a stated purpose on New York Hall of Science's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "See Part IV" (6 grants).

Who are New York Hall of Science's largest grantees?

New York Hall of Science's largest 2025 grantees include Family Pictures Institute for Inclusive Storytelling Inc ($497,612), Education Development Center Inc ($187,422) and Explora Science Center & Children's Museum of Albuquerque ($152,655), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 77% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is New York Hall of Science?

New York Hall of Science reported $51.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $24.8M.

What is New York Hall of Science?

New York Hall of Science is a public charity focused on Arts, Culture & Humanities, based in Corona, NY. It holds $51.4M in total assets as of 2025.

What is New York Hall of Science's EIN?

New York Hall of Science's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 11-2104059. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching New York Hall of Science by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in New York Hall of Science's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Brown University

Providence, RI

Brown University’s reported grants support education, student aid, and research, with listed awards primarily identified as subcontracts. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,325 to $3.36 million, with a median of about $98,700; recipients were concentrated in Rhode Island, Massachusetts, California, New York, and Washington, DC. The profile does not state that Brown accepts unsolicited requests; its website describes proposal support for Brown researchers.

Assets

$11.3B

Grants

235

Total Given

$47.0M

WK Kellogg Foundation

Battle Creek, MI

The W.K. Kellogg Foundation funds work to help children, families, and communities thrive, including early education, health equity, food systems, family economic well-being, and racial equity. In 2025, its grants ranged from $50 to nearly $5 million, with a median of $100,000; it funds across the United States, with long-term commitments in several states and communities, as well as parts of Mexico and Haiti. It accepts unsolicited proposals online at any time.

Assets

$481.0M

Grants

1,818

Total Given

$303.9M

Jewish Community Federation of San Francisco the Peninsula Marin & Sonoma

San Francisco, CA

The Federation funds Jewish life and identity, antisemitism response, crisis relief, human services, and justice and inclusion, with work in the Bay Area, Israel, and beyond. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,050 to $2,405,915, with a median of $22,750. It frequently issues requests for proposals and welcomes inquiries about new Bay Area programs; no current organization grant opportunities were listed.

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

1,032

Total Given

$94.5M

Richard King Mellon Foundation

Ligonier, PA

The Richard King Mellon Foundation funds conservation across the United States and work advancing economic opportunity, health, and organizational capacity in Southwestern Pennsylvania, with regional programs focused on Allegheny and Westmoreland counties. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,000 to $10 million, with a median of $220,000. It accepts online applications through general applications with no deadlines.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.7B

Grants

296

Total Given

$116.7M

Museum of Science

Boston, MA

The mission of the Museum of Science is to inspire a lifelong love of science in everyone. Through exhibits, curricula, programs, and events, both live and virtual, we aim to make science and scientific thinking accessible, engaging, and relevant. We collaborate across disciplines to help people everywhere see and appreciate the science in everything. Our vision is a world in which science belongs to each of us for the good of all of us.

Arts, Culture & Humanities

Assets

$519.9M

Grants

2

Total Given

$57K

Cardinal Health Foundation

Dublin, OH

The Cardinal Health Foundation supports access to medication and care, health initiatives, volunteerism, and healthy communities, including youth suicide prevention and medication access. Its 2025 grants ranged from $325 to $301,118, with a median of $3,500; funding is regional and national, with the most going to Ohio, South Carolina, and Florida. It accepts electronic submissions, and the profile does not say whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Education

Assets

$61.8M

Grants

210

Total Given

$6.0M

The Ford Foundation

New York, NY

The Ford Foundation funds organizations and initiatives working to reduce inequality and advance social justice, including work on civic engagement, civil rights, climate justice, disability rights, and technology and society. In 2024, its grants ranged from $45 to $15 million, with a median of $100,000, supporting work in the U.S. and internationally. It says most grants are identified by the foundation and it does not accept unsolicited proposals by mail, email, or phone; limited opportunities may be offered separately.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$17.5B

Grants

4,007

Total Given

$844.7M

The New York Community Trust

New York, NY

The New York Community Trust funds nonprofit programs in areas such as arts, education, health, the environment, workforce development, and youth development, including projects that improve services, build organizational capacity, or advance policy and systems change. Its competitive grants mainly serve New York City, Long Island, and Westchester, with some national and international environmental funding; the 2024 median grant was $20,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$3.5B

Grants

2,748

Total Given

$193.8M

The Simons Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The Simons Foundation funds research and public engagement in mathematics and the physical, life, autism, and neuroscience sciences. In 2024, it made 1,727 grants, with a median award of $72,000 and amounts ranging from $1,480 to $20 million, supporting organizations in the U.S. and internationally. It states that it funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.5B

Grants

1,727

Total Given

$272.0M

More Funders in New York

New York Hall of Science down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?