New England Baptist Hospital logo

New England Baptist Hospital

Public charity · Grantmaker Charlestown, MA EIN: 04-2103612 Website

New England Baptist Hospital at a glance

In short: New England Baptist Hospital gave $517K across 6 grants in 2025 (avg $86K), mostly in Massachusetts. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$516,670
+266.3% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
6
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$86,112
+266.3% vs 2024
Median grant
$23,148
Total assets
$263,484,113
-4.3% vs 2024
Primary geography
Massachusetts (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who New England Baptist Hospital funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 6 recipients in 2025

City of Boston: $371KCity of Boston$371KMission Hill Link Inc: $67KMission Hill Link Inc$67KRoxbury Tenants of Harvard Association Inc: $25KRoxbury Tenants of HarvardAssociation Inc$25KMission Hill Neighborhood Housing: $21KMission Hill NeighborhoodHousing$21KTobin Community Ctrmission Hill Community School Council Inc: $19KTobin Community CtrmissionHill Community School Council…$19KMission Hill Main Streets: $13KMission Hill Main Streets$13K

The largest 2025 recipient was City of Boston ($371K). Together the top 6 received $517K.

Grant Size Distribution

31 grants across all recorded years

25<$50K5$50–100K$100–250K1$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 25 grants of 31 (81%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.

Cities

BostonRoxburyBeverlyDallasEast BostonMission HillNewtonRoxbury XingSt Roxbury

How New England Baptist Hospital gives

  • Giving grew 297% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K8 grants2019 9 grants2020 6 grants2021 6 grants2022 7 grants2023 6 grants2024 6 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $93K (2021) to $517K (2025). In 2025 it made 6 grants totaling $517K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
City of Boston Boston, MASupport for City Infrastructure$370,872
Mission Hill Link Inc Boston, MACare access and/or to address other identified community health needs$67,206
Roxbury Tenants of Harvard Association Inc Boston, MACare access and/or to address other identified community health needs$24,800
Mission Hill Neighborhood Housing Roxbury Xing, MACare access and/or to address other identified community health needs$21,495
Tobin Community Ctrmission Hill Community School Council Inc Roxbury, MACare access and/or to address other identified community health needs$19,197
Mission Hill Main Streets Boston, MACare access and/or to address other identified community health needs$13,100
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with New England Baptist Hospital?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$263,484,113$201,732,216$219,959,881$516,6706$3,487,161
2024$275,459,980$219,299,149$239,087,564$141,0506$2,504,809
2023$282,755,740$232,351,032$241,317,022$145,9257$2,437,118
2022$298,561,315$239,204,465$230,200,278$130,0966$2,251,501
2021$323,205,146$252,714,592$224,588,155$93,0306$6,008,745
2020$270,348,462$213,264,610$219,795,277$228,8599$4,065,783
2019$239,427,109$248,205,475$234,911,028$175,8958$4,369,407

About New England Baptist Hospital

Based on IRS filings

New England Baptist Hospital is a public charity focused on Health, based in Charlestown, MA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $263.5M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 6 grants totaling $517K. Net investment income was $3.5M.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

New England Baptist Hospital is led by Tabb Md Kevin, CEO since 2024 (on filings since 2019); 11 of 38 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Tabb Md Kevin

    CEO

    Trustee & CEO → Chief Executive Officer, 2021

    Chief Executive Officer → CEO, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Passafaro David

    President & Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    55 hrs/week

    $433K (2019) → $680K (2025)

  • Smith Rn Ms Mary Sullivan

    Trustee Ex-Officio, Int President, Senior Vice President, COO & Cno

    Tee, Senior Vice President, COO & Cno → Trustee, Senior Vice President, COO & Cno, 2023

    Trustee, Senior Vice President, COO & Cno → Trustee Ex-Officio, Int President, Senior Vice President, COO & Cno, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    55 hrs/week

    $462K (2019) → $467K (2025)

  • Ide Rn Patricia

    Executive Director Quality & Patient Safety

    Executive Director, Quality & Patient → Executive Director, Quality & Patient Svcs, 2023

    Executive Director, Quality & Patient Svcs → Executive Director Quality & Patient Safety, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    55 hrs/week

    $283K (2020) → $252K (2025)

  • Cruz-Gervis Md Roberto

    Trustee Exo, Med Stff President & Chf Hosp Svc

    Trustee & Executive Officio → Trustee, 2023

    Trustee → Trustee Exo, Med Stff President & Chf Hosp Svc, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Galbraith Mba Fache Katie

    President & Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ohaegbalum Md Chima

    Trustee Exof, President Med Staff & Neurosrgn

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mattingly Md David

    Trustee Exoff, Surg Chief & Ortho Chair

    Trustee, Surg Chief & Ortho Chair → Trustee, Surg. Chief & Ortho Chair, 2024

    Trustee, Surg. Chief & Ortho Chair → Trustee Exoff, Surg Chief & Ortho Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    $203K (2019) → $0 (2025)

  • Hayek Md Jihad Jay

    Chair & Department of Pathology

    Chief & Department of Pathology → Chair & Department of Pathology, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    55 hrs/week

    $392K (2024) → $390K (2025)

  • Collins Christopher

    Trustee & Chair

    Trustee & Vice Chair → Trustee & Chair, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Basilico Md Facc Frederick C.

    Trustee Ex-Officio, Chief Phys, Med & Cardio

    Trustee, Phys in Chief & Chair of Med → Trustee, Chief Phys & Med Chair, 2023

    Trustee, Chief Phys & Med Chair → Trustee Ex-Officio, Chief Phys, Med & Cardio, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    $158K (2019) → $0 (2025)

  • Hollenbeck Md Brian

    Trustee, Srvp, CMO Chf & Infct Dis

    Trustee & Chief Medical Officer → Senior Vice President, CMO, Chief & Section of Infectious Diseases, 2022

    Senior Vice President, CMO, Chief & Section of Infectious Diseases → Trustee, Srvp, CMO Chf & Infct Dis, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $224K (2022) → $0 (2025)

  • Jackson John

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $44K (2023) → $0 (2025)

  • Smith Md Eric

    Trustee

    Chief & Arthroplasty → Trustee, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    55 hrs/week

    $941K (2023) → $1.1M (2025)

  • Bachman John Jeb

    Trustee & Vice Chair

    Trustee → Trustee & Vice Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Barker Esq Thomas R.

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cahill Gregory

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nager Nancy

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Albanese Joseph

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Healy Peter

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Karush Jonathan

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kigin Colleen

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kroncke Barbara

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richards Ii Anthony

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Williams Judene

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Giordano Rn Valerie

    Chief of Staff, Vice President & Real Estate

    Chief of Staff & Vice President → Chief of Staff, Vice President & Real Estate, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    55 hrs/week

    $232K (2020) → $223K (2025)

  • Legassie Paige

    Vice President & Human Resources Business Partner

    On filings since 2023

    55 hrs/week

    $43K (2023) → $183K (2025)

  • Patel Md Samir

    Anesthesiologist

    On filings since 2024

    55 hrs/week

    $637K (2024) → $571K (2025)

  • Ward Md Daniel

    Chief & Division of Arthroplasty

    On filings since 2024

    55 hrs/week

    $1.5M (2024) → $1.5M (2025)

  • Matejka Md Jan P.

    Anesthesiologist

    New on the 2025 filing

    55 hrs/week

    $594K (2025)

  • O'Malley Rn Msn Mba Rosemary

    Interim Chief Nursing Officer

    New on the 2025 filing

    55 hrs/week

    $250K (2025)

  • Katz Esq Jamie

    Clerk & Bilh General Counsel

    Clerk → Clerk & General Counsel Bilh, 2024

    Clerk & General Counsel Bilh → Clerk & Bilh General Counsel, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gevitz Esq Kathryn

    Assistant Clerk, Associate General Counsel & Bilh

    Assistant Clerk, Executive Officio & Assistant Gc → Frmr Assistant Clerk, Assistant Gc & Bilh, 2023

    Frmr Assistant Clerk, Assistant Gc & Bilh → Assistant Clerk, Associate General Counsel & Bilh, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rios Cindy

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Smith Mba Brian

    Assistant Treasurer Exof & Metro Bstn Mkt CFO

    Assistant Treasurer & Interim Nebh CFO → Assistant Treasurer, Metro Boston & Nebh CFO, 2024

    Assistant Treasurer, Metro Boston & Nebh CFO → Assistant Treasurer Exof & Metro Bstn Mkt CFO, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Timko Esq April

    Assistant Clerk

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Francioli Carl

    Treasurer Ex-Officio, Bilh Intrm CFO & Bstn CFO

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Herndon Mba Cpa Fache Scott

    Treasurer

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (53)
  • Former: Gheringhelli Msf Thomas J. (2019–2024) — Frmr Assistant Treasurer, Senior Vice President Finance & CFO
  • Former: Thompson Linda E. (2019–2024) — Frmr, Senior Vice President Hr & Service Excellence
  • Former: Sheehan Rn Msn Jayne (2020–2024) — Frmr Vice President Musc. Net. Development, Nebh & Bilh
  • Former: Basilico Md Facc Frederick (2021–2024) — Trustee, Chief Phys & Med Chair
  • Former: Reardon Edward (2021–2024) — Vice President & Philanthropy
  • Former: Rowan Michael (2021–2024) — Trustee Executive Vice President Hos & Amb Bilh
  • Former: Lefaivre Daniel (2022–2024) — Frmr Assistant Treasurer & CFO
  • Former: Giordano Rn Val (2023–2024) — Chief Staff, Vice President & Strat. Plan
  • Former: Buckley Leo (2024) — Executive Director & Surgical Business Ops
  • Former: Amello Jason (2019–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Barnett Keith (2019–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Beamon Shanuah (2019–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Hayek Md Jihad (2019–2023) — Chair of Pathology
  • Former: Jenny Christopher (2019–2023) — Trustee & Vice Chair
  • Former: Kerndl John (2021–2023) — Treasurer
  • Former: Boyd Esq Stephen (2022–2023) — Frmr Assistant Clrk, Assistant Vice President & Ast Dep Gc
  • Former: Buckley Leo F. (2023) — Executive Director Surg Bus Ops Pt Access
  • Former: Heinzelman Sharyn Z. (2023) — Executive Director Perioperative Services
  • Former: Fischer Steven P. (2019–2022) — Former Treasurer
  • Former: Hannon Fache Patricia (2019–2022) — Former President, CEO & Trustee
  • Former: Spitz Md Damon J. (2019–2022) — Trustee, President Med Staff & Chair Radio Dept
  • Former: Coutu Timothy S. (2020–2022) — Manager of Financial & Administrator Apps
  • Former: Bachman John (2021–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Giordano Valerie J. (2021–2022) — Chief of Staff, Vice President & Real Estate
  • Former: Sullivan Smith Mary (2021–2022) — Senior Vice President, COO & Cno
  • Former: Callahan Ann E. (2022) — Or Nurse
  • Former: Battista Mary (2019–2021) — Assistant Clerk
  • Former: Frederick Jocelyn (2019–2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Lewis Md Stanley M. (2019–2021) — Trustee & CEO Designate
  • Former: Libert Jeffrey (2019–2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Sebet Gail (2020–2021) — Director Surgical Services
  • Former: Fischer Steven (2021) — Bilh CFO & Treasurer
  • Former: Rubenstein James (2019–2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Samsel Erven (2019–2020) — Trustee & Chair
  • Former: Tromanhauser Md Scott (2019–2020) — Tee, Chf Med Qty Officer & Res Op Director
  • Former: Bierbaum Benjamin (2020) — Honorary Trustee
  • Former: Blumenreich Gene A. (2020) — Honorary Trustee
  • Former: Bowler Hon Marianne (2020) — Honorary Trustee
  • Former: Fraioli Edward (2020) — Honorary Trustee
  • Former: Lefaivre Daniel E. (2020) — Executive Director & Finance
  • Former: Nicholson Thomas H. (2020) — Honorary Trustee
  • Former: Passafaro David Anthony (2020) — Trustee & President
  • Former: Stavenhagen Joseph (2020) — Honorary Trustee
  • Former: Warren Thomas T. (2020) — Honorary Trustee
  • Former: Wetzner Md Steve (2020) — Honorary Trustee
  • Former: Wilkins John P. (2020) — Honorary Trustee
  • Former: Anderson Scott W. (2019) — Assistant Vice President & Patient Finance Serv.
  • Former: Finnegan Lauren (2019) — Executive Director Nebma & Med Staff
  • Former: Greenspan Elizabeth (2019) — Fmr Senior Vice President & Chief Strategy Officer
  • Former: Herman Katherine Morgan (2019) — Vice President of Philanthropy
  • Former: McKinnon Barbara E. (2019) — Nurse Manager
  • Former: Nichols Peter B. (2019) — Trustee & Co-Vice Chair
  • Former: Pogorzelski Donald E. (2019) — Trustee & Co-Vice Chair

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Ward MD Daniel — Chief, Division of Arthroplasty: $1.5MWard MD DanielChief, Division of Arthroplasty$1.5MSmith MD Eric — Ttee (Ex-Off) (Chair, Orthopedics): $1.1MSmith MD EricTtee (Ex-Off) (Chair…$1.1MPassafaro David — President & Trustee (Ex-Officio): $680KPassafaro DavidPresident & Trustee (Ex-Officio)$680KMatejka MD Jan P — Anesthesiologist: $594KMatejka MD Jan PAnesthesiologist$594KPatel MD Samir — Anesthesiologist: $571KPatel MD SamirAnesthesiologist$571KSmith RN Ms Mary Sullivan — Ttee Ex-Off/Int Pres; SVP, COO & CNO: $467KSmith RN Ms Mary…Ttee Ex-Off/Int Pres; SVP, COO…$467KHayek MD Jihad Jay — Chair, Department of Pathology: $390KHayek MD Jihad JayChair, Department of Pathology$390KIde RN Patricia — Exec Director Quality/Patient Safety: $252KIde RN PatriciaExec Director Quality/Patient…$252KO'Malley RN MSN MBA Rosemary — Interim Chief Nursing Officer: $250KO'Malley RN MSN MBA…Interim Chief Nursing Officer$250KGiordano RN Valerie — Chief of Staff and VP, Real Estate: $223KGiordano RN ValerieChief of Staff and VP, Real…$223KLegassie Paige — VP, Human Resources Business Partner: $183KLegassie PaigeVP, Human Resources Business…$183K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $1.5M, to Ward MD Daniel (Chief, Division of Arthroplasty). 11 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about New England Baptist Hospital

How much does New England Baptist Hospital give each year?

New England Baptist Hospital gave $517K across 6 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $141K across 6 grants.

What is New England Baptist Hospital's typical grant size?

New England Baptist Hospital's median grant in 2025 was $23,148, and its average grant was $86,112, across 6 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does New England Baptist Hospital give grants?

New England Baptist Hospital gives mostly in Massachusetts: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Boston, MA (4 grants).

Does New England Baptist Hospital give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 6 grants with a stated purpose on New England Baptist Hospital's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.

Who are New England Baptist Hospital's largest grantees?

New England Baptist Hospital's largest 2025 grantees include City of Boston ($370,872), Mission Hill Link Inc ($67,206) and Roxbury Tenants of Harvard Association Inc ($24,800), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 90% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is New England Baptist Hospital?

New England Baptist Hospital reported $263.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $201.7M.

What is New England Baptist Hospital?

New England Baptist Hospital is a public charity focused on Health, based in Charlestown, MA. It holds $263.5M in total assets as of 2025.

What is New England Baptist Hospital's EIN?

New England Baptist Hospital's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 04-2103612. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 14, 2024)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS August 15, 2025)
  3. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS August 17, 2020)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS August 16, 2021)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS August 15, 2022)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 15, 2023)
  7. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 14, 2026)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in New England Baptist Hospital's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Back of the Hill Community Development Association

Boston, MA

Assets

$11.7M

Grants

7

Total Given

$119K

Mass General Brigham Incorporated & Affiliates Group Return

Somerville, MA

Mass General Brigham funds affiliated hospitals and medical groups, along with community health and other community-benefit work addressing health access and disparities. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,851 to $431.9 million, with a median of $78,189; most funding went to Massachusetts and New Hampshire. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$32.2B

Grants

164

Total Given

$1.4B

Mission Hillfenway Neighborhood Trust

Boston, MA

The Trust funds community-based organizations and civic groups serving Mission Hill and Fenway, supporting programs in areas such as arts and education, youth recreation, senior activities, gardens, affordable housing, and social services. Recent grants ranged from $4,000 to $20,000, with a median of about $7,000. It accepts applications through an online process; the stated March 31, 2026 deadline has passed.

Assets

$2.6M

Grants

18

Total Given

$145K

Children's Hospital Corporation

Boston, MA

Children’s Hospital Corporation funds pediatric healthcare, education, research, and community services, including grants to community organizations. In 2025, grants ranged from $6,000 to $2.69 million, with a median of $60,000; 99% of grant dollars went to Massachusetts recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$9.1B

Grants

113

Total Given

$14.5M

Suffolk Cares Charitable Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

Suffolk Cares Charitable Foundation funds charitable, civic, educational, healthcare, arts, and cultural organizations nationwide, with recent grants concentrated in Massachusetts and New York. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $250,000, with a median of $25,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$2.7M

Grants

27

Total Given

$1.9M

More similar funders

More Funders in Massachusetts

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from New England Baptist Hospital's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

New England Baptist Hospital down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?